TrustRadius
Apache Solr is an open-source enterprise search server.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/y9/Jb/0TF5NW4XBAW4.pngApache Solr Has Changed the Search GameApache Solr helps us create a dynamic and engaging search engine interface for our customers. It addresses the challenge of delivering accurate and fast search results to the users of our website. It allows our development teams to customize the search experience to our unique needs.,Provide an organized search platform that is easily customizable. Provides easy-to-use documentation. Offers several different methods of indexing and parsing search data.,The admin UI is good, but could be a bit more user-friendly. The field names are not very intuitive and require a learning curve.,9,Apache Solr has helped increase our conversion by directing our customers to more accurate and predictive product results.,,JIRA Software, SlackSolr has Flexible Query APIApache Solr is the underlying search engine servicing our Enterprise Search functions. Our instance indexes both structured data like Oracle records and unstructured data like PDF files. Its ability to return relevancy ranked results from textual search terms enabled my organization to find information faster.,It is simple to access its data via REST API. The flexibility in adjusting the query in terms of boosting, faceting and more is very useful. It can scale horizontally by splitting shards, making it practically limitless in size. It has been stable in an operational production environment.,It would be good to handle authentication natively in an enterprise scale. Currently it has to be wrapped by another service that does authentication. Support querying across multiple collections. Improve stability in Cross-Data-Center-Replication.,8,It has enabled my organization to find information faster by being a one-stop service to search across content that were indexed from varying sources. By using synonyms and usual lemmatizations / stemming, it enabled discovery of new content following every search.,Azure Search,Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)Powerful, Flexible Search ToolSolved Type-ahead search and provide various faceting options to keep the customer engaged in a Retail domain so that he/she can isolate their products in less than 3 clicks.Information Retrieval, Search Engines prototype, Query suggestion SystemsWe are utilizing Solr with our Google Search Appliances for the search functionality within out internal company portal. Solr helps us query other databases for personnel and location information.We needed to improve the relevance and performance of our existing search, and by using Solr did both of these with the added benefit of reducing the load on our Oracle Database. We improved our relevance and customers immediately noticed the difference. That was with the 'out-of'the'box' settings, we can see how this can be improved further.,Solr is a very quick and easy way to search for keywords within a document, the ability to add weightings to search terms to increase the outcome of search relevance gives it great flexibility. The customisability of the Solr is so good that anyone can set it up and customise it for his/her needs. Solr allows you to build your own custom request handlers and allows you to import data from pretty much any datasource.,Version 4.3-4.10, the documentation for Solr was very lacking. No monitoring for Solr available built-in; have to be dependent on CDH or HDP if you are implementing thru them. CPU consumption can be high in some cases.,9,Usage of Solr in the browse webpages (apart from Search) has resulted in customer choosing his/her product within 3 clicks by the using of faceting. Speed, relevance and efficiency of search results. Using Solr for International Markets comes out of box.,,Hadoop, HBase, Apache SparkApache Solr is a Win With DrupalWe utilize Solr as an indexing mechanism for complex product data and user profiles. It allows us to rapidly deliver search results with minimum strain on our hardware configurations. We're currently implementing Solr in a Drupal powered e-commerce environment and enjoying amazing success with the open source integration.,Speed -- This is a very fast platform. Scalability -- We can rapidly grow our environments to meet expanding business needs. Flexibility -- We can make Solr bend to our business needs and not the other way around.,Ease of use -- this is not always the easier platform to configure. Developer Community -- There are not a whole lot of folks out there that understand this stuff so finding talent is difficult. Drupal 8 -- We've been frustrated with slow development on APIs for Drupal 8 integration.,9,Cheap -- it's free and open source so we love it! Developers Expensive -- It's hard to find talented developers and those that are available are expensive. Hardware Requirements -- Solr is not terribly expensive to operate on cloud machines.,,Drupal, MySQLApache Solr - Performance, Reliability, and No Headaches!At my company we use Apache Solr to help improve customer experience when it comes to searching and analyzing our large collections venue data on our web portal. Apache Solr allows us to restrict data based on geospatial features, organizing data into coupled groups using pivots, and provides the performance and ease of use that makes it great for developing with. It took only a few hours to have a successful proof of concept up and running and very few changes were needed out-of-the-box. The other benefit to working with Apache Solr is the active and large developer community and the well-maintained and easy to read resources.,Easy to get started with Apache Solr. Whether it is tackling a setup issue or trying to learn some of the more advanced features, there are plenty of resources to help you out and get you going. Performance. Apache Solr allows for a lot of custom tuning (if needed) and provides great out of the box performance for searching on large data sets. Maintenance. After setting up Solr in a production environment there are plenty of tools provided to help you maintain and update your application. Apache Solr comes with great fault tolerance built in and has proven to be very reliable.,Indexing of data can sometimes be a slog, meaning it can sometimes take a while to get a large collection up and running if you have many fields that need to be indexed. ElasticSearch offers better support and flexibility.,9,It has improved the customer experience of our web portal customers and has given them more options and control for finding the data they need.,Elasticsearch,Apache Spark, Apache Hive, Apache Pig
Unspecified
Apache Solr
25 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Apache Solr Reviews

Apache Solr
25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 25 vetted Apache Solr reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-6 of 6)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Robyne Gallacher profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "Apache Solr Has Changed the Search Game"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apache Solr helps us create a dynamic and engaging search engine interface for our customers. It addresses the challenge of delivering accurate and fast search results to the users of our website. It allows our development teams to customize the search experience to our unique needs.
  • Provide an organized search platform that is easily customizable.
  • Provides easy-to-use documentation.
  • Offers several different methods of indexing and parsing search data.
  • The admin UI is good, but could be a bit more user-friendly. The field names are not very intuitive and require a learning curve.
Solr is great if you are interested in customizing and configuring a search experience for your users. Without configuration, the search experience is fairly basic and would not be suitable for a large website, but if you are willing to put in the time and development, it can become a very powerful tool that will engage your consumers.
Read Robyne Gallacher's full review
Kelvin Yeo profile photo
March 03, 2018

Apache Solr Review: "Solr has Flexible Query API"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apache Solr is the underlying search engine servicing our Enterprise Search functions. Our instance indexes both structured data like Oracle records and unstructured data like PDF files. Its ability to return relevancy ranked results from textual search terms enabled my organization to find information faster.
  • It is simple to access its data via REST API. The flexibility in adjusting the query in terms of boosting, faceting and more is very useful.
  • It can scale horizontally by splitting shards, making it practically limitless in size.
  • It has been stable in an operational production environment.
  • It would be good to handle authentication natively in an enterprise scale. Currently it has to be wrapped by another service that does authentication.
  • Support querying across multiple collections.
  • Improve stability in Cross-Data-Center-Replication.
It is suitable for indexing varying types of content and in applying a consistent search experience across all the content. It is less suitable for environments where indexing new content comes at higher frequencies.
Read Kelvin Yeo's full review
Bharadwaj (Brad) Chivukula profile photo
November 30, 2017

Apache Solr Review: "Powerful, Flexible Search Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Solved Type-ahead search and provide various faceting options to keep the customer engaged in a Retail domain so that he/she can isolate their products in less than 3 clicks.
  • Information Retrieval, Search Engines prototype, Query suggestion Systems
  • We are utilizing Solr with our Google Search Appliances for the search functionality within out internal company portal. Solr helps us query other databases for personnel and location information.
  • We needed to improve the relevance and performance of our existing search, and by using Solr did both of these with the added benefit of reducing the load on our Oracle Database. We improved our relevance and customers immediately noticed the difference. That was with the 'out-of'the'box' settings, we can see how this can be improved further.
  • Solr is a very quick and easy way to search for keywords within a document, the ability to add weightings to search terms to increase the outcome of search relevance gives it great flexibility.
  • The customisability of the Solr is so good that anyone can set it up and customise it for his/her needs.
  • Solr allows you to build your own custom request handlers and allows you to import data from pretty much any datasource.
  • Version 4.3-4.10, the documentation for Solr was very lacking.
  • No monitoring for Solr available built-in; have to be dependent on CDH or HDP if you are implementing thru them.
  • CPU consumption can be high in some cases.
  • Type ahead search - The application needs to build a short list of match words based on users' input as they typing into a search field. The search field is unified search field, that means multiple data types to be searched. For example, the field can be built for search of a "clothing type" like "Jeans" and you get options like "Jeans Slim" etc.
  • Managing the Solr instances was proving to be a pain.
Read Bharadwaj (Brad) Chivukula's full review
Peter Feddo profile photo
April 03, 2017

User Review: "Apache Solr is a Win With Drupal"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Solr as an indexing mechanism for complex product data and user profiles. It allows us to rapidly deliver search results with minimum strain on our hardware configurations.

We're currently implementing Solr in a Drupal powered e-commerce environment and enjoying amazing success with the open source integration.
  • Speed -- This is a very fast platform.
  • Scalability -- We can rapidly grow our environments to meet expanding business needs.
  • Flexibility -- We can make Solr bend to our business needs and not the other way around.
  • Ease of use -- this is not always the easier platform to configure.
  • Developer Community -- There are not a whole lot of folks out there that understand this stuff so finding talent is difficult.
  • Drupal 8 -- We've been frustrated with slow development on APIs for Drupal 8 integration.
Solr spins up nicely and works effectively for small enterprise environments providing helpful mechanisms for fuzzy searches and facetted searching.

For larger enterprises with complex business solutions you'll find the need to hire an expert Solr engineer to optimize the powerful platform to your needs.

Internationalization is tricky with Solr and many hosting solutions may limit you to a latin character set.
Read Peter Feddo's full review
No photo available
April 10, 2017

Review: "Apache Solr - Performance, Reliability, and No Headaches!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my company we use Apache Solr to help improve customer experience when it comes to searching and analyzing our large collections venue data on our web portal. Apache Solr allows us to restrict data based on geospatial features, organizing data into coupled groups using pivots, and provides the performance and ease of use that makes it great for developing with. It took only a few hours to have a successful proof of concept up and running and very few changes were needed out-of-the-box. The other benefit to working with Apache Solr is the active and large developer community and the well-maintained and easy to read resources.
  • Easy to get started with Apache Solr. Whether it is tackling a setup issue or trying to learn some of the more advanced features, there are plenty of resources to help you out and get you going.
  • Performance. Apache Solr allows for a lot of custom tuning (if needed) and provides great out of the box performance for searching on large data sets.
  • Maintenance. After setting up Solr in a production environment there are plenty of tools provided to help you maintain and update your application. Apache Solr comes with great fault tolerance built in and has proven to be very reliable.
  • Indexing of data can sometimes be a slog, meaning it can sometimes take a while to get a large collection up and running if you have many fields that need to be indexed.
  • Elasticsearch offers better support and flexibility.
Very effective for end-user searching applications and for generating search results. Also very well suited to those looking for high reliability and performance. If [you're doing] fuzzy searching or if you are working on a smaller end-user application or an internal application that does not require high performance and flexible/adapting searching then it may not be necessary to use Solr.
Read this authenticated review
Philippe Kozak profile photo
September 01, 2016

Review: "Apache Solr - Searching and matching efficiency"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I worked as a CTO for a pure play company in real estate activity. We had to design and to build five websites for the customers of real estate agencies. We manage about 2 millions classifieds. This area is highly competitive. An the same time, we doubled our unique number of users. So we (the people I managed and myself) decided to use a NoSQL database for our search engine. Our choice went to Apache Solr 4. This DB redesign was done at the same time as a PHP code redesign with Zend Framework. All our five websites were redesigned over a period of 2.5 years. We did a proof of concept with Apache Solr when we needed to redesign our registered customers searches (match 500k searches with 2M classifieds).
  • Faceted navigation and field collapsing/grouping : filtering and quick results were what we needed for our websites. Our customers needed to have this functionalities for good and efficient results.
  • We tested them with our customers' registered searches (they received all new goods matching with their registered searches by emails and/or mobile push). Results were incredible by comparison with our old system (old MySQL requests).
  • Note : we didn't put all our data in Solr. Just what we need for searching uses. Other data stayed in our MySQL database.
  • Auto-suggest : our old auto-suggest wasn't performing well. With Apache Solr, our new one was worked really well ! The suggestions came quickly and suggestions were good.
  • We also extended auto-suggestion with geo-spatial data and it worked well.
  • Hit highlighting : we used this functionality and we didn't have problem and nasty surprise.
  • Keep all data status during data upgrading (see next details for improvements)
  • These examples are due to the way we use Apache Solr. I think we have had the same problems with other NoSQL databases (but perhaps not the same solution). High data volumes of data and a lot of users were the causes.
  • We have lot of classifications and lot of data for each classification. This gave us several problems:
  • First: We couldn't keep all our data in Solr. Then we have all data in our MySQL DB and searching data in Solr. So we need to be sure to update and match the 2 databases in the same time.
  • Second: We needed several load balanced Solr databases.
  • Third: We needed to update all the databases and keep old data status.
  • If I don't speak about problems due to our lack of experience, the main Solr problem came from frequency of updates vs validation of several database. We encountered several locks due to this (our ops team didn't want to use real clustering, so all DB weren't updated). Problem messages were not always clear and we several days to understand the problems.
It is well suited for classified search and filtering, and high volume data matching.
Read Philippe Kozak's full review

Apache Solr Scorecard Summary

About Apache Solr

Apache Solr is an open-source enterprise search server.
Categories:  Enterprise Search

Apache Solr Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No