TrustRadius
Apache Web Server (Apache HTTP Server) is an application infrastructure, an open source HTTP server.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/7J/G6/2EZ5T2B735UB.jpegApache is easy to use and trustworthyI've used Apache for hosting multiple websites myself and for 6 years as my past job. I've also configured it to change default parameters and setup multiple virtual hosts.,Robust Well documented Easy configuration,I think it could use a web UI to configure it It could allow PHP to override configuration without having to modify it I've never seen statistics for it so I assume there is not much built in,9,Apache helps things run smoothly, rarely needing a reboot Gives helpful error messages to solve problems easy Occasionally we have had to modify file upload size, request timeout, and parameter size which is annoying when it has to be done on a lot of servers or cannot be done through code,Microsoft IIS and Nginx,Laravel PHP Framework, Drupal, PostgreSQLApache and Nginx in TandemWe use it to host sites on all of our Linux servers. Sometimes it's used in conjunction with nginx, using nginx as a reverse proxy.,Easy to configure and is the go-to web server for many people. Great documentation and community support. Modules for added functionality.,Quicker development of new features. A slim version of Apache would be neat for use in small deployments.,10,It's open source so the price can't get any better. It's easy to find people who know how to administer an Apache web server due to its popularity.,Nginx and Microsoft IIS,Docker, MySQL, GitlabApache the Best!!!Just copying our application folder in webapps and restarting the server will provide the application in browser and mostly it's secured. Easily change from default port to custom port Easily to transition http to https after doing some minimal set of configurations Can easily navigate with your own domain name using Apache by doing some configuration,I would prefer it to be more user friendly Looking for clear user guide documentation to understand all functionality If EAR files are added, they should be accepted. In fact, accepting only WAR files.,9,Best to go for if using war files/folder Portability web server Easy navigation,Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform,Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform, WebSphere Portal, WebSphere Message BrokerThumbs up for Apache Web ServerI've used Apache Web Server for years and years. We have not found a more solid web server with as much support and customizability to serve pages for our website. Apache is widely used by millions of sites on the internet, and for good reason. The PHP, Perl, and other language support is extensive and very helpful.,The documentation for Apache is very extensive and useful. There are a lot of users and systems folks that are familiar with Apache Web Server. There are so many available modules to help you customize Apache for your uses.,There are times that Apache doesn't scale as well as we want.,9,Positive ROI, the software itself is free, and many people support it, even commercially.,Nginx, Apache TomcatApache is BestI use Apache (as part of the LAMP stack) to run several web servers that I use in my organization. The web servers provide services such as help desk ticketing and tracking, intranet site, project management, network monitoring, and conference room scheduling. This allows me to provide these applications for no cost through the use of open-source software.,Stability - the apache web server is extremely stable, with many months or even years in-between crashes or reboots Documentation - Apache is the #1 web server in the world, so there is a huge amount of documentation for support Compatibility - Apache is compatible with every technology I have come across Powerful - Apache can do a lot with a little, with hardware requirements that are very easy to achieve for low cost,Apache configuration can be difficult for advanced setups Apache is configured slightly differently for the various flavors of Linux.,10,Apache is free to use and thus has an immediate ROI. Apache has allowed me to put applications into play in my environment that would otherwise not be possible due to budgetary constraints.,Microsoft IIS,MySQL, PostgreSQL
Unspecified
Apache Web Server
52 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
TRScore

Apache Web Server Reviews

Apache Web Server
52 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 52 vetted Apache Web Server reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Josh Stapp profile photo
November 30, 2017

Apache Web Server Review: "Apache is easy to use and trustworthy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Apache for hosting multiple websites myself and for 6 years as my past job. I've also configured it to change default parameters and setup multiple virtual hosts.
  • Robust
  • Well documented
  • Easy configuration
  • I think it could use a web UI to configure it
  • It could allow PHP to override configuration without having to modify it
  • I've never seen statistics for it so I assume there is not much built in
Apache is robust and simple and was far easier than the few times I tried IIS. Enterprises sometimes prefer Nginx instead for supposed performance benefit which my company uses now but I still like to develop with Apache.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
Tyler Longren profile photo
October 30, 2017

Apache Web Server Review: "Apache and Nginx in Tandem"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to host sites on all of our Linux servers. Sometimes it's used in conjunction with Nginx, using Nginx as a reverse proxy.
  • Easy to configure and is the go-to web server for many people.
  • Great documentation and community support.
  • Modules for added functionality.
  • Quicker development of new features.
  • A slim version of Apache would be neat for use in small deployments.
Hosting PHP apps like WordPress, Drupal, or Magento. Virtual host configuration is easy and can support a large number of different domains.
Read Tyler Longren's full review
Hari Kumar profile photo
October 26, 2017

Apache Web Server Review: "Apache the Best!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Just copying our application folder in webapps and restarting the server will provide the application in browser and mostly it's secured.
  • Easily change from default port to custom port
  • Easily to transition http to https after doing some minimal set of configurations
  • Can easily navigate with your own domain name using Apache by doing some configuration
  • I would prefer it to be more user friendly
  • Looking for clear user guide documentation to understand all functionality
  • If EAR files are added, they should be accepted. In fact, accepting only WAR files.
We have been using Apache Web server in our department, and it's well worth using. Just copying our application folder in webapps and restarting the server will provide your application in the browser and mostly it's secured. We usually recommend Apache Web Server to our clients to use. Apache Web Server is the best.
Read Hari Kumar's full review
Chuq Yang profile photo
April 11, 2017

User Review: "Thumbs up for Apache Web Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Apache Web Server for years and years. We have not found a more solid web server with as much support and customizability to serve pages for our website. Apache is widely used by millions of sites on the internet, and for good reason. The PHP, Perl, and other language support is extensive and very helpful.
  • The documentation for Apache is very extensive and useful.
  • There are a lot of users and systems folks that are familiar with Apache Web Server.
  • There are so many available modules to help you customize Apache for your uses.
  • There are times that Apache doesn't scale as well as we want.
Apache can be used as a web server, application server or even a proxy. It is quite flexible.
Read Chuq Yang's full review
Warren Krysiak profile photo
October 14, 2016

Apache Web Server Review: "Apache is Best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Apache (as part of the LAMP stack) to run several web servers that I use in my organization. The web servers provide services such as help desk ticketing and tracking, intranet site, project management, network monitoring, and conference room scheduling. This allows me to provide these applications for no cost through the use of open-source software.
  • Stability - the apache web server is extremely stable, with many months or even years in-between crashes or reboots
  • Documentation - Apache is the #1 web server in the world, so there is a huge amount of documentation for support
  • Compatibility - Apache is compatible with every technology I have come across
  • Powerful - Apache can do a lot with a little, with hardware requirements that are very easy to achieve for low cost
  • Apache configuration can be difficult for advanced setups
  • Apache is configured slightly differently for the various flavors of Linux.
Apache is appropriate for every scenario that I can think of, including use on Windows server.
Read Warren Krysiak's full review
Chris Coppenbarger profile photo
May 27, 2016

Review: "Apache Web Server easily customizes your websites"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apache web server allows for the display of websites to the consumer. It has become the standard for website configuration. It is fairly simple to set up and configure your website for display to the outside world, including secure websites having to use an SSL certificate. It allows for the rerouting of directories and even setting up private directories inaccessible to the outside world. You can specify what files can be seen as well.
  • Private files can be hidden or set up only for specific users.
  • You can block certain file types from being uploaded to your website.
  • You can block certain IP addresses from accessing your website.
  • Apache web server does not allow for multi-threading, meaning that too many users can crash the system causing downtime for your website.
  • Apache web server is not very fast in that you have to do some tweaking to allow for your website to be faster.
If you are only serving up simple websites such as those on WordPress or plain html, then it might be well suited for that. Higher traffic websites or heavy load websites might be better suited for Nginx server as it spreads out the traffic among several threads.
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review
No photo available
May 10, 2016

User Review: "Why go for Apache Web Server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apache web server is supports major organizations and multiple web sites as their front end receiving host. This web server acts as the host to direct traffic into the web sites used by organizations and comes equipped with security and other protocols necessary to cut off unauthorized users.This also has a major role in authorizing user traffic and preventing unintended users/traffic from accessing the organizations' web site data.
  • Apache web server is free and doesn't come tagged with license/purchase costs.
  • Apache is the oldest web server and is widely used. The major advantage here is that all kinds of issues have been reported/resolved which gives an ease of understanding/ability for the user for install/support purposes.
  • It is the most widely used web server in the market and has been known to support new technology. This web server is continuously updated by a team of developers- keeping it up to standards.
  • Apache has a strong user community that helps with answering questions in any area - installation/support/maintenance/upgrade of this software.
  • Apache web server is a highly recommended server and its disadvantages outweigh its advantages any time.
  • Apache web server uses thread based processing which has some ove head when compared to newer web servers.
Apache web server is used on various popular web sites such as Wikipedia and Apple. It has been known to support high user traffic with ease. Less maintenance is needed as well. This web server has a strong community to answer questions on installation/support but also to help in contributing in building higher versions of its particular web server.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 26, 2016

Review: "Apache Web Server serves you, not just the web."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apache Web Server on almost all of our *nix web servers. It is being used by Enterprise IT as well as most other departments. It is a solid web server, that allows for all the customizations and configurations that are needed. It allows us to easily and reliably set up web servers with a known configuration and reliability.
  • Great handling of virtual hosts.
  • Works extremely well with Perl/CGI and the Mod-Perl module for fast and reliable execution of server side scripts.
  • Handles serving up web pages well, a true no muss, no fuss situation.
  • Sometimes a little hard to patch.
  • If you're not careful with the settings, you can easily provide too much information about your server to people you don't want to.
  • If you're not familiar with text configuration files, it can get a little hairy, as there is no GUI interface for setting it up.
If you're running on *nix, Apache Web Server is the ONLY web server to use. If you're running on Windows, I'd stay away from it and stick with Windows' built in IIS. One of Apache's biggest features is its cost. It is completely free, and there is a great support community around it online due to the number of people using it.
Read this authenticated review

Apache Web Server Scorecard Summary

About Apache Web Server

Apache Web Server (Apache HTTP Server) is an application infrastructure, an open source HTTP server.

Apache Web Server Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No