Appian Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
178 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Implementing Appian for a PoC

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were looking at Camunda and wanted to test with the community edition. Later management reviewed various other vendors, and based on the price and functionality Appian was selected.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Appian is slick and easy to use with room to grow

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The biggest pros of Salesforce are:
- the ability to create sandboxes
- refresh data from prod to sandbox
- auto-scaling

The pros of Appian are:
- cost
- no limit on API calls
- great professional services teams
- easy to get support when there is an issue
- ability to customize things like adding a VPN and connections to external databases
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Appian is our enabler of Automation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used AWD from SS&C and compared Appian to other work flow solutions like Pega and open source solutions like Camunda. We viewed Appian is a best in class workflow solution nearly equal to solutions like Pega but far easier to use and implement. Appian offers a pure cloud hosting which makes it easier to deploy, operate, and scale than other pure software solutions like Camunda. Overall Appian was the sweet spot of highly capable and easy to manage and support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Appian user's review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

My personal use of appian directly met the needs of my team and I while at the same time adding value to the firm
Read this authenticated review
Helmut Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Repeatable Business Automation Using Appian

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have seen other products but I have not used them from a development stand point. From a user stand point we are using Service Now and I find the forms are not as rich and harder to follow. Service Now seems like an older system that does not have the ability that Appian has in many cases.
Read Helmut Arnold's full review
Jason Shelton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Appian FTW

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Personally, I feel Appian is a more focused and tightly integrated product. Our time to delivery was shorter, while actually delivering more. The fact that apps are natively mobile out the box, can not be overstated.
Read Jason Shelton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Appian IS transformative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have helped in an Appian vs. Pega evaluation. They are both great platforms and I imagine will help any enterprise that leverages them properly. I felt Pega had more features and capability compared to Appian. However, we chose Appian in the end because we felt it's more flexible than Pega. In that regard, we felt we can use it for small apps, complex apps, or behind-the-scenes automated system processes. Appian apps are set up as a bucket of objects, and you use and connect them how you like. We felt we can do "this or that" with Appian. It it can meet a wide variety of uses while remaining pliable such that we can keep our apps up to date with the pace of business change. Also, we felt Appian would be a great partner, which they have been.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

TrustAppian

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Not sure what this is, actually. But this is the name of the module we're doing.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2018

Appian Business Process Management Application Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When evaluating Appian we were asked to compare it to other enterprise tools we currently use such as Atlassian's JIRA and Rally. It is really impossible to compare the two for the simple fact that within Appian you can build the workflows and data capture mechanisms that each of these tools offer. The difference is that with Appian you can customize the workflows to an infinite degree whereas with an off the shelf application you are relatively limited to what the developer provides.
Read Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM's full review
Ravi Joshi, PMI-ACP® | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2017

My Sights

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • XTRAC. and K2

We have evaluated three products, Like K2, XTRAC. Some of the key highlights are: Whilst XTRAC participated in the POC, it was mutually agreed that XTRAC does not support the extended BPM requirements which form the must-have core platform process requirements. XTRAC, therefore, did not continue with the POC.

Whilst K2 had a strong user-interface, and could meet our functional requirements, they scored poorly in areas such as cloud readiness and support for Automated Regression Testing, Continuous Deployment, Continuous Integration, Data Integration Tools and Data Lineage Tools

Appian has shown to be ahead of other BPM tools in extending beyond traditional BPM capabilities and seeking to fully maximise efficiency through the linking of the process to the data, and by providing the out-of-the-box data-centric architecture. Appian web pages are fully configurable to show the complete data record in an intuitive, unified user interface.


Read Ravi Joshi, PMI-ACP®'s full review
Paul Cabrelle | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

Our Appian Revolution at SYD

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our approach to selecting Appian was more of a solution based approach to an existing problem. Since then, our Enterprise Architect has been instrumental in mapping out where we will be taking Appian and how it can be applied across the organisation.
Read Paul Cabrelle's full review
Lynley Johnston | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Prototyping using Appian to improve customer experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We went through a light-touch Request for Proposal process, explaining the problem we were trying to fix and giving lots of examples of the current process and pain points. Appian was one of 10 respondents but stood out as having all of the components that would make putting the customer first, sharing information across multiple government agencies, workflow, low code and speed to build a working prototype that would work on multiple devices (pc, mobile, table) out of the box.

Appian understood the problem we were trying to fix, and their response answered the majority of our concerns about how to solve the problems for the business customer by using and re-using information.

Other providers could do some parts of the functionality needed, or offered to build the prototype from scratch, or couldn't meet our timeframes (due to length of delivery or lack of resources). Some of the respondents missed the point entirely and simply did not meet the requirements we set.

Another factor was the cost estimate presented by the respondents - Appian was not the cheapest, but they were definitely not wildly expensive (unlike a couple of other respondents)!
Read Lynley Johnston's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (20)
7.5
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (18)
8.0
Platform Security (18)
9.2
Platform User Management (20)
7.5
Reusability (21)
7.8
Platform Scalability (20)
8.2

About Appian

Appian provides a software development platform that combines Full-Stack Automation and enterprise low-code to rapidly deliver business applications. The vendor boasts many of the world’s largest organizations are using Appian to improve customer experience, achieve operational excellence, and simplify global risk and compliance. They further state that Appian runs some of the most important processes at the world’s best companies, like Barclays, Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Aviva, Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, and the US Department of the Treasury.

In Appian users don’t code an application, but draw it -- like a flowchart. The vendor cites Forrester, who says Appian is 10-20x faster than regular development. This approach is called ‘low-code’.

Appian can be used to write new apps from scratch, or to integrate and enhance legacy applications already in place. Users don’t have to migrate data to use Appian, as the vendor states Appian plays well with existing systems.

Appian Features

Low-Code Development Features
Has featureVisual Modeling
Has featureDrag-and-drop Interfaces
Has featurePlatform Security
Has featurePlatform User Management
Has featureReusability
Has featurePlatform Scalability

Appian Screenshots

Appian Videos (11)

Appian Downloadables

Appian Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Appian Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web