Appian Reviews

163 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Steffen Liedtke | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Appian - perfect tool for our ongoing business transformation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • we are using Appian platform on tablets for our whole recycling trucks/fleet and have for first time a real time visibility on how we are tracking (daily over 1500 collections nationwide)
  • customer billing dispute has decreased dramatically due to real time driver comments with photo and GPS data available straight away.
  • SLA reporting helps us to identify bottlenecks in our internal processes across teams and we have improved our whole operations.
  • before Appian platform BPM it took us 2-3 weeks to deliver a recycling bin after a customer signed up with us, but NOW 48hr max after the customer signed electronically the recycling bin is at customer location and the service can commence.
Read Steffen Liedtke's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Appian user's review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For me/my team personally, it helped us create a process to track adhoc user questions/concerns/issues identified. Before using appian we only had email for this and it was hard to keep track of everything.
Read this authenticated review
Helmut Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Repeatable Business Automation Using Appian

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Appian has given us a great return on our investment. It has given our senior management more insight into where we are spending our money and how much our projects are actually costing.
  • Automation of many of our daily tasks.
Read Helmut Arnold's full review
Raul E. Menendez, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Appian Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • So far, my team has used Appian to replace a legacy system with the idea of improving the process. The ROI expected from this process should come in the form of increased productivity and faster turnaround. By integrating Appian, my team also expects a reduction in errors, and increased follow-upfront our customers that would otherwise have been missed.
Read Raul E. Menendez, MBA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Appian IS transformative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We see that complex processes could now be managed on the platform.
  • There are certainly productivity gains when we replace manual, spreadsheet based processes with Appian.
  • We expect to see great synergy once we have several processes on the platform. We expect that will come from new information sharing across processes that was simply not feasible in the past. There are new doors yet to be opened in this respect.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

TrustAppian

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive: It helped our business partners centralize transactions and therefore allow for a single source of reporting data
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Appian user and liking it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Very well used
  • Recent issue was regarding an upgrade that needed a lot of downtime
  • It is quite expensive for the use we are getting out of it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Good BPM Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Easy to implement
  • Less learning curve
  • Performance and best practices needs attention
Read this authenticated review
Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2018

Appian Business Process Management Application Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Increased Visibility - Visibility into the amount and type of work across the organization has allowed senior management to make better and more informed decisions
  • Improved Efficiency - Reduced the number of different work intake processes by 85% which makes the intake, review and disposition of requests much faster
  • ROI - Better decisions, more efficient processing of work requests improves resource management and allocation ultimately reducing costs
  • Workload Reduction - Many of the organization's processes were still be managed via spreadsheets and email. This required talented personnel to spend more time shuffling papers than focusing on more meaningful and rewarding work.
Read Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM's full review
David Cohen | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2018

Appian review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Keeps our data clean with validations which cuts down on paying unnecessary claims
  • Spent millions of dollars to build over 4 years
Read David Cohen's full review
Paul Cabrelle | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

Our Appian Revolution at SYD

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have only had the software since March 2017 so it's a bit premature to be able to quantify what effect on ROI. We have seen efficiency gains in processing times and throughput when compared to previous years statistics.
Read Paul Cabrelle's full review
Michael Keevil | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2018

Appian Review by a Long-Time Designer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I have seen Appian cut losses in time and resources attributed to mistakes in following procedures.
  • When Appian processes are created from well-defined requirements, the processes can save an organization much due to better throughput.
  • If Appian processes are constructed from requirements that are not well thought out, the processes can be resource consuming.
Read Michael Keevil's full review
Lynley Johnston | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Prototyping using Appian to improve customer experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our objective to reduce customer effort when dealing with government by 25% was exceeded. In the process of applying for an alcohol licence renewal alone, we saw approximately 80% reduction in time and effort for the business customer - and that was just a prototype! Imagine the possibilities when this is taken into a live environment!
Read Lynley Johnston's full review
Mina Labib | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2017

Appian Review after 2 years using it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The business users already are showing excitement to the idea that they can convert their manual process into automated and computerized process.
  • Managers are happy to find a place where they can track work and get a quick idea about how progress or lack of is there.
Read Mina Labib's full review
Keith Currie, B. Sc., PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

Appian a must in your toolkit to drive business decisions/actions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Master data process increased speed of processes 50%.
  • Product management processes increased timely information by 25% faster with decision making.
  • Improved accuracy of data across the enterprise as reduced issues by 20%.
Read Keith Currie, B. Sc., PMP's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (10)
7.4
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (9)
8.2
Platform Security (9)
9.0
Platform User Management (11)
7.7
Reusability (11)
8.0
Platform Scalability (10)
7.1

About Appian

Appian provides a software development platform that combines Full-Stack Automation and enterprise low-code to rapidly deliver business applications. The vendor boasts many of the world’s largest organizations are using Appian to improve customer experience, achieve operational excellence, and simplify global risk and compliance. They further state that Appian runs some of the most important processes at the world’s best companies, like Barclays, Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Aviva, Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, and the US Department of the Treasury.

In Appian users don’t code an application, but draw it -- like a flowchart. The vendor cites Forrester, who says Appian is 10-20x faster than regular development. This approach is called ‘low-code’.

Appian can be used to write new apps from scratch, or to integrate and enhance legacy applications already in place. Users don’t have to migrate data to use Appian, as the vendor states Appian plays well with existing systems.

Appian Features

Low-Code Development Features
Has featureVisual Modeling
Has featureDrag-and-drop Interfaces
Has featurePlatform Security
Has featurePlatform User Management
Has featureReusability
Has featurePlatform Scalability

Appian Screenshots

Appian Videos (11)

Appian Downloadables

Appian Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Appian Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web