Appian Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
161 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 73)

Helmut Arnold profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Appian across the whole organization. We have applications that reach many of our departments and some applications that are available to all of our users. Since we have started using Appian we have been able to address many of our process issues. It has allowed us to automate business processes to make them repeatable and easier for our users.
Read Helmut Arnold's full review
Raul E. Menendez, MBA profile photo
March 08, 2019

Appian Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used as a supplement to programs like Excel and Access to incorporate data for customers and business partners. Appian is currently helping in organizing data, and we are currently working on integrating Appian into replacing legacy systems, and allowing non-tech users to readily access data.
Read Raul E. Menendez, MBA's full review
Jason Shelton profile photo
March 11, 2019

Appian FTW

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used to automate processes enterprise wide. We currently have over 60 process automated across IT, HR and Finance, with more in development.
Read Jason Shelton's full review
Steffen Liedtke profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used as a BPM application for new customer signup and follow up on process task management, including SLA reporting. The next major development utilizing the Appian platform to receive real-time information from our national fleet about collection/service outcome with back office teams task creation and performing off system tasks based on information provided.
Read Steffen Liedtke's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Appian in our R&D organization. We use it to build solutions for complex processes that require something more advanced to efficiently support them. These are processes that were quite difficult to solution with traditional methods. Appian allows us to address these highly complex processes. Also, there are many solution requests in our backlog that Appian can now efficiently fulfill. These would be spreadsheet or document based processes that are currently inefficient. With Appian, we can build out solutions for them to increase efficiency. Furthermore, the processes can now talk to each other so we can make gains that were simply not achievable before.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Appian at Sunsuper to upgrade and solve a lot of business processes. We are currently moving away from older technologies and manual processes. It allows our company to automate a lot of super related operations that always required manual input and turning an operation that took days to just minutes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 18, 2019

TrustAppian

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We customize Appian to support various business processes in the organization. There are multiple business units that currently use it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 04, 2019

Appian user's review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used to support various groups and business processes, as well as to help track user-identified issues/concerns.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used to create and in some cases smooth over a complex interdepartmental workflow.
It is being used by the whole organization.it is very applicable where you have cross-departmental workflow
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2019

Good BPM Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company bought Appian 6 years ago as the new BPM system to replace an old one from IBM. After that migrating existing and implementing new workflows have been going all the time. And it is now used by most of the business departments and has become one of the core platforms in IT.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian was selected initially to solve a very specific business problem; how to integrate our work intake. Once we introduced Appian and its tools to the organization we have since discovered a myriad of other processes that should be enhanced by their movement onto the Appian platform.

Appian is currently being used across our Digital operations. There has been interest however from our Enterprise IT division to access Appian in how it may be able to resolve specific business issues on the Enterprise side.

Currently we are focusing the use of Appian in three primary areas: Work Intake, Time Tracking and Resource Management and Reporting. However, we have a broad strategic backlog of work that we have planned over the next 3 years. We look at Appian as being the backbone that connects disparate systems together to facilitate process improvement and overall visibility into the organization. Since this initial entry we have moved Appian to Enterprise and as such we have expanded our audience significantly.
Read Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM's full review
David Cohen profile photo
April 26, 2018

Appian review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used throughout the entire organization but the focus is with our provider information. We have numerous applications but the main app is for maintaining provider data from cradle to grave.
Read David Cohen's full review
Mina Labib profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Appian about 2 years ago, and now we are introducing Appian initiatives and solutions across all business units, manly finding a new modern and automated solutions to day-to-day processes that are manual or using old tools. Another target is to achieve connectivity and integration between different applications within the Appian platform and out of the Appian platform.
Read Mina Labib's full review
Ravi Joshi, PMI-ACP® profile photo
December 07, 2017

My Sights

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is used within Fidelity to automate the processes workflow to Launch any New Fund or Share class within the market. There are a couple of other use cases where we are using Appian as a tool of choice like Trade Reporting, Client Mailing process automation & others. The main business problem that we are addressing with Appian is, all the manual processes, phone & mail communication & SLA bound dependency has removed now. We are also now able to meet all the Regulatory SLA pressure after implementing Appian.
Read Ravi Joshi, PMI-ACP®'s full review
Paul Cabrelle profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian was introduced to replace a completely manual paper based planning approvals application system. Both internal and external users had to supply nine copies of printed applications and supporting documentation for circulation among the airport stakeholders. Often folders were lost or misplaced, stakeholders reviewed the information in silos. With the introduction of Appian, we created a 24/7 online application system which consisted of electronic forms, provided document upload facilities for supporting documentation, enabled simultaneous stakeholder reviews, sped up the approval time and enabled greater throughput. We now have a greater collaborative approach to planning approvals and are soon to start work on automating the Airport Works Permits which is the missing link for completion of the planning approvals process. We also facilitated access to the Airport Building Controller to allow them to cross reference their paper based applications with our electronic applications to ensure that the same information is being provided to both organisations.

We have also just completed the development for airline delays claims which is a service recovery mechanism for airlines when selected airport infrastructure causes delays to inbound or outbound flights. This will be primarily used by airline representatives. They will be able to lodge new claims, view their existing claims and receive outcome notifications.
Read Paul Cabrelle's full review
Lynley Johnston profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Appian to build a prototype. The prototype focuses on a subset of the hospitality sector (namely, setting up a cafe). It pulls information through from the New Zealand Business Number register about the business to create a profile for the business entity, and uses this information as part of the service request for that business customer to apply for their alcohol and food licenses for their cafe. Currently the process for applying for food and alcohol licenses is lengthy (usually a paper form of around 11 pages often completed by hand, plus a bunch of documents to attach to the application). We re-use information that has been supplied in previous applications to pre-populate the new service request, saving the business customer tons of time.

We wanted to support business customers when they need to get permits or licences to run their business by enabling them to use and re-use information and data that government holds, making requests for permits and licences easier and more efficient, by joining up services and sharing information that spans multiple government organisations, including local bodies.
Read Lynley Johnston's full review
Kaisar Hossain (MBA PMP, 6 Sigma, Scurm/ profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

With the help of a 3rd party development company (Bits in Glass Inc.), we are building an application (called SADIE - Special Authorization Digital Information Exchange) for EAP program (EAP - Exceptional Access Program) under MOH - Ministry of Health, Ontario.

This SADIE application will help doctors, prescribers and other users to request special drug to the MOH for review / assessment for approval. With Appian we are building related UIs to record patient, drug, prescriber etc. information and utilize 'Rule Engine' to do the 'Automated Assessment' of all the requests for the special drug from the prescribers and related users.

Here are some facts based on my involvement in the SADIE project:

* I am not part of the programmer / coding team.

* I am a business system analyst.

* I communicate the business need to the coder and help them come up with mock-ups / wireframes based on the business needs / workflows etc.

* I produce various artifacts such as System requirement specification documents.

Hence, with that involvement, I find the coders are swift / quick enough to produce the wireframes / mock-ups and demo us the functionality of the application in order to ensure buy-in from the customer (here, Telus Health & MOH - Ministry of Health, Ontario).

Read Kaisar Hossain (MBA PMP, 6 Sigma, Scurm/'s full review
Leighton Rice profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is used throughout the organisation, from direct reporting to handling complaints. Appian allows us to provide rapid prototyping to show the business solutions to problems very quickly. It allows full automation of mundane processes that would otherwise involve several systems and spreadsheets. It's perfect for business processing.
Read Leighton Rice's full review
Frederic Fernandez profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is used to automate business process around gas metering and connection to the gas network, when we have new customers who want gas and call GRDF. The whole organization is using Appian but only employees. We have no customers using Appian. Currently we don't use Appian for HR or purchasing process but we have some opportunity to work on purchasing process.
Read Frederic Fernandez's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (8)
7.1
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (7)
7.5
Platform Security (8)
8.8
Platform User Management (9)
7.8
Reusability (9)
7.8
Platform Scalability (9)
6.4

About Appian

Appian provides a low-code software development platform that combines intelligent automation and business process management to rapidly deliver powerful business applications. Many of the world’s largest organizations use Appian applications to improve customer experience, achieve operational excellence, and simplify global risk and compliance.

Appian Features

Low-Code Development Features
Has featureVisual Modeling
Has featureDrag-and-drop Interfaces
Has featurePlatform Security
Has featurePlatform User Management
Has featureReusability
Has featurePlatform Scalability

Appian Screenshots

Appian Videos (10)

Appian Downloadables

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Appian Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web