Appian Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
178 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 85)

Christine Mulready | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Appian Review for Company-Wide Work Flows

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Appian across the whole organization. It is used in various ways. The main purpose is to supply needed approval and processing that the enterprise systems do not provide. For instance, it is a way for employees to request company-provided mobile devices to help support customer contracts. An employee can request a device and it will go to the proper approvers and then an order can be placed. There are may be examples within IT processing that Appian fills the need. New employees/contractors requesting user accounts to login to various applications. For HR use, employees can put in requests for Charity fundraising. Also, managers can put in merit request for Recognition Awards. For Financial integration, Project Managers can setup Project Work Authorizations as well and put in Project Risk factors to manage contracts. We also use Appian to request work or long term items that will need to be capitalized over a period of time. Basically, Appian is used as an interface to integrate HR, IT and Financial data across the organization. It provides the necessary tool for approval workflows that are missing in the enterprise systems.
Read Christine Mulready's full review
Alex Peker | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Building Complex UI and Business Engine Platform with Appian

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The custom application developed in Appian is used by the production group of our organization. It is used to maintain and run the processes that allow users to generate marketing lists based on a comprehensive set of multi-stage selection criteria and apply statistical models out of predefined consumer audience dataset. It involves building a complex UI and communication with various outside systems through the use of web services.
Read Alex Peker's full review
Sharon Dvir | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2020

Robust BPM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Appian as a case management solution for our operational needs. It allows us to automate processes end to end and to offer a "one-stop solution", it orchestrates on top of the various internal and external systems.
Currently, being used by one large size department.
Read Sharon Dvir's full review
Ivan Vazquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Appian is built to accelerate your success

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is deep inside the University of South Florida. We have focused the work in two different areas
- Student: providing all kinds of solutions like portfolio, scheduling, student records, and general support for many activities for student success
- Faculty and Staff: travel requests, faculty evaluations, and assignments, Tenure and Promotion, HR Onboarding, etc.
Read Ivan Vazquez's full review
Rob Kolosky | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Appian Rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is currently being used by one department. We have an annual program where we distribute items for our members so they can prepare for working in the heat of summer. Appian manages the entire distribution of the items to the members, allowing users to see requests, manage the number of items shipped to members, and ship the items out.
Read Rob Kolosky's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Implementing Appian for a PoC

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being rolled out in our company as a central BPMS for assigning work to our staff. At this moment the assigning is done manually but we want to use Appian to automate the process. We are currently implementing it as a prototype for 2 areas of the company to see how we can implement the system and support it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Appian is slick and easy to use with room to grow

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used to run a specific business line. It is the application used by our business users to manage our customer rentals and vehicle maintenance. We use Appian to provide APIs used by our eCommerce website. It is used as the source of record for the whole business line.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Appian at University of South Florida

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used across all of the University of South Florida. Over the last 4 years, we've implemented solutions to streamline and improve the processes taken by students, faculty, staff, and administration. Not only are we using Appian to create better business processes, but we also used it to create an information and action hub that is very accessible to all of our users, no matter where in the world they are located.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Appian is our enabler of Automation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian has been selected as an enterprise standard for workflow for my company. I specifically represent the side of our company that provides services to our clients and more specifically our contact center. We are using Appian together with other contact center technologies to process client service requests received by mail, fax, and web. Appian is the component we are using to orchestrate our processes and to support automation where possible and to engage our associates when automation is not possible.

We made the selection of Appian in order to meet two primary objectives, one to replace older expensive technologies that no longer satisfied our objectives and to implement new processes to provide improved processing efficiencies for our associates and clients.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Appian user's review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used to support various groups and business processes, as well as to help track user-identified issues/concerns.
Read this authenticated review
Steffen Liedtke | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Appian - perfect tool for our ongoing business transformation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used as a BPM application for new customer signup and follow up on process task management, including SLA reporting. The next major development utilizing the Appian platform to receive real-time information from our national fleet about collection/service outcome with back office teams task creation and performing off system tasks based on information provided.
Read Steffen Liedtke's full review
Helmut Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Repeatable Business Automation Using Appian

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Appian across the whole organization. We have applications that reach many of our departments and some applications that are available to all of our users. Since we have started using Appian we have been able to address many of our process issues. It has allowed us to automate business processes to make them repeatable and easier for our users.
Read Helmut Arnold's full review
Raul E. Menendez, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Appian Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used as a supplement to programs like Excel and Access to incorporate data for customers and business partners. Appian is currently helping in organizing data, and we are currently working on integrating Appian into replacing legacy systems, and allowing non-tech users to readily access data.
Read Raul E. Menendez, MBA's full review
Jason Shelton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Appian FTW

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian is being used to automate processes enterprise wide. We currently have over 60 process automated across IT, HR and Finance, with more in development.
Read Jason Shelton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Appian IS transformative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Appian in our R&D organization. We use it to build solutions for complex processes that require something more advanced to efficiently support them. These are processes that were quite difficult to solution with traditional methods. Appian allows us to address these highly complex processes. Also, there are many solution requests in our backlog that Appian can now efficiently fulfill. These would be spreadsheet or document based processes that are currently inefficient. With Appian, we can build out solutions for them to increase efficiency. Furthermore, the processes can now talk to each other so we can make gains that were simply not achievable before.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Appian, almost there, but not quite...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Appian at Sunsuper to upgrade and solve a lot of business processes. We are currently moving away from older technologies and manual processes. It allows our company to automate a lot of super related operations that always required manual input and turning an operation that took days to just minutes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

TrustAppian

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We customize Appian to support various business processes in the organization. There are multiple business units that currently use it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Appian user and liking it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used to create and in some cases smooth over a complex interdepartmental workflow.
It is being used by the whole organization.it is very applicable where you have cross-departmental workflow
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Good BPM Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company bought Appian 6 years ago as the new BPM system to replace an old one from IBM. After that migrating existing and implementing new workflows have been going all the time. And it is now used by most of the business departments and has become one of the core platforms in IT.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2018

Appian Business Process Management Application Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Appian was selected initially to solve a very specific business problem; how to integrate our work intake. Once we introduced Appian and its tools to the organization we have since discovered a myriad of other processes that should be enhanced by their movement onto the Appian platform.

Appian is currently being used across our Digital operations. There has been interest however from our Enterprise IT division to access Appian in how it may be able to resolve specific business issues on the Enterprise side.

Currently we are focusing the use of Appian in three primary areas: Work Intake, Time Tracking and Resource Management and Reporting. However, we have a broad strategic backlog of work that we have planned over the next 3 years. We look at Appian as being the backbone that connects disparate systems together to facilitate process improvement and overall visibility into the organization. Since this initial entry we have moved Appian to Enterprise and as such we have expanded our audience significantly.
Read Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (20)
7.5
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (18)
8.0
Platform Security (18)
9.2
Platform User Management (20)
7.5
Reusability (21)
7.8
Platform Scalability (20)
8.3

About Appian

Appian provides a software development platform that combines Full-Stack Automation and enterprise low-code to rapidly deliver business applications. The vendor boasts many of the world’s largest organizations are using Appian to improve customer experience, achieve operational excellence, and simplify global risk and compliance. They further state that Appian runs some of the most important processes at the world’s best companies, like Barclays, Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Aviva, Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, and the US Department of the Treasury.

In Appian users don’t code an application, but draw it -- like a flowchart. The vendor cites Forrester, who says Appian is 10-20x faster than regular development. This approach is called ‘low-code’.

Appian can be used to write new apps from scratch, or to integrate and enhance legacy applications already in place. Users don’t have to migrate data to use Appian, as the vendor states Appian plays well with existing systems.

Appian Features

Low-Code Development Features
Has featureVisual Modeling
Has featureDrag-and-drop Interfaces
Has featurePlatform Security
Has featurePlatform User Management
Has featureReusability
Has featurePlatform Scalability

Appian Screenshots

Appian Videos (11)

Appian Downloadables

Appian Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Appian Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web