Appian Reviews

161 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 73)

Steffen Liedtke | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Appian - perfect tool for our ongoing business transformation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • quick mockup simple forms to show end user how the data will flow.
  • task setup based on time or other triggers works very well with the the SLA reporting streamlining teams performances.
  • real time information now available and we can pro actively resolve issues now and inform our customers that issues are resolved before they actually knew the issue existed.
  • whole Appian Version updates require our full change team to do UAT. There should be an automated tool provided by Appian to highlight what processes will be affected by the version update.
  • we have issues with time/date conversion to Australian standard time as some of the time stamps are based on Washington DC time. This makes GAP analysis when issues reported by end-users challenging some times.
  • certain default form layouts cannot be amended to our needs and require a total new sprint to get exactly what we need - which again is time and money we need to invest and something a change request on a form should do the trick
Read Steffen Liedtke's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Appian user's review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Keeps track of the 'who' and 'what' and 'when' various tasks are completed.
  • Helps us make sure steps are not missed/skipped in a process.
  • Makes it easier to show an audit trail.
  • Make it easier for any 'normal' user to create their own workflows with minimal training. The easier it is to rollout use of the tool, the more it would be used even just to help with an individual's or team's personal/team use.
Read this authenticated review
Helmut Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Repeatable Business Automation Using Appian

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Repeatable process. Once implemented in Appian, you have an automated process that will always work in the same way. No more dependencies on people remembering what needs to be done or how to do it.
  • Great integration with other applications. Appian allows you to integrate with many other applications to provide a seamless process flow.
  • Reporting capability. Appian has the ability to report on information from any connected system to provide real-time data. Very nice graphical and textual reports can be created.
  • Sites. The ability to create a place for a user to be able to perform their required job without having to see all of the other applications, reports and records. This allows a very focused approach for a user to interact with the system.
  • With every release Appian adds more functionality
  • Appian is continually improving the product but having to learn new features every 3 months (upgrade schedule) can be a challenge.
  • Graphical user interface could use some additional improvements but it has come a long way already.
  • Sites could use some additional modifications. Currently, the News Feed is not available on a site.
Read Helmut Arnold's full review
Raul E. Menendez, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Appian Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization of data into an easily, readable format.
  • Providing different levels of access, depending on the role of the user.
  • Being able to develop UIs without having to use code.
  • I am a new user to Appian, and am not too familiar with the product just yet to find a weakness.
Read Raul E. Menendez, MBA's full review
Jason Shelton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Appian FTW

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As a developer, the fact that the entire platform is web based, is invaluable. I can work from anywhere that I can access the Internet.
  • Like any other platform, Appian is constantly adding new features. It's a con that is also a benefit. You really have to stay on top of all the new offerings.
Read Jason Shelton's full review
Peter Newnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Appian solves our BPM requirements

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rapid application development
  • Low code development
  • Quick applications to manage workflow
  • Fast screen mockups
  • Change control and version control is lagging
  • Integration testing is difficult
  • Plugins are more difficult to develop than they should be
Read Peter Newnam's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Appian IS transformative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Appian is great for sharing information across processes. The platform is designed such that objects from one application can be simply referenced in another (if your security permits it, of course.) This makes information sharing across processes quite simple from a technical implementation perspective.
  • Development cycles on Appian are shorter as compared to traditional methods. We're able to churn out solutions at a higher velocity.
  • Building a user interface is fast and simple. It has limited widgets but meets our needs 95% of the time out of the box. Appian regularly enhances there UI capabilities.
  • Appian has drag and drop UI building, so a proficient Appian designer can build the interface in real time along side the business stakeholders.
  • Advanced functionality requires use of the Appian expression language. The more advanced the logic, the harder it is to build with the expression language. This means development expertise is more relevant if you need advanced functionality, which I imagine applies almost all the time. I would much prefer if they allowed some common language such as JavaScript out of the box.
  • Debugging has proved difficult. It’s easy for developers to get the app to or feature to a “working” state but it needs robust alpha testing.
  • Deployment can be tricky. When a solution gets big and there are many teams and dependencies, it needs a careful process to ensure things don’t break.
  • Reasuability of Appian objects is both a pro and con. Reusing objects across apps may be more trouble than its worth because of creating heavy dependencies. Experience is helpful to strike the right balance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Appian, almost there, but not quite...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows the use of BPMN to describe and implement a business process. Its not pure BPMN 2.0, but does the job nicely in most cases.
  • Forms can be build relatively easily and with 19.1 and will allow for a lot of flexibility in the layout too.
  • The ability to build Java plugins where needed is a huge benefit as there are very few solutions that can't be implemented using Appian.
  • Can port to multiple platforms relatively easily.
  • Database access is abstracted away, so trivial to move from one DB engine to another.
  • The new objects to allow connections to web services is very nicely done and handles OAuth very well.
  • No source control. In 19.1 they have included very minimal source control, but basically if you want to use GIT etc. you might be out of luck.
  • Very minimal debugging.
  • Appian boasts it is "low code", but it is anything but, especially if you want to do anything non trivial. To Appian's defence on this one, I've not seen any framework that is truely "low code". I've also noticed Appian's marketing has moved away from this.
  • Very hard to install and upgrade. This should be easy, but very hard to get right, very easy to mess up.
  • Doesn't scale easily, this again is a lot of hard work to get right and hard to maintain.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

TrustAppian

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to configure/customize.
  • It provides a consistent workflow across multiple pages/functions.
  • It's designer interface allows for quick troubleshooting.
  • There are places that come out-of-the-box that we can't customize, especially the user profile which sometimes, depending on the country/region privacy requirements, we need to be able to modify.
  • There are places where brute force or hard coding is necessary
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Appian user and liking it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use
  • Easy to debug
  • Easy to get people onboard
  • low code
  • Dashboards on appian data
  • Include option to use bots
  • native dashboards with tableau integration
  • actual low-code effort which can be created by business users and not by IT
  • integrate it with sharepoint
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Good BPM Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Workflow runs in memory and faster than others based on rational database
  • New features and versions released in a fast way
  • Support and community runs well
  • Be able to refactor object names
  • Upgrades could be easier
  • Easy for HA on premises
Read this authenticated review
Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2018

Appian Business Process Management Application Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Process Modeling - The Appian designer interface is extremely intuitive and easy to use. It allows a designer, once familiar with the basic setup to quickly create process models
  • Flexibility - We often tell our end users that Appian is a blank slate from which they can request and design practically whatever process and or business solution they can envision. Where as users are often relegated to and limited by what an off the shelf application provides Appian provides tremendous flexibility.
  • Mobile - Appian has successfully accomplished the build once deploy to all platforms for BPM. Their mobile versions of the application are excellent.
  • Cloud Services - Appian offers a cloud service that is simple to set up and insures that you are always up to date with the latest of versions.
  • Integration - Appian's API capabililties to push/pull data allows it to become what we call the "spine" of our organization. Connecting to and interacting with other enterprise platforms to provide its users with a one stop complete picture.
  • Process Modeling - Appian is currently moving away from their desktop portal model and into web-based access. This requires some significant reworking of their underlying structures. That being said, their new technology and modeling options are extremely exciting and should provide significant enhancements and flexibility over the plain portal environment option.
  • Form Design - I would like to see greater flexibility in form design and form preview.
  • Training - Appian offers a plethora of training but the ability to tailor training to meet specific needs of an audience would be a welcomed addition.
  • Reports - There needs to be greater flexibility in configuring and printing of reports.
Read Michael Campbell, PMP,CSM's full review
Oliver Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2018

New user feedback/review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Low code, can upskill our current automation developers easily
  • Integrates well with other automation we use
  • Training modules (exercises in particular) could be clearer, and videos should have a "this is what we want to achieve" before the content, just to give it some context
  • Possibly make variables easier to see in real time on the screen while in designer mode
Read Oliver Davies's full review
Ravi Joshi, PMI-ACP® | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2017

My Sights

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I have observed after version 17.1 we have a lot of good features in Appian that improve usability (UX). This adds real value in this competitive Digital space.
  • You can understand business use case and convert it to a logical process automation.
  • Process Modeller has improved a lot and providing smart services use adds more value.
  • Service integration helps us to seamlessly integrate with third-party systems
  • There is an improvement required for Reporting part.
  • UX can also improve such as in consideration of some CMS system. Sometimes business usually compares the UX with some CMS systems like SharePoint.
  • Tableau or any other visualization tool integration is Key to provide Single customer View.
Read Ravi Joshi, PMI-ACP®'s full review
Paul Cabrelle | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

Our Appian Revolution at SYD

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Use - one of our main drivers was that it had to be simple to use. Moreso when a large proportion of our userbase are external to the airport and sometimes unknown, which makes training a particularly difficult task. We also didn't want our internal users to be slowed down after the introduction so again we put a lot of effort into making the interface as simple to use and visually uncluttered.
  • Version upgrades, enhancements, minor bug fixes and all loaded without much interruption to the system availability time. We generally schedule version upgrades so that they occur at 1am local time to avoid any impact on our user base.
  • Appian & Cognizant resources assigned to our implementation were and still are absolutely amazing. Going above and beyond to maximise the benefits that we obtain from the implementation. Proactive when it comes to dealing with business units that are somewhat stuck in their ways, happy to demonstrate better ways of doing things and providing solutions to problems that would have been otherwise assigned to the too hard basket.
  • Because of the low numbers employed by our organisation, our ability to make use of an enterprise licence model has been restricted. To their credit, Appian have come up with mutually beneficial solutions to help contain costs and allow us to grow our numbers.
Read Paul Cabrelle's full review
Michael Keevil | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2018

Appian Review by a Long-Time Designer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Appian allows us to rapidly configure a process for a new business user sharing information previously developed.
  • Appian allows us to build new processes rapidly, following requests from business owners.
  • Appian allows us to custom tailor processes for business customers who have seen functionality in other Appian processes.
  • I miss the ability to designate items, particularly rules, as Favorites, and return to them quickly.
Read Michael Keevil's full review
Lynley Johnston | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Prototyping using Appian to improve customer experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The team we had to build the prototype (including the consultants from Appian) was fantastic. We implemented the prototype in three short Agile sprints (6 weeks in total), and the resulting prototype was high quality with lots of functionality of excellent quality.
  • Because Appian is a product suite, all the components worked seamlessly together - we had no issues with integration and could focus on the experience for the business customer, the concepts to prove and the problems we were there to solve.
  • We had such a short timeframe for implementing the prototype that we did not get an opportunity to explore the drag and drop business process modelling functionality - this is available in the Appian product, and would enable low code development, but I can't really comment on how good it is.
Read Lynley Johnston's full review
Kaisar Hossain (MBA PMP, 6 Sigma, Scurm/ | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

Build your application faster than you think

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to implement workflow.
  • Easy to build wireframes and UIs.
  • Option to utilize various build it objects and apply those on the UIs.
  • Limitation of objects capability such as 'Date / Calendar' object.
  • Limitation on the number of pages to be displayed. Here, total / max. number is 5 main pages / tabs.
  • Limitation on displaying / positioning of sub-tabs below each main page / tab. it is only possible to display the sub-tabs below the main page / main top level tab, and if the number of tabs are increased, the UI / sub-tab display becomes busy / cluttered with the title.
Read Kaisar Hossain (MBA PMP, 6 Sigma, Scurm/'s full review
Mina Labib | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2017

Appian Review after 2 years using it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick and rapid designing and implementation of process and application (including workflows and UI).
  • Easy integration between applications within Appian and out of Appian platform.
  • Unified look and feel of implemented sites and navigation between applications.
  • Expression Rule Editor has a lot of room for improvement, as it is not as easy as other IDE internment
  • Adding features to debug and trace code in editors and process models.
  • Adding features to accept anonymous objects in process model instead of just strong typed objects.
  • A better way to handle multiple calls for smart activities in a process model.
  • More easy ways to navigate objects in the Designer tool
Read Mina Labib's full review
Keith Currie, B. Sc., PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

Appian a must in your toolkit to drive business decisions/actions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Process centric management of data and tasks
  • Speed of solution development and change
  • Tracking of process execution fro optimization and performance
  • Dynamic data driven forms and processes
  • Service and workforce management of activities and collaboration to speed decision making and issue resolution
  • Licensing model is too restrictive both from a purchasing perspective (blocks) as well as cost for use (need license even if the only step in a process is to approve or initiate something).
  • The memory database should archive process execution results to a SQL database versus needed to build this to reporting analysis and trending reports for process metrics.
  • Canned reporting should be available for process metrics so these do not need to be built, i.e. this is a BPM tool so I should be able to report on metrics not just what is current or completed in the memory database but for whatever timeframe I decide to keep.
  • Improved support model in which you can talk to someone versus submitting ticket and getting bogus responses.
Read Keith Currie, B. Sc., PMP's full review
Leighton Rice | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Appian - the perfect BPM tool that has Agile in mind!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Its low code platform allows for rapid development, which fits well with the Agile framework.
  • The user experience is enhanced with standard interfaces that are familiar throughout the Appian package.
  • Appian has covered all the bases with all the plugins you could possibly need. From web APIs to SQL integration.
  • Appian lacks in on-premise support for high availability requirements.
  • Appian training is linear and does not cater for real life problems.
  • On-premise organisations suffer from the multiple releases/updates throughout the year. It seems every release has major updates.
Read Leighton Rice's full review
Frederic Fernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2017

Appian at GRDF, searching for the best way to accelerate your business process

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Using a basket of tasks for user. It's clear for work day to day, just choosing task to complete, one after one.
  • Follow-up on tasks. Every user says that it's a revolution to have detail about our tasks and they can know where there are tasks.
  • Appian is in the middle of our IT architecture. But Appian does not have enough capacity for connection and it's too hard to develop some web services.
  • Appian must be easier to use like an exchange bus.
  • The user experience is poor. Appian UI is not flexible enough. We can not customize the different screens correctly.
Read Frederic Fernandez's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (8)
7.1
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (7)
7.5
Platform Security (8)
8.8
Platform User Management (9)
7.8
Reusability (9)
7.8
Platform Scalability (9)
6.4

About Appian

Appian provides a software development platform that combines Full-Stack Automation and enterprise low-code to rapidly deliver business applications. The vendor boasts many of the world’s largest organizations are using Appian to improve customer experience, achieve operational excellence, and simplify global risk and compliance. They further state that Appian runs some of the most important processes at the world’s best companies, like Barclays, Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Aviva, Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, and the US Department of the Treasury.

In Appian users don’t code an application, but draw it -- like a flowchart. The vendor cites Forrester, who says Appian is 10-20x faster than regular development. This approach is called ‘low-code’.

Appian can be used to write new apps from scratch, or to integrate and enhance legacy applications already in place. Users don’t have to migrate data to use Appian, as the vendor states Appian plays well with existing systems.

Appian Features

Low-Code Development Features
Has featureVisual Modeling
Has featureDrag-and-drop Interfaces
Has featurePlatform Security
Has featurePlatform User Management
Has featureReusability
Has featurePlatform Scalability

Appian Screenshots

Appian Videos (11)

Appian Downloadables

Appian Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Appian Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web