Apricot by Social Solutions Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
130 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 84)

Liz Carson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2020

Apricot Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot as our participant database and to track program attendance for individual participants and their families. It has been very useful for running reports of information needed for grant applications, as well as to identify patterns. Because we are able to upload files, we can keep all application materials stored in Apricot, rather than only having partial information.
  • Ability to search by many fields
  • Ability to link related individuals
  • Prevention of duplicate participant profiles
  • Adding permissions for users could be streamlined
  • I would like to copy a profile's information (or parts of it) - we have many participants who are siblings and reentering the address and contact information takes time.
  • Adding individual dates for each class is cumbersome
Apricot is well suited for tracking contact information, demographic information, attendance, and other details for individuals. We have not yet figured out the best way to integrate ongoing data points from surveys/assessments.
We have not yet used Apricot specifically to scale program delivery. We have had a significant increase in program participants for other reasons, and Apricot has made managing their information easier. We currently use it primarily for our on-site programs, but we are beginning to use it for our community-based programs too. Once we are tracking that information more consistently/with more detail, we will have the tools to back up that program growth/expansion as well.
Read Liz Carson's full review
Casey Maloney | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Ideal for small do-it-yourself agencies!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially began using Apricot by Social Solutions to manage our program data collection and reporting. The heavens parted and there was a hallelujah chorus when I realized how easily Apricot could be leveraged across our whole agency. Now we use it for Programs, Case Management, Training, and Outreach inquiry tracking. We're considering moving our Volunteer Tracking into Apricot as well. Look out Donor Database, I've got my eye on you, too!
  • Technical Support and Training are on point. Their Knowledge Base is extensive and Tech Support Personnel are super friendly and helpful.
  • Account Managers are never far from your fingertips if you have questions about how Apricot by Social Solutions can be leveraged in new ways for your agency.
  • Overall functionality of the system is smooth. I rarely hear from my users with problems that can't be easily diagnosed as operator errors.
  • The future functionality of the system, the ways it WILL work, blow me away. Kudos to their R&D folks.
  • Form and Report Creation is cumbersome if you recreate sections with duplicate formatting often.
We are a small agency and until recently I've been the only Site Administrator so I've learned how to build our system on my own. The Apricot by Social Solutions Knowledge Base is a wealth of How-To information and their Technical Support Staff (available via chat from inside the application) are always friendly and helpful when I need additional assistance. Without that, it would have been a much more difficult process to implement, maintain, and expand the system.
Thanks to the ways that Apricot by Social Solutions allows me to aggregate data, we have measurable outcomes for all our Programs, existing and new. We use that data to make decisions about what programs we expand or create. Our small agency has more than doubled in size in the last three years since we've been using Apricot by Social Solutions. The program's functionality makes it easy to grow and adapt to innovative uses.
Read Casey Maloney's full review
Bill Payne | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2020

Getting the most bang for your buck from Apricot by Social Solutions

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The mission of Second Chance Program San Diego is to disrupt the cycles of incarceration and poverty by helping people find their way to self- sufficiency. Second Chance prides itself on the use of evidence-based practices in all our work. Our stakeholders want evidence that our programs positively impact individuals, families, and communities. Second Chance has chosen to use the Apricot data system. Our data system allows us to document, report on, and share how our efforts help us achieve the expected outcomes. Data is a crucial part of telling the Second Chance story of mission achievement. We also collect data for safety, accountability, and to measure progress.
  • Ease of Use + Ease of Configuration
  • System Flexibility
  • Highly Effective Support Team and Tools (Knowledge Base, Training, etc.)
  • Release management - surprise feature changes
  • Lack of proactive communications about the product and transparency
  • Timely development of features prioritized from customers
  • Data integration/integration with other data systems
Apricot (Core) will deliver a faster time-to-value for organizations that enjoy a higher level of process and data management maturity. This is because of its flexibility and almost infinite form configurations and design capabilities. On common maturity scales such as CMM-I, a Level 3+ organization will achieve a faster implementation and time to value than a Level 1 or 2 organization.

However, that does not limit Apricot Core to organizations that are more mature in the areas of process and data management maturity. With sufficiently thought-out organizational change management (OCM), implementation, and sustaining strategies, Apricot Core can be a catalyst to transform an agency into a data-driven and evidence-based organization.

It is worth putting emphasis on the need for well-thought-out OCM and sustaining strategies for the system. The system has the flexibility to support any workflow. With sufficient organizational change management and the right sustaining strategy, it will enable cohesive continuous improvement in standardizing and organizing the infrastructure to support your organization's goals.

If, however, the organization is not willing to commit to investing in these strategies, Apricot Core might not be the right platform. This is primarily why I've rated it a 7 out of 10 on how likely I am to recommend it to a colleague.
What we have achieved with Apricot is the removal of a "barrier" between program operations and the agency's supporting functions, such as Development, Finance, Leadership, and the Board of Directors. For example, instead of a monthly manual data gathering exercise to report outputs, we have a real-time analysis of outputs, outcomes, and impacts that also rolls up into a live dashboard.

A similar example is a difference in compiling information used to respond to RFPs or to apply for grants. We are able to gather in minutes what used to take weeks, and the information is more meaningful and more accurate.

The improvements we've made to the quality of the services we deliver are equally meaningful. An example in this area is the way we've configured follow-up reminders for our Case Managers, which supports consistency and improves the quality of service delivery for our program participants.
Read Bill Payne's full review
Megan Slusser | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Apricot - great program with great capabilities!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apricot is used across our whole organization - utilized in different ways by three distinct program areas. We use it primarily for client services and reporting. We do not utilize Apricot's donor or grant functions.
  • Extensive options for customization
  • Powerful reporting functions
  • Intuitive for front-end users
  • Would like to see some additional functionality added to Essentials program
One of the great appeals of Apricot is its flexibility and almost unlimited options for customization and innovation--all accessible by the organization itself. This is immensely valuable for non-profit organizations that may not have budgetary options to hire IT/database administrator personnel. However, this can also be a drawback--particularly if an organization creates a highly customized Apricot system that relies on regular administration and therefore will need trained staff, knowledgeable in the implementation of the system.
Apricot has given us the capability to better measure outputs and outcomes, leading to an increased understanding of program effectiveness and utilization of outcomes in treatment. This allows us to be more intentional and deliberate in program innovation and efforts, including capacity-building and program sustainability.
Read Megan Slusser's full review
Zack Gentry | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Figuring it out

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot for case management in our New Life Program and our emergency shelter. We do want to ultimately use it for employee record keeping as well, so it would then also be used by our Administration Department and other Department heads. Right now, it is only our Program Department that uses it.
  • It allows you to build out what is necessary for your organization.
  • It is easy to use.
  • We were told at the time of purchase that it would do some things it doesn't.
  • We paid for a member of Apricot to "help" input our records and formulate things from our old system to Apricot. We didn't receive the level of service we anticipated.
Apricot is great for case management. Our case managers find it easy to use and really like the fact that it is cloud based. For our Emergency Shelter and Treatment Program, it doesn't track "bed assignments" the way we desire.
We are still in the process of learning all the functions of Apricot--what it can and cannot be used for. We hope that the more we use it the more we can see how it can be used in different areas of our organization. At this point, it is used solely for case management.
Read Zack Gentry's full review
Colleen Piluso | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

We love Apricot!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at Mountain Home, a small nonprofit organization in Missoula, Montana providing residential and mental health services to young mothers and children, we use Apricot as our client database. We track services, assessments, progress, and much more. Before Apricot we used Excel spreadsheets and physical files - it was a mess and our data was not always reliable because of our less-than-ideal data collection methods. Apricot has helped us improve the quality of our services and the accuracy of our data. Equally important, it has increased effectiveness and efficiency across the entire organization.
  • Easy to navigate database! We appreciate the user-friendly aspects of Apricot. It makes it easy to train new employees.
  • Affordable for the quality received. As a nonprofit we needed something affordable but good quality. Apricot was the perfect choice for us.
  • Room to grow. In the 3 years we've had Apricot we've grown by 33%. Apricot supports our organizaitonal growth and offers services to meet our needs.
  • AMAZING Customer Care Team Members! The customer care team members are knowledgeable and quick to respond. They go above and beyond in the customer care department!
  • Upload and edit. I would love to be able to upload a template into Apricot and edit it from there rather than always having to build out forms.
  • Billing. The billing page can be confusing. We've had some issues with understanding what we currently owed and when payments were processed. This area could become more user-friendly.
Apricot is well-suited for any size and type of service organization. It's customizable enough to meet any need.
Absolutely. Thanks to Apricot we can now share some wonderful outcomes we've accomplished through our services:

After 1-year of services, clients in 2019 saw the following outcomes:

  • 92% of families were housed in a stable rental.

  • 80% improvement in child health including access to preventative care, sick care, dental, and immunizations.

  • Almost 70% of moms showed improvement in mental health including depression/suicide, management of mental illness, and self-esteem.

  • Almost doubled rate of children’s access to educational childcare.

  • 30% increase in moms’ self-esteem.

  • In 2019, 86% of moms were employed and/or pursuing education.

Read Colleen Piluso's full review
Jamie Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2020

A review of Apricot from Mexico

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the system to track medical interventions for our pediatric clinic. We need this data to internally evaluate our service volumes and analyze costs. We also need the data to report to funding organizations and for grant applications.
  • It is infinitely flexible.
  • The report engine is intuitive.
  • Service response is fast.
  • Initial system design is very difficult for a lay person.
  • The report graphing features are too limited.
  • No ability to make global changes to selected records.
Unless your organization has internal database engineering expertise OR you are able to fund a consultant to assist with the initial build, you will struggle. Also, Apricot is not configurable for Spanish language nor to accommodate DD/MM/YYYY date formats, or maternal and paternal last names. Therefore, no “canned” elements of the system—a major selling point that promised ease—could be used in our implementation.
Although we like the report generation tools, they fall far short of graphing functionality in Excel. In many cases, I have to export the data and complete my graphing outside of the system.
Read Jamie Kelly's full review
Tara Feurtado | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2020

Just a small homeless shelter playing around with big kid software.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bethlehem Inn is an emergency homeless shelter for adults and families. We have two programs, each program consists of individual case management including action plans, self-sufficiency tracking, and narratives. Our entire Program's departments use Apricot in order to create records for each client coming in and keep track of case management narratives during a person's stay.
  • Having a cloud based case management software is a huge plus.
  • Having a blank canvas so we can create the software the way we want it to look.
  • Having the Arizona Self Sufficiency matrix already a form to use has been huge.
  • Capability of a dashboard.
  • Capability of a form that is a text box that does not limit text.
  • An easier way to track who has intake matrices and who does not. Comparing data is a challenge.
Apricot has been a great case management software for our agency. There are not a lot of software options for homeless shelters, as most are geared towards educational programs. One of the biggest challenges is for each client that we see, we need to be able to read their entire story that is in text form like a book. Currently,
that option doesn't exist.
Utilizing the additional supports of one on one report building help, we have been able to shape reports to look like we need them to look. There are still edits that need to be made.
Read Tara Feurtado's full review
Delores Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2020

There's always room for improvement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to capture, retain, and report clients' progress for funding purposes while providing current status within our organization. It replaced a manual system of maintaining profile and case management data.
  • Customer service is very accessible.
  • Form design is flexible and accommodating.
  • Capable of maintaining various types of database info in one system.
  • Positioning of data records is efficient.
  • Tutorials are not always easy to understand by a novice user so one has to resort to contacting Customer Support.
  • The ability to retrofit standard form design to our agency's specifications needs expansion.
  • No connectivity between other Apricot users, outside of our organization, for us to share common clients and/or data.
  • The development of the client roster is cumbersome. Must be exported and manipulated to remove duplications.
Captures basic and progressive data via manual input. Collects and retains data for reporting purposes. Follows case management standard protocols. Does not provide in-depth analytics; limited on what it can capture and how it translates into useable assessments.
Read Delores Clark's full review
Kelly Fox | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2020

The Last Database You'll Ever Need!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot Essentials to track and manage all our client data across multiple sites and programs. In addition to storing all our client data, our primary use for Apricot is its reporting functionality. We also use the Connect Portal to allow clients to submit reports off-site.
  • Extremely powerful search features.
  • Advanced reporting abilities that are very easy to set up and use.
  • Entirely 100% customizable to our org's precise needs.
  • AMAZING tech support!
  • Super user-friendly, even for non-tech types.
  • Location/heat maps are limited to a relatively small number of data points.
  • Would be nice to print reports from the document folder (i.e. full list of records).
  • More a la carte features.
Each non-profit organization is unique and Apricot is the absolute best tool for customizing a database that meets every one of the needs without a bunch of junk features that never get used (like most other CSMs out there). If an org's needs can be met by an existing tool, fine, but if an org has specific needs or nuances, then Apricot is a MUST!
To the extent that our employees are much more productive (due to less time spent messing with a database that didn't fit our needs in the past), our staff has much more time to focus on program delivery. Everyone who has worked with a database that doesn't quite fit knows just how much time gets wasted on data entry and reporting. The beauty of Apricot is that you can build it EXACTLY how you want it, which streamlines everything and frees up more staff time for programming.
The tech support team is AMAZING! Even if the database was sub-par, which it certainly isn't, I'd still want to use Apricot because of the support team. I love those guys!
Read Kelly Fox's full review
Janice Gunnip | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2020

Apricot: A real peach!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot to manage all of our clients. This includes financial data, scanned documents, many forms, and reports. Another important part of the database we use is to schedule rides to our clients. The system is used by almost all employees. The upper management staff does not use this product as they feel that reporting, etc. is not adequate. I generally export data and create the type of graphs/reports they are used to getting.
  • Support is excellent: I find this a very important part of the product.
  • Most things I need to do are done easily.
  • Setting up reports that I can export is fairly easy.
  • The biggest gripe I have with Apricot is the constraints on the pages. I have little control over the real estate used. For example, if I use the "Name" on a report it takes the entire line and I cannot edit that. When I create entry forms, questions take up too much real estate and the users have to constantly scroll down the page. It makes their task look daunting even before they have started.
  • I have difficulty importing data to fill forms when there is a drop-down. This should not require me to make all sorts of changes. This should be fixed by Apricot.
  • From time to time, I use a feature only to find out that it was something that was temporary and has since been removed. One that caused us extreme problems was when the ability to delete a calendar entry no longer deleted the entry on the Outlook calendar. The only way I found out was after many rides had been confused, I called support to find out that this "benefit" was no longer available.
  • When updates are done to the system, I believe that Apricot should let us know how to exercise the system to make sure that the product is working the way we expect.
Data entry is easy and the action menu shows you very clearly what mandatory fields have been omitted. The users find that very helpful. Linking data to the client is seamless and works very well.

I would like to have the ability to set up some "shortcuts," for example, <CTRL> S to save. Keyboard shortcuts are a big help when you are entering data. Constantly leaving the keyboard to use the mouse and then move back to the keyboard again takes time and there really should not be any reason why keyboard shortcuts can't be set up either by Apricot or individualized by the end-user.

I think Apricot is very good for certain uses. It appears to me that this database was created to run a school and has bee adapted to do other things. Generally speaking, this is not always adaptable to our business model.
We have been able to scale the program to meet our needs, however, because it was originally set up incorrectly, we struggle to correct some incorrect assumptions that were made. Again, the import of data and the limitations to that, are an issue in our ability to really change some original decisions that were made. I am more accustomed to having databases reviewed yearly by the supplier so that they can make suggestions, etc. to help us. They also check for data integrity, etc. This would be very helpful.

We have not had any issue of adding data fields needed as governing bodies change their data requests. That is such a plus for me! I can make these changes on the fly and that is a very good thing. If, however, we had selected a database that 90% of our piers used, these changes would be made automatically. But the fact that I can make the changes has worked thus far.
Read Janice Gunnip's full review
Beverly Prempeh | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

Apricot is a very helpful database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apricot by Social Solution is being used by our organization for tracking different types of services that are delivered to our clients. We are a county resource center that provides education, assessments, and programs to different types of people within Hudson and Bergen County. Therefore Apricot has been a great database for us to track all the clients we have serviced.
  • Flexibile
  • Intuitive
  • Low cost product
  • Easy to implement
  • Does not have email capability
Apricot by Social Solutions is well suited for tracking client information and linking client details. Apricot does this very well. Our organization does a monthly upload of client information. Inputting them individually is very time-consuming. Apricot allows mass uploads that have been very helpful and efficient.
Based on how far we have used Apricot, we are able to see overall program deliveries on different types of programs that we provide to our clients. Based on this information. We understand which programs have the highest attendees which once does not.
Read Beverly Prempeh's full review
Karen Schuster | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

New User Experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Apricot for our Out & About program serving adults with disabilities. We use it to track demographics, individual support plans and goals, and track progress. We plan to expand its use to our youth programs and volunteer management system. This was a recent implementation, moving from ETO to Apricot. We found the onboarding process into the Apricot product to be helpful and efficient.
  • Apricot Core brings efficiency to the database build-out process. This is particularly important for non-profits with limited financial and IT professional support.
  • For non-IT oriented employees, the user interface is simple and intuitive.
  • None at this time.
Apricot is well-suited for small organizations with simple or straightforward data collection and reporting needs.
Initial results indicate that the administrative process for staff will be streamlined which will allow us to increase direct services to clients and/or grow the client base.
Read Karen Schuster's full review
Andre Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Great Compliance Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot by Social Solutions as a case management tool and also as a continuous quality improvement tool.
  • Apricot is great at capturing implementation metrics.
  • Apricot is great at allowing you to capture compliance within a program.
  • Apricot needs to improve at capturing outcomes.
Apricot by Social Solutions is well suited for capturing implementation data and is less suited for capturing outcome data. Overall, it is a great continuous improvement tool.
Apricot has helped scale program delivery in one of our evidenced-based program, Check and Connect. It has allowed me to monitor whether each case manager is delivering the program as designed.
Read Andre Johnson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

New User and Program

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using Apricot primarily as a case management database for our resident services program. Additionally, resident services will be utilizing it to track participation and outcomes of other group programs and events. In the future, we are hoping to potentially utilize it as a donor database as well.

Our resident services program is fairly new and still being developed. Apricot gives us the tools to track our work with residents all in one place without being tied to paper documents and physical files. It allows us to develop reports to provide our partners and donors. The database will possibly help attract more funding.
  • Apricot's sales staff are very informative and professional. They work at the pace of the organization without pushing a sale, but instead, providing feedback and assistance in making a final decision.
  • I appreciate that you are provided with a decent amount of initial users (10), which can be cost effective to smaller organizations that can't afford to necessarily pay per user if they only have a few staff members using it.
  • The ability for participants to access and complete forms online has been particularly helpful during the COVID-19 pandemic. In general, just being able to access all of our residents' data remotely has made the immediate transition to working from home much easier.
  • It would be helpful if you could 1) reassign tier two forms, and 2) replicate forms or create custom templates to reuse.
  • Tracking attendance and scheduling functions are very challenging to navigate and add to forms.
  • The initial training felt very unstructured. We weren't given a lot of information on what to expect ahead of time and then we were left with little guidance on how to actually best utilize the training, especially for organizations building a new program vs. moving existing documents online.
Apricot seems to have a majority of the functions I was looking for in a case management database, including organizing workflow, linking household members to one household, built-in assessment tools, referral tracking, follow-up reminders, reporting, data visuals, import/export, mobile platforms, etc.

Apricot is also more affordable for smaller nonprofits and/or programs compared to other options.

While Apricot has functions that clients can access remotely, it does not seem to be the best option if this is something that your organization is primarily looking for.
Our program is still new and being developed. But, we have a set amount of families in our 14 buildings that we can provide services to. Apricot will allow us to better track how successful we are at reaching out and working with our whole population.
Overall, most of my challenges have been building out the database and that has a lot to do with the fact that we are starting a new program simultaneously and it takes more time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Apricot was a life saver when we transitioned out of the agency due to COVID

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a database of clients who we provide social services too in Passaic County. Apricot allowed us to bring our entire system from hard copy to soft copy. This was a real lifesaver when COVID arrived because our team was already using the system. It helps us track who we give aid to, and what exact aid we have given them, which helps us prove impact for more funding and grants.
  • Track client data with reports.
  • User friendly for creating new forms.
  • Customer service is always available.
  • The jump from essentials to the core price point is way too steep.
  • Training my team on how to use it after was cumbersome. It would be cool if there was a training module automated for my specific forms.
  • I had to find a lot of work arounds using email triggers to automate notifications that were necessary especially referrals and notifications to managers.
It is well suited for small companies with a lot of clients/consumers. It is definitely not suited for small businesses with a few clients, especially because it is expensive. It could be cheaper overall, especially since we build the entire forms ourselves. It is helpful that there are ready-made templates but I did not utilize any.
We have not achieved this benefit yet. That is due to sustainability on our end and nothing to do with Apricots. We are now able to scale up, however we don't have enough team members to manage a higher level of business model right now. The only way we have achieved this benefit is by speaking to our funders about the amazing detailed and live reporting we can do through use of this technology.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2020

Best program investment we have made!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot by Social Solutions as our case management platform throughout our 5 locations in the county. Apricot currently addressed our reporting capabilities.
  • Apricot has great customer service! There has never been a time where a team member has not found a solution to my problem. Their representative are always quick to assist and attentive.
  • Reporting functionalities are phenomenal. The simplicity of creating a report is appreciated but most importantly, the accuracy of the reports is great. Reports are not generated if the system thinks there is an error.
  • Customization! As a program that is ever evolving, it is great to have a database that allows such flexibility.
  • Training material that is basic enough for someone who has never operated a database platform to understand.
  • I'd suggest having monthly refresher courses where user could have a Q + A session with a representative. I have found it most helpful when requesting a Zoom call and following along with the representative on resolving the issue.
From the very beginning, everyone I have worked with at Apricot has been delightful. I have appreciated their eagerness to find solutions and provide qualify customer service. There are never lose ends with a problem. The entire team is solution oriented and transparent.
As with any organization, efficient record keeping is necessary. We have been able to do so with Apricot. By being able to customize the assessments, we are able to ensure that all data is collected for all clients. Doing so has allowed us to accurate gather data as well as report out to our donors. Record keeping has become easier, faster, and more accurate with the features Apricot offers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2020

Spilling the Tea on Apricot by Social Solutions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apricot by Social Solutions is being used by our Programs Navigator and Specialists teams for the purpose of case management, as well as program data reporting. Apricot enables us to keep meticulous records on the families we serve and allows us to render trusted reporting of program and family data for the purposes of state and private grant reports.
  • Customer service: This is an area of strength for Apricot by Social Solutions in that the team managing our account is always responsive and willing to go above and beyond to answer any questions or rectify any issues being experienced.
  • Tech support: This is another area of strength. Apricot's tech support is always very knowledgeable, helpful, and quick to resolve technical issues being experienced by the end-user. The tech support team is also very courteous and respectful in their communications and service.
  • Ease of Use/Learning: The functionality of Apricot is intuitive and user-friendly in that it is fairly easy to learn with limited formal training as long as you are database literate.
  • One area of improvement is better communication of changes implemented to both the look and functionality of the database. Sometimes significant changes are made literally overnight with no advanced warning. It doesn't bother me as much as it bothers the other users on the team, but this could definitely be smoothed out a bit.
  • Another area of improvement would be to allow for "phrase searches" of contact note content through reporting instead of just being able to query on single, keyword searches.
  • More online tutorials on reporting and other more advanced features of the database without always having to pay an additional fee for the content.
I've found that Apricot is very useful for case management, but not as useful in the area of event management. Considering we do lots of events in conjunction with our case management services, it would be nice to easily house data on both areas of service to better report on our programming comprehensively.
Yes, our organization has achieved the benefit of using data to help scale program delivery through our use of Apricot. Specific examples include our state grant reporting as well as a recent state program audit that we went through as well. Being able to use Apricot to perform queries and extract various program data sets makes reporting for our big state grant fairly seamless and gave us peace of mind that we could trust the data given as requested during our program audit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

Apricot - Great but can be Greater

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this software for our grant process, and biannual reports from partner agencies. It is used by the Community Engagement & Mobilization Department and we provide special access to applications for submitting grants and volunteers for reviewing them. Apricot helps us keeps documents organized and not have to use as many paper files.
  • They system is easy to use. It is also easy to build reports, create documents and edit them.
  • The tech support does a great job. They usually have a 24 hour response and are very accurate and easy to work with.
  • I like how you have different levels of security and you can have different views for different levels of user access. For example our application evaluations that are completed for volunteers can not be viewed by the applicants.
  • The one thing that I could like to see is in the drop down user badge for administrator use. We provide both applicants and volunteer access. They all appear in one list and there is not a way to have them organized. I would like to be able to have these organized so I don't have to scroll through all of the users to find the one that I am looking for.
  • I would also like to have access to reset another administrators password. We have add two occasions where users have forgotten there passwords and we would need to contact tech support to reset.
  • It would also be helpful to only be able to pull out certain information out of the reports instead of it pulling all of the data that has been entered.
Personally, I like the software a lot better than the CTK software that we had before. I feel more comfortable with the security of it. I believe the software does well for the application process. I do wish there were more organization options such as housing old documents in a folder, or a drop and drag option if someone puts a document in the incorrect place.
This software makes it easy to pull data from reports and export them into Excel. One thing with the reports if you add a new section then it exports that data into another tab on the Excel sheet. I would prefer all of my data to be on one sheet.
Read this authenticated review
Jamie Caroland | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Apricot by Social Solutions--Love it!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apricot is being used by the executive, HR, director, managerial, and social work staff levels (including two administrator user slots). It was chosen to migrate data management from a non-integrated manual recordkeeping (paper file) system to an electronic database.
  • Human service organizations are often required to provide efforts-to-outcomes reports for their stakeholders. There are different databases that can provide standard templates and query wizards that can be tailored for customized reporting, depending on size and needs of the organization. We chose Apricot because it fits the needs of smaller organizations. Our package came with both a small number of templates that are easily adaptable to required reporting forms, and the ability to create forms from scratch.
  • As an administrator, I can easily save and publish forms and reports, and then view them either as administrator or as one of the user accounts without having to log off as administrator, which saves a lot of time and keystrokes.
  • Apricot's online Help Center (tab available on user dashboard) is very comprehensive, offering, in addition to instructional articles, short, simple how-to videos for users and administrators. I have used them for myself and for training staff.
  • Apricot is built on a "file folder" structure, using categories called profiles. Our main profile is for our clients. Each client has a profile with static demographic info (the "file folder"), and within that profile structure, forms are completed and filed for that client, easily searchable and accessible. If a complete, to-date historical record is needed for the client in a presentation format, everything for that client can be produced in with a simple menu command for that purpose.
  • Reports can be created to include data across multiple profiles. Data is reported in real time as entered or updated. Data fields in the report can be filtered easily. No queries or wizards needed. Reports are accessed without need for third-party platforms. Graphic enhancements are very attractive and available during report-building.
  • Administrators get a very thorough hands-on training through basic "boot camps" and additional follow-ups, depending on level of services purchased.
  • I found it very easy to train staff down-line because of the navigational ease in Apricot's user dashboard. No way to get lost!
  • Drag-and-drop features in right pallette of report-builder could be improved. Space is small for too many drop-down and scrolling options.
  • Systems Field section on all forms could include more comprehensive historical data entry record. It currently includes the form creator and the latest user to update or edit data in the form (plus dates for same); would be useful to include latest two or three user edit/update records.
  • Incorporate a true auto-populating feature, rather than a linking system beween records or profile data. Correcting, deleting, or revising data links when creating or revising forms has, at times, been confusing or complicated.
Apricot presents a manageable amount of record and reporting options for small service organizations that don't have large reporting or record-keeping needs of government or large government-partnering stakeholders. I have used both Apricot and Social Solutions ETO SaaS systems, so can speak from experience on the back end of report and record management. Apricot would probably be less appropriate for large institutions, where large aggregate data information may be queried under other parameters.
In the short amount of time Apricot has gone live for our organization, we have been able to convert 3 years of enrollment, education, and employment data for our clients into an aggregate report requested by one of our private funders in consideration for future grantmaking. We have also been able to import donation and event registration data from recent fundraising efforts for annual recordkeeping. Reported fundraising data can be beneficial for attracting potential funders.
Read Jamie Caroland's full review
Nazgol Zand | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

Apricot One Stop

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apricot by Social Solutions is used within our affiliate network of about 20 organization to manage the range of program and services that we offer our clients. Through the database we monitor and track our participant's journey, from training, referrals for jobs and services, to placements and retention. With the help of Apricot, we are not only measuring our impact but we are constantly identifying areas of program improvements and scaling our programs and impact.
  • Real time data and being able to see what's going on across our network. Our program staff is able to work at the same time tracking programs and services.
  • Manage and build reports at all levels of the organization, including our board and leadership.
  • User friendly and intuitive with minimal training required.
  • The look and feel of the site could be improved and allow for some branding and customization, even from a basic coloring scheme.
  • Easier access to account and features.
  • More complex reporting compatibility.
It is easily customizable to allow organization to capture and do what is needed. We've been able to launch new programs using Apricot, build surveys to measure pre- and post-program performance, track attendance, capture necessary information on jobs and quality of jobs, and get consistent feedback to allow us to better track our impact and progress.
We've been able to expand and scale our program throughout the city and through multiple organizations, scaling our impact. In addition to replicating the programs, Apricot has allowed us to better support and collaborate within our organization, using referral features to better provide services to the participants.

Looking at the reports, we've been able to get more immediate feedback and staff at all level has been able to take that feedback to better provide program and services or identify specific programs and services necessary to support a participant's success.
Read Nazgol Zand's full review
Kimberly Lohrfink | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Empowering Small Non-Profits through Easy Data Use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apricot is being used across the program to track participant information and outcomes.
  • User-friendly data entry
  • Easy search and navigation features
  • Ability to create reports on data points of interest
  • Not able to restrict access of certain information to just one person or team
  • Multiple users can edit a form at the same time, but only the last one saved will be retained. An alert was created to let the second user know that someone else was working in the file. However, we wanted a read-only option such as what exists in shared word documents.
  • We have two distinct programs with 2 different tier-one forms. This has created a problem because it is like having 2 separate data bases that do NOT talk to each other. When I came into the company in 2016, it had already been built this way. I was told the only way to fix it was to basically start from scratch. We opted to leave it as 2 separate databases.
Apricot is well suited for our data and our staff. We are a small program, and Apricot helps us to organize all data in a user friendly way.
This is not applicable to our program
Read Kimberly Lohrfink's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

New to Apricot

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apricot is currently utilized by the program team, primarily. We utilize the program to track client progress and create statistics for program tracking and funding. The fact that you can create forms solves the problem of cookie cutter tracking programs. It has also assisted with streamlining the process of obtaining program data.
  • Create Forms: This system allows for creating almost any form that you need and pull information from.
  • Multiple programs: Apricot has the ability to host multiple programs within the agency so that information is tailored for users under certain programs
  • Fairly user friendly: This can be utilized by almost anyone who is not the most tech savvy.
  • Usability: while it is fairly easy to use, you have to be taught and some of the language is difficult (tiers ).
  • Reports: I feel as if reports could be pulled a little easier (just a little).
I believe that Apricot is awesome to use if you are attempting to track or log client data. This system has the ability to be tailored to the needs of your program, and possibly going paperless. I do not think that it would be beneficial to use apricot to track/log financials that are not attached to clients.
As new Apricot users it has helped with data collection. It has also assisted with scaling program delivery by providing data in programs. We have yet to delve into some of its other capabilities which may assist with program delivery. However the data collection alone has been extremely helpful for programming.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

Apricot is the bomb!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot as clearinghouse for all of the data regarding our clients. Everything from their demographic information, to their case notes, to gauging their growth within our programming. We have two separate programs that use Apricot and we are looking into how to better utilize all that Apricot has to offer.
  • Incredibly intuitive design that is very easy to use and understand even to non-techy people
  • Very easy to create your own forms to best fit your actual need
  • Very easy to pull data and reporting for funders and monthly updates to the team
  • A dashboard for showing client improvement at a glance would be helpful
Apricot can be molded to fit any organization's particular needs and wants. It is a great tool for gathering information about your clients and pulling data about their growth, participation, and the effectiveness of the programs. Overall, any program that follows clients through a process to gather information about them and show growth in areas, would benefit from using Apricot.
I believe that it has. It has allowed up the opportunity to build a new program from scratch as well as ways to measure and track that program and its clients. Because of the data we are able to input, we can better tell the story of that program without having staff worry about maintaining data elsewhere as well as trying to scale the delivery of the program.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

Apricot helps nonprofits streamline workflows and data entry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apricot to document services provided to the clients of our nonprofit. This includes: client demographic information, the number of services (both aggregated and reported to funders), relationship management, communication with clients, client intake and assessment, case notes, attendance, services provided, etc.
  • Customization makes Apricot specific to your organization's services & workflow.
  • Reporting is flexible to gather data that you wish to use.
  • Sending and storing emails within the database.
  • Would love the ability to change field names or field types without exporting and re-importing all the data.
  • More affordable.
Apricot is well suited for organizations with complex workflows where a few employees are following the same workflow, so that the system can help make sure data entry is consistent. It likely also works well if there is an assigned data person at an agency.
However, unless you purchase additional functionality, it's hard to prevent errors when multiple people are entering the same data. Additionally, it's difficult to map out how the system works. It can be a bit of a challenge to manage multiple users at an agency without a dedicated data person.
Apricot has helped us scale program delivery by helping us make workflows consistent among staff members and helping us to collect and gather data that demonstrates how many clients we are serving.
Read this authenticated review

About Apricot by Social Solutions

Apricot by Social Solutions is a cloud-based solution for nonprofits of all sizes. The vendor says it brings strong, reliable data to the forefront in order to bolster a nonprofit organization’s impact. Additionally, the vendor says organizations that use Apricot save time and resources because they have a powerful tool that makes managing data more efficient than ever. As a result, they increase their time spent delivering mission.

Apricot is responsive and offers configurable forms and fields so organizations can customize their Apricot experience to their clients and mission. It allows nonprofit organizations to track what matters and follow clients throughout their entire lifecycle in a single, unduplicated record.

With Apricot, nonprofits can ensure data integrity through functionality that tracks whether the data in the system is complete, entered correctly, and unduplicated. With simple drag-and-drop functionality and outcomes management capabilities, Apricot helps nonprofit organizations transform more lives for the better.

Apricot users get real-time access to their data to facilitate collaboration and quick insights into program performance. Those insights can then be shared by creating streamlined reports within the system to present to organization stakeholders, board members, and funders. The vendor’s value proposition is that Apricot is a comprehensive solution that meets a nonprofit’s needs because it was made with them in mind!

Categories:  Case Management

Apricot by Social Solutions Features

Has featureClient, Service, and Activity Tracking
Has featureOutcomes Measurement and Management
Has featureEasy-to-Use Reporting
Has featureSecure and Compliant Platform
Has featureVolunteer Management
Has featureDrag and Drop Form Design

Apricot by Social Solutions Screenshots

Apricot by Social Solutions Downloadables

Apricot by Social Solutions Competitors

Homegrown Systems, Client Track, Salesforce

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Apricot Essentials$0
Apricot$0

Pricing for Apricot is driven by individual usage and needs of your nonprofit. Your organization isn't one-size fits all, so neither is our pricing.

Apricot by Social Solutions Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Apricot by Social Solutions Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States of America, Australia, United Kingdom
Supported Languages: English