TrustRadius
Apttus is a Configure, Price, Quote platform built natively on the Force.com platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/8b/LR/L8OQLPVX3QFO.PNGApttus - Comprehensive Business Automation SolutionWe recently signed a contract with Apttus to leverage their Contract Lifecycle Management application to better automate the way we generate, approve, deliver and track our contracts within our Salesforce.com environment. The Apttus team got to know our business and understand our challenges and became a trusted partner to our business. Their solution will help us eliminate many of the manual steps required to process our contracts; reduce the number of manual quality checks; enable us to better search and track contracts by specific terms and ultimately increase the speed at which we are able to push our contracts through our process.,Understand business challenges. Provide a full suite of solutions for a wide range of business challenges. Provide executive sponsorship to eliminate obstacles to success.,Ease of Implementation.,9,Improved process speed. Increased contract quality. Ability to search contracts by term or clause.,Template Generators,20,2,Procurement Contract Management Eventually, Quoting Eventually, Customer Contract Management,Ensure accurate pricing Avoid rogue discounting Properly configure solutions,MAX - automated attendant,9,No,Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,I'd interview more reference customers about the implementation experience as it was difficult at first, but eventually resolved itself smoothly with satisfactory results.Don't Buy Apttus, The ROI is negative.Apttus was brought in to use globally for all of Sales in generating quotes and contracts (the two are different in this case) to be sent and signed by customers. It is being used across Sales globally. The business problem it was supposed to address is to help our sales teams produce quotes faster, in the correct format, and be able to send them on the fly through Apttus/Salesforce to the customer to be reviewed.,The perceived power strength is that it is supposed to contain CPQ, Contract Management, Document generation and template manipulation, and cash/invoice process all in one wrapped package. It was developed on the Force.com platform. They provide multiple releases of their product per year.,The configuration of this product in terms of setting it up for users, requires a developer. The sales process tells you that it is built on the Force.com platform and an admin can configure it, however, this is not true. It required Visual Force and APEX configuration to make it work for the users. Upgrading to the next version of the product also requires developers involved. It is not a simply managed package to be downloaded and updated, it requires post-upgrade development to return it to users for testing. The Contract management module is not very robust. It is essentially a separate object that just houses the physical document and you can put "Send Email" buttons and apply an approval process to it, however it is not a contract management tool in the sense of managing document versioning and redlining. Negotiations just occur in word like they normally do. Misleading Template builder "included." To get templates, and contracts you need to buy the add-in to those modules which you've already purchased called "X-Author." The plug-in allows you to edit templates and manage some redlines, but it's cost prohibitive as it costs as much as a user license to the product itself. Expensive. When we compared a license of this product vs the license to salesforce itself, Apttus, with standard modules, costs double the price of a normal Salesforce seat license.,1,It cost the company almost $1million in 3 years of licensing. It then cost us the business to implement it in 2.5 years over $5 million dollars internally with resourcing involved to roll out globally. There was no ROI, that was just to implement it as the business continues to not adopt the product. The adoption level of the product is ~25% of the business actually using the product. Business areas ended up hiring and spending something near $150k/year in human resources to use the system for the sales team because of the low adoption.,Salesforce CPQ (formerly SteelBrick) and Oracle CPQ Cloud (BigMachines)Apttus CPQ works great for us.We use Apttus CPQ across our sales organization the create quotes. Prior to using Apttus, we had multiple ways of quoting including using an Excel worksheet. Today we all use the same tool and across sales and accounting to go from quote to cash. This includes using it to create assets and bill auto-renewals. This has automated several processes that used to be independent systems that often did not match.,Very good at complex pricing and situations. Pricing can be related (% of another value), based on an attribute, Tiered, or done with formulas. It also has the ability to bundle and use options. Two great tools in the Apttus toolbox are X-Author and Intelligent workflows for approvals Flexibility for multiple use cases for pricing,Speed was initially an issue but they have made great improvements in this area Better documentation for administrators,9,We definitely are able to more smoothly generate a professional quote and get it out the door. This is a big plus. We have had push back from staff that used the worksheet because they don't like the rules that keep them from quoting things they shouldn't quote.,QuoteWerks,Salesforce Community Cloud, NetSuite, NetSuite OpenAir PSAApttus CPQ - When you need Complex Rules Modeled EasilyThe Apttus Configure Price Quote (CPQ) tool is being used by our Wolters Kluwer Legal & Regulatory sales organization. This includes a variety of different sales teams with different sales processes and pricing models. The spectrum ranges from SaaS implementations with 12-18 month sales cycles, negotiation of annual renewals of existing contracts for access to online content (3-6 months prior to renewal date), to transactional book sales occurring same day. The CPQ tool helps sales reps to: Assemble the appropriate product variations and combinations for qualifying opportunitiesConduct needs assessment exercisesIdentify the appropriate product combinations for customersEnsure that they arrive at suitable price for specific product mixes or bundlesEnsure that the details concerning initial estimates and final quotes are represented accuratelyThe CPQ tool also: Substantially reduced cycle times to create complex quotes, proposals and ordersReduced quoting errors and rework caused by errorsEnsured discounts and pricing are accurate based on standard pricing rulesEnsured discounts and pricing were approved, prior to providing the quote to the customerIn conjunction with our adoption of eSignature, reduced returns due to speculative ordering,Apttus CPQ handles complex pricing rules with ease. We have tiered pricing, user based pricing, and quantity pricing discounts. Apttus CPQ allows us to easily provide correct pricing based on attributes of the sales rep, the customer and the product. Apttus CPQ administration is easy compared to similar products. As a product available on the Force.com platform, we were able to cross train our Salesforce administrators and take on the additional administrative overhead without significantly increasing our sales operations team size. Apttus CPQ is flexible. We are able to rapidly test and deploy new pricing models and offers using the Apttus model.,Apttus has not completely transitioned from a product suite to a product platform vendor. Upgrades of certain products can have interoperability issues with other products in the Apttus stack. Our pain point here was attempting to use Apttus Xauthor for Excel to get around product line limitations in the Apttus CPQ shopping cart. The ultimate resolution was for us to upgrade and leverage the latest version of CPQ, where pricing callback limitations were addressed by client side processing, rather than the hybrid Xauthor process we tried to use. Upgrades in general require significant testing to ensure no unanticipated issues occur. We have a complete Salesforce sandbox dedicated to providing an environment for testing any modifications or upgrades. Apttus support model almost requires you to purchase premium support. Given the CPQ system is complex, the level of skilled support available through basic support require you to escalate several times before getting to a resource that can address your issue.,10,We purchased Apttus CPQ as an infrastructure requirement. As such we did not calculate an ROI value. Positive impact 1: Improved quote accuracy and quote approval process, thus reducing sales rep time to finalize a quote. Positive impact 2: Improved compliance with required disclosures of appropriate terms for subscriptions from 50% to 98%, thus reducing rework to change contract terms. Positive impact 3: Requiring eSignature for every quote resulted in an unanticipated reduction in speculative ordering. The reduction in overall orders was offset by a reduction in returns - resulting in a net increase of 2% to recognized revenue. Positive impact 4: Shifted ratio of auto renewing subscriptions from 40/60 (auto renew vs annual invitation to subscribe) to 60/40.,,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Conga ActionGrid, Informatica Cloud Data Integration, Salesforce App Cloud,165,4,Complex product pricing rules - dependent on attributes of the user (sales rep), customer, sale type, and product. Apttus provides the ability to have multiple pricing rules separated by different price lists, and assign those price lists based on attributes of the user, customer and sale type. Ability to adjust line level pricing or section pricing based on differing rules: surcharge or discount amount or percentage, application of promotion code. Strong native integration to eSignature solutions such as DocuSign or Adobe. Ability to manage basic quote terms & conditions using Xauthor for Word: we have 21 separate types of standard terms, depending on the market segment (academic, federal government, corporate, etcetera), and type of sale (various flavors of subscription, standing order, one off sale, service sale, etcetera). These are all managed through a single template which auto generates the correct terms based on system information.,We are leveraging Apptus Machine Intelligence and Apttus CPQ to provide product family sale recommendations to our sales representatives. The Salesforce Account page has a button which appears when recommendations are available for a specific sales rep. This references the Asset Lines of the Apttus CPQ, and selection of products results in automatic creation of an Opportunity and Quote (with appropriate pricing) in the CPQ solution.,We are extending Apttus CPQ and Apttus Machine Intelligence to integrate with Salesforce Analytics to produce a whitespace analysis tool which allows the reps to create target Opportunities as part of overall account and territory planning. We are utilizing Apttus Max for intelligent Agent/process automation. We intend to integrate Max within Apttus CPQ to streamline the quote creation and order creation process.,10Quite goodApttus's CPQ is a simple yet powerful quoting solution tool for sales. Most of the times, finding a solution that is easy to use for sales reps and sales managers means spending a lot of time reviewing processes, training and such. Apptus's CPQ is quite straightforward and once it's set up it provides sales reps a kind-of streamlined process to get customer-ready quotes (even executable ones) in a matter of minutes. The fact that we were able to use within our Salesforce.com platform only made the experience leaner and better for both the reps and myself. Some things that could definitely be better are: Speed. At some points (especially quarter end) when a huge number of reps were using the tool, we would suffer a heavy lag that would time-out operations most of the times.Mobile app. If there's one, we never used it. Not sure if it's our own company policy in regards to apps, or if there's none actually. If there's none, it would be good to have one.,Easy to use for reps. Not a lot of training needed. Produces quotes / executables quotes in a matter of minutes. Catalog / Inventory is pretty straightforward,Mobile app, if there's any. Better response in high-peak circumstances (like quarter end). This could have been a salesforce.com issue, but honestly, everything else worked just fine. Reporting. It would be great to be able to see how many of my reps requested discounts and compare that to the standard quotes they can build.,8,It's helped reps be more efficient and respond faster to customer requests It's definitely helped sales ops and support.
Unspecified
Apttus Configure Price Quote
39 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
TRScore

Apttus Reviews

Apttus
39 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 39 vetted Apttus reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 30)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Greg McLaughlin profile photo
August 15, 2018

Review: "Apttus - Comprehensive Business Automation Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently signed a contract with Apttus to leverage their Contract Lifecycle Management application to better automate the way we generate, approve, deliver and track our contracts within our Salesforce.com environment. The Apttus team got to know our business and understand our challenges and became a trusted partner to our business. Their solution will help us eliminate many of the manual steps required to process our contracts; reduce the number of manual quality checks; enable us to better search and track contracts by specific terms and ultimately increase the speed at which we are able to push our contracts through our process.
  • Understand business challenges.
  • Provide a full suite of solutions for a wide range of business challenges.
  • Provide executive sponsorship to eliminate obstacles to success.
  • Ease of Implementation.
Apttus is best suited for a company with enough volume of quotes and contracts to merit an enterprise-scaled solution.
Read Greg McLaughlin's full review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

User Review: "Don't Buy Apttus, The ROI is negative."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus was brought in to use globally for all of Sales in generating quotes and contracts (the two are different in this case) to be sent and signed by customers. It is being used across Sales globally. The business problem it was supposed to address is to help our sales teams produce quotes faster, in the correct format, and be able to send them on the fly through Apttus/Salesforce to the customer to be reviewed.
  • The perceived power strength is that it is supposed to contain CPQ, Contract Management, Document generation and template manipulation, and cash/invoice process all in one wrapped package.
  • It was developed on the Force.com platform.
  • They provide multiple releases of their product per year.
  • The configuration of this product in terms of setting it up for users, requires a developer. The sales process tells you that it is built on the Force.com platform and an admin can configure it, however, this is not true. It required Visual Force and APEX configuration to make it work for the users.
  • Upgrading to the next version of the product also requires developers involved. It is not a simply managed package to be downloaded and updated, it requires post-upgrade development to return it to users for testing.
  • The Contract management module is not very robust. It is essentially a separate object that just houses the physical document and you can put "Send Email" buttons and apply an approval process to it, however it is not a contract management tool in the sense of managing document versioning and redlining. Negotiations just occur in word like they normally do.
  • Misleading Template builder "included." To get templates, and contracts you need to buy the add-in to those modules which you've already purchased called "X-Author." The plug-in allows you to edit templates and manage some redlines, but it's cost prohibitive as it costs as much as a user license to the product itself.
  • Expensive. When we compared a license of this product vs the license to Salesforce itself, Apttus, with standard modules, costs double the price of a normal Salesforce seat license.
I would not recommend this product to anyone. This product is hard to manage, requires development in house which becomes expensive. The tool itself is extremely expensive for the features it delivers. And ultimately, the sales "bait and Switch" will occur on you, which will require you to buy more licenses or add-ins that were not planned on to get the desired feature set.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 19, 2018

User Review: "Apttus CPQ works great for us."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Apttus CPQ across our sales organization the create quotes. Prior to using Apttus, we had multiple ways of quoting including using an Excel worksheet. Today we all use the same tool and across sales and accounting to go from quote to cash. This includes using it to create assets and bill auto-renewals. This has automated several processes that used to be independent systems that often did not match.
  • Very good at complex pricing and situations. Pricing can be related (% of another value), based on an attribute, Tiered, or done with formulas. It also has the ability to bundle and use options.
  • Two great tools in the Apttus toolbox are X-Author and Intelligent workflows for approvals
  • Flexibility for multiple use cases for pricing
  • Speed was initially an issue but they have made great improvements in this area
  • Better documentation for administrators
Great for situations were you need to have multiple ways of pricing one product. For example: you need to be able to price a software product for Licensing or for SaaS. Also great where you need to be able to build out a solution with multiple options.
Read this authenticated review
Jack Borland profile photo
December 19, 2017

Review: "Apttus CPQ - When you need Complex Rules Modeled Easily"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

The Apttus Configure Price Quote (CPQ) tool is being used by our Wolters Kluwer Legal & Regulatory sales organization. This includes a variety of different sales teams with different sales processes and pricing models. The spectrum ranges from SaaS implementations with 12-18 month sales cycles, negotiation of annual renewals of existing contracts for access to online content (3-6 months prior to renewal date), to transactional book sales occurring same day.

The CPQ tool helps sales reps to:



  • Assemble the appropriate product variations and combinations for qualifying opportunities
  • Conduct needs assessment exercises
  • Identify the appropriate product combinations for customers
  • Ensure that they arrive at suitable price for specific product mixes or bundles
  • Ensure that the details concerning initial estimates and final quotes are represented accurately

The CPQ tool also:



  1. Substantially reduced cycle times to create complex quotes, proposals and orders
  2. Reduced quoting errors and rework caused by errors
  3. Ensured discounts and pricing are accurate based on standard pricing rules
  4. Ensured discounts and pricing were approved, prior to providing the quote to the customer
  5. In conjunction with our adoption of eSignature, reduced returns due to speculative ordering
  • Apttus CPQ handles complex pricing rules with ease. We have tiered pricing, user based pricing, and quantity pricing discounts. Apttus CPQ allows us to easily provide correct pricing based on attributes of the sales rep, the customer and the product.
  • Apttus CPQ administration is easy compared to similar products. As a product available on the Force.com platform, we were able to cross train our Salesforce administrators and take on the additional administrative overhead without significantly increasing our sales operations team size.
  • Apttus CPQ is flexible. We are able to rapidly test and deploy new pricing models and offers using the Apttus model.
  • Apttus has not completely transitioned from a product suite to a product platform vendor. Upgrades of certain products can have interoperability issues with other products in the Apttus stack. Our pain point here was attempting to use Apttus Xauthor for Excel to get around product line limitations in the Apttus CPQ shopping cart. The ultimate resolution was for us to upgrade and leverage the latest version of CPQ, where pricing callback limitations were addressed by client side processing, rather than the hybrid Xauthor process we tried to use.
  • Upgrades in general require significant testing to ensure no unanticipated issues occur. We have a complete Salesforce sandbox dedicated to providing an environment for testing any modifications or upgrades.
  • Apttus support model almost requires you to purchase premium support. Given the CPQ system is complex, the level of skilled support available through basic support require you to escalate several times before getting to a resource that can address your issue.
Apttus CPQ excels for complex contract and/or complex pricing requirements. If your business has simple pricing rules, a less full featured solution may be more appropriate.

Apttus CPQ is an easy system to administer, using the same object logic as the Salesforce platform.

We implemented Apttus for virtually all of our sales representative processes, and in doing so found that we virtually eliminated speculative ordering.
Read Jack Borland's full review
Alejandro A. Cabral profile photo
December 05, 2017

Apttus Review: "Quite good"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus's CPQ is a simple yet powerful quoting solution tool for sales. Most of the times, finding a solution that is easy to use for sales reps and sales managers means spending a lot of time reviewing processes, training and such. Apptus's CPQ is quite straightforward and once it's set up it provides sales reps a kind-of streamlined process to get customer-ready quotes (even executable ones) in a matter of minutes. The fact that we were able to use within our Salesforce.com platform only made the experience leaner and better for both the reps and myself.

Some things that could definitely be better are:

  • Speed. At some points (especially quarter end) when a huge number of reps were using the tool, we would suffer a heavy lag that would time-out operations most of the times.
  • Mobile app. If there's one, we never used it. Not sure if it's our own company policy in regards to apps, or if there's none actually. If there's none, it would be good to have one.
  • Easy to use for reps. Not a lot of training needed.
  • Produces quotes / executables quotes in a matter of minutes.
  • Catalog / Inventory is pretty straightforward
  • Mobile app, if there's any.
  • Better response in high-peak circumstances (like quarter end). This could have been a salesforce.com issue, but honestly, everything else worked just fine.
  • Reporting. It would be great to be able to see how many of my reps requested discounts and compare that to the standard quotes they can build.
I'd say it's a very strong tool for mid to large sales teams.
Read Alejandro A. Cabral's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2017

User Review: "Apttus is a Snap to Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus is used by our international sales organization. 3 time zones, 14 languages, 450 users. Dynamic, simple tool that is native to salesforce.com and more or less easy to implement.
  • We have only a few SKU's, we crank out many quotes and have to make adjustments often. The configurator tool is easy to use and simple to train on.
  • Seems to really shine when the quotes get complicated with multi-product, multi-year deals.
  • Apttus Configure Price Quote has a solid team that provides assistance when we need it.
  • Develop a mobile application that synchs with SFDC DBA and runs independently.
  • Advanced approval config is a chore and should be easier.
Transactional environments would benefit from the deep CPQ offerings Apttus provides. Smaller shops that have a much longer sales cycle may see Apttus as cost prohibitive. Implementation was a chore. We had to hire a full-time person to manage the package. That was an unexpected cost that we were not prepared for.
Read this authenticated review
King Ou profile photo
August 22, 2016

Apttus Review: "Using Configuration for Building Complex Engineering Bill of Materials (BOMs)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus CPQ is being used by our customer and engineering organization to configure custom products. The CPQ accelerates the time to generate the bill of material. It is an engineering process that used to take days or even weeks, but with CPQ, it takes only minutes.
  • Ability to manage large quantities of validation rules necessary for complex product builds.
  • No product addresses a company's requirement right out of the box, but Apttus CPQ is built on the Salesforce.com platform which is a distinct advantage for us. It allows us to build functional extensions, and customize the application to our specific usage.
  • Service and support is the key for any product, and Apttus has always made efforts to support their products with continual improvements.
  • The GUI design of Apttus is configurable but prescriptive. If you want a very specific look and feel, it will take some effort to do so. There have been some modern design updates recently using AngularJS. Check it out to see if it works for you.
We use the Apttus CPQ primarily to configure complex engineered products. We are able to manage numerous technologies and install new technologies quickly. This is a key advantage as new products do not require an additional software build, but a simple data load of the validation rules. This tool has transformed our customer engagement process, and it allows us to enable customers to enter their requirements for us to review. This is much better than interviewing customers and entering data on behalf of the customers.
Read King Ou's full review
Matt Amundson profile photo
August 19, 2016

Review: "Apttus - A Scalable CPQ Solution That's Great for SMB"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

EverString is a SaaS platform that helps B2B organizations identify and engage with their ideal customers by providing Predictive Demand Generation, Insights, Scoring and Segmentation. We have some typical SaaS characteristics—subscription sales model, a small number of products at first glance but a tiered structure, meaning selling is a lot more complicated than it seems, and a business that is growing and evolving fast. We had common problems in our quoting process - a disconnect between our CRM data and what was put in front of our customers. [They were] simple errors that should never happen. Additionally, as we grew we needed to relieve the burden to Finance and Legal.

We went with Apttus for two simple reasons: they were fantastic to work with and they could solve our problems. The sales process was incredibly smooth—just a great team overall. The CPQ does exactly what we wanted by creating consistency in our sales process, something we needed to scale. CPQ forces you to look critically at your sales process, but their team of experts helped us achieve that in a thoughtful way. You don’t want to just automate what you already do… you have to think about doing it better, the Apttus team really helped us with that. Great experience overall, would definitely recommend them.

  • Their solution completely solved our problems
  • They have an incredible team
  • Very easy to work with
  • Apttus CPQ is a strong, enterprise grade tool
  • Invest early in training your Sales Operations team
  • Capitalize on their community as their are some great solutions there
For any organization that runs standard or non-standard sales cycles Apttus is a great fit. If you're an organization that requires heavy involvement for approvals from finance, legal or executives, having Apttus CPQ streamlines your process and ensures that you are able to deliver both accurate and timely quotes as well contracts. Additionally, partnering with Apttus will help you identify and shore up gaps in your current process.
Read Matt Amundson's full review
Tim Johnson profile photo
August 19, 2016

"Apttus CPQ Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

EverString is a predictive marketing platform and we’ve been growing fast in the last few years. Sales, sales team, and our solution suite have all grown rapidly. We needed repeatability and consistency in our sales process—like any business growing rapidly and needing to scale. We wanted to get a CPQ in early in our growth to solve for these problems and help us scale easier. We choose Apttus because they could give us exactly what we needed and have been great partners to our business.


The system has been easy to use and the sales team adopted it quickly. We wanted to think through as many scenarios as possible in terms of what our future state and needs might be. Apttus helped us through this process—that’s critical. Apttus has been a partner, not a vendor, which is what you need for CPQ. Our goal was to future proof our organization, and we can see the success there in our growth.

  • True partner, helped us look to the future, set us up for success
  • Helps drive consistency across all reps, streamlines the approval process and eliminates customer confusion/multiple quote revisions
  • Feature complete, total solution for our needs with room to grow
  • Fast deployment
  • Great hands on support team
  • Easy customizations
  • Responded to every request with an easy yes or a great suggestion on an alternative which will save us future pains as we continue to grow
  • APTTUS CPQ has more than what we need but we're glad to know its there for when we need it
Read Tim Johnson's full review
Jenny Kandah profile photo
August 18, 2016

Apttus Review: "Great Enterprise level tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus Configure Price Quote is used for creating quotes by our sales departments. It helped streamline the process of quoting and reporting. It is an easy to use tool.
  • It is an enterprise level tool which allows us to sell products with attributes and bundle products.
  • We are also using Advanced Approvals by Apttus which allow us to configure complex approvals which seamlessly integrate with the CPQ tool. Email approvals are especially important for our organization which allow managers to approve the quotes on the go.
  • The UI takes a little longer time to load, they have done improvements with angular UI which we have not implemented yet.
  • I would also like to see better administrative training guides.
It is enterprise level tool in the market. If your company is large and deals are complex then Apttus is the right tool to use. If the products that you sell are not too complex you can probably use salesforce's native functionality. AWS approvals allow you to configure really complex approvals with different levels and multiple price rules. If your organization has really simple approval processes then you are better off using salesforce's native approvals.
Read Jenny Kandah's full review
Ravi Thota profile photo
August 17, 2016

User Review: "Apttus CPQ - It simply works!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Before Apttus, we used a manual process to configure products and calculate pricing while providing quotes to customers. This process was not consistent, it was very cumbersome, complex, high-maintenance, and error prone. We also did not have the ability to systematically track the progression of the quote through negotiations with the customer and analyze the impact of negotiations on the final outcome.

With Apttus CPQ, we were able streamline and optimize the product configuration, pricing and proposal creation and management process. We also seamlessly integrated this with our existing sales and contract generation processes. Our sales team now has the ability to configure product offers in a consistent manner with improved efficiency, and are able to track and improve related sales metrics.

  • Improved ability to price complex deals
  • Generate professional, compelling proposals from templates
  • Avoid duplicate data entry for product and pricing related data in CLM by integrating CPQ with Apttus CLM
  • Advanced workflow could be made easier
  • Complex discount approval rules are hard to implement
It is well suited for complex product configurations, multi-tired pricing, discount calculation, markups, price overrides, etc. It needs customization for product bundling, and multiple pricing models for same product.
Read Ravi Thota's full review
Stryder Thompkins profile photo
December 29, 2015

Review: "Apttus CPQ - force.com native and complex (pro and con)"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our North American and UK based sales teams use Apttus for all quotes (new business, add-on sales, renewals). We use it to manage pricing, quoting, and assets. We use X-Author for Word for our quote/order form. We have about 30,000 active price points, 400K active assets, and a few hundred inclusion rules.
  • Force.com native is very important to us - for reporting, administration, integration, and uptime.
  • 70% of our business is back to base, so having customer owned assets fall under the same inclusion rules as items in the cart is critical.
  • Variable bundles allow us to build fewer bundles.
  • Change management: Pricing changes are difficult to deploy, no regression testing for existing configurations.
  • Administrator usability: Very easy to create problems with price list items firing unintentionally which leads to price list item sprawl. No holistic testing tools to make sure you've set up pricing / rules the way you intended.
  • X-Author has limited capabilities to include related objects - our Quote header object has several hundred fields that serve no purpose but to make form generation more stable / faster.
In a complex environment where the IT team has plenty of SFDC expertise, Apttus is a great fit - especially if you sell the same product in multiple offerings / packages. In a simpler environment, it may not be worth the overhead.
Read Stryder Thompkins's full review
Robin Carey profile photo
March 15, 2016

Apttus Review: "Amazing Tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool has proven over and over again that it was more than worth the investment. My sales team's pipelines are up to date (I think for the first time since we got Salesforce) and I've been able to use the tool for several nasty projects (like updating country name formats, etc) that used to take days - and now take less than an hour. My favorite part is the Quick App feature - which I utilize all of the time to complete one-off tasks that come to light. Right now, our sales and finance teams are the primary users, but we have hopes to move project management on board soon!
  • Great Customer Service.
  • Flexibility with Salesforce field usage.
  • Quick and reliable.
  • Easy to sync with Salesforce.
  • Logic is difficult to learn when building custom applications - but definitely not impossible!
If you are leveraging your Salesforce usage at all, this is a must have. Especially for sales teams where opportunities need to be adjusted frequently.
Read Robin Carey's full review
Trish Buyer profile photo
March 03, 2016

Apttus Review: "X-Author a real time saver!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it in both the finance and sales departments for large updates to Salesforce.
  • Pulling data across objects
  • Deals with custom objects
  • Quick updates
  • A little difficult to learn
We are just beginning to use X-Author and already the time saving is tremendous. We have only built a few of our own apps so far and needed help with a more complex one. If you do not have a lot of customizations then writing apps is a breeze; custom objects can make it a bit more challenging. We are looking forward to using this tool across all users.
Read Trish Buyer's full review
Jacquealine Carter profile photo
March 03, 2016

User Review: "Apttus X-Author to the RESCUE"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using X-Author for Excel with Salesforce to update and populate formula fields in Excel and then have X-Author attach the document to the opportunity record. It has made our interaction with Excel easy and effortless. The setup was less than 20 minutes and worked well with our complicated Excel spreadsheet. Thanks Apttus for making our lives easier and less complicated.
  • Mapping of fields from Salesforce to the app is quite easy.
  • Setup of multiple users to use the app was a breeze.
  • Getting the app to work within 20 minutes to demonstrate was no hassle.
  • I haven't had any issues using X-Author for Excel. All questions I had were answered and solved in the same day.
Apttus continues to stay in contact to ensure I'm happy with their product. I have also signed up with the XAuthor group on their site which always provides additional use cases on how other companies are using XAuthor. I enjoy working with Apttus as well as using their product.
Read Jacquealine Carter's full review
Terry Ackerman profile photo
January 29, 2016

Apttus Review: "Business Partner"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is currently using Apttus CPQ for quoting and proposal management.
  • Apttus provides users the shopping cart UI which is easy to use and easy to train upon.
  • Simple guided selling configuration.
  • Easily upgradeable.
  • Promotions Management.
  • Some areas of UI and UX between the shopping cart and configurations screen.
Read Terry Ackerman's full review
John Tessandori profile photo
January 29, 2016

Apttus Review: "X-Author for Excel: Increase Efficiency, Improve Accuracy, Save Time!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses X-Author throughout various departments. It is an excellent tool because it allows users to operate in Excel, an environment with which they are more familiar. Allowing the users to work in Excel while simultaneously updating records in Salesforce is a critical aspect of generating accurate data in reports.

As an engineer, I spend a majority of my day working in Excel managing lists, performing calculations, etc. I had limited knowledge of administrative tasks in maintaining the Salesforce org when my company first got this app, but was able to easily learn how to integrate my design spreadsheets with Salesforce and created complex X-Author apps. This application has greatly propelled our engineering / technical sales departments to the next level of efficiency!
  • Apttus has excellent support of their product. They are quick to respond to any issues we are having. Apttus is also extremely accommodating of incorporating new ideas or fixes to future releases of the product.
  • Training and installation materials need to be updated more frequently.
Apttus X-Author for Excel is perfect for companies who use Salesforce to develop pricing and proposals, but use Excel to fine tune the technical design aspects of a sale. With a little bit of work and some creative thinking, linking the technical designs to the proposal generation can be a powerful resource for growing companies.
Read John Tessandori's full review
Gregory Felton profile photo
November 23, 2015

Apttus Review: "Great Partner for our CPQ Journey"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed Apttus to 550+ field sellers and managers as part of very prescriptive guided selling solution. Our core solution is a Java-based tablet application that leverages Apttus via web app windows for browser based access. We support several products with thousands of pricebooks. Our quote model is more complex than a typical organization in that we have over 30 quote header level attributes that will [have] impact over deal profitability as much as the line item pricing and levers. Our line quantity calculations required additional attributes to support a rental model that uses different computations based on product type. We leveraged the Salesforce.com Process Builder and Approval Workflow for our approval process and used DocuSign for contract execution which includes internal contract counter signatures. This requirement drove us to also leverage the Apttus DocuSign API Integration solution.
  • Native Salesforce.com has allowed us to extend the solution and enable very tight integration to the sales process as implemented in Salesforce.
  • Highly configurable with alot of strong out-of-the-box functionality.
  • Document generation and maintenance very easy with X-Author
  • Customization needs handled with Apex code and Visualforce pages.
  • Current Opportunity Sync feature only syncs Quote Line with Opportunity Product. Need ability to sync data from Quote Header to Opportunity.
  • Complex conditional logic is difficult in X-Author.
  • Need the ability to have multiple shopping cart layouts and rename and manage standard buttons on screen.
Overall love this product. I've implemented all the major competitors in a past life and like this one the best.
Read Gregory Felton's full review
Ahmed Bajwa profile photo
November 20, 2015

Apttus Review: "Highly sophisticated tool for handling CPQ. 100% Native on SFDC!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus is widely used in our org across all sales divisions. Below are the features it provides and problems it addresses:
Allowing our sales reps a way to create accurate proposals for our customers per the pricing structure we have put in place. The ability to quote accurately in multiple currencies. The ability to create sales promotions and discounts seamlessly. Implementing approval processes for managerial sign-off on discounts.
  • Completely native to Salesforce. This is a huge plus as it allows you to maintain and customize features in a way that you are already familiar with
  • Apttus provides a lot of functionality out of the box and it can handle all of our pricing models natively
  • Allows the admins to restrict choices for Sales reps and easily implement approval processes for reps to requests discounts or other changes.
  • Although a lot of things can be customized, the main "shopping cart" feature that the sales reps interact with is not as easily customized. We did try making our own feature via visualforce, however this provides complications when it comes time to upgrade.
  • The X-Author tool for editing documents is also a little lacking; it requires us to create additional fields in SF when trying to edit display elements like number of decimal places and date format.
  • There also appeared to be a fair amount of staff turnover at Apttus, as our staff changed a number of times during some of our projects
Apttus CPQ is a thoroughly complex tool which would likely only be implemented for businesses at the enterprise level that have a significant amount of complexity in their products and sales processes. A key consideration is whether you need a CPQ tool native to Salesforce or not.
Read Ahmed Bajwa's full review
Jennifer Kinstle profile photo
November 16, 2015

Review: "Apttus contracting provides control and automation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus is used in one of our Salesforce instances for contract management. We chose to utilize Apttus for a variety of reasons, including version management, approval processing, electronic signature, and document retention. Apttus helped us move to a more streamlined, controlled process for not only creating and maintaining contracts, but also for activities such as negotiating terms. We have since expanded our functionality to include automation that enables us to move information through the system and into other systems using APIs.
  • Apttus enables us to control versions of contracts as well as ensure the approved terms are populating in the contract.
  • Apttus reduced the cycle time of moving a contract from term approval through execution by enabling functions to be completed online, from any device.
  • When updating templates, the ability to add notes and report out on versions would be nice to have in a more automated or built in fashion.
Apttus is a robust tool that provides users with the ability to configure it to meet their unique needs. The solution can be leveraged to not only pull information out of Salesforce to populate the template, but you can enable the recipient to add information and have that automatically populate back into Salesforce upon eSignature as well.
Read Jennifer Kinstle's full review
John Graf profile photo
November 12, 2015

Apttus Review: "X-Author is X-Amazing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Apttus tool called X-Author. It is an amazing tool that allows my users to pull data from our Salesforce.com org into an Excel based template. From that point, simply using the standard features in Excel, we can manipulate the data and push it back into the cloud. This was originally brought into our company to help with a complex spreadsheet used to build a scope of supply for complex waste water processes. That implementation went so well that we found ways that X-Author could reduce data entry time for nearly every department in the company. X-Author and the Apttus team have provided me with a solution to nearly any business process hurdle I run across.
  • It is clear that the Apttus Team understands that my implementation of their product is a key development. They made sure we were running on full steam, even if it called for "All hands on Deck".
  • Customer Support - If my developer or I were ever hung up on the building of a template, their Support Team provided excellent assistance; never giving in until the problem was resolved.
  • Very friendly.
  • Growing Pains
X-Author gives you a solution any time it becomes clear that you can't do that in Salesforce. We use the tool for sales, inventory control, accounting and GL management, project management and production management. The departments that are not currently using X-Author are only that way because I have yet to find time to get them involved.
Read John Graf's full review
Desirae Sutton profile photo
October 21, 2015

Apttus Review: "Streamlined Contract Management with Speed!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Apttus since 2011 and have not looked back! Before Apttus, we had very old systems and processes in place. With Apttus we have gone completely paper free - no more filing cabinets! We have cut our contract cycle process in half and increased speed and volume of productivity. My favorite part is our reports and metrics. Before Apttus, we had no idea what kind of volumes we were handling, what kind of trends we could see, and important information that we now capture that gives our executive team insight from the contracting world. I can't say enough about all the great changes that have come out of using Apttus with Salesforce.com and EchoSign-- amazing! Because we have been so successful with this product, we have moved other departments on Salesforce.com and integrated their information with ours. The only issue I have had is with technical support. I find them hard to understand because English is their second language, and they speak very technical, so as a non-tech user, I'm not always sure what I am supposed to do to fix the problem. I also find them very slow to respond unless I escalate it each time.
  • Handles more volume in less time
  • User friendly
  • Flexible and integrates with other systems
  • Tech support
  • Response to issues
  • Templates are very technical, if you don't know what you are doing, you have to take training
Make sure you ask for demos and compare products! Don't get tied up in all the "bells and whistles"--make sure it has all the functionality you need, and is flexible in case you change your mind!
Read Desirae Sutton's full review
Mark Fosshage profile photo
September 16, 2015

User Review: "Apttus Rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
World Water Works is leveraging Apttus to to drive efficiency, quality and enhance our customer experience. The technology has been super helpful since we implemented it less than a year ago. We are seeing certain functions which took days be reduced to less than 30 minutes. We are excited to implement in many areas of our business from finance, engineering, sales, ERP, manufacturing, and beyond. Many thanks Apttus. Great discussions with you at Dreamforce this week!
  • It enables us to leverage complex design modeling that we have built in Excel directly with Salesforce in a two way fashion.
  • I would like it to be used with a MAC. Apple rocks!
We continue to think about more ways to leverage Apttus and use it throughout our organization.
Read Mark Fosshage's full review
Vaibhav Mankame, PMP, CSM profile photo
August 18, 2014

Apttus Review: "Good CPQ Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus will be used across the whole organization of my client as a quoting tool. It address the business problem of configuring quotes.
  • Ease of use for configuration.
  • Easy to manage and maintain using configurable options and rules.
  • Flexible UI that was easily customized.
  • Speed.
  • Implementation Expertise.
  • Training.
Read Vaibhav Mankame, PMP, CSM's full review
No photo available
September 14, 2016

Review: "Apttus is a solid CPQ platform that will grow with its customers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apttus is being used to generate customer proposals for our direct customers in North America. We anticipate having Apttus CPQ rolled out to EMEA and APAC by the end of 2016. The solution is fully integrated with our SFDC sales processes. Our customer proposals include the customization of our product, pricing that may be freely negotiated or based on a contract, up to 4 levels of approval and the presentation of the quote to the end customer.
  • Fully integrated with Salesforce.com. Allows for the seamless update of all objects on the SFDC platform. As primary quotes are updated, so to are the opportunities.
  • Supports integration with Avalara for Sales Tax and DocuSign for E-Signature.
  • Supports the quoting of product that requires customization that results in a dynamic cost, MSRP and customer price.
  • Significant amount of R&D is being invested in to the platform. Many of the items on our wish list have already been incorporated as a standard feature or on the near term roadmap.
  • As a SAAS solution with a large amount of R&D being invested, there is functionality that is becoming standard in the platform that previously would have required some customer customization. The incorporation of the standard functionality will require regression testing and migration off of custom code. In the long term this is a positive, but in the short term does create some overhead with testing.
Apttus is well suited to provide an SFDC integrated CPQ experience. It can handle complex configurations and multiple languages. As a company that was transitioning off of a legacy CPQ solution, the adoption by our users was seamless with training lasting less than 4 hours. The user experience between SFDC and Apttus is so smooth that I would have a hard time imagining using Apttus independent of SFDC. That being said, I have heard they are developing an integrated experience with other CRM/ERP platforms. You will be best served if you are integrating with a platform that Apttus supports.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Quote sharing/sending (16)
7.1
Product configuration (17)
6.7
Configuration options (17)
7.1
Pricing rules (17)
7.1
Price adjustment (16)
6.9
Purchase history and open contracts (13)
6.1
Guided selling/Sales portal (11)
5.2
CPQ reporting & analytics (16)
5.7
CPQ-CRM integration (16)
7.6
Attachments to quotes (17)
5.9

About Apttus

Apttus CPQ aims to help companies drive optimal sales behavior by guiding reps to the right products and prices to meet business objectives.

According to the vendor, key benefits of using the product include:

  • SHORTEN SALES CYCLES: Reps can configure the right products, even complicated product bundles, at the right price and faster with guided selling, smart search and a clean, customizable UI. 
  • MAKE APPROVALS FAST AND EASY: Intelligent workflows help eliminate approval bottlenecks. 
  • WIN BIGGER DEALS: Pricing controls and workflow approvals help increase average order size and eliminate rogue discounting. A recommendation engine and guided selling feature highlight cross-sell and up-sell opportunities.
  • DELIVER ACCURATE QUOTES EVERY TIME: Approved language and validated customer, product and pricing information help reps send accurate quotes.
  • CONNECT QUOTES TO CONTRACTS: Proposals can be turned into contracts. 
Categories:  CPQ,  Sales Acceleration

Apttus Features

CPQ Features
Has featureQuote sharing/sending
Does not have featureCredit approvals
Has featureE-signature
Has featureProduct configuration
Has featureConfiguration options
Has featurePricing rules
Has featurePrice adjustment
Has featurePurchase history and open contracts
Has featureGuided selling/Sales portal
Has featureSelf-service CPQ
Has featureCPQ reporting & analytics
Has featureProposals
Has featureExcel integration
Has featureCPQ-CRM integration
Has featureAttachments to quotes
Has featureRenewal management
Does not have featureOrder capturing
Additional Features
Has featureUnlimited Attribute-based configuration
Has featureDiscounting and deal scoring
Has featureSubscription and renewal opportunity management
Has featureMulti-channel selling
Has featureQuote collaboration and versioning

Apttus Screenshots

Apttus Integrations

Apttus Competitors

Apttus Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Training

Apttus Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android