Arcserve Backup Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 20, 2019
Robert Guy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Both have similar feature sets. Unitrends seems to have a set number of configuration options for each environment and lays those templates down, whereas Arcserve Backup is more hands off with the initial backup configuration and do not have a basic SQL Template, for example. So Unitrends appears to be easier to get up and running out of the box.
Read Robert Guy's full review
January 25, 2019
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

To be succinct, we have used Veeam B&R for a number of years, against our VM environment, and we have yet to find anything that tops it. However, if you have physical machines in your environment still, then Arcserve is a great option, especially for the replication aspect.

Backup Exec has fallen behind the pack since we used it a number of years ago and changes to the platform have severely weakened the product. Arcserve sits above Backup Exec.

Druva we have just started using, mainly for our laptops, but they do have a cloud-based backup solution that we looked at.
Read Rob Bates's full review
January 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use Veeam Backup and Replication at our larger sites where Vmware Virtualization is being used and is our product of choice in this venue. When it comes to our smaller sites, nothing is more affordable and reliable than Arcserve Backup.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2017
Hiroki Nakazato | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is easy to deploy and manage. Solid data recovery and good notification option. We need to backup to tape to retain 7 years thus D2D2T is a good option to have.
Read Hiroki Nakazato's full review
June 27, 2017
Jerry Shakal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Arcserve UDP is fast, reducing our backup window from +20 hours to less than an hour. Arcserve UDP also has proven itself when restoring databases and files to to the same location or alternate locations quickly and efficiently. We have also successfully created "synthetic" Full backup tapes from the current backup sets.
Read Jerry Shakal's full review
June 26, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have selected ARCserve v.s the competition for several reasons - the Arcserve UDP data reduction was by far better than the competition, Additionally we found the solution easy to use compared to other alternatives, with the greatest replication and advanced features such as immediate access to backed up data without restore, SLA meeting and more.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Backup Exec, Yosemite, Acronis. Arcserver is the best of the bunch.
Read this authenticated review

What is Arcserve Backup?

Arcserve Backup is a comprehensive storage management solution for distributed and multiplatform environments that can backup and restore data from every machine on your network, including those running Windows, UNIX, and Linux.

Formerly of CA Technologies before Arcserve's divestiture (July 2014), Arcserve Backup utilizes magnetic tape storage backup as part of its storage management offering.

It offers control and visibility from one management console, whether supporting small-scale or large-scale enterprise environments across different platforms and organizations.

Jobs are submitted on a primary server and can be run either locally on the primary server itself, or remotely on any of the associated member servers. Users can perform and monitor job operations such as backup, restore, merge, scan, migrate, copy, compare, and so on for all servers from the primary server.

In addition, a central catalog file is created with descriptive information about each session and allows users to select the specific files and directories to be restored without having to query the database itself. When data needs to be restored, the program can quickly browse the content of each session in the catalog file from a single central location to locate the information.

With central reporting, users can launch and create scheduled reports for all servers in a domain from the primary server. Schedule, preview, print or email reports for all domain servers from the primary server.


Categories:  Storage Management

Arcserve Backup Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No