Arcserve Backup Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 20, 2019
Robert Guy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Arcserve Backup UDP for our primary image based backup and data protection solution. We use Arcserve Cloud Direct as our secondary offsite cloud backup solution.
Read Robert Guy's full review
January 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Arcserve Backup for over 20 years to back up our physical servers to tape. During this time, we have seen many changes and features added. It has been a solid, reliable product the entire time. We have used it with a variety of tape devices/types and it has always proven itself to be dependable. The user interface has changed over time and in the very beginning, it took time to get used to setting up jobs, and when needed to learn how to successfully restore files, etc. Once we became very familiar with, it was easy to manage. As things changed and we went into Vmware Virtualization, we chose a different backup option to use for that particular environment. Arcserve remains our backup solution for all our physical servers at our smaller sites that we did not virtualize, due to cost and need.
Read this authenticated review
January 25, 2019
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were using an antique version of Symantec Backup Exec at the time and realized with our global footprint growing, we needed a superior solution that would not only provide better backup functionality but also the scope to replicate our live environment. Arcserve Backup and Replication is now used by our IT department to maintain daily backups, and also maintain replication of our physical servers to our DR site.
Read Rob Bates's full review
August 28, 2017
Hiroki Nakazato | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Aarcserve to backup more than 10 servers with a customized D2D2T three weeks scheduled job. Our single tape drive was so small, but Arcserve has enough options to customize it to fit our needs.
Read Hiroki Nakazato's full review
June 27, 2017
Jerry Shakal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We initially used a backup-to-tape solution utilizing a 2 tape drive 66 slot robotic library, backing up 1.4 TB of Windows and Linux files nightly. Our backup window exceeded 20 hours and had encroached our production window. Performance was being impacted. We purchased 2 Arcserve UDP 7300v appliances; one on premises, the other geographically located approximately 230 miles away. Arcserve now protects 10.2 TB, which dedupes down to approximately 2.6 TB. Our backup window has dropped from +20 hours to 45 minutes or less. All data is kept on the premises and replicated to the second unit that is offsite, providing redundancy. The 2nd Arcserve UDP appliance, which backs up servers at the offsite, replicates its data back to our home site. Arcserve UDP also provides data archive-to-tape (annual and quarterly) and local data file backup. Arcserve UDP excels in providing both. File restores are painless and flawless.
Read Jerry Shakal's full review
June 26, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Arcserve UDP is deployed on all of our data centers and branch offices; we use it for central and remote sites backup, and for replication and disaster recovery. Additionally, we use the UDP for automatic DR testing and protection of all of our VMs, physical machines, applications, and databases.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Arcserve was the solution we chose to backup and restore our company's critical data. It was used across the entire organization.
Read this authenticated review

What is Arcserve Backup?

Arcserve Backup is a comprehensive storage management solution for distributed and multiplatform environments that can backup and restore data from every machine on your network, including those running Windows, UNIX, and Linux.

Formerly of CA Technologies before Arcserve's divestiture (July 2014), Arcserve Backup utilizes magnetic tape storage backup as part of its storage management offering.

It offers control and visibility from one management console, whether supporting small-scale or large-scale enterprise environments across different platforms and organizations.

Jobs are submitted on a primary server and can be run either locally on the primary server itself, or remotely on any of the associated member servers. Users can perform and monitor job operations such as backup, restore, merge, scan, migrate, copy, compare, and so on for all servers from the primary server.

In addition, a central catalog file is created with descriptive information about each session and allows users to select the specific files and directories to be restored without having to query the database itself. When data needs to be restored, the program can quickly browse the content of each session in the catalog file from a single central location to locate the information.

With central reporting, users can launch and create scheduled reports for all servers in a domain from the primary server. Schedule, preview, print or email reports for all domain servers from the primary server.


Categories:  Storage Management

Arcserve Backup Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No