Articulate 360 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
87 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Jeff DeSurra | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2020

The Go-to Tool for eLearning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Articulate 360 in my previous position extensively to build training programs. We need to have modular, portable learning modules so that they could be used across different systems and could be customized to match our web design. We used Articulate Rise primarily and it was used primarily to provide training to external clients using our training platform.
  • Robust set of tools that covers the primary needs of instructional designers.
  • Rise in particular is easy to use and makes creating training material quick.
  • Storyline has a pretty steep learning curve.
  • Some of the team functionality is limited, especially when it comes to role permissions and sharing. This has been improved a bit but it still not ideal.
For building eLearning and training, Articulate remains the easiest and quickest way to build resources that look good and function well. It's an industry standard product, so there is a lot of support from the community that uses the product. Rise and Storyline in particular are useful depending on the use case. For quick, easy designs that don't require a lot of logic or branching, Rise works really well. For more robust, customizable learning, Storyline provides a lot of flexibility. I can't think of many use cases where Articulate wouldn't work for eLearnings or training.
Read Jeff DeSurra's full review
Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

You cannot beat the industry standard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is currently using Articulate 360 as our primary tool for all of your eLearning development. We use Storyline 360 for or large courses, Rise for quick builds and Review to allow our clients to review all of our courses. There is not a better tool on the market for this.
  • Full suite of software
  • Industry standard
  • Expensive subscription program
  • Some basic features are still being develops while complex ones have been already.
Articulate 360 is hard to beat. It is the industry standard for a reason. Articulate 360 is ideal for any time that you need to develop eLearning courses for internal or external clients. The only time I would not recommend this is when you do not need the ability to send courses out for review, or you do not need Rise. In that case, I would purchase just Storyline 3
Read Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA's full review
Daniel Terán | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

The best tool kit that every elearning expert should have

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is used by the technological factory department, for the creation of online courses, also interactive learning objects, it is a main tool for elearning products. It is a powerful suite that allows virtual producers to adapt to educational trends demanded by customers and the business environment. The commercial strategy is based on designing products tailored to the training needs of each company.
  • Articulate has a specific software to create responsive courses, called RISE, which allows you to easily design courses that visually adapt to all mobile devices.
  • It has a function to create accessible and inclusive courses, complying with the WCAG 2.1 regulation, so that users with certain disabilities can access the courses without inconvenience.
  • Some features of 360 could be enabled for an offline version, in order to continue using the software in specific cases where there is no internet connection.
  • When we import projects from previous versions in 360, in some cases errors will be generated with the use of patterns, and we must change the name of the variables manually in order to integrate the files.
One of the best cases to apply suite 360 is when the client wishes to innovate in their training processes, since Articulate 360 has the ability to design courses tailored to the client. There are other rapid learning tools that improve production speed but do not have the ability to customize the creation of courses. Another of the strong features of Articulate is that we can create playful or gamified courses, since we can use the variables to create game mechanics and points within each activity.
Read Daniel Terán's full review
Richard Avenius | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Articulate 360 is a tremendous eLearning creation tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Kerauno, we currently use Articulate 360 to create eLearning modules that go above and beyond the functionality provided with our LMS's content creation tools. While it is used solely within our training department, we have actually used it to create animations and whole product walkthrough videos that other departments find useful as well.
  • Articulate 360 is very easy-to-use and user friendly, while in no way sacrificing functionality. Comparable tools like Captivate have a much steeper learning curve and don't provide as polished of a user experience.
  • Articulate 360 creates incredible interactive training courses. Using a variety of different elements, you can create animations, videos, and card-based courses that allow users to interact directly with the content.
  • Articulate 360 has some problems uploading and synching audio files, particularly audio that is recorded in stereo. When we uploaded some audio files that were recorded in stereo it created a weird echoing effect that we couldn't get rid of until we converted all of the audio files to mono.
  • While this may sound too persnickety, the control scheme of Articulate 360 matches that of a Microsoft product rather than that of a tool from the Adobe suite. While this is in general more user-friendly than most other programs, selecting multiple items in this tool can sometimes be a challenge as they need to be completely surrounded by the selection field.
Articulate 360 is a fantastic tool for creating interactive electronic training courses quickly and efficiently. The program lets you quickly jump from video element to text card to quiz seamlessly and efficiently. This tool does, however, require a basic understanding of a layered creation approach as well as some familiarity with timeline based creation tools. If you aren't familiar with either of these elements, this might not be the best tool for you.
Read Richard Avenius's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Articulate 360 is the bee's knees!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have an LMS and use Articulate to create our own content. Mine is a company that has its own products (Electronic Health Records and Medical Practice Management Applications) and we do a lot of "how to" videos. Articulate makes it easy to create good looking, professional content for all of our products. I have done and re-done at least one of our libraries of content and do not know how it could have been done in the time I did it without Articulate.
  • Easy, even for a novice to produce a video quickly.
  • If you know PowerPoint, then you can use Articulate. You can use it even if you don't know PowerPoint.
  • They have amazing training sessions via regular webinars. I've learned so many things from these amazing pros!
  • Well, we have had a few issues with screen recordings.
  • The biggest issues we have had have been addressed fairly quickly. But, because we use the application in a way that most of their users do not, we feel a little like orphans. We are not treated that way, but can't help but feel that way sometimes.
  • They are very much open to suggestions for enhancements. Of course, these things take time and have to be feasible and wanted by a majority. Because of what we do, we understand that very well.
If you need to create your own content - compliance or whatever - this is a great tool. We love it! I use it every day and haven't grown bored yet! There is just so much to know and learn and that never stops because they keep making it better. We do mostly screen recordings, but also create content from scratch and it's easy to do drag 'n drop, interactivity and more.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

Articulate 360 had a positive impact in our department

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate 360 is currently being used by our Learning Management System department and addresses all of our SCORM content course creation. It gives us the ability to create dynamic content for our airline. We have a number of designers that create basic content to extraordinary designs that captivate all of our audiences.
  • Ability to edit content easily and provide updates to our users.
  • The ability to share content to our SMEs for review where they can enter any changes immediately.
  • The layout if very simple and not clustered.
  • More template options.
  • Ease of creating a template.
  • Ability to have two different projects open in one window.
It’s well suited for someone that may not have much design experience because it’s very user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
Matthew Gardner | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Creating clear and articulate training courses for customer deployments

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate is being used within our customer success team to create training modules and quizzes for our customers after their deployment. This helps their staff review and learn our product.

This helps us to provide added value during the on-boarding process and also to track who is completing training very easily within our partner companies. They can host in their LMS or we also self-host if needed.
  • Export to LMS.
  • Ease of use/creation.
  • Quiz creation.
  • Robust importing.
  • Self-hosting option is not built in so you HAVE TO have an LMS, which is overkill for one-offs.
  • Cloud based but a desktop app, kind of annoying.
  • Price is high if you're not making many courses.
Very well suited for internal training if you have an LMS. Not great if you do not also want to pay for LMS software. We are currently hosting via HTML but a lot of functionality is lost. I think at the price point a lightweight web-based LMS should be included to show value.
Read Matthew Gardner's full review
Shaun Prinster | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

Articulate 360 is a robust online training creation package

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate 360 to build training content for our global training organization. We create online training modules using Storyline and Rise and send them for review via Review 360.
  • Articulate 360 provides a complete suite of tools needed for creating and delivering online content. They include tools for the creation of online training with resources such as audio, video, and sound files to use in your presentations, and a review tool that makes it simple to gather feedback in a single location from stakeholders.
  • Articulate 360 has an incredibly supportive community of developer and employees. You can often get an answer to your questions within a few hours by posting on their public forums. They have employees that work those queues, but a lot of times, the questions get answers by the very active user community before the employees can get to your question!
  • Articulate 360 tools are being updated regularly with new features that keep them on the cutting edge and at the front of the eLearning development tools vendors. They listen to their users and create features that solve the most common obstacles and streamline the most common tasks.
  • Translation within Articulate 360's development tool "Rise" has some limitations. You have to export the files as an 'xlf' file which more cumbersome than the option within their "Storyline" tool which allows you to export to a word document and send to translators that way.
Articulate 360 is a full-featured suite of online training and development tools. It would be a great fit for any organization with instructional designers that create online training covering anything from soft-skills, to software demonstrations. They have tools and capabilities to cover most online training needs. It wouldn't be as well suited for an organization that did mostly classroom training.
Read Shaun Prinster's full review
Nicholas Messiah | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2019

Articulate 360 Studio - Champion for e-learning and beyond

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate 360 studio plays a critical role in our organization. We utilize the tool in many ways. Mainly in packaging webinars into an on-demand format so our customers and potential customers can gain knowledge on our various products and services through our LMS. We also generate custom eLearning tools as well. The Articulate studio comes with other handy tools which allow us to implement certain components onto our website.

These webinars and eLearning tools are compliant with popular eLearning formats such as SCORM and AICC. We can track the user's progress and provide reporting based on quizzes and answer fields. Users can gain continual education credits and print certificates.
  • Has many templates, a full content library, and plenty of references and tutorials.
  • It is user-friendly and functions within powerpoint so your organization can pick up the software fairly easy.
  • Adding seats and more users is easy.
  • Sharing review links and getting others to review and collaborate is a feature that Articulate added.
  • There are some functions in scoring and reporting that can be improved. I have had to use advanced scripting to accomplish some tasks that could be added to the product.
  • Their Rise product is great for using template content blocks and creating a modern look to training courses - however, it is limited in the amount of customization compared to Storyline 360.
  • The audio editor can be a little jumpy when trying to micro-edit sound.
If you want to generate eLearning tools or do screen captured based tutorials - this is a great solution.
Read Nicholas Messiah's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Articulate 360 makes everything simple!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily, we use Articulate 360 to create training courses within our customer service department. We have also used Articulate Storyline (as part of the 360 Suite) to build training for other departments throughout the company and training modules accessible by our customers through our website. This tool makes it easy for us to create interactive training with a clean, professional appearance that is easy for our users to navigate through.
  • Ease of use/ability to learn how to use features
  • Clean and simple design output makes it easy for learners to navigate through courses
  • Freedom to create what your imagination can dream up
  • Community Support from e-learning heroes is great! Any issues are normally resolved with the community within a day and articulate staff still follows up.
  • 360 is always being upgraded and improved with character bundles, image/video content, and new feature roll-outs.
  • When there is a bug, sometimes you have to live with a workaround for a bit before it is resolved.
I can't imagine being able to do my job and do it well without Articulate 360. I am able to create simple linear training courses and complex branching courses with ease. Some of the greatest training courses involve a "choose your own adventure" feel with many branches and the outcome is based upon the points earned through the course. The better decisions, the better the outcome. Importing from PowerPoint is easy. The content library that comes with 360 is very helpful. Images are crystal clear, high-resolution, and able to be used with any use. No need for me to have subscriptions to other content services anymore. I love how easy it is now to create a video background with the content library included in 360.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

A robust and feature-rich application for all your complex eLearning needs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use the Storyline 360 application within Articulate 360 to build and edit eLearning modules for our organization. We use this application when we need to create complex eLearning modules for which our Learning Management System does not have a native activity already built. This allows our platform to be more flexible in terms of the types of learning content offered.
  • Robust set of features for creating complex and engaging eLearning content.
  • Flexible publishing options to accommodate users with a variety of LMS needs and requirements.
  • Options to create mobile-friendly and mobile-responsive eLearning content.
  • It has a fairly steep learning curve for new users.
  • The relatively high price point, especially for a nonprofit organization, means we can afford a very limited number of licenses.
  • The complex feature set means that details are easy to miss when creating content.
Articulate 360 is well suited for creators of complex eLearning modules, given its robust and flexible feature set. We have some simpler authoring tools, but specific business requirements for various projects require us to have a feature-rich tool that can be used for almost any eLearning situation. If you just need to create very simple eLearning modules, I would recommend looking for a less expensive tool with a shorter learning curve.
Read this authenticated review
Rebecca Mogollón | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Easy to learn and creates high quality learning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Articulate 360 suite to deliver exceptional, interactive learning to our consultants so they can take that knowledge out into the world and make a difference. I am the only person in the company using this software because it's $999 a year per license and it is not necessary for anyone else to be developing training content. The business problems that it addresses is making learning more interactive and offering a wider variety of "mediums" on which to teach complex concepts. For instance, if I know a training will be hosted worldwide in 14 different languages, I use Articulate Rise because that is more universally usable across computer platforms. If I know a training needs to cover a very complex concept, I use Storyline, which is basically like making your own interactive cartoon movie that will keep learners totally engaged.
  • Articulate 360 has lots of options: Rise is for simple, HTML-based course content delivery. Storyline is an animation/interactive eLearning designer that is robust yet easy to learn.
  • It totally simplifies the review process. When I want to have my boss look at a course I made, I create the Articulate Review link and he can make comments at any point in the course for suggestions/corrections, and the program takes a picture of where he is looking so I know exactly what he is talking about. I can also comment back.
  • The content library is high quality and professional. You can search images of people, backgrounds for Storyline projects, or entire project templates that you just plug your content into. It allows you to create content really fast and good looking.
  • Storyline is a bit heavy for some computers to handle—both the design side and even the viewer side. Outputs can occasionally be glitchy.
  • In Rise I would like to see more customizability, like choosing different fonts and locations of images and things like that. It's very cookie-cutter, which is actually great for newbies because it is difficult to make it look bad.
  • It would be cool if Rise had a "page logic" option so you can jump to different pages based on button logic. Pretty pie-in-the-sky.
  • The quiz functionality in Rise leaves a lot to be desired, but the quiz function in Storyline is SCORM compliant.
Articulate 360 is a powerful tool if you plan on teaching any topic. It can be as simple or complex as you like. You can create a Rise course which has videos, interactive Storyline content, quizzes, interactive images, buttons, and more. It's not necessarily suited for compliance training because it is hard to verify completion.
Read Rebecca Mogollón's full review
Cordell Yin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

Articulate 360 is a one stop shop suite for trainers needing to do e-learning development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team developed and delivered different types of scientific software training for scientists. We utilized Articulate 360 to develop training materials for software rollouts and upgrades. It provided more dynamic and useful reference materials for software users than just slide decks or manuals. It addresses the need for on-demand training when e-learning and self-paced training suffices for certain types of software. It also interfaced with our Learning Management System (LMS) to track user training completion.
  • Allows you to develop interactivity in e-learning modules, form simple quizzes to complex branching.
  • Ability to produce e-learning material that is compatible on many platforms, i.e. web browsers, tablets, phones.
  • Quick to learn how to use, especially if you are familiar with e-learning development tools.
  • There could be more intuitive buttons in many places. Without a "getting started" training, it might be tough to just try and figure out how to do things in the software.
  • The software has been known to be a little buggy (all versions). It is known that you should save your work often in case it crashes.
  • I wish the the vendor would build in more integrated instruction and tips withing the interface, so you can be reminded or clued in to what you are looking for if you are not an expert yet.
In the case of software launches for applications that have typical workflows, Articulate 360 is great to create on demand e-learning. You can include live demos, videos, self-paced presentations, knowledge checks, etc... You can also record scoring and return that information to your LMS. this is great where there might be a level of compliance checking in your organization. When mastered, it is also possible to create simulations within the modules as well. The ability to branch and lead the end user in different paths is a great strength as well.

Articulate 360 is less suited for more passive learning material. If the need is for a demo only, other tools to record screen capture and creating videos might be more appropriate. However if it needs to be used within your LMS system, you could still use Articulate to output the module. For simple cases, though, Articulate might be overkill for what you need.
Read Cordell Yin's full review
Robert Nunez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

An IDs Best Friend

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, the Training Department is the only department using Articulate 360. Currently, the training department is made up of one person. As a one-man show, I needed a rapid development tool and Rise was highly rated. I can create a beautiful eLearning course in a fraction of the time it would take in either Captivate or Storyline.
  • You get Storyline 360, Peek and Rise all in one tool.
  • Rise alone is almost worth the price.
  • Peek is not as good as Camtasia, but I trust Articulate to eventually get on par.
  • A couple of more interactive tools for Rise would make it nearly perfect.
  • I would love to see a photo editing tool included, similar but not as powerful as Photoshop.
Articulate 360 is a must-have tool for any instructional designer that is self-employed. The flexibility to create with Storyline or Rise is a major advantage, especially when working with a client/department that wants something beautiful and interactive within a week. Articulate 360 allows the ID to give options without sacrificing quality.
Read Robert Nunez's full review
Joseph Madere | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Articulate 360 -- Online training curation made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate 360 is being used by the training department at my organization. It is the primary authoring tool for our content creation. Any and all training designed has been made using Articulate 360 and its suite of programs. We're able to build out diverse training targeting 60+ diverse job titles and can tailor our content to each audience with this tool
  • Customer support and online help. Their online community is hugely robust and full of subject matter experts who provide constant help, tips, tricks, templates, ideas, thoughts, and networking via Storyline Heroes the online community.
  • Very user-friendly and easy to use. I went through the starter booklet, watched a few videos, and was making some high-quality training with just the basics. It's very intuitive for a beginner and provides ease of use and familiar tooling to make designing simple. it also caters to high-level designers with its depth in content creation. If you can imagine it, you can pretty much build it.
  • The in-house templates come free with your subscriptions. They're high-quality photos and interactions that rival Shutterstock. They maintain fidelity in publishing and are up to date and relevant to the time. If I search "cityscape" I'll get an up to date, high quality, relative cityscape image for use in my training. This filters all the way down to even the fun icons you can make yourself with their templates.
  • It's buggy at times. It has constant updates though. I've personally never encountered a wall or situation in which I would say, "I need to find another program," the issues I have faced are small and very easily worked around. At times some of the logic to the building doesn't make sense but that's just getting familiar with their terminology and methodology for accomplishing a goal.
  • Their support service only has an online communication method. If you're having an issue it's just a live chat option. It would be nice to be able to pick up the phone and have someone provide immediate service or at least guide me.
It's well suited for any level of designer, beginner, intermediate, advanced. It can be used by any of those audiences and they can create high quality beautiful training just from the simple easy to use user interface Articulate provides. It's so robust and rich that you can make a quick quiz, or a multi-layered deep cyber-security training out of it. It's publication options allow you to distribute the content through just about any means you can imagine.
Read Joseph Madere's full review
Jamie Drahos | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

A Complete Package for eLearning Development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Training and Education team, which is comprised of 11 people, use Articulate 360 to develop eLearning within the sales group for the Americas. Although we still host classroom training for some segments of the company, the majority of our continuing education is done online. Articulate 360 provides us a "toolbox" of resources to accomplish this. My group is really blown away by Rise, which lets you develop for mobile easily, and some of the video products included. Articulate 360 for teams also has collaboration tools baked in that make it easier to work with each other from our various locations. As an administrator, it is very easy to manage our users and the technical support from Articulate has been great. The subscription model also allows us to get updates for all products regularly, which Articulate has been very good about releasing. Many improvements have been made for the product since we first adopted it.
  • Online collaboration with plenty of storage. You are able to share your projects easily and collaborate with others, even if they do not have a license for Articulate 360.
  • Responsive design for mobile. The Rise product is amazing. Accessed through a browser, you can build eLearning on any computer and it looks great on every screen.
  • Regular updates. Articulate 360 has been great about making regular improvements to the platform. They are really fulfilling the promise they made when they moved to a subscription model.
  • A complete package. Every tool in 360 makes sense and seamlessly works with each other.
  • A plethora of content. With the subscription you get access to Articulate's library of templates, people, images, video and icons. This library continues to grow and is high quality.
  • Subscription renewal. Although Articulate does a good job at attempting to make renewal and online subscription management painless, there are still some bottlenecks in the process. Working with their sales team and your billing can take some time. Just a minor thing that could possibly be approached differently.
After two years of using the product, I believe that Articulate 360 is a must for any serious training organization. Especially those working within a team of people.
Read Jamie Drahos's full review
Nelson Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

Articulate your thoughts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We [are] currently upgraded to Articulate 360 Team. I am the lead developer but we have 4 people in our organization that use the product. This allows us to create e-learning courses for our external customers so they can receive CEs. This allows users to gain credits without attending one of our live trainings.
  • I love the save template feature so I don't have to recreate interactions
  • Freebies like characters and photos are great!
  • Programing triggers are very easy
  • Because it's similar to PowerPoint it's very easy to navigate
  • Sometimes it crashes
  • When I add a lot of slide masters it slows up the program
  • Right now I am having isses uploading to my LMS which is a technical issue
Articulate is well suited for creating what we need. Rise is great for advertisement and simple learning. It is less appropriate for announcements or email blasts. Also, we do not use it for polling.
Read Nelson Walker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

Best Option Out There!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HR is the sole department with access to use Articulate 360; however, the output from the application is viewed by learners throughout our organization.
  • User-friendly and easy to learn
  • Make courses as simple or as complex and interactive as you like!
  • Offers many pre-made templates to create a seamless look.
  • The voiceover voices offered by the system are very digital sounding so do not seem authentic.
  • Can’t download a 360 project back into PPT.
  • Story view can be a bit confusing sometimes, depending on what order your slides were created in.
Articulate 360 is perfect for novice instructional designers and for those who need to produce a lot of content quickly. I cannot think of a time it wouldn’t be appropriate because it has so much functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Timothy Aulph | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2018

On its way to being the best rapid development eLearning tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Articulate's products, specifically, Storyline since 2014! Storyline allows me to create dynamic eLearning courses quickly but also allows me to create large, project managed courses with the same quality as some graphically designed and coded courses. With its most recent update to Storyline 360, I can also publish courses as MP4 files! And if I want to create something even quicker, I can use Rise, a quick authoring tool made for easy collaboration with your SMEs, ISDs, or trainers!
  • Easy collaboration on a course
  • Sharable Content Library
  • Live, Online Training to self-development with the tools
  • Flexibility to create the course as quick or as in depth as you need
  • The Support Community is great; however, it can be hard to find an answer to your support needs.
  • Out of my price range as an individual ($999 annually)
  • No browser-based version - yet!
Articulate 360 will allow you to share content in a library and allow others to easily review your course. It is a quick, intuitive suite of apps that are great for developing a course quickly and efficiently. After watching YouTube videos to get you started, you should have a course done in a decent amount of time. Branching is easy to create and track. Included assets, such as the built-in templates and characters help the user complete a professional looking course in a short amount of time.

This suite may be less appropriate if you are a one-person team. You probably only need to buy/use Storyline 3 or Studio 13 (one time cost of $1398 [or $699 to upgrade] versus an annual cost of $999). Or, you may find you need something smaller, like Camtasia.
Read Timothy Aulph's full review
John Hinchliffe | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2018

Articulate 360 recommendation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate 360 is a key software for us as it allows us to create rapid e-learning not only in Storyline but also gives us the ability to create mobile first solutions easily with Rise.
  • You have the ability to create a variety of courses easily with the vast array of tools provided.
  • The asset library is extremely handy.
  • The pre-made templates make the creation process for new instructional designers extremely easy.
  • I think a lower yearly price would be a big help for independent freelancers.
  • Having a bank of Rise templates available.
  • More graphical assets in the content library would be useful.
If you are a new instructional designer with an existing knowledge of PowerPoint, then this makes an entrance into the industry far easier. Articulate has provided a well-rounded solution for individuals and organisations to produce great rapid e-learning.
Read John Hinchliffe's full review
Ryan Parish | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2017

Articulate 360 - An eLearning Solution to Slay Meetings and Win Hearts

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the only person at the company who is actively using Articulate 360. (I've used Articulate products for 4.5 years now in corporate and freelance contexts).

Our organization purchased a content package from an LMS provider a few years ago, so my job for the next two years is to develop in-house content to replace some of the highest-priority courses in our learning plan.

Articulate 360 solves a number of problems, but none is clearer than the problem we used to have gathering feedback on courses in an efficient manner. With prior versions of the product, the only real way to submit comments on a course was to print it out in Word format and send it back to the developer. With Articulate Review (part of the 360 platform), learners can make comments directly from within the course, and they will track to the slide and layer level. Developers will receive email notifications every time a new comment is posted, and they can comment back. To top it off, you can even view prior versions of the course with a single click of a button!
  • Articulate Review is the single greatest addition to the Articulate set of tools in the 4.5 years I've been using the product. It makes course review a cinch, and eliminates all of the headaches that come from reviewing courses on an LMS or via a hacked together Google Drive/Dropbox solution.
  • Rise is an incredibly quick, easy way to build quick, beautiful, content driven courses that are mobile friendly and responsive. It's drag and drop, which makes it fun to use, and web-based, which allows developers to build content on the go without needing access to their primary machine.
  • Peek (the screen recorder tool) is a big improvement over Articulate Replay from a simplicity perspective. It records the screen as a discreet taskbar icon, rather than a full program, and then allows you to edit and use that content in your software package of choice. I love it.
  • I occasionally have issues with the launcher in 360, and can't get the program to open. It seems to be an intermittent bug on my computer that has to do with being enterprise-locked. The first time this happened, I reached to Articulate's world-class support, who helped me get up and running again. I've been able to fix the issue subsequently by following the instructions provided by the Articulate folks, so I'm happy with that!
  • I would like to see further integration with TinCan API (xAPI) in the platform. Right now, I believe that TinCan is only supported in Storyline, and that the statements it is capable of sending to an LRS system are limited to 6 canned verbs. While that is fine, there is no native support for sending variables directly to an LRS without doing some XML tweaking behind the scenes. I'd like to see Articulate lead the industry in xAPI use cases and support, since I hope that's the direction that the industry is headed.
  • I say this every time I have an opportunity, but I'd love to see Articulate develop a native version for the Mac. I've had some success running Storyline 360 on my Mac with Parallels and VMWare Fusion, but I'd like to free up my system resources to edit video AND develop courses, which is difficult to do when you're running a virtual machine.
If you are looking for a suite of tools to support every type of eLearning development that you could imagine, look no further. Articulate 360 supports PowerPoint native course creation in Studio 360, Rapid eLearning Development with robust configuration and interactivity options in Storyline 360, a responsive drag-and-drop creation tool in Rise, and a time-saving godsend of a review tool in Articulate Review. The mere fact that Articulate throws a huge content library on top of that is incredible icing on the cake.
Read Ryan Parish's full review
Kristen Neill | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2017

Articulate 360 - better with every update and upgrade

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I joined my current company I was asked what software programs I used and felt were best for our newly built team of instructional designers. I had an opportunity to beta test and play with Articulate 360. I recommended the purchase of the software for a variety of reasons, but our department designs training for internal and external customers. It allows us to draft things quickly with Rise, use Review for seamless review and change requests. It also has a user-friendly user interface that is surprisingly robust, yet simple to teach someone to use.
  • I love the addition of Review. It allows us to send items to external customers for their review and feedback as well as allows me to comment back via one location. When you update and re-publish you can update the item they can see. I did stumble across the fact that if you have multiple people working on a project and they publish and send a link to the customer it is saved into their own 360 site. I need to explore this more to see if there is a way to make a collaborative site that two people can update to. If not, it is important to be aware that you need to send the updated links to your co-worker too or they won't see comments made on the newer items published by a different person. We ran into this because I had to go out of town and someone else had to help with some updates.
  • Storyline is something I have been using since it came out and wow, it has come a long way in a relatively short time. I have to say my favorite thing about the software though is the collaborative site to teach people on how to use it and to collaborate with others. It is unlike any other support/tutorial site I have ever used. I also like Storyline because it is robust but user-friendly. You can make very simple or very complex items based on your skill set. There is also a newly updated content library full of great resources to use in your training. I feel like the access to this has really opened up options for our training programs.
  • Another thing I really like it the ability to change your design view for PC to tablet to mobile...seamlessly. This is huge! As the world turns more to mobile learning this is a great way to see what you have done and how it will transfer between formats.
  • As I mentioned previously, I need to explore more, but it seems like Review should have some way to have a collaborative 360 place where a team can publish to so that there is one place for everyone to use.
  • Storyline gets better with each update and release. I have always wished for a little more flexibility or options in the animation area.
Articulate 360 is well suited for training where you need to be able to create something quickly. It is also a great solution for a team that might have different skill levels. The learning curve isn't as high as some other programs that require more programming or manipulation for results. I can't say that I have yet experienced a time when this software didn't work for my needs.
Read Kristen Neill's full review
Jason Adaje | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2017

Certainly a big step forward. Storyline could do with a few more upgrades though.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment it has not been fully deployed but it has been/is being tested. However we currently use Articulate Storyline 2. So it will be used extensively once it is deployed. It will be one of our main development tools for content and learning objects. Straight away the content library will be able to save the team time and money spent on stock images where required
  • Again the content library is a particularly good feature that will provide graphic resources, which can be vital for work statements they require a fast turn around, reducing the effort and cost to produce or source relevant supporting content.
  • The ease of content creation in Rise.
  • The Publish options allow users to publish without Flash.
  • Subscription based software model are something I'm not a fan of.
  • There are limited options for editing the player, it would be nice to see more design option here.
  • Hosting content on a tablet without using articulate servers.
Articulate 360 seems to work well for courses with branching scenarios, it is quite clear to see the relationships between slides and how to edit them. Articulate 360 still seems to need some work in the area of software simulation, it's great that it records the little animations that may happen on screen for providing a more genuine looking simulated experience but, Captivate still seems to provide a better experience for screen capturing and editing those captures.
Read Jason Adaje's full review
Ben Sewell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Fantastic progress, from a brand supporting the community

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within the company I work for, we have been long time users of Storyline 2 and produce a large proportion of our content within it.
Now with Articulate 360, we can expand on our offerings and reduce our reliance on the Adobe suite.
Unfortunately, it has not been rolled out yet and is still in the testing phase. I do however use this personally as a freelancer.

I was lucky enough to Beta test the 360 software suite and rated it highly. I use this to develop a wide variety of content, typically using Storyline for more traditional courses and Rise for interactive websites and infographics.

When we need support, we find searching the community to be very effective and, if required, the customer service team are second to none.



  • Expands on the offering, creating an overall suite of features and potential. For example, the content library lets you grab media where you needn't worry about royalties and searching endlessly.
  • Allows for constant upgrades and improves to each component of the software. This is a growing suite and updates are released regularly.
  • Unlocks potential for greater and more in-depth solutions, rather than standalone content. For example, object collision allows for game creation.
  • Addresses QA issues, with the fantastic review feature. You can see exactly what and when the reviewer is experiencing issues.
  • Just released, so still a few things to iron out.
  • Price point is high for freelancers, but hopefully this will be addressed.
  • Not the ground breaking update to Storyline 2 that I expected, but this is NOT Storyline 3, so I'm happy with this.
  • Studio and Replay seem a bit unnecessary now and could perhaps take efforts away from the more useful components of the suite.
If you are looking to create a piece of elearning content, or a complete elearning solution, with responsive sites and design, then this is probably the best tool you could choose at the current time. There is also the bonus of the full library.
I feel this is best suited for:
  • Games
  • Branching scenarios
  • Interactive video
  • Rotating models
  • Infographics

If you are looking to save money and simply create a simple presentation, I'd suggest an older version, or to simply stick with Powerpoint.
Read Ben Sewell's full review
Michael Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Articulate 360: Bringing the E-Learning Development Process Full-Circle

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of moving towards Articulate 360 as our preferred platform for developing e-learning. At the moment, it is being used by our internal staff as we begin the process of moving clients to the new platform, with the goal being to have it across the entire organization in the future. We believe that Articulate 360 helps to better support mobile devices used by learners, enhance opportunities for collaboration during various stages of development with Review, and streamline the overall production process with features like the Content Library.
  • Enhances support for mobile devices with the move away from primarily relying on Flash. The HTML5 engine has been rebuilt and now offers the option for specifying which type of output is published (HTML5 Only, HTML5/Flash, Flash/HTML5, Flash Only).
  • The new Review tool makes it possible for reviewers to provide feedback which also shows exactly what was on-screen at the time they post each comment. This will greatly help alleviate confusion from vague bits of feedback now that developers can see exactly what happened.
  • The lightweight screen-casting tools Peek and Preso help to better support our developers and answer client questions whenever an email simply isn't enough. Having the ability to quickly record my desktop screen, or annotate screens with my feedback, and upload it to Articulate 360 to share nicely streamlines my workflow.
  • Having access to high quality templates, characters, and images (coming soon) will streamline the process for sourcing stock media in a way that better manages costs, since it's included in the price of the subscription.
  • With the move from Flash to HTML5, there are a few bugs that still need to be worked out. But I think they'll be resolved quickly with the frequent release of updates.
  • Currently, there is only a 1-size-fits all subscription that includes all of the tools at an annual lump-sum price point. It feels a little steep if you aren't actively using all of the tools, or compared to other subscriptions with monthly fees (e.g. Adobe Creative Cloud).
  • Some of the issues reported in SL2 continue to be present in SL360, but there is a clear trend towards resolving even the peskiest of these legacy issues.
Articulate 360 is great if you are looking for a comprehensive suite of tools to help with a wide variety of e-learning needs. However, if you are an existing SL user, and do not have need for Articulate Studio (Presenter, Engage, Quizmaker), then this may be a bit more expensive than what you need. The addition of the new tools is great, but it may not meet the needs of small teams/organizations that are heavily focused on controlling costs. Hopefully they'll offer different tiers or bundles with other payment options in the future.
Read Michael Jones's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (18)
9.7
Course catalog or library (13)
8.8
Player/Portal (16)
8.4
Learning content (12)
9.0
Mobile friendly (17)
9.2
Progress tracking & certifications (13)
7.9
Assignments (7)
8.7
Compliance management (10)
7.3
Learning administration (10)
8.0
Learning reporting & analytics (9)
7.7
Social learning (7)
7.2

About Articulate 360

Articulate 360 is an annual subscription designed to give course creators everything they need for course development. The vendor describes its content as including:


  • Award-winning authoring apps—Storyline 360 and Rise 360—for creating courses that look gorgeous on every device.


  • An ever-growing library of more than 5 million course assets, including stock photos, templates, characters, icons and videos that make it easy to create beautiful courses faster.


  • A web-based project review app for easily collecting consolidated feedback from stakeholders.


  • And live and on-demand training webinars to help them get up to speed on Articulate 360 and grow their skills as course developers.


The vendor further states that all of the apps and resources they include in a subscription to Articulate 360 will be continuously updated with new features.

Articulate 360 Features

Has featureStoryline 360: build interactive mobile and online courses—no programming needed.
Has featureRise 360: create visually appealing, inherently responsive e-learning. from within a web browser.
Has featureStudio 360: rapidly transform PowerPoint slides into e-learning.
Has featureContent Library 360: includes thousands of professionally designed templates and images.
Has featureReview 360: streamline the course review process with a simple web app that lets users share e-learning content with stakeholders and get consolidated, in-context feedback in one place.
Has featurePreso: create informal training videos from an iPad.
Has featurePeek 360: record screencasts from Mac or PC.
Has featureReplay 360: record and edit screencasts with webcam video.
Has featureArticulate 360 Training: Live training webinars provided exclusively to Articulate 360 subscribers.

Articulate 360 Screenshots

Articulate 360 Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Articulate 360 is available on the Articulate website and through Articulate Authorized Resellers. The Articulate 360 Teams plan is available for $1,299 per user, per year, and individual subscriptions perfect for freelancers are available for $999 per user, per year (all prices USD). Eligible educational customers receive a 50% discount on list prices. To learn more, sign up for a free 60-day trial of Articulate 360: https://www.articulate.com/360/trial

Articulate 360 Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Articulate 360 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android