Articulate Studio Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Joseph Benton | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2020

Wonderful Product with Quirks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consulting agency, I work with different companies to create their e-learning programs. Articulate Studio 360 not only allows me to publish their e-learning programs in one of the suite's applications (Storyline 360), but also to provide feedback in another of the suite's applications (Review 360). In addition, there is an application that is mobile-first for the web publishing of e-learning projects (Rise 360) which some clients prefer. Additionally, many features that have been requested by users have been incorporated into new ways of producing e-learning with features and dedicated applications such as Content Library 360. This suite, when purchased by the client, allows them to also make modifications to their programs as necessary, but it is a bigger and grander version of Articulate Storyline 2 and its features.
  • In terms of e-learning, there is nothing I can imagine that Articulate Studio can't do; the features are all-encompassing in terms of what they allow a creative author to make.
  • New features that are part of Articulate Studio are game-changers in the amount of time and effort saved by having dedicated and integrated applications performing specific functions such as dedicated graphic imports of royalty-free images and drawings that I would normally pull from the web. Additionally, there are tons of characters with multiple poses and expressions that help to add storyboard characters which can be added/changed to illustrate stories. Separately, this capability was time-intensive and costly.
  • Just having the Review 360 app is a unique game-changer in and of itself. I can't tell you how many different ways that clients prefer to give feedback to e-learning projects: email, Word docs, PowerPoint comments, teleconferencing live comments, etc. and they are all wastes of time compared to using Review 360 where feedback is given on each slide, replies are sent by email and each piece of feedback can be acknowledged and comments removed leaving a clean slate finished product.
  • If you're in love with SVG graphics like I am, with their small size and super-high resolution at any scale, then you'll be disappointed to know that you can't directly add SVGs. This is a functionality that the web is embracing and it's sad to see Articulate not incorporating such a feature.
  • One pet peeve I have had of Articulate is their "support" which consists of a community board with searchable questions and answers and comments which is often very useful. It is also staffed by support personnel from Articulate. Unfortunately, they can't open a support case or ticket on your behalf and they give the impression they are first-level support and do provide some guidance but not beyond the level of a power-user even though their profile says they are with the company. It's woefully confusing and disappointing compared to most companies that sell software with support.
  • Articulate's products are enormously easier to use than their rivals at Adobe, but Articulate is often in the habit of ignoring many long-term problems which can be found by searching their "support" boards. Strange and weird bugs, if a bit obscure, are never fixed even though they would make an already awesome program that much more stellar.
  • This program is VERY expensive compared to offerings from their chief rival Adobe, but it really does not seem to phase the leadership at Articulate that they may easily quadruple their number of users if they would just cut their cost in half and they do not seem prepared to even experiment with such an offer.
Articulate Studio is constantly surprising in terms of what it can do. It is like a "Swiss Army Knife" of functionality. I've used it to build portfolios, whole interactive websites, authoring videos and I often discover novel ways to make it useful on a pretty regular basis. What would be a situation where you would not want to use Articulate Studio? Well, even though you can use it to author video and to publish websites, it's not a replacement for a video editing package or a web platform like WordPress, but there are times when it will do certain things in an astoundingly simple way superior to other tools.
Read Joseph Benton's full review
Louis Ellis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Articulate Studio - Training development for the little guy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Constellation West uses Articulate Studio to create training courses for several departments. Corporate compliance related courses such as Time keeping, Active Shooter, Insider threat, Annual Industrial Security refresher briefings and Initial Security indoctrination briefings. Articulate allows Constellation West to customize courses to fit our particular needs with out breaking the bank. Being able to create our own in house course and SCROM wrap them form deployment in our LMS (Learning Management System) is a game changer.
  • Ease of use
  • Compatibility
  • Registration loop error - keeps asking me to register
  • More course player options
Small to medium companies on a tight budget cannot go wrong. Articulate Studio enables smaller companies to produce compliant professional looking training courses without breaking the bank. Additionally, the product is quite intuitive to learn and use. I myself had never used a product such as this but was able to produce course work with quizzes that impressed senior management.
Read Louis Ellis's full review
John Fester | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

How Articulate Studio Helped Us & Saved $$

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Articulate Studio to create training courses for individuals that require training to become a travel agent. The courses allow for us to have quizes and tests that can be retaken, or causes a person to fail the course and retake the course from the beginning. We also use this software as way to train our internal staff in other departments duties, in order to have a good cross-department availability for when more people are needed in other departments.
  • They made it very easy to understand how to add new content to the courses, including images, videos or audio, of course, you are still able to do text-based content as well.
  • Creating quizzes has never been easier. The ability to add controls to each question and what actions each answer creates, whether an additional question or passing to the next section. Customizing these actions are very easy to learn and add to your course.
  • Being able to use your own scoring mechanism is awesome! I like SCORM but there are many options to use including a custom one of your own. This ability allows you to pass your students over to a proprietary system that enrolls them in the next course, or use the built-in utilities to provide the next course or quiz, the choice is yours!
  • The software is robust, it can be intimidating at first. Do not be shy, get in there and play around, you'll learn a lot in 10 minutes. What they could do better is provide a better introductory walkthrough when you first install. It could be a tutorial that allows you to pause and return later to the same point you were at. There are basic tutorials when you first open it but is very limited.
  • The integration of different scoring mechanisms could be improved in the GUI. This section of the GUI has limited information and causes a new user to search for much of the information online. For advanced users, you will know exactly what to do in this screen, but for the beginner you will find yourself scratching your head a bit. Adding a more user-friendly screen, that possibly has a toggle for the advanced mode, would be helpful.
  • I would love to see a more online version, where most of the controls or content is online and can be pulled in to your project, creating a smaller installation. I am the IT Manager, so storage is on my mind and the software is robust...meaning that it also consumes significant storage space.
If you need to build courses that have quizzes and want to control the audience's attention to the course, rather than starting a course and watching YouTube while it plays in the background, or if you need to have the results go to a proprietary system that you control, then Articulate Studio will be a well suited software solution for you.
Read John Fester's full review
D Walwyn | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Best eLearning authoring tool integrated with PowerPoint

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Studio is used for rapid deployment of eLearning content in my organization. It is primarily utilized by our eLearning department. The area the software really excels in is its ability to plug into PowerPoint with seamless integration. Most users of PowerPoint will be easily able to step right in. Eliminating the learning curve experienced with a lot of other eLearning Authoring Software.
  • Fast eLearning turn around time.
  • Eliminates a lot of the need to learn complicated eLearning authoring tools
  • Great interactions and templates built right into the suite.
  • It would be nice if Replay came included in this package for screen recording insertion.
  • More templates and interactions.
  • Integration with open source presentation software (OpenOffice, LibreOffice)
Articulate Studio is fantastic for sharing information based eLearning content that can be developed quickly and easily by developers who are not well versed in programming, scripting or graphic design. It is less appropriate for eLearning that requires simulations or complex interactions as the bulk of the content is derived from templates.
Read D Walwyn's full review
Joseph Madere | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Studio is the icing on the cake

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate Studio to develop and improve upon all presentations. We are able to take PowerPoint presentations to the next level using the tools provided. Microsoft has some creative and neat ways to make PowerPoints more immersive and interactive but Articulate Studio gives that extra level of attention to detail and user interface tools make it a breeze to work with.
  • User interface, interaction, usability, adaptability
  • Diversity and escalating work projects to the next level
  • Fun and user-friendly
  • It's icing on the cake. It provides a lot of usability with its quiz-maker and presenter. The presenter can sometimes feel like an unnecessary add on. If it didn't come apart of a package, I don't think we would have purchased it outright.
Fun to use. It guarantees mobile content made elegantly and in proportion. The presenter gives you next level powerpoints and the quiz-maker gives you good cookie cutter utility for engaged learning.
Read Joseph Madere's full review
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

The Story of Articulate Storyline

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Studio is used across various departments within the university by Instructional Designers, Multimedia Techs and in limited cases, by faculty members. It is used for creating staff and faculty facing training modules, as well as enhancing existing online course materials with a focus on making them more interactive and engaging for learners
  • Integrating very well with PPT
  • Allow authors to create ad-hoc video and audio clips on the spot
  • Easy to export SCORM formats for LMS integration
  • Supplies rich library of stock graphics, footage and 'characters' to allow for fast build out
  • UI is a bit dated, but it's parallel to PPT which puts some users at ease
  • Storyline is PC only, by far the biggest drawback
  • A big slow in rendering video content during export
  • Player is a bit rigid
Very helpful for developing microlearning modules, non-linear PPTs, and basic staff training. Has been very useful in developing staff onboarding modules. Works well on mobile and tablet devices and it is easy to add extra accessibility features such as alt tags and captions. Great for in video/lecture knowledge checks. Not great for group or teamwork, users are very much siloed.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
Chris Bloom | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Articulate Studio - Effective, if a little buggy

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate Studio to quickly create eLearning courses related to our Release Training. Often, we have a matter of days to create a full training with the updates of all our products, and we create these at a rate of one every 4 weeks, if not more often. Articulate Studio, being an add-on for PowerPoint, allows us to develop slides quickly and narrate them to create an engaging course, complete with quizzing.
  • Easy learning curve. Just some button clicks for recording narration, syncing animations, and adding annotations.
  • They made some fairly recent improvements to how you sync animations and add annotations. With the timeline, you can manually move the timing around. Much better than the earlier task of having to just re-do it from the beginning and hope you get the timing right.
  • If you're using Studio in the Articulate 360 subscription, you can easily review the course before it publishes.
  • The included Quizmaker program is just great. Simple to use, but you can make a varied mix of questions, and the customization options are great.
  • You can add background music in slides, which is pretty great in certain situations.
  • The audio editor is awful. Sometimes when you cut a section, it actually takes a different section that you selected. Especially when in zoom mode. You have to then undo the action, and re-do. Also, scrubbing through the audio is difficult. If you're exporting audio, it can glitch during the process. I avoid using the audio editor whenever I can.
  • After all these years, it's still a buggy program. You can be doing your recordings, and a sudden message appears saying that something went wrong and needs to close. I've done re-installs, contacted support, and I constantly clear the temp folder. Still happens. Also, it's a good idea to export your audio, and there have been times the program freezes up on me, and the audio file (in the .ppta file) gets corrupted and all audio is permanently lost.
  • The program can get slow when publishing, previewing or opening the audio editor.
  • The included Engage program is pretty good, but it needs more customization options. And I think they can add more modules that provide a little more engagement.
Studio is really a good program for turning PowerPoint into eLearning presentations. If you're comfortable in PPT, you can really spice it up with Studio. If you also use Storyline (also by Articulate), you will find it's not nearly as flexible or robust, but the learning curve is much easier and turning out finished courses is much quicker.

Just be aware that it's still somewhat buggy, and the audio editor is very frustrating at times.
Read Chris Bloom's full review
Luciano Gardesani Marques | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2017

My experience with Articulate Studio

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Studio is being used to generate Rapid Learning content to support corporate education projects. It has been used by our development team, which include instructional designers. It is a great tool / method considering cases when development time is short, budget is low and/or content must be constantly updated. It does not demand programming or technical competencies, since most of the work is based on PowerPoint.
  • Easy to use. Articulate Studio is based on PowerPoint so no advanced technical competencies are required. It is a great tool for rapid learning content development.
  • Packaging and exporting. It does a quite good job while exporting the content in several different formats. So, if you need to publish it on LMS platforms compatibles to e-Learning standards (such as SCORM), Articulate Studio will do it for you.
  • Media and quizzes. It is easy to embedd media resources (such as video and audio) to provide a more engaging learning content. The testing feature is also interesting and provide simple but nice functionalities.
  • Interaction level is basic. Studio does not provide features to develop a high-interactive content. That's why Articulate released another tool called Storyline, which is much more sophisticated.
  • Pricing is high. I think Studio is overpriced considering other tools available (including Storyline). Articulate did not release new updates of Studio in the last few years.
  • Lack of evolution. There was not a new release or update of Studio in the last few years (since 2013). It seems that Articulate is not investing on this product anymore.
Use it when your development time is short, your budget is low or when you know that the learning content will have to be updated soon or very often. I don't think it is the appropriate tool if you plan do deliver a high-interactive content, but it is possible to test it using the trial version of the product and then understand if Studio is the tool you need.
Read Luciano Gardesani Marques's full review
Frank Broen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

Articulate is an eloquent solution to non-linear presentations

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Studio is a training tool that engages users in interactive content. If a project is primarily just delivery of information, then Articulate Presenter is an excellent tool. When the purpose is to demonstrate that users understand ideas, Articulate Studio provides interesting ways to test their comprehension, and provide alternative content if a user does not pass.
  • Interactive questions and answers
  • Non-linear presentation
  • Deliver on multiple platforms
  • It has a higher learning curve than just presentation tools, primarily because it can do more. With more complexity, there are more things to learn. There are many things you can do without using advanced features.
  • Would like to see higher definition options for presenting on an HD monitor.
  • Occasional problems with publishing that require some time to resolve problems or find work-arounds.
Interactive scenarios are Articulate Studio's forte, especially when non-linear delivery of content is useful.

It is less appropriate when a simple presentation is the best delivery tool.
Read Frank Broen's full review
Kristin Savko | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2017

Rapid eLearning problems solved

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Studio is a great tool for rapid eLearning development. We don't use it often anymore, in favor of Articulate Storyline, but still a great too if you're trying to save time and money on development.
  • Quick to learn and implement
  • Good value
  • Built in interactions and question forms, ready to use.
  • Studio has quite a bit of customization for such an easy and basic tool. You can succeed with professional results. It might be nice to have more features, but that's why there is Storyline...so I have a had time speaking to lack of features here.
Very well suited for someone starting out in eLearning, or who doesn't need the robust flexibility of Storyline. The learning curve on it is very short, so it's easy to get up and running quickly. The customer support and online groups are fantastic.
Read Kristin Savko's full review
Danielle Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2016

Articulate Studio is worth the investment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate Studio to create eLearning for our clients. It enables us to create interactive learning quickly and efficiently. We typically use Studio when our clients are currently using it internally and they have requested this tool specifically.
  • It is a great tool when you have existing PowerPoints that SMEs have created and they hand them off to you to add instructional components and interactivity.
  • It is a great tool for our clients to then take the finished elearning files and maintain themselves because the learning curve is pretty manageable.
  • There is tremendous support and templates on the eLearning Heroes community site.
  • Because it is a PowerPoint plug in, when you go into audio editing or timing, it is sometimes slow to respond and a little clunky to use.
  • Timing slides is a bit tedious. I tend to prefer the timeline in storyline.
It is a great tool for eLearning that needs to be created quickly and the customer wants to maintain the content after without having to struggle learning the tool
Read Danielle Watkins's full review
Khriss Kincaid | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2016

Articulate an easy tool to use.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Articulate for a project while at my last company. We had several courses that needed to be created rapidly with a few interactions. The company we were working for used Articulate Studio and wanted to continue using it so they could edit the courses if need be in the future.
  • Page setup is really easy. If you know how to use PowerPoint, using Articulate will be a breeze.
  • The script box for your audio script comes in handy for additional information you don't want on the slide.
  • The Engage interactions are very easy to use as well.
  • There should be ways to create different interactions within Engage, being limited to the few that comes with the software can make a course boring.
  • When copying in formatted text, there should be a way to paste it in with the same format.
  • There should be an easier way to publish on a shared network drive.
If you have a project that needs to be done quickly and with less effort, use Articulate. It's very easy to use and there is not a huge learning curve to working within the program. If you have a project that requires a lot of interaction and heavy content, then you may want to use another tool.
Read Khriss Kincaid's full review
Ann Renee Rollins | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2016

Studio is an Excellent, Simple Tool for eLearning Development

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is a performance solution company and one of the solutions we offer is custom eLearning development. We develop courseware using multiple tools, often the tool is selected based on what the customer already has in place, or will suit the technology capabilities for the client longer term. Studio makes it easy to develop simple, engaging eLearning courses, and allows for longer shelf life, as the client often has the capability to make minor course updates to their own source files after we build and deploy the course for them.
  • Course players and menu: These are simply customized to each client and course, and aren't too sophisticated for the typical instructional to create.
  • Engage interactions: These make it simple to organize a lot of content in a clean way that engages learners.
  • Quizmaker Assessments: These allow you to validate content recall with tests at the end of courses, and can be laid out to support branching and scenario-based assessments as well.
  • Flexibility of the Engage interactions: You can't add hotspots or other more advanced functionality to them; the templates are very restrictive. IN some cases where I needed more sophistication, I have to build my own interaction templates.
  • Stability of the platform: It has gotten much better from '09 to '13 but there are sometimes still issues with corruption.
This tool is ideal for smaller client companies who need to be able to update their own content once the first version is built. It's also the ideal tool for instructional designers with little eLearning development [experience] to start developing eLearning development skills. Its lower cost, easy to learn and there is a HUGE community available for support.
Read Ann Renee Rollins's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2017

Articulate Studio - PowerPoint Gem

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Articulate Studio was our original method of creating e-learning. We currently have the software, but use Articulate Storyline more often. I still use some of the additional products such as engage. I still have some older courses that I have not converted to the Storyline, so I need the program for updates.

I originally used the software at another company to create courses that were accessed for a new Production implementation.

This software gives a quick and easy method with a very small learning curve for those that are already using PowerPoint. I used the software to actually create a automated presentation for one of our clients that was not a very good speaker. It allows video, and sound input that can enhance a presentation.


  • Converts PowerPoint Presentations into e-learning modules quickly.
  • It has a quick and easy learning curve.
  • The supplemental programs like Quiz Maker and Engage allow a user to create expanded content that would be virtually impossible with just PowerPoint. It give the designer a professional course look and feel.
  • There are at times a problem with PowerPoint and its connectivity with the program. It is an add in to PowerPoint and sometimes they don't "talk." I am not sure if this is a solved situation with the latest versions of PowerPoint with Studio, since I have only used it with PowerPoint 2010 or older.
  • It doesn't have the advanced features that the Storyline product provides, and it doesn't have the advanced updates and capabilities of the new Articulate 360.
It works for PowerPoint trained people. The software allows you to create a quick turnaround courses. It is better for students that do not have as much computer "savvy" but want to provide professional looking courses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2016

Articulate Studio Experience from an ISD Point of View

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Articulate Studio as the main authoring tool to create interactive online courses. We used the software across the team.
  • I call it PowerPoint on steroids =) if you know PowerPoint, it's an easy software to work with (user-friendly).
  • Articulate has a great community and they share information, templates, and tutorials. If you don't know how to do things, you know that your buddies in the community will take care of you!
  • Once you learn the logic behind programming, you can get really innovative. If you are not a coder there are many templates that you can use and customize it for yourself.
  • I wish Articulate had a plan for subscriptions. Updates comes so fast and pricing is expensive. Subscriptions would allow developers to have most updated version of the software whenever they need. We all know our customers are not as fast as the software updates and it's good to have the most up-to-date version of the software without having to purchase it each time (SL 1 vs. SL 2).
  • Closed Caption programing is a hassle currently. I understand that slide notes work as an alternative text, but most customers would like to see the "CC" button and read the text along with the narrator. It takes lots of steps to program the closed caption button. Captivate has a better solution at the moment.
It's an easy, fun, and engaging tool. You can really get creative with Articulate Studio.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (6)
8.9
Course catalog or library (5)
9.1
Player/Portal (6)
7.8
Learning content (7)
8.6
Mobile friendly (6)
8.6
Progress tracking & certifications (6)
7.6
Assignments (4)
7.9
Compliance management (4)
8.8
Learning administration (4)
8.3
Learning reporting & analytics (3)
7.2
Social learning (3)
6.9

About Articulate Studio

Articulate Studio is a PowerPoint plugin used to enhance elearning course content. Studio allows users to insert various elearning content into PowerPoint presentations, including assessment content, on-screen recording, and template and customized interactions. It is sold on a perpetual license. Studio can be upgraded to integrate with the full Articulate suite via Articulate 360.

Articulate Studio Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No