Aruba Networks Wireless LAN (WLAN) Reviews

38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Mikel Seidl | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Great wireless solution with a high cost to match

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aruba Wireless is our current provider for all wireless Access Points and Controllers. It allows much more granular control over the network and clients to ensure that connection quality can be prioritized. It also allows many insights into usage and potential problems across the network. The level of control is excellent in our use case due to the wide variety of devices that students bring to campus.
  • Granular control.
  • Stable connection.
  • Structured reporting.
  • Convoluted and complex configuration.
  • High cost compared to alternatives.
  • Support can be hard to work with.
Aruba is well suited for environments that need deep levels of control over devices. These could be large corporate networks or college and high school campuses. The level of control and insight it offers is unparalleled. It is not well suited for small environments due to the high cost of implementation.
Read Mikel Seidl's full review
Matthew Haineault | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

It's easy to use Aruba Networks WLAN

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Aruba Networks Wireless LAN Systems throughout the company. We utilize more than 25 different access points to get the best signal from any place in the company. Connections are great and the user interface to set up the access points was seamless and easy to use for our company.
  • Easy to set up access points.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Could have better default settings.
  • Could have better documentation.
We utilize three different networks. One for guests, one for employees, and one for employee computers. These networks just seem to work. They do not fail. It works very well for a manufacturing facility where multiple access points are needed to maintain good connections throughout the facility. It does not require overkill to get a good signal. They are strong access points.
Read Matthew Haineault's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

The best of the Wifi networks out there

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Aruba wireless for all our locations, which include a standard corporate office, customer service locations, and warehouse locations. At our corporate location, the wall and ceiling are made of cement and our warehouse locations have very tall ceilings. Aruba has proven to be very robust, and can accommodate each location. We even have some Instant AP's in some of our remote locations, and at each of these locations we have multiple networks, including a guest network and event networks.
  • They have the range we need especially in our warehouses were they are mounted up on the ceiling.
  • They can all be controlled by a controller, which makes for easy configurations and monitoring.
  • The ability to have multiple SSID's is great. We are able to push traffic where it needs to go.
  • The built-in Guest network on the controller is top notch, and makes it super easy to give guest internet access but not access to your network.
  • We have had a bunch of these stop working after a power outages. We are guessing a surge or something caused them to stop working.
  • Some of the documentation is outdated. It seems they like to make changes to how things work and it usually mean less access and insight into the devices you manage.
  • The auto signal strength feature could use a little work. It seems like even when we turn it down all the way it tries ot increases the signal strength.
Wherever wireless access is needed, Aruba is the solution. Whether it's a large deployment or small, Aruba has a solution. We have a small office in another country and instead of buying a controller we used the Instant AP's and they have worked out great. In our large warehouses, we have a controller with 100's of AP's and we have not had any issues besides a few AP's dying. unless you have a really low budget, Aruba will work.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2018

Aruba Wireless in Education

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Aruba Wireless at all of our campus locations throughout our university system. We have been using Aruba for longer than I have been with my current organization. We run our primary wireless network for faculty, staff, and students as well as several guest networks for different groups of visiting users. Our deployment spans more than 25 locations with thousands of users and we have had great performance with the Aruba wireless.
  • Controller based deployment
  • Policy based management
  • Monitoring tools
  • We have seen struggles with authentication methods
  • Pricing can always improve
  • Licensing
We have some very high density deployment locations where large numbers of students come together for extended periods of time. We often have a thousand and more users within a conference area and have avoided connectivity issues and or complaints for the users in those situations. We feel that the Aruba wireless products are up to the task of high density enterprise deployments.
Read Eric Taylor's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2018

Aruba for the Win

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aruba is being used by our school district to enhance connectivity for all staff and students. We deployed seamlessly across 15 buildings. This was a lower cost solution to Cisco and it has proven to be very robust and more than capable of supporting our needs. Airwave has been a welcome addition and allows us to see in real-time heat maps and what is happening on our network.
  • Monitoring - Airwave gives you a top down view of your network all the way down to the endpoints.
  • Ease of setup - From the beginning Aruba has been easy to implement and configure
  • Support - Airheads community and the people at Aruba have hands down been some of the best support I have used.
  • Remote access points were a little tricky to get working and requires a controller outside of the two we were currently using. On the plus side they have an inexpensive controller that worked for our needs.
  • I feel Aruba needs to offer more training in a hands on lab environment.
Aruba is great if you are looking for the Cisco quality wireless without the Cisco price. I have found Aruba Wireless to be as good as any Cisco equipment we have used in the past. The management with Airwave is outstanding.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2018

Things to watch for Aruba Wireless!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had a Cisco wireless deployed, everything was running great but we found that it's lack of visibility and SD-Wireless driven. We decided to switch to Aruba wireless and attempted to put almost every user on the wireless within our headquarter. Having all users to be running on wireless can be challenging at first, but the ROI can be significant. We deployed two Controllers (appliance), Mobility Master (VM), Airwave (VM) and Clearpass (VM).
  • Using Airwave as single management point for APs in the environment, and the Web GUI management seems to be easy for administration.
  • Increase security with the use of Clearpass as NAC to provides role-based and device based network access control. Each wireless clients will establish secured ipsec tunnel and route data traffic to a controller. It's recommended to attached controllers closer to the network core with 10Gb uplinks.
  • Clearpass also built-in context-based policy engine, RADIUS, TACACS+ protocol support, device profiling and comprehensive posture assessment, onboarding, and guest access options.
  • Setting up Clearpass as RADIUS server to authenticate 802.1x users were pretty smooth. However, to setup Guest wireless with onboarding, and guest access can be challenged at times.
  • We have deployed the latest Aruba 335 with AC wave 2 capable APs. Just to compare to our previous Cisco 3700 series wave 2 capable APs, Aruba APs signal strength and coverage are significantly less than Cisco APs. We needed to increase the number of Aruba APs for the same coverage area.
  • There was an incident in Oct 2017, Aruba decided to push system patch and update automatically to the Clearpass. The process had brought down some services in the Clearpass including RADUIS 802.1x authentication. Aruba support notified us and found out there was a bug in the patch and somehow unknowingly cause the issue. This incident had caused our entire wireless offline and no one could authenticate to the wireless network regardless if there was redundancy setup in the system. The incident and outage were reported and affected to all Aruba customers in the nationwide.
  • There was a second outage in less than 6 months and also caused by another bug in the Aruba system. We have dual Aruba controllers A & B and dual uplinks for each controller setup for redundancy. However, recently when one of the controller A went offline without any alert (later found out the port-channels between controller A and the network switch became "not-trusted"), all APs residing on controller A had dropped and offline. However, all APs would not failover to the controller B. After digging into logs, Aruba tech support found out there was a bug in the software which caused this problem.
It is possible that we have a bad luck with the deployment. However, It is capable to perform enterprise-level security to fit some of the organization's standards. With Airwave and other tools, it's easy to manage and administrate your wireless environment. Make aware of the IPsec tunnel from each user to the controller if you are using Clearpass for NAC. If you have a remote office with local resources, you will need controller or IAP to route traffic locally. If you have many remote offices, you will need to deploy controllers or IAP in each office, which lead to additional cost and management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2017

Aruba to the rescue

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Aruba wireless throughout the organization. We had a very unreliable wireless deployment from SonicWall. I had personally had experience with Aruba hardware from a previous employer. Knowing the reliability of their APs, I made the recommendation to my department to check out Aruba. We've not looked back.
  • Load balancing between APs.
  • Deployment of firmware.
  • We have the 325 model and can push several devices through them w/o issue.
  • They claimed to only need 20W of power for full functionality, however, we found they need 29W of power. On CISCO PoE switches at least.
I've seen Aruba APs anywhere from small to medium-sized businesses. They are the best APs I've used and hope that they will continue to be now that they are a part of HP.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2016

Aruba Networks Wireless APs are superior to others.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aruba Wireless is being used across our entire campus to serve approximately 800 students and 250 faculty and staff with multiple wireless devices each. We currently use a controller-less IAP environment with 256 IAPs across 8 different "swarms" or clusters. The Aruba APs offer easy implementation and management through a web GUI. Adding additional APs to a swarm simply involves configuring a network port on the appropriate VLAN and plugging in the AP. The swarm master pushes the config out to the new AP.
  • They offer both a controller-based and controller-less option. This allows customers of all sizes to deploy a wireless network without the upfront cost of controller hardware. A controller can be added later.
  • Aruba also offers Airwave which is a single management point for all AP swarms in the environment. It offers many reporting features as well as visual RF maps displaying heatmaps of the AP signals and client positioning.
  • The Aruba Access Point we have (224s and 225s) also offer both PoE and external power supplies for those smaller deployments that may not have PoE capable switches.
  • Although there is a Help option within the IAP web GUI, it would be nice to have it be a little more descriptive about what some of the features are and do.
  • Online documentation could give more information about configuration and troubleshooting, but a call or email to support usually has things resolved relatively quickly.
I feel that Aruba wireless solutions are suited for most any environment. It is possible to scale from one AP to hundreds. It is capable of both personal and enterprise level security to fit any organization's standards. Coupled with the software tools, you have incredible control over your entire environment.
Read this authenticated review

Aruba Networks Wireless LAN (WLAN) Scorecard Summary

About Aruba Networks Wireless LAN (WLAN)

Aruba Networks offers wireless LAN (WLAN) solutions via its variety of wireless access points.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Aruba Networks Wireless LAN (WLAN) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No