TrustRadius
Ascentis HR uses web-based management programs to help automate complex HR processes. It's fully integrated with Ascentis’ other services including payroll, time and attendance and recruiting.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Bx/Y5/QXF8AK0BZXL3.PNGAscentis - Life saver!Ascentis HR is being used by our Human Resources and payroll department. It addresses: 1.) Ease of access to employee information 2.) Accurate employee information 3.) Benefit management 4.)Reporting capability 5.) Tracking employee documents for compliance.,A clean system that is easy to navigate through and change information Ability to grow into the system and customize to our company's tracking needs and changes Robust system that holds a tremendous amount of critical information in one place,An ability to automatically notify our employees through email/text and banner in ESS for expired or expiring employee documents Ability to track variable hour employees for ACA requirements in a more inclusive way. Some way for the system to hold hours worked, during specific periods of time and notifying employees automatically when they are eligible for benefits due to meeting the hour and measurement period requirements.,9,By far, fewer errors in capturing information or giving information Easily see what benefits an employee has enrolled or declined and historical information Easily see what compensation an employee has had historical, or where their compensation is at currently Easily see what positions an employee has had within the company for how long, and why they were transferred,,10,During the kick-off process, I worked with a support member of Ascentis who gave me excellent training, was able to answer all of my questions, or find the answers if I was asking something that wasn't the norm. The learning/training process for the system was the best I have ever had.Ascentis HR ReviewWe use Ascentis HR (and other Ascentis products) across our organization for all departments. It is helping us address our rapid growth.,Customer Service - our project manager listened to our struggles and was quick to ensure that she put the right people on our team to get us through. As a company, I feel our "asks" were a little difficult at times but Ascentis helped us get through it. Webinars - most of their webinars are very informative and give you more knowledge of the product.,Implementation - the process is much longer than the sales presentation layout showed. If they had ONE combined workbook for ALL aspects of the Ascentis program, not just HR, it would help speed up the implementation process. Manuals - Ascentis doesn't have any manuals for their systems and they are currently working on them. As a new user, it is difficult not to have any type of reference material to refer to.,6,The positive impact is that because the company has grown at astronomical rates, Ascentis Payroll prints our checks, pays our State and Federal Taxes, sends out our garnishments and it eliminates the hours we spend doing it ourselves. The negative impact was that it is taking a lot of time to implement, more than what we were lead to believe it would take.,8,In our first stages of implementation the HR Implementation Rep that was assigned to us didn't really click with our team, nor did our Time Keeper Rep so our Account Manager made sure to assign 2 new people that have been amazing. Ascentis will work with you regardless of the needs the company may have.Ascentis HR - It just works!Ascentis HR is used by the entire organization. We use it to allow employees to request time off and to track HR for all staff. Our paramedics, unfortunately, do NOT use the time off features as the scheduling system in use for them is outside of Ascentis, but all other staff use self-service.,Employee Self Service is excellent Notes, attachments to employee records are easy to use Management self service is also well thought out, although we would like to see managers included in their own team calendar views.,We looked at the scheduling system available from Ascentis - in depth - it was almost what we needed for our paramedics, but not quite (NovaTime) - it would be great to move in that direction in the future. A way to connect leave calendars to MS Outlook would be a wonderful tool. The need to use remote desktop to get to Employee Manager and Setup Manager is cumbersome - people forget their passwords frequently - it would be nice to see Ascentis move toward web-based functionality for the entire thing.,8,Hmm - it projects a level of professionalism to staff and third parties. Many of our 'sister-agencies' do not have HR software at all. As stated - we were excited about the idea of scheduling through NovaTime but it became a costly venture to customize - and there were a lot of grey promises on both sides.,,Microsoft Office 365, Sage 300 ERP,8,I don't think we have had a time when we needed exceptional support from Ascentis - certainly not since we moved to the hosted version which no longer required updating a local server version in our LAN room. I am sure if we need them, they will be there for us.Professional Software with great valueAscentis HR is our source database for employee information across the entire company. Primary use is for employee records, performance management and source of info to sync with various internal tools.,Ascentis seems to allow more customization than other HRIS software packages I have researched. It allows you to set up custom tabs, work flows for approvals and renaming of fields so the software can be fit to your business needs. Employee self service is relatively straight-forward and easy for general users to figure out. Has the ability to run reports on pretty much anything. We use to create lists and cross-check data on a regular basis.,User interface on back-end could really use some work. Unable to resize or tile windows to fit the user's preference. On back-end, it is way too easy to delete or change something on accident. Has some quirks that you just need to know when entering information. Very strange tendencies to allow customization of some things, but then not allow others. For example, recruiting software requires help from Ascentis support to delete an email template. UI for self service offers limited choice of fields for some tabs. Employee self service and manager self service function is just okay. There is no way for managers to create data-driven widgets or access any data from the system.,6,Ascentis software allows us to organize large numbers of job candidates and helps us maintain a very lean HR department compared with industry standards. Limitations on ability to gather and report data prevent an even greater ROI for this product.,Paylocity Web Pay, BambooHR, iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software Suite, Paycom and UltiPro,6,We went through a long process of trying to integrate benefits management within Ascentis. The people we worked with were very knowledgeable about the product and took their time in dealing with our many requests. They were also very flexible in adjusting schedules to meet our needs. I never felt like we were bothering them and they had a great attitude through the whole process.,3,,Recruiting - we use Ascentis recruiting on a daily basis to manage all applicants and communicate with candidates. Allows us to send info to managers and import candidate info into other applications upon acceptance. Employee management - keeping all employee info organized and placing that responsibility in the employees' hands is essential to our operations,Through the use of custom fields, we have an extensive organizational chart that is broken out into small teams. All data is maintained in Ascentis and a custom tool allows us to update the data. Email lists are driven by Ascentis and pushed to many custom applications at the company. Employees and their supervisors can add or remove themselves from lists depending on need for certain information.,2,No,Price Product Usability,Ascentis was a good system at the time we evaluated and I don't think we would have changed our decision. We feel it was a good fit for us given the size of our company and internal needs.,YesAscentis HR ReviewAscentis HR is being used by our entire company. We use HRIS, Recruiting, Payroll, ESS, ACA Reporting and have recently started implementation of Performance Management and Compensation. Additionally, we will roll-out Training and Succession Planning. One key feature for us is the ESS platform. We have employees in 23 states and ESS allows for a succinct on-boarding and open enrollment experience.,HRIS Benefits Administration ACA 1095 processing ESS (excluding the widget tool - that is difficult),ESS Widgets - the widgets are a great tool but are so cumbersome to build I find we use them less and less In our past we used the time system and it wasn't really robust enough for our needs,9,Positive impact is a single system to house a valuable set of systems,,9,There have been many times when we have had good support - one example is when we added domestic partner benefits to our health plans and figuring out how to set up those plans with the pre and post-tax pieces.
Unspecified
Ascentis HR
174 Ratings
Score 6.6 out of 101
TRScore

Ascentis HR Reviews

Ascentis HR
174 Ratings
Score 6.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 174 vetted Ascentis HR reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 97)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 07, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis - Life saver!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is being used by our Human Resources and payroll department. It addresses:
1.) Ease of access to employee information
2.) Accurate employee information
3.) Benefit management
4.)Reporting capability
5.) Tracking employee documents for compliance.
  • A clean system that is easy to navigate through and change information
  • Ability to grow into the system and customize to our company's tracking needs and changes
  • Robust system that holds a tremendous amount of critical information in one place
  • An ability to automatically notify our employees through email/text and banner in ESS for expired or expiring employee documents
  • Ability to track variable hour employees for ACA requirements in a more inclusive way. Some way for the system to hold hours worked, during specific periods of time and notifying employees automatically when they are eligible for benefits due to meeting the hour and measurement period requirements.
Pulling information quickly: to do Employment Verification for existing or former employees, getting contact and benefit information about employees, compensation history, and present history, job title, position hours per week, and pulling reports for EEO reporting, employee lists for audits or evaluations etc.
Read Catherine Peterson's full review
May 29, 2018

"Ascentis HR Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis HR (and other Ascentis products) across our organization for all departments. It is helping us address our rapid growth.
  • Customer Service - our project manager listened to our struggles and was quick to ensure that she put the right people on our team to get us through. As a company, I feel our "asks" were a little difficult at times but Ascentis helped us get through it.
  • Webinars - most of their webinars are very informative and give you more knowledge of the product.
  • Implementation - the process is much longer than the sales presentation layout showed. If they had ONE combined workbook for ALL aspects of the Ascentis program, not just HR, it would help speed up the implementation process.
  • Manuals - Ascentis doesn't have any manuals for their systems and they are currently working on them. As a new user, it is difficult not to have any type of reference material to refer to.
Ascentis HR as a standalone product - I wouldn't know how that would be beneficial to our company but having Payroll and Time Keeper make the whole package best suited for our company. It keeps all data for all employees, active or not, in one system. Entering new employees is simple and the information passes down to all other systems.

I am only selecting a 6 because of the struggles we had with implementation.
Read Tina Cella's full review
May 29, 2018

User Review: "Ascentis HR - It just works!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is used by the entire organization. We use it to allow employees to request time off and to track HR for all staff. Our paramedics, unfortunately, do NOT use the time off features as the scheduling system in use for them is outside of Ascentis, but all other staff use self-service.
  • Employee Self Service is excellent
  • Notes, attachments to employee records are easy to use
  • Management self service is also well thought out, although we would like to see managers included in their own team calendar views.
  • We looked at the scheduling system available from Ascentis - in depth - it was almost what we needed for our paramedics, but not quite (NovaTime) - it would be great to move in that direction in the future.
  • A way to connect leave calendars to MS Outlook would be a wonderful tool.
  • The need to use remote desktop to get to Employee Manager and Setup Manager is cumbersome - people forget their passwords frequently - it would be nice to see Ascentis move toward web-based functionality for the entire thing.
Ascentis is well suited for salaried, full-time staff on a regular schedule. The web-based employee self-service is very strong.

We do not find the payroll function to be well suited to our needs - and as mentioned previously, the NovaTime scheduling system could not be customized to work for us without spending upwards of $20K US.
Read iain Stephen's full review
May 25, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Professional Software with great value"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is our source database for employee information across the entire company. Primary use is for employee records, performance management and source of info to sync with various internal tools.
  • Ascentis seems to allow more customization than other HRIS software packages I have researched. It allows you to set up custom tabs, work flows for approvals and renaming of fields so the software can be fit to your business needs.
  • Employee self service is relatively straight-forward and easy for general users to figure out.
  • Has the ability to run reports on pretty much anything. We use to create lists and cross-check data on a regular basis.
  • User interface on back-end could really use some work. Unable to resize or tile windows to fit the user's preference.
  • On back-end, it is way too easy to delete or change something on accident. Has some quirks that you just need to know when entering information.
  • Very strange tendencies to allow customization of some things, but then not allow others. For example, recruiting software requires help from Ascentis support to delete an email template. UI for self service offers limited choice of fields for some tabs.
  • Employee self service and manager self service function is just okay. There is no way for managers to create data-driven widgets or access any data from the system.
I think Ascentis is very good for smaller companies that want a lot of flexibility in their configuration. Some of the limitations may be cumbersome for larger organizations. Overall, it's a pretty good product but wouldn't be for everyone.
Read Brian Borkovec's full review
May 21, 2018

"Ascentis HR Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is being used by our entire company. We use HRIS, Recruiting, Payroll, ESS, ACA Reporting and have recently started implementation of Performance Management and Compensation. Additionally, we will roll-out Training and Succession Planning. One key feature for us is the ESS platform. We have employees in 23 states and ESS allows for a succinct on-boarding and open enrollment experience.
  • HRIS
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA 1095 processing
  • ESS (excluding the widget tool - that is difficult)
  • ESS Widgets - the widgets are a great tool but are so cumbersome to build I find we use them less and less
  • In our past we used the time system and it wasn't really robust enough for our needs
I feel in our size range (up to 500) the system works well. Again, I feel that time isn't a core competency of Ascentis so it's better to look elsewhere if you have complexity. I wish more fields housed data history, for example, if a person moves then the prior address information is lost. This is especially difficult when an employee moves between states. Having a delimited record where history is visible would be fantastic.
Read Kathi Groth's full review
May 15, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "ASCENTIS - HR and Payroll life saver!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have several facilities with HR and payroll needs. Our former program limited the use between the facility and our corporate office and continually went down due to the amount of data we were pushing thru it. With Ascentis the support staff at their location not only made the transition from our old program to the new (Ascentis HR/Payroll) easy but very efficient as well. The support staff usually have answers and "fixes" immediately and if it's not immediate it's always within the day. With more training in the reporting programs in both HR and payroll, ad-hoc reporting has been amazing!
  • Reporting requirements are easier met thru both HR and Payroll reports
  • HR feeds the payroll system all changes immediately and very smooth (rarely is a change missed and never on the system side)
  • There are ZERO duplicated social security number issues using HR!
  • Keeping the history of employees thru the HR system is very easy!
  • Would love to see a report generator that can pull the history for employee rehires and terminations along with the dates.
  • Easier understanding of how to create a report even with using the report wizard. Maybe more training suggestions.
  • A benefits only status date (rather than having to use the ones in the employment screen.
I've used many payroll/HR software programs. The ease of using Ascentis has made a lot more things possible. Creating and generating custom reports could be a little easier but once you get the hang of it you can literally create exact custom reports within a few minutes. I didn't receive the formal training from Ascentis and learning it on my own truly wasn't hard. Other programs are cumbersome where Ascentis is streamlined reporting and the database is easy to navigate in. Using it for several satellite offices has made our whole payroll and HR system much easier, correct and functional for both the corporate office and our outer lying offices. I'm still trying to figure out the reporting system (as in how to can reports for future use) in HR. If that could be a bit easier to figure out, would help. I have the Payroll Insta [which is] pretty good and love the way we can publish across the board for all our facilities use. Having this in HR would be a nice feature as well. AND if it's already there to know how to use it.
Read Autumn Knight's full review
May 11, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Great for a growing company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Russell is using Ascentis HR for recruiting, onboarding, benefits enrollment, compensation, employee reviews, ACA reporting, and other government reporting.

Our company has 100 non-union employees and 70 union employees. All non-union employees use the self-service portal to sign up for benefits or enter personal info. The union employees do not receive benefits from us, therefore we did not add them to self-service.

Ascentis eliminates many spreadsheets and centralizes employee data.
  • The benefits open enrollment worked great for us. Employees are able to see all the different options, compare plans, and calculate their monthly premiums as they sign up.
  • The self service portal uses widgets that can be customized. We are able to keep employee updated with any changes.
  • The report wizard is easy to use. We are able to create reports for any business question.
  • Moving from one employee to another in the Employee Manager is a bit cumbersome.
  • Moving from remote desktop to a web-based entry point would be nice.
  • It would be nice to have all employee info in one place.
I think Ascentis HR is a great investment for a small company looking to grow. It handles all the needs of the small company and you can add different services as the company grows in the future. As your company and budget grows, Ascentis can grow right along with you.
Read Peter Plambeck's full review
May 07, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "A User-Friendly Product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am new to the company and use it for onboarding new hires and any changes, terminations during the course of an employee's tenure with the company. I have managed an Open Enrollment process using Ascentis and run reports for ACA, EEO-1 purposes as well.
  • Ascentis provides well-designed webinars that highlight key, critical information in order to fully utilize the software.
  • The HR Support line is very helpful. The representatives are well-trained and have excellent customer service skills.
  • The software itself is user-friendly and, in general, intuitive.
  • Although the training provided is well-designed, all of it is webinar-based. A few remote classes with a "live" instructor would be helpful for those of us that are fairly efficient online, however, still appreciate interaction with a human.
  • When Ascentis is trying to assist with selling additional features to an existing client, a more high-touch, less aggressive approach is appreciated.
  • I have had some issues with different passwords for different features. Sometimes confusing.
Cannot think of anything.
Read Monica Loncich, SHRM-SCP's full review
May 01, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis - The efficient Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Ascentis is being used by the entire organization. This is the payroll/expense tool used by every exempt/nonexempt teammate. Keeps track of payroll and PTO as well as timesheets for work hours/schedules.
  • The great functionality of Timesheets and keeping track of PTO balances and forecasts
  • Tracking teammates occurrences and call outs are what we utilize as well
  • Expense reports/submitting and approving is very efficient in Ascentis, very user-friendly
  • Loading - it's not an internet bandwidth issue, it's the application when you first log in
  • The dashboard is very busy when you first log in, maybe a simpler version
  • The color scheme can be more vibrant
Great functionality, over user-friendly and, from a management perspective, easy to manage your team.
Read Roy Huron's full review
May 01, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "New to Ascentis"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis as our HRIS, Timekeeping, and Payroll.
  • Our Project Manager was particularly helpful with implementation. She checked in weekly and was quick to respond when we needed additional help.
  • We appreciate the ease of report writing and the simplicity of the HR side.
  • We like having carrier connections available for our benefits enrollment.
  • Timekeeping is actually a separate platform and is clunky compared to the Ascentis side. We really wish the timekeeping piece was under the Ascentis umbrella.
  • Novatime is not user-friendly and, unfortunately, that is the part that employees and managers have to use.
The recruiting, onboarding and performance management modules meet all of our needs. It is easy to set up and easy to use.
I wish it were easier to modify the home page without having to "write code".
Read Kimberly Datisman, PHR's full review
April 26, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Happy with Ascentis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis HR across the organization. The majority of our employees are only using Employee Self Service. They can access their pay stubs, make changes to their tax withholdings, make demographic changes, and view their accrued PTO. Our HR department uses Ascentis HR every day for tracking PTO, upload documents to employee files, benefits enrollment, recruiting, and employee evaluation/ performance.
  • We like the timekeeping capabilities. It lets employees know when they are approaching hours and seeing their weekly summary breakdown is helpful. It is very easy for our employees to navigate.
  • The dashboard is fun and the widgets are a great way to keep all of our employees undated and informed.
  • Ascentis support is wonderful too, they have been very helpful and very quick to respond every time we have reached out.
  • Ascentis offers so many reports which is great. However, I find it sometimes difficult to navigate what reports I need!
  • We have had multiple issues trying to upload during payroll processing when we have staff with too many transactions on their timesheet. Also sometimes our differentials do not work like they should.
I love how Ascentis is web based, so I can have access anywhere. Tracking ACA was one of the reasons made the switch to Ascentis.
Read Suzanne Simmerman's full review
May 15, 2018

"Ascentis HR Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used by our HR department to feed payroll.
  • Used by accounting to run reports.
  • Allows us to keep all employee info in one area--improves efficiency
  • Allows for dual authorization--HR inputs data and the Payroll department reviews
  • User-friendly
  • HR sends changes over to Payroll. You have to approve items for the same employee in the order received or the system breaks--would be good to have the system recognize timing.
[It] Works great for a medium organization that has a lot of moving parts. I don't think it would be necessary for a small organization.
Read Robyn Allison, CPA's full review
April 24, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis - Take it or Leave it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is our ESS for benefits. It also utilizes carrier connections to link employee benefit elections directly to individual carriers.
  • ACA reporting is incredibly easy with Ascentis HR.
  • It is somewhat user-friendly for employees to make updates to their elections.
  • Ascentis HR is very versatile at selecting different types of reports.
  • It's a bit cumbersome to set up the back end.
  • You don't have a lot of control over certain aspects of the system. For example, if you want your FSA to pro-rate monthly charges, you have to contact support to create a special drop-down menu. There are other defaults such as adding coverage where Ascentis may default to the beginning of the next month versus the date of the event.
  • Carrier connections aren't always reliable.
ACA reporting alone makes Ascentis worth using.
Read Kevin Connaughton, MBA, SHRM-SCP's full review
April 24, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Not Up to Snuff"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily in Human Resources, with some overlap in Payroll. I pull reports.
  • The data is secure.
  • The platform is old with cumbersome login
  • Not a true integration with Payroll or ERP, need to maintain separate lists
  • Clunky and hard to use
The integration with payroll is really poor, and the reporting can be challenging.
Read Phil Lee's full review
June 04, 2018

User Review: "Ascentis HR, both good and bad"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR and Payroll is used throughout our organization.
  • The ESS system is great to have for our employees. This takes a lot of time off of HR and provides a pretty seamless experience for my employees when making changes to their address, benefits, viewing their paystub, W2 etc.
  • The new look and feel of the user TimeKeeper interface were much needed. Our system integrates with RFID card readers, which our employees love!
  • Originally we had several issues with our EDI feeds, and their team was willing to step in and help set up new feeds with as many vendors as possible. Although, this should have been working when originally set up when brought to the account managers attention (A. Lisecki - who is amazing) we got on the phone with all parties to find a resolution.
  • The customer service team is lacking tremendously. If you need assistance on a report or guidance in general, good luck. I will brag again on A. Lisecki
  • Because she really is the reason we keep Ascentis HR/Payroll. She has gone above and beyond anytime I needed help.
  • The reporting system is very cumbersome and usually provides inaccurate information. You can run the same report twice and it will give you different results. Of course, some reports are beneficial, but for the most part, it's hard to find the common HR reports quickly, such as your turnover rate, demographics, new hires etc. The system does have some of these templates built in, but there is usually a trick to getting them to work correctly.
  • All the workarounds! Because we have used the system for a few years now, we know our pain points and have had to find workarounds to minimize the impact. For instance, adjusting benefit dates to ensure they roll over to payroll properly, hire date changes for ESS. At the end of the year, HSA and 401k contributions are also tricky (approving for that year but not approving the new open enrollment selections too soon- based on payroll dates).
  • Open enrollment is a nightmare on the backend. Sadly, I always run a report before I submit the new information as I've had open enrollment details not push to our EDI carriers properly. At the time, I was glad I had the report otherwise my employees would have had to do open enrollment all over again.
I would recommend the HR system over the Payroll system 10x over. The payroll system has many more glitches and workarounds; however, if you are like our organization you want an integrated product. If you are a smaller organization and have the time to reverify the report information, I would recommend the HR piece. The ESS system is a strong positive for us!
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Save time and eliminates paper! Gives employees ownership too!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis HR for our entire organization of around 50 employees. We use it as our electronic HR file which holds employee elections such as benefits enrollment and waivers, w-4 elections, etc. We also store employee documents such as employment agreements, evaluations, and check-ins, or other documentation that is determined to be added to their file. Employees access their files through the Employee Self-service site which allows them to see pay stubs, request time off, update personal information, etc. Supervisors also have access to certain aspects of their direct reports file, such as approving time off and seeing past performance evaluations. This is also where we house internal documents (e.g. employee handbook, benefits information, etc.) so employees can refer there to find them.
  • As an employee, having access to my personnel file at any time is great. If there is an update to be made employees can make it themselves rather than fill out some update form, submit, and wait for it to get updated.
  • There is a link between our payroll system and Ascentis HR which almost seamlessly connects the two. If an employee updates their direct deposit information our payroll software knows. As administrators, we have to approve any changes, but the employee initiates. So, when the direct deposit comes back as undelivered due to the wrong account, the only person there is to blame is the employee themselves who put in the wrong information.
  • The payroll simulator is a great planning tool. It helps employees to get an idea of what the impact of different changes would have on their net check. Examples include: receiving a raise, changing your retirement election percentages, changing from a traditional 401k to a Roth, changing your exemptions, etc.
  • There is a fair amount of learning and set-up when getting the system but once it's set up it's easy to run and maintain.
  • For administrators, the Employee Manager application can be a little difficult to use at times. Trying to find where a field is, or what particular field is that needs updated (there are a couple different attachment areas with different purposes, but not initially clear what's what)
  • For administrators, the report running functionality is pretty good but it can be a bit clunky, and the export doesn't always come across in a useable format. Sometimes it's is a clunky text file, others in excel CSV file that's hard to format. There are several 'wizard' steps to go through to run reports and lots of options as you walk through the steps. It means you can really customize your report, but it also means that it can take you many many tries and time to get the report you are wanting. The good thing is though you can save your wizard settings if you will be rerunning the report.
  • For administrators, we have to access the management functions through a remote desktop. Sometimes that connection is slow or has issues. Also, it adds an added step when trying to upload documents to employee files, download report exports, or you just want to open a web browser to look something up while you are in there (there are very few pages you can navigate to). It would be nice if the application was web-based without opening a remote desktop.
I think Ascentis HR is well suited for most aspects of employee activities. Everything from the employee file and elections to employment information and payroll support. We run our annual open enrollment through Ascentis HR and, while it's not perfect, it is still a great way to complete the process. We have eliminated almost all paper documents when it comes to employees and I couldn't be more pleased about that!
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "The Good and the Bad!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis HR for our "system of record", ESS, open enrollment, etc. We are just starting to learn and use Performance Management, and eventually will be using it for Recruiting/Onboarding. But right now, we use it for NEW HIRE to TERMINATION. It's been great for Open Enrollment. We do, however, struggle a little with the connection between HR and Payroll. We are hoping for some enhancements that will help these two systems "flow" a little smoother with each other. Singularly, they seem to be pretty good. Working together needs a little more help - although MOST of it is decent.
  • Ascentis HR allows you to attach anything to the EE's records, so you can be quite paperless.
  • Benefits Open Enrollment went pretty smoothly! Much better than the manual way we'd been handling things.
  • Setting up users (ex: managers, supervisors, etc) is pretty decent, but we are still learning how to work with all of that to have things work correctly.
  • Ascentis HR needs to flow over to Ascentis Payroll with a little more fluidity. Most are OK, but it does need to work on certain issues better. Some could be an administrative error as we are all still "learning" things.
  • I believe Ascentis HR should not have to "use" Ascentis Support as much for certain things: Alert setups (why can't we set these up ourselves without sending notices to Support to set up), any remote desktop set up or password reset has to go thru Ascentis Support - why can "administrators" on our "user" end set it up?
  • There is no "flow over" of things like bonuses, car allowance, phone allowances, etc from HR to payroll. There should be. HR training needs to be handled a little smoother.
  • There is still so much to learn on the HR side after more than a year of having it. And, that's not including the separate "modules" that companies can utilize. That's just the basic stuff.
  • Somewhat of a "choppy" learning experience.
  • Report tool can be enhanced/modified to work better!!! Whether a custom report or a canned report, sometimes the selection criteria that one has chosen DOES NOT work the way it should (this is very noticeable when reporting on certain benefits that one has selected, yet ALL benefits (STD, LTD, Med, etc) still come out on the report, and then one has to sort and remove them THEMSELVES from the reports. Also, on the HR reporting, you have to create a TXT report first, and then make it into an EXCEL (or whatever type of report you want), you can't just create the EXCEL report first. The REPORTING feature DEFINITELY needs some enhancements/modifications to work MUCH better in many ways!!!
If a company does not have any type of "system", Ascentis can be a great tool. I think the ESS part of it will be terrific once we utilize it more effectively - the "administrative" side needs a little more work. If just using Ascentis HR without Payroll, can probably work mostly terrific. When working with Payroll, many enhancements need to be thought about between them!
Read this authenticated review
May 25, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "All-In-One HRIS with Exceptional Support"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Upon arriving at my organization over a year ago we did not have any real HRIS. We used Access as our employee database and we certainly weren't maximizing its potential. We used Tracksmart for tracking attendance and PTO, Benefitmall for processing payroll and ACA, another system/third party for benefits management, and an outdated performance improvement system that was no longer supported.

With Ascentis I've been able to introduce my organization to a one-stop shop. Along with being able to manage all of the previously mentioned tasks in one system, I have the privilege of creating a newsletter sort of platform on our employee self-service portal that's much like a internal Intranet, but with so much color and pizazz. This feature has proven to be a HIT!! It has allowed for a decrease in emails from HR and paper posters and more transparency as I'm able to share with the staff the documents that are in their file.

They have the ability to start the process of making changes from their desk instead of coming to the HR Dept.; of course HR still approves the changes, because they upload the supporting documentation as well. The fact that Ascentis required so much hands-on from me, at first, was frustrating, but now I appreciate it all the more. I know my system, the data that's in it, and it was all customized by me. I can only hope that everyone at Ascentis is as great as the team members I've had the privilege of working with: Jeff Hansen, Tina Byrnes, and although he's with Novatime, David Chang is one of a kind!!!!
  • User Friendly
  • Customization
  • Data Flow
  • Improve the help guide so that I don't have to call tech support with each question

I like being able to create work flows for the HR department; know what's going on without micro-managing.

I like have the ability to put the responsibility in the hands of the EEs to initial changes: life events, demographics updates, etc.

I like being able to present my staff with a one stop shop for our handbook, FAQs, Forms, the newsletter, timekeeper, check stubs, etc.


Read this authenticated review
May 25, 2018

User Review: "Ascentis HR"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is being used by our entire company of 1400+ employees spread across 4 different states and 30+ different work sites. It has helped us streamline our HR administration by allowing us to reduce the amount of paperwork required from employees and supervisors to nearly zero. It also allows employees and supervisors to manage their own information electronically without needing HR assistance.
  • The Customer Service for Ascentis HR is amazing. They are always quick to respond to any questions that arise and are happy to help in whatever way they are able.
  • The Ascentis HR system is incredibly easy to use, even for employees who are less tech-savvy or who aren't on a computer all day.
  • The report writing function in Ascentis HR has some limitations as far as what pieces of data you can pull and they can take a while to run.
Ascentis HR has worked great for our company since we are very spread out; it is nice having one system where all employee information can be housed. Also, since we have employees across a wide spectrum of jobs, from part-time production employees up to the President, it is important that we have a system that is easy to learn and use; we believe we have that in Ascentis HR.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Decent Program"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using HR Ascentis for our HRIS system. At this time, we have our training, operations, and employee outreach departments accessing the program to utilize its reporting features for up to date employee lists and job locations.
It allows other departments to pull this information at any time. The hiccup is sometimes after an Ascentis update, the employee's information may look correct, but once we start trying to pull reports the information will end up jumbled up. When we address with Ascentis, we don't sometimes get a direct answer on why it happened.
  • Information at your finger tips
  • Available to integrate into other programs
  • Zooming in isn't an option, it's very difficult to use a large computer screen with HR Ascentis. The program will still be very small.
  • Some reports aren't available for us to pull to do information audits and when we bring this up to support, we have to end up paying for the "extra features"
Great for allowing multiple departments to have access since admins can specify what information is available to other users.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2018

Ascentis HR: "Ascentis review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a broker, Ascentis is used as a solution to our clients/prospects needs. We will refer groups to Ascentis as a way to build a relationship and protect accounts. Some brokers refer and some don't, it depends on the individual.
  • The ability to customize the platform to clients. Not every company is the same and this really helps clients feel taken care of.
  • Professional webinars. One of my clients had high praise for the webinars provided by Ascentis and described them as her favorite source of webinar instruction.
  • Implementation seemed to take longer than actually needed. My first client with Ascentis was annoyed with the first welcome call that took an hour out of her busy schedule that ultimately had no real need for her to be on the call. She thought she could've been sent an email explaining what the process would be.
I think larger employers closer to 100 employees is where Ascentis is well suited and not the smaller employers.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Overall a great product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization HRIS, Performance Mgmt, Employee Self Service, Recruiting ATS, Onboarding.
  • Recruiting ATS works very well
  • Onboarding is awesome
  • HR database
  • All three are easy to use.
  • I would like to see the core HR function house address history.
  • The performance management system runs slow almost all the time. Needs to be faster.
  • Wish offer letters for onboarding had a little more room for customization.
It is great for handling recruitment function, even for government contractors. The onboarding portal is easy to use. The performance management system could use some improvement in the way it is designed.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "HR & Employee Satisfaction with HRIS!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Ascentis HR as our HR system of record. We use employee self-service, benefits administration - including carrier interface, payroll interface, and employee reporting. We are in the process of implementing the performance management, recruiting and performance and learning modules.
  • We received rave reviews from employees with our first benefits open enrollment. Using Ascentis all employees were able to complete the process themselves online, as opposed to in our old system the previous year only about 20% of employees were able to complete their enrollment without our assistance. Also new employees are able to complete enrollment on their own with minimal or no instruction.
  • Benefit enrollments now flow directly to the carrier. This is a significant time savings as previously enrollments were done manually on each of our multiple benefit vendor sites.
  • Our first ACA reporting using the new system was a success. The ability to do this reporting in Ascentis allowed us to eliminate a separate vendor thus saving money for the institution going forward.
  • More targeted and flexible reporting allows us to obtain just the information we need at a given point in time.
  • The file export to payroll is a much smoother and faster transfer process.
  • We are still using remote desktop log in. Having to log in a minimum of three times before we get to employee data is time consuming and annoying.
  • While the reporting feature allows access to all employee data, it takes some time to go through all the questions needed to create a report. It would be helpful to have some pre-set up reports using standard employee parameters.
  • We would like to see more functionality to capture multiple jobs for an employee. We had to customize those fields, then those fields were not included in standard reports so we had to get customized reports created for us.
  • More flexibility for us to run custom reports when we want to run them instead of having a schedule or putting in a request with support to run the reports for us.
Well suited for benefits reporting and enrollment. It is less appropriate if you have non-standard employee populations.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2018

"Ascentis HR Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Ascentis for all HR related transactions such as recruitment, onboarding, benefits, ACA compliance, and reporting. It is mainly used by HR and recruitment. It addresses all business problems across HR and recruitment.
  • The Ascentis Recruitment ATS is really good. It is web based and it is easy to work with.
  • The Employee Self Service is also a good feature that is offered by Ascentis. It is easy to access and very user-friendly.
  • The onboarding feature is an excellent resource to have. It streamlines the onboarding process and it makes it easy for new hires to complete their paperwork ahead of time and it helps with keeping the completion of forms paperless.
  • The biggest drawback for me is the HRIS side of the house. It is not web based making it very difficult to access it over the web at any time from any where. The whole HRIS side needs to be completely redone so better easy and functionality. Make it web based and a lot easier to use. I really did not fully understand how the HRIS side of the house worked before purchasing a three year agreement with Ascentis. If I had known that the HRIS side was desktop based, I probably would not have signed up with Ascentis.
  • Reports in the HRIS could be greatly improved. It Is not easy to pull reports from the system. There are so many steps you have to complete in order to get the report needed.
  • The benefits setup wizard through the Ascentis HRIS is very difficult and a tedious process. There are a gain lots of steps to take in order for a benefit to be placed properly.
Ascentis allows you to handle a lot of different HR transactions which is really nice to have but some areas are better than others. I highly recommend the ATS Recruitment side of the house. The HRIS side needs to be completely improved.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2018

Review: "Ascentis HR was not my first choice and I do not recommend"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis was sold to us as a Cloud-Based, OFCCP compliant HCM system. It is neither. It solves no business problems in its current state.
  • It has performed well in producing 1094s and 1095s
  • The onboarding feature is good - not great - just good
  • Needs to be cloud-based NOW
  • Ascentis needs to develop their own products instead of cobbling different products together and telling people they developed them
  • Lose the words "hard coded" from your vocabulary
In its current state, I don't even want to use it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (81)
7.9
Employment history (84)
7.7
Job profiles and administration (75)
7.4
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (77)
7.1
Organizational charting (55)
5.8
Organization and location management (71)
7.1
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (64)
7.2
Pay calculation (65)
7.8
Support for external payroll vendors (34)
7.2
Benefit plan administration (60)
7.2
Direct deposit files (56)
8.2
Salary revision and increment management (53)
7.5
Reimbursement management (29)
6.2
Approval workflow (50)
7.5
Balance details (52)
7.3
Annual carry-forward and encashment (48)
7.6
View and generate pay and benefit information (80)
8.0
Update personal information (89)
8.4
View company policy documentation (70)
7.4
Employee recognition (39)
7.0
View job history (60)
7.3
Tracking of all physical assets (20)
7.0
Report builder (86)
6.7
Pre-built reports (84)
6.4
Ability to combine HR data with external data (42)
5.5
New hire portal (58)
6.9
Manager tracking tools (45)
6.3
Corporate goal setting (28)
6.3
Individual goal setting (31)
6.4
Line-of sight-visibility (24)
5.9
Performance tracking (33)
6.1
Performance plans (34)
6.0
Performance improvement plans (29)
6.0
Review status tracking (35)
6.3
Review reminders (34)
6.2
Multiple review frequency (33)
5.5
Create succession plans/pools (12)
5.2
Candidate ranking (12)
5.5
Candidate search (13)
5.6
Candidate development (12)
5.3
Job Requisition Management (46)
6.8
Company Website Posting (44)
7.1
Publish to Social Media (36)
7.0
Job Search Site Posting (38)
6.7
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (32)
6.7
Applicant Tracking (44)
7.0
Notifications and Alerts (37)
6.4

About Ascentis HR

Ascentis offers easy-to-use human capital management, HRIS, online payroll, talent management, recruiting and timekeeping solutions that support greater business efficiency and accuracy.One point of data entry means employee information is accurate, up-to-date and reportable. Electronic submission of information to insurance carriers eliminates errors and supports a paperless open enrollment process.
Categories:  HR Management

Ascentis HR Competitors

Ascentis HR Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No