TrustRadius
Ascentis HR uses web-based management programs to help automate complex HR processes. It's fully integrated with Ascentis’ other services including payroll, time and attendance and recruiting.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Bx/Y5/QXF8AK0BZXL3.PNGAscentis - Life saver!Ascentis HR is being used by our Human Resources and payroll department. It addresses: 1.) Ease of access to employee information 2.) Accurate employee information 3.) Benefit management 4.)Reporting capability 5.) Tracking employee documents for compliance.,A clean system that is easy to navigate through and change information Ability to grow into the system and customize to our company's tracking needs and changes Robust system that holds a tremendous amount of critical information in one place,An ability to automatically notify our employees through email/text and banner in ESS for expired or expiring employee documents Ability to track variable hour employees for ACA requirements in a more inclusive way. Some way for the system to hold hours worked, during specific periods of time and notifying employees automatically when they are eligible for benefits due to meeting the hour and measurement period requirements.,9,By far, fewer errors in capturing information or giving information Easily see what benefits an employee has enrolled or declined and historical information Easily see what compensation an employee has had historical, or where their compensation is at currently Easily see what positions an employee has had within the company for how long, and why they were transferred,,10,During the kick-off process, I worked with a support member of Ascentis who gave me excellent training, was able to answer all of my questions, or find the answers if I was asking something that wasn't the norm. The learning/training process for the system was the best I have ever had.OK Computer...You Didn’t Learn That In SchoolWe are currently using Ascentis HR across our whole organization. However, for the majority of our employees, they are mainly using only the Employee Portal/Employee Self-Service site so that they can see their paychecks, make simple changes to demographic information to their HR records, and changes some of their payroll information such as W4 withholdings as well as direct deposit changes. Our managers are granted a bit more access and can see some basic demographic information as well as compensation and job history. This aids them when doing reviews, job transfers, and in essence, gives them a little more information at their fingertips without having to dig through files or try to remember at the top of their head the history of each employee. Our payroll department utilizes it somewhat; however, not nearly as much as our HR department which is the department that accesses it and engages in it every day.,Ascentis HR is particularly helpful in keeping a record of past jobs and/or managers. If you have an organization that lets employees move from one department to another fairly often, this software has a tool that will help you keep track when Employee "A" moved from Supervisor "X" to Supervisor "Y" as well as from Department "B" to Department "F" without having to restart that employees length of service. Ascentis HR also has a number of ways that you can customize tabs. If you want to keep track of something for your organization that you don't see on one of their prefabricated tabs or screens you can make one of your own. We have made several different ones to help us keep track of different information such as driver's licenses and expiration dates as well as specific training and/or orientation tasks that we want supervisors to accomplish with their new employees. Ascentis HR lets you upload documents (particularly pdf) to employees files, which is particularly helpful. Additionally, you can mark these so that the employee can or cannot see them when they log onto their side of the Employee Self Service. One of the things I particularly like about these uploaded documents is that each part cluster of tabs has its own tab for attachments. When you open the "Employee" section where you find information about the employee and his/her personal information as well as job information, you will also find a tab where you can put attachments for personal and/or job-related information - such as a job description sign off or something of the like. When you open the "Compensation" section you will find another tab for attachments, and this might be where you decide to upload copies of direct deposits if you require them or wage changes.,One of the biggest issues I have had with Ascentis HR is that it lacks updates. We started using it four years ago. We stopped using it because we were trying to piecemeal three different systems together. We tried another system for two and a half years. That didn't work out any better. We decided to give Ascentis HR another try. I was hoping that there would be a few upgrades, but the system was largely the same. On the one hand, I admit it was nice because there was not a steep learning curve, but on the other, the technology was behind a lot of the other systems that we were presented with. The complaint that I hear the most from my employees is that there is no app for the program and that it is extremely hard to use on any mobile device. The Employee Self Service/Portal is set to be used on a computer or laptop - not a small mobile device. With so many people using their phones as the main internet source, it does make it difficult for many of our employees to access their self-service portal outside of the work environment. Because it is an older system, some of the things can be a little trickier to set up. Benefits are one of them. There are multiple screens that need to be gone through and rules that need to be built. It can seem a little like a choose-your-own-adventure at times. If you don't hit the correct button on the right page, you may miss out on options down the road. There is no real safeguard built in and no particular view mode to see if things were done correctly. You have to make things "live" in order to see if your rules and the benefits worked. In addition, once the benefits have been set up correctly for the employees, it still has to be mapped and moved over for payroll to be able to see things. Currently, we are using their remote desktop service which requires us to move anything we want to put on our Employee's Self Service Portal from our desktops to their remote desktops and then copying the correct path to bring it back to our online version of an old MySpace page. I know that they are trying, but it seems as though it is a lot of work for something that should be a lot easier to do with a few more layout and posting options. Although they do have some canned reports, most of the reporting functions take time to learn and is best done when one understands how to write Custom Reports to get the information that one is seeking. The Customer Service Reps are usually more than happy to help, but it does take time to explain just what you are looking for and how to make it into a report that would help you. Overall, I think that the structure of the reporting function is solid; however, the user-friendliness of it is not.,6,We have been running reports from Ascentis HR to identify our new hires after 30 days and then send them a follow-up survey to see how they are adjusting to the culture. From the results of the survey, we have been able to identify changes that needed to be made in our recruiting, orientation, and hiring practices so that our turnover is not as quick as it once was and that our new hires are better prepared for the jobs ahead of them.,InfinityHR,Adobe Acrobat DC, Microsoft Access, SurveyMonkey, Google Drive, Google Forms,8,We have a fairly complicated pay structure as we deal with 32 departments and different shift differentials within each of those departments. As we were trying to figure out how to get all of those coded into our Ascentis software so that they would match up with our timekeeping software and still make sure that everyone gets paid correctly. Needless to say, this was giving us a major headache and we weren't sure what to do about it. As we were trying to figure it out, one of our Ascentis reps took it upon himself to call and talk with our time clock software vendor (not Ascentis). The two of them worked it out so that the pay codes and shift differentials could stay in the timekeeping software and that the information needed for payroll would flow from that system back into payroll as needed. Problem solved. It may seem rather simple, but that simple gesture meant a lot to all of us.,350,1,Online training In-person training Self-taught,8,6,If the user is fairly well versed in computers and HR products, I think that Ascentis HR would not be tremendously difficult to learn without training. There are definitely some areas that would require a little more concentration and where some background knowledge would be helpful; nevertheless, with some trial and error, I do think that one could learn Ascentis HR without training. However, I personally would not recommend this approach to others as the areas in which I believe the training would be of more benefit include the benefits section as well as the reporting section - both of which are large players in an HRIS software.,No,No,Updating employee data such as personal information, employment history, compensation Terminating employees through the termination wizard Transferring employees from the application side to the HR side - through the Orientation/New Hire set up Sending e-mails through the correspondence wizard,Doing Open Enrollment and setting up the actual benefits Adding pictures to the employee's profiles - actually, adding any document to the employee's profile is a bit cumbersome The Employee Self-Service Website - not having it set up for a mobile interface makes it difficult for the employees. Also setting it up can be cumbersome for the HR professionals who are setting it up.,No,6Ascentis HR Gets an A+ Rating in HRAs a trusted consultant to my clients, I am in a position to refer the best HRIS system. I implemented Ascentis HR for a client of mine who had previously had the client-server version installed locally but was about 5 years old and not utilized to its fullest capacity. I implemented the cloud-based version for this client and they are happily building it out and using it. The system allows HR to provide customized business reporting to executives so targeted business decisions can be made based on facts and trends.,The reporting capability and customization is of great use. The system is very user-friendly and doesn't require users to know and understand coding. The cloud availability is great for technology companies who don't necessarily conduct all of their business in one location. It allows flexibility with staffing and telecommuting for HR professionals.,I really can't say that Ascentis needs to improve at this point. It's a great system for organizations who want a full-bodied system without the expense and downtime of implementation and training.,9,Ascentis HR has enabled my clients to produce and deliver more focused business reports. This is a high ROI.,adp and workday,9,See my previous response.Ascentis HR ReviewWe use Ascentis HR (and other Ascentis products) across our organization for all departments. It is helping us address our rapid growth.,Customer Service - our project manager listened to our struggles and was quick to ensure that she put the right people on our team to get us through. As a company, I feel our "asks" were a little difficult at times but Ascentis helped us get through it. Webinars - most of their webinars are very informative and give you more knowledge of the product.,Implementation - the process is much longer than the sales presentation layout showed. If they had ONE combined workbook for ALL aspects of the Ascentis program, not just HR, it would help speed up the implementation process. Manuals - Ascentis doesn't have any manuals for their systems and they are currently working on them. As a new user, it is difficult not to have any type of reference material to refer to.,6,The positive impact is that because the company has grown at astronomical rates, Ascentis Payroll prints our checks, pays our State and Federal Taxes, sends out our garnishments and it eliminates the hours we spend doing it ourselves. The negative impact was that it is taking a lot of time to implement, more than what we were lead to believe it would take.,8,In our first stages of implementation the HR Implementation Rep that was assigned to us didn't really click with our team, nor did our Time Keeper Rep so our Account Manager made sure to assign 2 new people that have been amazing. Ascentis will work with you regardless of the needs the company may have.Ascentis HR - It just works!Ascentis HR is used by the entire organization. We use it to allow employees to request time off and to track HR for all staff. Our paramedics, unfortunately, do NOT use the time off features as the scheduling system in use for them is outside of Ascentis, but all other staff use self-service.,Employee Self Service is excellent Notes, attachments to employee records are easy to use Management self service is also well thought out, although we would like to see managers included in their own team calendar views.,We looked at the scheduling system available from Ascentis - in depth - it was almost what we needed for our paramedics, but not quite (NovaTime) - it would be great to move in that direction in the future. A way to connect leave calendars to MS Outlook would be a wonderful tool. The need to use remote desktop to get to Employee Manager and Setup Manager is cumbersome - people forget their passwords frequently - it would be nice to see Ascentis move toward web-based functionality for the entire thing.,8,Hmm - it projects a level of professionalism to staff and third parties. Many of our 'sister-agencies' do not have HR software at all. As stated - we were excited about the idea of scheduling through NovaTime but it became a costly venture to customize - and there were a lot of grey promises on both sides.,,Microsoft Office 365, Sage 300 ERP,8,I don't think we have had a time when we needed exceptional support from Ascentis - certainly not since we moved to the hosted version which no longer required updating a local server version in our LAN room. I am sure if we need them, they will be there for us.
Unspecified
Ascentis HR
173 Ratings
Score 6.6 out of 101
TRScore

Ascentis HR Reviews

Ascentis HR
173 Ratings
Score 6.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 173 vetted Ascentis HR reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 97)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 07, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis - Life saver!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is being used by our Human Resources and payroll department. It addresses:
1.) Ease of access to employee information
2.) Accurate employee information
3.) Benefit management
4.)Reporting capability
5.) Tracking employee documents for compliance.
  • A clean system that is easy to navigate through and change information
  • Ability to grow into the system and customize to our company's tracking needs and changes
  • Robust system that holds a tremendous amount of critical information in one place
  • An ability to automatically notify our employees through email/text and banner in ESS for expired or expiring employee documents
  • Ability to track variable hour employees for ACA requirements in a more inclusive way. Some way for the system to hold hours worked, during specific periods of time and notifying employees automatically when they are eligible for benefits due to meeting the hour and measurement period requirements.
Pulling information quickly: to do Employment Verification for existing or former employees, getting contact and benefit information about employees, compensation history, and present history, job title, position hours per week, and pulling reports for EEO reporting, employee lists for audits or evaluations etc.
Read Catherine Peterson's full review
March 29, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "OK Computer...You Didn’t Learn That In School"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Ascentis HR across our whole organization. However, for the majority of our employees, they are mainly using only the Employee Portal/Employee Self-Service site so that they can see their paychecks, make simple changes to demographic information to their HR records, and changes some of their payroll information such as W4 withholdings as well as direct deposit changes. Our managers are granted a bit more access and can see some basic demographic information as well as compensation and job history. This aids them when doing reviews, job transfers, and in essence, gives them a little more information at their fingertips without having to dig through files or try to remember at the top of their head the history of each employee. Our payroll department utilizes it somewhat; however, not nearly as much as our HR department which is the department that accesses it and engages in it every day.
  • Ascentis HR is particularly helpful in keeping a record of past jobs and/or managers. If you have an organization that lets employees move from one department to another fairly often, this software has a tool that will help you keep track when Employee "A" moved from Supervisor "X" to Supervisor "Y" as well as from Department "B" to Department "F" without having to restart that employees length of service.
  • Ascentis HR also has a number of ways that you can customize tabs. If you want to keep track of something for your organization that you don't see on one of their prefabricated tabs or screens you can make one of your own. We have made several different ones to help us keep track of different information such as driver's licenses and expiration dates as well as specific training and/or orientation tasks that we want supervisors to accomplish with their new employees.
  • Ascentis HR lets you upload documents (particularly pdf) to employees files, which is particularly helpful. Additionally, you can mark these so that the employee can or cannot see them when they log onto their side of the Employee Self Service. One of the things I particularly like about these uploaded documents is that each part cluster of tabs has its own tab for attachments. When you open the "Employee" section where you find information about the employee and his/her personal information as well as job information, you will also find a tab where you can put attachments for personal and/or job-related information - such as a job description sign off or something of the like. When you open the "Compensation" section you will find another tab for attachments, and this might be where you decide to upload copies of direct deposits if you require them or wage changes.
  • One of the biggest issues I have had with Ascentis HR is that it lacks updates. We started using it four years ago. We stopped using it because we were trying to piecemeal three different systems together. We tried another system for two and a half years. That didn't work out any better. We decided to give Ascentis HR another try. I was hoping that there would be a few upgrades, but the system was largely the same. On the one hand, I admit it was nice because there was not a steep learning curve, but on the other, the technology was behind a lot of the other systems that we were presented with.
  • The complaint that I hear the most from my employees is that there is no app for the program and that it is extremely hard to use on any mobile device. The Employee Self Service/Portal is set to be used on a computer or laptop - not a small mobile device. With so many people using their phones as the main internet source, it does make it difficult for many of our employees to access their self-service portal outside of the work environment.
  • Because it is an older system, some of the things can be a little trickier to set up. Benefits are one of them. There are multiple screens that need to be gone through and rules that need to be built. It can seem a little like a choose-your-own-adventure at times. If you don't hit the correct button on the right page, you may miss out on options down the road. There is no real safeguard built in and no particular view mode to see if things were done correctly. You have to make things "live" in order to see if your rules and the benefits worked. In addition, once the benefits have been set up correctly for the employees, it still has to be mapped and moved over for payroll to be able to see things.
  • Currently, we are using their remote desktop service which requires us to move anything we want to put on our Employee's Self Service Portal from our desktops to their remote desktops and then copying the correct path to bring it back to our online version of an old MySpace page. I know that they are trying, but it seems as though it is a lot of work for something that should be a lot easier to do with a few more layout and posting options.
  • Although they do have some canned reports, most of the reporting functions take time to learn and is best done when one understands how to write Custom Reports to get the information that one is seeking. The Customer Service Reps are usually more than happy to help, but it does take time to explain just what you are looking for and how to make it into a report that would help you. Overall, I think that the structure of the reporting function is solid; however, the user-friendliness of it is not.
Ascentis HR would be well-suited in situations where a detailed job history of the employee and/or his/her supervisor would be of value to the company. I also think that Ascentis HR would be appropriate for a smaller to a mid-sized organization who has a fairly tech-savvy person on staff and is able to navigate through the backend of Ascentis HR. I feel as though it would be more appropriate for an office setting than for a mobile workforce; however, that being said, we have made it work for a mobile workforce. I personally do not think that this would be the right software for anyone who is looking for state-of-the-art technology or something that is super user-friendly.
Read Jennifer Steffens's full review
March 21, 2018

"Ascentis HR Gets an A+ Rating in HR"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a trusted consultant to my clients, I am in a position to refer the best HRIS system. I implemented Ascentis HR for a client of mine who had previously had the client-server version installed locally but was about 5 years old and not utilized to its fullest capacity. I implemented the cloud-based version for this client and they are happily building it out and using it. The system allows HR to provide customized business reporting to executives so targeted business decisions can be made based on facts and trends.
  • The reporting capability and customization is of great use.
  • The system is very user-friendly and doesn't require users to know and understand coding.
  • The cloud availability is great for technology companies who don't necessarily conduct all of their business in one location. It allows flexibility with staffing and telecommuting for HR professionals.
  • I really can't say that Ascentis needs to improve at this point. It's a great system for organizations who want a full-bodied system without the expense and downtime of implementation and training.
Reporting is of great use in Ascentis. It is very user-friendly and no coding experience is necessary.
Read Dawn Haag-Hatterer, JD's full review
May 29, 2018

"Ascentis HR Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis HR (and other Ascentis products) across our organization for all departments. It is helping us address our rapid growth.
  • Customer Service - our project manager listened to our struggles and was quick to ensure that she put the right people on our team to get us through. As a company, I feel our "asks" were a little difficult at times but Ascentis helped us get through it.
  • Webinars - most of their webinars are very informative and give you more knowledge of the product.
  • Implementation - the process is much longer than the sales presentation layout showed. If they had ONE combined workbook for ALL aspects of the Ascentis program, not just HR, it would help speed up the implementation process.
  • Manuals - Ascentis doesn't have any manuals for their systems and they are currently working on them. As a new user, it is difficult not to have any type of reference material to refer to.
Ascentis HR as a standalone product - I wouldn't know how that would be beneficial to our company but having Payroll and Time Keeper make the whole package best suited for our company. It keeps all data for all employees, active or not, in one system. Entering new employees is simple and the information passes down to all other systems.

I am only selecting a 6 because of the struggles we had with implementation.
Read Tina Cella's full review
May 29, 2018

User Review: "Ascentis HR - It just works!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is used by the entire organization. We use it to allow employees to request time off and to track HR for all staff. Our paramedics, unfortunately, do NOT use the time off features as the scheduling system in use for them is outside of Ascentis, but all other staff use self-service.
  • Employee Self Service is excellent
  • Notes, attachments to employee records are easy to use
  • Management self service is also well thought out, although we would like to see managers included in their own team calendar views.
  • We looked at the scheduling system available from Ascentis - in depth - it was almost what we needed for our paramedics, but not quite (NovaTime) - it would be great to move in that direction in the future.
  • A way to connect leave calendars to MS Outlook would be a wonderful tool.
  • The need to use remote desktop to get to Employee Manager and Setup Manager is cumbersome - people forget their passwords frequently - it would be nice to see Ascentis move toward web-based functionality for the entire thing.
Ascentis is well suited for salaried, full-time staff on a regular schedule. The web-based employee self-service is very strong.

We do not find the payroll function to be well suited to our needs - and as mentioned previously, the NovaTime scheduling system could not be customized to work for us without spending upwards of $20K US.
Read iain Stephen's full review
May 25, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Professional Software with great value"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is our source database for employee information across the entire company. Primary use is for employee records, performance management and source of info to sync with various internal tools.
  • Ascentis seems to allow more customization than other HRIS software packages I have researched. It allows you to set up custom tabs, work flows for approvals and renaming of fields so the software can be fit to your business needs.
  • Employee self service is relatively straight-forward and easy for general users to figure out.
  • Has the ability to run reports on pretty much anything. We use to create lists and cross-check data on a regular basis.
  • User interface on back-end could really use some work. Unable to resize or tile windows to fit the user's preference.
  • On back-end, it is way too easy to delete or change something on accident. Has some quirks that you just need to know when entering information.
  • Very strange tendencies to allow customization of some things, but then not allow others. For example, recruiting software requires help from Ascentis support to delete an email template. UI for self service offers limited choice of fields for some tabs.
  • Employee self service and manager self service function is just okay. There is no way for managers to create data-driven widgets or access any data from the system.
I think Ascentis is very good for smaller companies that want a lot of flexibility in their configuration. Some of the limitations may be cumbersome for larger organizations. Overall, it's a pretty good product but wouldn't be for everyone.
Read Brian Borkovec's full review
May 21, 2018

"Ascentis HR Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is being used by our entire company. We use HRIS, Recruiting, Payroll, ESS, ACA Reporting and have recently started implementation of Performance Management and Compensation. Additionally, we will roll-out Training and Succession Planning. One key feature for us is the ESS platform. We have employees in 23 states and ESS allows for a succinct on-boarding and open enrollment experience.
  • HRIS
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA 1095 processing
  • ESS (excluding the widget tool - that is difficult)
  • ESS Widgets - the widgets are a great tool but are so cumbersome to build I find we use them less and less
  • In our past we used the time system and it wasn't really robust enough for our needs
I feel in our size range (up to 500) the system works well. Again, I feel that time isn't a core competency of Ascentis so it's better to look elsewhere if you have complexity. I wish more fields housed data history, for example, if a person moves then the prior address information is lost. This is especially difficult when an employee moves between states. Having a delimited record where history is visible would be fantastic.
Read Kathi Groth's full review
May 15, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "ASCENTIS - HR and Payroll life saver!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have several facilities with HR and payroll needs. Our former program limited the use between the facility and our corporate office and continually went down due to the amount of data we were pushing thru it. With Ascentis the support staff at their location not only made the transition from our old program to the new (Ascentis HR/Payroll) easy but very efficient as well. The support staff usually have answers and "fixes" immediately and if it's not immediate it's always within the day. With more training in the reporting programs in both HR and payroll, ad-hoc reporting has been amazing!
  • Reporting requirements are easier met thru both HR and Payroll reports
  • HR feeds the payroll system all changes immediately and very smooth (rarely is a change missed and never on the system side)
  • There are ZERO duplicated social security number issues using HR!
  • Keeping the history of employees thru the HR system is very easy!
  • Would love to see a report generator that can pull the history for employee rehires and terminations along with the dates.
  • Easier understanding of how to create a report even with using the report wizard. Maybe more training suggestions.
  • A benefits only status date (rather than having to use the ones in the employment screen.
I've used many payroll/HR software programs. The ease of using Ascentis has made a lot more things possible. Creating and generating custom reports could be a little easier but once you get the hang of it you can literally create exact custom reports within a few minutes. I didn't receive the formal training from Ascentis and learning it on my own truly wasn't hard. Other programs are cumbersome where Ascentis is streamlined reporting and the database is easy to navigate in. Using it for several satellite offices has made our whole payroll and HR system much easier, correct and functional for both the corporate office and our outer lying offices. I'm still trying to figure out the reporting system (as in how to can reports for future use) in HR. If that could be a bit easier to figure out, would help. I have the Payroll Insta [which is] pretty good and love the way we can publish across the board for all our facilities use. Having this in HR would be a nice feature as well. AND if it's already there to know how to use it.
Read Autumn Knight's full review
May 11, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Great for a growing company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Russell is using Ascentis HR for recruiting, onboarding, benefits enrollment, compensation, employee reviews, ACA reporting, and other government reporting.

Our company has 100 non-union employees and 70 union employees. All non-union employees use the self-service portal to sign up for benefits or enter personal info. The union employees do not receive benefits from us, therefore we did not add them to self-service.

Ascentis eliminates many spreadsheets and centralizes employee data.
  • The benefits open enrollment worked great for us. Employees are able to see all the different options, compare plans, and calculate their monthly premiums as they sign up.
  • The self service portal uses widgets that can be customized. We are able to keep employee updated with any changes.
  • The report wizard is easy to use. We are able to create reports for any business question.
  • Moving from one employee to another in the Employee Manager is a bit cumbersome.
  • Moving from remote desktop to a web-based entry point would be nice.
  • It would be nice to have all employee info in one place.
I think Ascentis HR is a great investment for a small company looking to grow. It handles all the needs of the small company and you can add different services as the company grows in the future. As your company and budget grows, Ascentis can grow right along with you.
Read Peter Plambeck's full review
May 07, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "A User-Friendly Product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am new to the company and use it for onboarding new hires and any changes, terminations during the course of an employee's tenure with the company. I have managed an Open Enrollment process using Ascentis and run reports for ACA, EEO-1 purposes as well.
  • Ascentis provides well-designed webinars that highlight key, critical information in order to fully utilize the software.
  • The HR Support line is very helpful. The representatives are well-trained and have excellent customer service skills.
  • The software itself is user-friendly and, in general, intuitive.
  • Although the training provided is well-designed, all of it is webinar-based. A few remote classes with a "live" instructor would be helpful for those of us that are fairly efficient online, however, still appreciate interaction with a human.
  • When Ascentis is trying to assist with selling additional features to an existing client, a more high-touch, less aggressive approach is appreciated.
  • I have had some issues with different passwords for different features. Sometimes confusing.
Cannot think of anything.
Read Monica Loncich, SHRM-SCP's full review
May 01, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis - The efficient Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Ascentis is being used by the entire organization. This is the payroll/expense tool used by every exempt/nonexempt teammate. Keeps track of payroll and PTO as well as timesheets for work hours/schedules.
  • The great functionality of Timesheets and keeping track of PTO balances and forecasts
  • Tracking teammates occurrences and call outs are what we utilize as well
  • Expense reports/submitting and approving is very efficient in Ascentis, very user-friendly
  • Loading - it's not an internet bandwidth issue, it's the application when you first log in
  • The dashboard is very busy when you first log in, maybe a simpler version
  • The color scheme can be more vibrant
Great functionality, over user-friendly and, from a management perspective, easy to manage your team.
Read Roy Huron's full review
May 01, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "New to Ascentis"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis as our HRIS, Timekeeping, and Payroll.
  • Our Project Manager was particularly helpful with implementation. She checked in weekly and was quick to respond when we needed additional help.
  • We appreciate the ease of report writing and the simplicity of the HR side.
  • We like having carrier connections available for our benefits enrollment.
  • Timekeeping is actually a separate platform and is clunky compared to the Ascentis side. We really wish the timekeeping piece was under the Ascentis umbrella.
  • Novatime is not user-friendly and, unfortunately, that is the part that employees and managers have to use.
The recruiting, onboarding and performance management modules meet all of our needs. It is easy to set up and easy to use.
I wish it were easier to modify the home page without having to "write code".
Read Kimberly Datisman, PHR's full review
April 26, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Happy with Ascentis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis HR across the organization. The majority of our employees are only using Employee Self Service. They can access their pay stubs, make changes to their tax withholdings, make demographic changes, and view their accrued PTO. Our HR department uses Ascentis HR every day for tracking PTO, upload documents to employee files, benefits enrollment, recruiting, and employee evaluation/ performance.
  • We like the timekeeping capabilities. It lets employees know when they are approaching hours and seeing their weekly summary breakdown is helpful. It is very easy for our employees to navigate.
  • The dashboard is fun and the widgets are a great way to keep all of our employees undated and informed.
  • Ascentis support is wonderful too, they have been very helpful and very quick to respond every time we have reached out.
  • Ascentis offers so many reports which is great. However, I find it sometimes difficult to navigate what reports I need!
  • We have had multiple issues trying to upload during payroll processing when we have staff with too many transactions on their timesheet. Also sometimes our differentials do not work like they should.
I love how Ascentis is web based, so I can have access anywhere. Tracking ACA was one of the reasons made the switch to Ascentis.
Read Suzanne Simmerman's full review
April 20, 2018

Ascentis HR: "Ascentis Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization and it was a replacement to a program that did not offer much in the way of HR services. We now have a self service portal for employees to make changes and it has helped with recruiting and connects to the payroll program.
  • Flows to payroll in real time
  • Self service portal makes sending messages to employees easy
  • The benefits usually do not flow over to payroll very well and need a lot of work
  • The information that flows over to payroll can be quite a bit different from HR and it does not receive all the information
  • It can take a while to get all the new hire information
I would not use this program for a bigger company. Ours is small to medium so I can double check everything.
Read Tanya Barnes's full review
April 17, 2018

User Review: "Ascentis HR Streamlines and Organizes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization. It solved the problem of employee records management and hiring process streamlining.
  • Captures the employee's history
  • Manages the document storage
  • Handling an employee that has two roles within an organization that require different settings
  • Rounding of salaries and hourly wages when passing from HR to Payroll to timing keeper.
It's suited well for a standard shift and employee working the 8-5 or similar shifts. It is a little less suited for situations that have less standardization within the employees schedule, pay, etc.
Read William J. Van Rossum, MBA's full review
April 13, 2018

Review: "A step in the right direction . . . Ascentis HR"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is being used across the whole organization. This platform has allowed employees and managers to view documents that we allow access to whenever they choose. It allows employees to change their personal information themselves. It allows all employees to view each other through the My Company tab - and as we grow as a company, it makes it easy to see who is on which team and also what they look like. It's a great portal for company announcements as well.
  • Allowing the employees to be able to change their personal information has made our employees feel like they have some control. They can look up their information whenever they feel like it - even from home.
  • Allowing the employees to be able to view documents through My Attachments has been a huge money saver since we no longer need to print the documents. For example, we may have certain client feedback with specific instructions the employee should be following. They can refer to these instructions at any time in My Attachments, saving paper and ink.
  • Ascentis HR is so new to us that right now, nothing seems to be "missing". However, the longer we work with it, there may be things we wish Ascentis HR could do for us that we will definitely request.
I really think this is too new to our company to comment on this section. I'm still learning every day and therefore, the rest of my office is still learning.
Read Kerri Pierceson's full review
March 21, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis Self-Service has saved me hours of work!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis HR across the organization for our permanent employees. Our employees have been happy with the switch to Ascentis, as they can now see and print their pay stubs from the self-service [portal], change personal information (address, W-4, etc.) as well as see their accrued PTO in timekeeper.
  • Benefit enrollment through the self-service portal has been extremely helpful and saved lots of time.
  • The report wizard is wonderful! What a breeze running the annual EEO-1 report!
  • The ability to change managers for an entire department with one entry vs. individual entries for each member of that department saves is a time saver.
  • I found building the benefits for open enrollment to be quite confusing. This may get easier with experience, but I found it to be difficult.
  • Although employees have access to their pay stubs in the self-service portal, it would be helpful for their manager to have access to their stubs as well.

The Employee Self-Service portal has been a huge time saver for our company.

Open enrollment was much easier than ever before with the online access and options.

As a staffing company, we do our own payroll and tax reporting. For this reason, we did not purchase the tax portion of Ascentis, and we have had trouble running some of our quarterly tax reports that we were able to run with our prior software vendor.

Read Jennifer Lee, CSP's full review
March 09, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis - a game changer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR (as well as Ascentis payroll, self service, talent management) is being used across the whole organization. We use it to as personnel files, requesting time off, processing payroll, attaching documents, and helping us go paperless. Our restaurants are scattered throughout two states and no matter where we are we all have access to the same information on our employees.
  • Customized tabs to track any data that is applicable to your company and be able to create reports from this data.
  • Easily creating any necessary HR report without having to coordinate with IT or a programmer to get them done.
  • Being able to have everyone in the company be able to access the necessary HR and payroll data no matter where they are. The home page has become our communication tool for everything.
  • We are a 7 days, 20 hours a day business and Ascentis could improve by providing companies like mine more support on the weekends.
Ascentis HR is web-based so it can be accessed from anywhere on a computer, tablet or phone. Ascentis HR has completely changed how we approach HR, personnel files, and training into a 24/7 access to relevant data world.
Read Sharon Voelz, SPHR, SHRM - SCP's full review
March 08, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Doubt we will continue using upon expiration of contract."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our employees use the platform as a tool to review and update benefits and payroll, as well as update family & personal data. Also used during open enrollment. Additionally, staff uses it to request and track PTO. So far, it has not addressed any problems but has actually created more.
  • Provides "one stop" for employees to obtain information on a number of areas 24/7.
  • HR and Payroll have to be logged in to separately which is extremely inconvenient.
  • Reporting is extremely difficult to use.
  • Not intuitive or user-friendly from the administration side.
  • Payroll requires early transfer of data which is sometimes difficult.
  • Response to problems/trouble has been slow and has resulted in a fair amount of anxiety.
I guess this would be better for a larger firm so that at least benefits enrollment data could be transferred to carriers. This was one of the things we were excited about Ascentis offering. During implementation, it was discovered that carriers of groups under 100 do not accept data transfer.
Read Sharon Gay's full review
March 08, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Support needed"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis is used by all 3 of our companies. It is used by both employees and managers. It has been helpful for managers to document events and conversations with their employees. The employees have come to rely on it for all of their benefits information.
  • Easy for the employees to use. They can access information at any time.
  • Easy for managers to keep documents and conversations recorded
  • HR support is truly lacking. An email or phone call goes into a black hole. This has been my complaint about the product the entire time I have used it. It can be days to a week before I receive a response by email. If I call, I always have to leave a message. I may get a return phone call, if I miss it, the process starts all over. They do not seem to believe in a dedicated support staff for the customer. Oddly enough, they do have dedicated support staff for the payroll product.
  • This program needs some visual updating. It is capable of the same tasks or procedures as other HRIS systems, the current screens appear outdated and clunky. Not as "visually pleasing" as some other systems.
  • The bolt on systems do not communicate well with each other. Recruiting notes do not flow into HR if the applicant is hired. The attachments do, but not the notes. The HT system has a approval process for notes and documents, but any notes made during this process disappear. Why have a place to enter them if they are immediately lost after approval.
  • Need access to all items about an employee from one screen. Can limit access depending on job title.

Seems to keep track of a lot of data, but can not access that data again. Limited and clunky reporting process. Notes made in one area (recruiting, compensation notes) are not retained for future reference.

Again support is very poor.

Read Karen Deshler's full review
March 06, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across the organization, mostly for our salaried population. We use HR, Recruiting, Talent Management.
  • Recruiting system
  • Onboarding system
  • When we are able to get dedicated representatives it works better
  • It takes an act of god to get a new user added
  • The implementation team basically pushed off all of the work and were more concerned over wrapping up the project than getting things done right.
  • No formal project plan for implementation
  • We were promised a system that was flexible and would suite our needs but it doesn't come close.
  • Performance system is a nightmare. Won't print everything you enter. Users would save their reviews and the info would disappear. They would have to start over.
Might be good for a really small company with 100 people or less. The system can't keep up with our needs. The onboarding system and recruiting modules are great but the Talent Management module falls very short of what companies need.
Read Susannah Wheelock SHRM-CP, PHR's full review
March 02, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "HRIS Champinion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis has become our all in one HRIS system. We use multi-platforms allowing all departments in HR to navigate across departments effectively. The usage of an all in one system has allowed us to streamline processes to not only include HR, but benefits, payroll and performance management. The ability to limit and set access has allowed HR to provide ownership to supervisors allowing for a more employee focused tracking system as well as aided in building an effective partnership with management and employees.
  • When building our platforms our implementation specialist Rebecca K. was exceptional. The service, dedication, and support was beyond amazing. She worked with us as if we were her only client, making us feel we were important and our needs and understanding mattered.
  • The team at Ascentis ensured all managers were not only trained on their individual platforms but crossed trained on all platforms available. The training was designed to fit each individual training styles and needs verses fit all training. This allowed each manager to become an expert on their platform and the ability to cross train other managers and train their own staff.
  • The instruction manual could be made simple allowing anyone, even someone who has never used the system the ability to download and complete the task without having to contact Ascentis support.
Benefits/open enrollment features - the ability for our employees to complete their enrollment in ESS allowing for effective real-time tracking of their enrollments into the administrative tab which allowed for responsive and timely ability for corrections to be processed. Additionally, the ability to create reports and monitor ESS allows for effective enrollment trackings.
Read Dena R. Washington, GCDF's full review
February 23, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis is a Solid HR Solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ascentis for general HR, Recruiting and Performance Management. It allows us to scale our HR functions without adding HR staff to support our growing employee base. Additionally, it provides significant improvements in our recruiting and performance management processes.
  • The system does a good job of allowing the employee manage their benefits information.
  • The system's recruiting module is particularly good at parsing candidate resumes into the relevant employee application fields.
  • The recruiting module has good workflow functionality that provides those involved in the recruiting processes with proactive notifications and reminders on steps in the recruiting process.
  • The performance module's user interface needs improvement.
  • The recruiting module could use better search features.
  • There is a fair amount of inconsistency between the UIs of the different modules. This needs to be brought into a single common user interface.

Overall, the recruiting module is fairly strong. The ability to create new requisitions is fairly straight forward once you have your standard job descriptions and related data loaded. The feature that parses resume content into the employment application is excellent. Would like more consistency in the user interface and a more intuitive web-based UI design.

The performance module is OK. The ability for employees and managers to record content during the year is a good feature. The annual performance evaluation process is fairly straight forward - we were able to roll it out to over 60 employees and did not have any issues. The way competencies are set up and managed by job title could be improved and the lack of a total competency score is a deficiency.

Read Bill Cabey's full review
May 15, 2018

"Ascentis HR Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used by our HR department to feed payroll.
  • Used by accounting to run reports.
  • Allows us to keep all employee info in one area--improves efficiency
  • Allows for dual authorization--HR inputs data and the Payroll department reviews
  • User-friendly
  • HR sends changes over to Payroll. You have to approve items for the same employee in the order received or the system breaks--would be good to have the system recognize timing.
[It] Works great for a medium organization that has a lot of moving parts. I don't think it would be necessary for a small organization.
Read Robyn Allison, CPA's full review
April 24, 2018

Ascentis HR Review: "Ascentis - Take it or Leave it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ascentis HR is our ESS for benefits. It also utilizes carrier connections to link employee benefit elections directly to individual carriers.
  • ACA reporting is incredibly easy with Ascentis HR.
  • It is somewhat user-friendly for employees to make updates to their elections.
  • Ascentis HR is very versatile at selecting different types of reports.
  • It's a bit cumbersome to set up the back end.
  • You don't have a lot of control over certain aspects of the system. For example, if you want your FSA to pro-rate monthly charges, you have to contact support to create a special drop-down menu. There are other defaults such as adding coverage where Ascentis may default to the beginning of the next month versus the date of the event.
  • Carrier connections aren't always reliable.
ACA reporting alone makes Ascentis worth using.
Read Kevin Connaughton, MBA, SHRM-SCP's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (81)
7.9
Employment history (84)
7.7
Job profiles and administration (75)
7.4
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (77)
7.1
Organizational charting (55)
5.9
Organization and location management (71)
7.1
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (64)
7.2
Pay calculation (65)
7.8
Support for external payroll vendors (34)
7.2
Benefit plan administration (60)
7.2
Direct deposit files (56)
8.2
Salary revision and increment management (53)
7.6
Reimbursement management (29)
6.2
Approval workflow (50)
7.5
Balance details (52)
7.4
Annual carry-forward and encashment (48)
7.6
View and generate pay and benefit information (80)
8.1
Update personal information (89)
8.4
View company policy documentation (70)
7.4
Employee recognition (39)
7.0
View job history (60)
7.3
Tracking of all physical assets (20)
7.0
Report builder (86)
6.7
Pre-built reports (84)
6.4
Ability to combine HR data with external data (42)
5.6
New hire portal (58)
6.9
Manager tracking tools (45)
6.3
Corporate goal setting (28)
6.3
Individual goal setting (31)
6.4
Line-of sight-visibility (24)
5.9
Performance tracking (33)
6.1
Performance plans (34)
6.0
Performance improvement plans (29)
6.0
Review status tracking (35)
6.3
Review reminders (34)
6.2
Multiple review frequency (33)
5.5
Create succession plans/pools (12)
5.2
Candidate ranking (12)
5.5
Candidate search (13)
5.6
Candidate development (12)
5.4
Job Requisition Management (46)
6.8
Company Website Posting (44)
7.2
Publish to Social Media (36)
7.0
Job Search Site Posting (38)
6.7
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (32)
6.7
Applicant Tracking (44)
7.0
Notifications and Alerts (37)
6.4

About Ascentis HR

Ascentis offers easy-to-use human capital management, HRIS, online payroll, talent management, recruiting and timekeeping solutions that support greater business efficiency and accuracy.One point of data entry means employee information is accurate, up-to-date and reportable. Electronic submission of information to insurance carriers eliminates errors and supports a paperless open enrollment process.
Categories:  HR Management

Ascentis HR Competitors

Ascentis HR Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No