Ascentis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
249 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 100)

Jordan Allison | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Ascentis: Only Use if You Require LaborMetrix (variable pay)

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If a company does not have a need for variable pay calculation, do not use Ascentis. If a company already uses NOVATime, contract with LaborMetrix directly and avoid Ascentis as the middleman. If a company only has basic needs, go with Paylocity or ADP or Paycom.
Read Jordan Allison's full review
Marie Springsteen -  SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Ascentis - What Every HR Department Needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have utilized Ascentis for more than 18 years from when it was first known as HR Office. I actually utilized software in one other company where I was employed. Having all the historical data is important for us as we have employees who have been with the company since it opened, thus providing a full scope of their progression through the company.

When Ascentis went to the "cloud", we reviewed other applications. We had concerns about data loss, and having worked with Ascentis for many years we were able to remain with them both for cost and service.
Read Marie Springsteen - SHRM-CP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2020

Fantastic support! Product is improving.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ascentis has far better customer service and the implementation experience was also better. The ability to do a lot of customization is also easier with Ascentis as it's smaller organization. The payroll has positive and negatives compared to ADP but the accuracy is the same in both. Ascentis just started their community site which doesn't have a lot of traffic but hopefully can become more like ADP's community site, which was extremely helpful to me as an administrator.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

Small Company - Big Impact!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The biggest difference between Greenhouse and Ascentis, is that Ascentis is a full service product, meaning you can get HRIS, Training and Development, ATS, and Payroll modules. Greenhouse only offers the ATS portion right now. For a small company on a small budget, have one company who offered various modules that we needed was a must have for us. Not only is it more cost effective, it's much easier for a smaller staff to maintain.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2020

Nearly through implementation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ADP and a whole bunch of others. Ascentis was the only one that seemed like it might be able to do our fiscal management payroll. Several others said they could but didn't give us as much confidence. We also liked the reporting functions, however, they are not as robust as we had hoped for non-admin users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Ascentis HR is where you want to be with your firms HR offering if you want a local company that cares about what they are selling.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zenefits is the only other online HR software I have used. While Acentis is much more expensive for the same offerings Zenefits may offer, the personal touch of using a more locally managed company like Ascentis far out weighs the extra cost that comes with it. I would never want to be in the position where our data was compromised and it was on a behemoth like offering such as Zenefits. In addition one of the main reasons that Zenefits is so inexpensive is the fact that they use the information you provide to try and upsell your employees on other services.
Read this authenticated review
Gail Bettcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2019

We Switched to Ascentis and It's Been Grand!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With ADP, we only used the Payroll and HR features. In looking to expand capabilities and consolidate efforts, we had concerns about the support team from ADP -- although Payroll support was solid, we found the HR support to be difficult to work with and had concerns about adding more components to the mix if the support wasn't there to help. Ascentis Customer Support is outstanding and always available, with rare exception.
Read Gail Bettcher's full review
Shirley Cimino | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

Love working with Ascentis

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

From all the other companies mentioned above, I have found that Ascentis is the easiest product to use. I was only introduced to this program a few months ago, and it has been easy to figure out and not too complicated. I really like the fact that I can make changes easily.
Read Shirley Cimino's full review
Frank Rizzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

If support is a concern, no need to worry with Ascentis

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ascentis beats them all. I've also worked with several smaller systems for small companies, and Ascentis has the best support and reporting functionality that I've seen thus far. Any system you pick will have its pros and cons, but being able to get a hold of support and get an answer to your issue is worth its weight in gold.
Read Frank Rizzi's full review
Olivia Ruiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

Ascentis HR Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

None; we've always had EBS, Ascentis. However, I would like to evaluate other products to compare and give better feedback to Ascentis. I have several improvements to share with the different modules that would benefit the product and our District. I want to attend the conference, but this year is not a good year to attend.
Read Olivia Ruiz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Great tool for advancing HR for small to mid-sized companies.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Paychex was a limited tool that asked for extra money anytime you needed something more - even the ability to split an employee's pay between two budgets or track their PTO, which are pretty standard features of payroll. Ellucian was great for higher ed, but more than we would need at our company.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (104)
7.7
Employment history (109)
7.5
Job profiles and administration (97)
7.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (98)
6.2
Organizational charting (68)
5.8
Organization and location management (84)
6.8
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (80)
6.7
Pay calculation (84)
8.1
Support for external payroll vendors (45)
8.3
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (2)
8.0
Benefit plan administration (78)
6.6
Direct deposit files (76)
8.6
Salary revision and increment management (69)
6.7
Reimbursement management (35)
6.2
Approval workflow (70)
7.3
Balance details (72)
7.6
Annual carry-forward and encashment (64)
7.2
View and generate pay and benefit information (105)
7.5
Update personal information (116)
7.8
View company policy documentation (86)
7.6
Employee recognition (46)
6.9
View job history (81)
7.1
Tracking of all physical assets (25)
3.9
Report builder (111)
5.9
Pre-built reports (109)
6.1
Ability to combine HR data with external data (56)
5.5
New hire portal (74)
6.9
Manager tracking tools (57)
6.2
Corporate goal setting (35)
6.6
Individual goal setting (41)
6.7
Line-of sight-visibility (30)
7.2
Performance tracking (39)
7.2
Performance plans (46)
6.4
Performance improvement plans (37)
7.2
Review status tracking (45)
7.2
Review reminders (43)
6.1
Multiple review frequency (40)
5.8
Create succession plans/pools (16)
5.1
Candidate ranking (15)
5.2
Candidate search (20)
6.4
Candidate development (18)
5.5
Job Requisition Management (64)
7.2
Company Website Posting (59)
7.4
Publish to Social Media (45)
7.1
Job Search Site Posting (51)
6.2
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (43)
6.1
Applicant Tracking (62)
7.0
Notifications and Alerts (50)
6.5

About Ascentis

Ascentis invites the user to start anywhere and add anytime, what they describe as their industry-leading a-la carte full suite human capital management (HCM) technology platform and workforce management solutions, that are supported by the company's ongoing commitment to delivering what they boast is an unsurpassed client experience. Ascentis’ technology modules work independently or together to meet the needs of each client, wherever they are in the HCM journey.

Ascentis Screenshots

Ascentis Competitors

Ascentis Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No