Atera

Atera

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.8 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Atera

Overview

Recent Reviews

Atera RMM

9 out of 10
April 26, 2022
We use Atera to monitor all the computers and servers on the network. Atera has a very nice dashboard which we keep open on a 48" monitor …
Continue reading

One-Stop Atera

9 out of 10
September 23, 2021
We use Atera to manage multiple clients and their devices. We use it to manage alerts and to create tickets to manage time to complete the …
Continue reading

Failed product

1 out of 10
May 24, 2021
Looks good, promising, and cheap. But the reality is not the same. The remote apps works once a while, so does the remote desktop. Very …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features

Multi-device monitoring (51)

8.7
87%

Automated alerts and notifications (52)

8.5
85%

Remote monitoring (51)

8.5
85%

Administrator access control (83)

8.0
80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Atera, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Pro

$79

Cloud
Per Technician

Growth

$119

Cloud
Per Technician

Power

$149

Cloud
Per Technician

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.atera.com/pricing/?utm_sour…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Monitoring Tasks

8.5
85%

Management Tasks

7.8
78%

Reporting

8.0
80%

Security

7.8
78%

Product Details

What is Atera?

Atera offers a comprehensive solution for MSPs and IT Professionals. The platform provides in one integrated solution: full remote monitoring and management (RMM), PSA, remote access, patch management, billing, and reports. Atera’s pricing model also helps managed IT service providers scale their business. All plans include unlimited devices. Users pay per technician.

The vendor states the platform features:
  • Thousands of paying users in over 75 countries
  • Free trial, no credit card or commitment required
  • No hidden fees or restrictions, all plans include unlimited devices
  • Integration with favorite IT tools including: Splashtop, AnyDesk, TeamViewer, and ScreenConnect
And the vendor describes Atera's benefits:
  • Improve Efficiency. Atera delivers customers the tool suite for IT management.
  • Automation. Set alerts and proactively prevent issues for clients, to minimize time spent on manual tasks.
  • Disruptive Pricing, Unlimited Devices. Per technician-based pricing with unlimited servers and workstations

Atera Features

Monitoring Tasks Features

  • Supported: Remote monitoring
  • Supported: Network device monitoring
  • Supported: Multiple Server Monitoring
  • Supported: Multi-device monitoring
  • Supported: Automated alerts and notifications

Management Tasks Features

  • Supported: Patch Management
  • Supported: Service configuration management
  • Supported: Software and hardware inventory
  • Supported: Policy-based automation

Reporting Features

  • Supported: Performance data reports
  • Supported: Customizable reporting
  • Supported: Data visualization
  • Supported: Risk analysis

Security Features

  • Supported: Data backup and recovery
  • Supported: Antivirus and malware management
  • Supported: Administrator access control

Additional Features

  • Supported: Remote Access
  • Supported: Professional Services Automation (PSA)
  • Supported: 24/7 Customer Support
  • Supported: Helpdesk & Ticketing
  • Supported: Billing Integration
  • Supported: Script Library
  • Supported: Mac Agent
  • Supported: Online Chat (with customers)
  • Supported: 2fa
  • Supported: Contracts & SLA Management

Atera Screenshots

Atera Video

Atera includes everything MSPs & IT Service Providers need in one, easy to use and affordable all-in-one remote monitoring and management solution.

Atera Integrations

Atera Competitors

Atera Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)70%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)29%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)1%

Atera Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Atera's best feature?

Reviewers rate Multiple Server Monitoring highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Atera?

The most common users of Atera are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (80)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 53)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera to handle the majority of our automated service work. It audits each machine under management and reports back to us about updates awaiting to install, issues with updates, or availability. Additionally, it allows us to monitor the health of the machines under our management. It alerts us to problems before they become time-losing problems. I can easily manage the various contact information for my clients as well. From one screen, I can see what level of access my client has and if the contact I'm working with has the authorization to handle the issue we are currently working on.
  • They listen to user requests and update the product quickly.
  • They communicate with their customers in a timely manner.
  • They allow MSPs to focus on relationships instead of managing software.
  • Some of the internal links move you to various parts of the website which makes it difficult to get back to your original page.
  • Some of the configuration settings are hard to find.
  • Their instant notifications don't always work quickly.
For me, Atera has been a great tool that I added to my arsenal. I wanted something where I could manage my clients' Windows updates. As I used the software, I began to realize all of the various things Atera could do. Now it is a critical component of my business and I would not be able to properly function without it.
April 26, 2022

Atera RMM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera to monitor all the computers and servers on the network. Atera has a very nice dashboard which we keep open on a 48" monitor so we will get a warning when any of our vital devices went offline. Atera also plays an audio prompt to attract attention to warnings.
  • Monitors devices on the network
  • Warns when device is offline
  • Has clearly readable dashboard
  • Slow refresh of status
  • No support for Android
  • Limited support for Mac
It is very suited to a Microsoft environment as it has very good support for Ms. It will alert you for instance when the domain controller is offline, or when the Exchange Server is down. It is harder to set up in a mixed environment which also includes Mac machines
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Robintree is a managed service company and we use Atera extensively to manage our customer's IT infrastructure. We perform automatic patching, driver updates, and remote help desk through the Atera system. Additionally, we run system audits on customer's fleets to find pain points and offer resolutions. Without Atera our company wouldn't be able to function in the managed service business.
  • Customized system alerts
  • Remote support
  • Reports
  • Ticketing
  • Ease of use
  • Categorizing tickets from specific sources automatically.
  • Ability to customize the view of the customers tab.
  • Ability to see entire device name in the iOS app.
Atera is well suited for a Windows and Mac environment, supporting small to medium businesses. A great solution for upstarts and established companies looking to grow. User friendly with a little learning curve. Not a good fit for companies that support Linux servers, remote mobile devices, such as, smartphones and tablets.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera to remotely manage our client's networks. It addresses remote support, patch management, backup & Security.
  • Remote management for PC's and Macs
  • Mobile Application for on the go support
  • Patch Management
  • Reporting & Alerts
  • Additional features added to Mobile application to match web platform
  • Improved Password Manager
  • Additional customization and filtering
Remote management of Computers & Networks. We migrated to Atera from another RMM platform over a year ago. So far nothing has come up that is an issue. We are not using their built-in ticketing but I know they are constantly making improvements to make that better.
Richard Ekholm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atera has made managing end-users devices simple. Not only does it provide a quick way of remotely accessing clients' devices to resolve issues, but the automated patch management and the ability to deploy scripts to multiple devices from a single pane of glass also reduce the time it takes to ensure device compliance. Ticketing and basic device metrics are an added bonus.
  • Automated Patch Management.
  • Compliance Reporting.
  • Remote Monitoring and Maintenance.
  • Trouble Ticketing.
  • More Customisable Reporting.
  • Allow Integration with other vendors.
As an MSP looking after many small businesses, Atera is a perfectly suited RMM platform. No ongoing per-device cost, Ticketing, Patch Management, Reporting, and Billing all in a simple to use package.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera to manage over 300 of our customer's approximately 2500 devices. It allows us and our customers to open tickets. It allows us to monitor their networks and equipment as well as assist them remotely when needed. Often we know when a customer has a problem before they do, I could not do my job as well without Atera.
  • Hardware Monitoring
  • Remote Support
  • Entry of support tickets
  • Occasionally will stop reporting and have to be reinstalled on client computer
  • Patch management will sometimes fail when deploying an update
  • When you change the PC name it doesn't always change in Atera
Well suited to remotely manage [client's] computers to make sure they can maintain uptime. Can be overwhelming when it gives updates on fan speed or similar [nonemergency] errors if you don't configure alerts correctly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Atera to monitor critical services running on my servers. I'm able to be notified when the services stop running and attempt to restart them. It's used for remote access to remote workers and for patch management.
  • Service monitoring
  • Remote Access
  • Remote command prompt
  • Patch Management is somewhat confusing
  • More information on the device page about the device
I find it very well suited for my internal IT department needs. I'm able to manage both on-prem devices and remote workers. Being able to reliably connect remotely to their PC or laptop is a huge time saver for me. Being alerted to servers or services that have crashed allows me to fix the issue before it becomes a problem for my end users.
Kallie Koortz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a IT service company we support various clients using Atera RMM solution. We do remote support, patch management, and asset control using their product. Due to the fact that our clients are spread over a wide area and different sectors it makes it solve the remote support better than most products.
  • Patch management is very good. Easy to use and very accurate.
  • Hardware monitoring is good and alerts are on time - we always know what is happening.
  • Pricing is per technician which makes it easier to rollout to many clients and still have a constant budget.
  • The backup add on module interfaces to Acronis which make it disjointed.
  • It can expand patch management for office 365 product.
IT support staff is managing a multitude of clients by doing proactive support management, producing accurate reports to management.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera as our main RMM tool. We use it for ticketing, device monitoring, patch management, software reporting, and remote device access. We are an outsourced IT provider so the majority of our organization uses it.
  • Device monitoring
  • Status reporting
  • Ticketing
  • SMB reporting
  • Software reporting
  • Sage integration for billing
Atera is well suited for our business. It works great to integrate all of our clients into 1 platform for most uses. It would probably be more than what would be needed for an individual business with a dedicated IT team.
September 23, 2021

One-Stop Atera

Robin Hogg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera to manage multiple clients and their devices. We use it to manage alerts and to create tickets to manage time to complete the repair or fix. We also use it to manage updates, security, software, patches, etc.
  • Alert management
  • Patch management with scripts
  • Time management for technicians to resolve tickets
  • Device filters
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera for tracking our computers and servers.
Only the IT department uses it on a daily basis. Our employees have the possibility to open tickets via a dedicated email address.
  • Updating applications.
  • Exhaustive inventory of software.
  • Multiple reports on the health of the park.
  • At patch management level, the update part always displays errors on the entire fleet.
  • Shutting down or restarting does not always work.
  • We need more.
  • We wish more script to propose in the library.
  • Atera is very efficient in patch management and remote software installation.
  • The alerts are numerous but we do not always have a solution apart from upgrading the machine.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera as our primary monitoring and remote access application. We are a managed service provider for information technology, and Atera is vital to our business. The selection of tools it has make it an efficient choice for our business, and more cost effective than other solutions. Additionally, the ongoing development is giving us ways to use even more of our products in concert with Atera.
  • Easy to deploy, both in general or to a specific customer.
  • Remote management tools that are in line with every other major solution out there.
  • Real-time alerts that allow for easy monitoring of vital systems.
  • Configurable threshholds on alerts so the system can be tuned to only notify when there is a problem according to certain metrics.
  • Ticketing system is clunky, and requires an client e-mail for use.
  • Network discovery tool lacks complexity of other solutions.
Atera is useful for companies that have many endpoints or multiple clients being managed by a small team. It's ideal for MSPs because of its unlimited endpoints, customers, and integration with common billing software. I think there are better solutions for an internal IT team, where endpoint count wouldn't be in as much flux.
May 24, 2021

Failed product

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looks good, promising, and cheap. But the reality is not the same. The remote apps works once a while, so does the remote desktop. Very unreliable, we don't know when it is going to be down and up. The technical support assumed they are smartest person. I opened the case because I could not dial in to the user. He forced me to give an remote access for him. How I can give him a remote access if I could not dial in to that pc?<br>I have numerous open cases that have been opened for more than two weeks - no follow up. The customer service promised to call me to solve the issue. But she never call. <br>We have been ignored for too long, so I am looking for the replacement.
  • Sales
  • making false promised
  • the whole softwares
  • technical support
  • customer service
Atera is closed to Beta product. It is not for live environment because we never know when we will not able to remote in and we will able to do so. It is happened also for the other features, script deployment and others. Some the script are implemented and some are not.
It is absolutely unstable product. We requesting the money back. However, the support did not call us back as her promised.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP and Atera is our RMM solution. It allows for RMM and Managed antivirus revenue. We also use the ticketing portion with accounting integration for billing.
  • Numerous integrations with other applications.
  • Ticketing and user portal.
  • There is a lack of editing ability in the ticketing portion.
  • Integration with more cloud based backup providers would be nice.
RMM is where it shines. With unlimited agents it's also great for general support.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Atera across the entire organization to provide support to our end users as well as our customers. It's been pivotal in addressing issues quickly and providing our customers the right kind of support in a digital world. When covid hit - it allowed us to enable a remote workforce in hours not weeks. We were ahead of the curve long before our competition.
  • Alerting
  • Ticket Management
  • Remote Workforce
  • Billing Reports
  • Single Pane of Glass
  • Device Management
  • Network Reporting
  • Automated Billing with Wave
Atera is well suited for small to medium sized MSPs. Enterprise grade sized MSPs may find some of the menus and details difficult to work with. Mac Houses should feel good about the platform - the reporting and alerting works like a charm. Patching is as good as any I've seen.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated from another MSP product over a year ago now and have not looked back. Atera's licensing is extremely straightforward and they are regularly adding features almost monthly.
  • Integration with Webroot
  • Monitoring SNMP devices
  • Ease of use/interface
If you have a small to medium-size MSP, this tool should be on your evaluation list
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atera is being used by our whole organization. It addresses multiple business problems like a ticketing system, contacts, invoicing, remote access, automation, and more. We are an IT MSP where we manage computers for customers and businesses to serve their IT needs. It is our main source of what we use daily for our clients and day-to-day tasks.
  • Ticketing System
  • Reporting
  • Automation
  • Billing
  • Invoicing
  • Contacts
  • Contracts
  • More Integration
  • More features
  • More flexibility for users
Atera is well all around suited for usage for any IT customer. We have remote access, automation, ticketing system, contacts, contractions, doing invoicing, quotes, billing and more. It is extremely easy to use and flexible with it's users interface. I would highly recommend this to anyone who does IT work or in the IT field of things.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Remote access during the COVID pandemic has been a problem. Atera helped us solve that problem.
  • Remote Access--Splashtop provides direct access so we can see what users see and help them with current issues
  • Sound Troubleshooting--Splashtop is phenomenal in pulling sound from the machine and helping with remote sound troubleshooting
  • Remote Background Access
  • Patch Management--While we have other solutions for mass patch management, whenever we run into a machine being stubborn, I just turn to Atera and target that machine directly to install the annoying patches. Seems to work beautifully. I rarely get an error on install.
  • CMD/Powershell Access--The ability to remote CMD and remote Powershell is key to solving lots of remote issues. This access is better than most other platforms and once setup is easier than actual Powershell remoting. A real plus.
  • Patch management en masse needs a little work. If there was a better way to handle patch management for large numbers of machines, this would be better.
  • Software installation has a few kinks and needs to be a little smoother. This might be more related to Chocolatey than Atera, but regardless, it needs a bit of work. The selection of automatically installable software is a little less than what we need. For what it does, though, it works.
Atera is a solid performer. I rarely have connection issues, and those are all related to the Internet at one end or the other. Remote access is great; tracking and resolving issues is much easier with the alerts system. As a pickup during the pandemic, this has been one of my best purchases hands down--simple installation and very easy to use, but a little in depth on the setup, which I wasn't expecting. Atera is designed for RMM, and it does the job very well.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atera is currently deployed across our entire company. We use it for everything from basic patch management to remote control and ticketing for on demand problems. I also use it to track the time my IT department spends working on our remote locations so that we can bill them accordingly for our time.
  • Remote Control
  • Patch Management
  • Ticket Logging
  • Automated Remediation
  • Pushing files to remote computer
  • Updating agent name when computer changes name
Atera is perfect for organizations of any size. The single rate pricing allows for a small IT department to manage multiple sites easily while not breaking the bank. Inside a larger organization, users can be added to assist with the workload and still get the unlimited agents to deploy out making the cost vs reward very low.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced an expensive MSP that really wasn't hold up their end of the deal. We use Atera for the ability to manage computers. Being able to remote in to the desktop, access command line and PowerShell without the users knowledge. Pushing out updates and scripts. Been extremely helpful.
And since I am a one man shop it allows me to support our people from anywhere and at anytime.
  • Remote access to devices
  • Monitoring of devices
  • pulling information from devices on a schedule.
  • Some of the PowerShell commands do not work right.
  • More control over the updates. Being able to exclude specific updates.
The price alone is the best part. You get almost all the features of the high end MSP products at a small fraction of the cost. Instead of charging per device, it is a flat fee. I only wish I had seen this product 5 years ago..
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP and Atera is the center of our business. It is the main tool we use for managing, maintaining, and monitoring client infrastructure. It has been the center of our work cycle since we made the move to Atera. We continue to assess and use the new features and tools as Atera grows.
  • Remote assistance
  • Consistant pricing
  • Streamlined rollout process
  • Growing set of tools
  • Occasionally slow connection and response on the Atera site.
Anyone managing a wide network of computer systems will benefit from this tool.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Atera to provide support, install updates, check for problems for my customers.
  • Patching
  • Remote support
  • Detailed reports
  • Translation in Italian
  • Less complicated use of ticketing
In all cases where it is not possible to reach the customer quickly. Less useful where there is a hardware problem, of course, but it manages to anticipate the problem.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atera is our remote access software, as well as patch management and software deployment to remote workstations. It is a low-impact remote access agent that enables us to work at a distance to provide remote support and access to our client networks
  • Remote Access
  • Patch Management
  • Password Managment
  • Customizable inputs per client
  • Client Dashboard
  • Unattended access
[Atera is] well suited for network rollout, provides a dependable remote access agent. However, it requires several programs/services to run and on legacy PC's with minimal resources there are lighter options that work when Atera won't.
Howard Rabb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Atera to manage all endpoints on our customer's network, and to monitor same.
  • Splashtop integration.
  • Ease of use.
  • Customizable alarms.
  • Multi-tenant possible (for co-managed environment).
  • Small deployment MSI (great for GPO deployments).
  • No Linux agent.
  • SNMP monitoring is very poor (no MIBS import possible).
  • No agent or templates for monitoring VMWARE.
  • KB is cludgy.
  • Mac agent is so bad that it shouldn't exist. Not having this option would be preferable to the garbage agent that presently exists.
I have used Atera for over a year and have no intention of switching at this time. The per-user pricing model is far preferable to me than the per endpoint model. I have also setup customers as users for their own environment, allowing them to create, open, and close tickets, as well as see, pause, deactivate, delete alarms, etc. - and use the Splashtop integration for desktop remote control.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As MSP business we are using Atera on daily work, supporting customer, monitoring their infrastructure, managing incoming ticket, etc. It keeps all aspects of our support team on one place. Easily connect with customer to resolve issue with the included remote software and all the technical feature required for an MSP.
  • RMM solution all in one, RMM, Ticketing, invoicing, remote access
  • Easy to configure, easy to operate
  • Overall performance is great. Responsive, Quick, updated each month with new feature and bug fix.
  • Customer support is also quick to reply and provide quick solution
  • Need some improvement on ticket automation rules to add more complex kind of rules.
  • Script execution could only be run as system or current user, which does not suit all of our situation.
  • More customizable dashboard.
  • Need more customisation on alerts.
  • More reporting option and customisation.
Easily providing support for our customer with quick access to the user's computer.
Running task in the background without having to login to the computer, that saves time not just for our team but for the user too.
Automation rules and profile help our MSP business to complete basic tasks that are redundant and time consuming. So we can get to other more valuable tasks and better serve our customers.