athenaIDX (formerly Centricity Practice Solution from GE Healthcare) Reviews

19 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 10, 2020
Kelly Ferriter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being across the whole organization to make appointments for our clients. It allows us to not have to mark people as not being seen if they do not come into our clinic for appointment. They automatically receive missed appointment calls and it generates a list to allow us to do mailings as well
  • Accurate scheduling
  • Reliable scheduling taking into account holidays
  • Very user friendly and easy to reschedule appointments as needed
  • We have had days where the server has gone down and then we do not have access to our schedules. So in this sense, it is not friendly
  • When multiple people have the same name which happens often, it can often be confusing
  • Being very user specific with upper case and lower case lettering
I think it is great in any case where you need it for scheduling but especially for medical scheduling. It allows for commenting and enough room to type in specific diagnosis etc. It also allows for different appointment types and lengths depending on the appointment that the client needs. It allows for a lot of leeway and a lot of room for movement within the own company.
Read Kelly Ferriter's full review
December 19, 2018
Debi Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • One of the best things about Centricity is it is flexible. We are able to add a data point behind a term (CPS calls this an observation term) and track any data needed. These observation terms also allow us to pull information forward and display information needed to make a good decision or used to decrease errors. For example in our history forms given to the patients one of the questions is side of injury. This affected side displays on our EMR forms which helps providers and prevents mistakes.
  • CPS integrates with other programs. We are paperless and use DocuSign to send each patient their history, ROS and all new paperwork. This allows us to import the history into the forms and has saved us from adding extra staff (FTEs) to room and take history. The history form can be completed at home or in the waiting room. Each section has a observation term behind it and allows it to be placed into the note at the correct section. Since we have a fully integrated product we do not have to have another program to enter or transfer our charges from the EMR to the PM side of the program.
  • Our notes look great! We did a lot of customization which gave us the detail and look we wanted. It seems like a lot of work at first, but the outcome has so much efficacy. We increased our providers without having to increase our staffing and it is due to he efficiencies we gained by using the EMR.
  • One other note, Centricity is flexible but that means it is complicated. You can not have flexibility without it be complicated don't let that stop you the end results can be great.
  • Making the forms easier to create. Right now we have to pay someone to create a new form for us.
  • In the EMR they have spell check but you have to go back and correct in the form the mistake happened in. Having spell check be in a final review and allow correction in the review would be nice.
Centricity CPS - which is both PM and EMR, works great in a medical office.
Read Debi Mitchell's full review
April 10, 2017
Steven King, LHRM, RHIA, MBA, MEd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • SOAP note layout
  • Medication dispensing
  • Internal Communication: flag system
  • CEMR does not allow multitasking
  • Documents cannot be arranged by type and date
  • Custom forms are clunky to update.
CEMR is well suited for documenting patient care. Each EMR on the market has limitations and CEMR is no different. All EMR's essentially do the exact same thing. What differentiates others is the ability to integrate actionable business intelligence for review and clinical improvement. CEMR is woefully short on any type of business intelligence. Their one stab at this failed miserably. Unless you have a Crystal Report expert on staff...you won't cull good information from CEMR.
Read Steven King, LHRM, RHIA, MBA, MEd's full review
February 13, 2015
Michelle Marchese | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tracking numbers
  • Scheduling appointments
  • Chart management
  • When you have a patient on the schedule and you want to see the registration of the patient it doesn't automatically go right to the patient, it makes you search for it.
Read Michelle Marchese's full review
April 11, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The flowsheet feature allows providers to see trends in the patient's medical data, allowing them to treat appropriately.
  • The summary sheet allows providers and medical staff to quickly view medical history including medications and problems.
  • Quick and concise communication is seamless between providers and medical staff through Centricity.
  • Color coordination of certain tabs to make them visually accessible.
This EMR system is well suited for hospitals and associated specialty practices where all medical information can be stored and updated in one place.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ability to write notes for new patients and progress notes
  • Organized fairly well
  • Ability to easily import lab results and vital signs into our notes
  • The system often crashed while I was writing progress notes, then I would lose the file
  • Sometimes the system was slow/sluggish and had to be restarted
  • Lab results are sometimes found in unexpected folders within the program
[It's] fairly easy to learn how to use, whether it's just for looking up patient information or for writing notes for patients. However I was unable to get access to the actual radiology images for my patients - I only had access to the dictated radiology reports.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Able to overlay other applications and integrations and integrations to a data warehouse platform that abstracts from the EMR.
  • Customize for provider specialty. UI is easy to navigate.
  • Reports and backend able to get data and work with other data platforms.
  • Data reporting and use of creating dashboard and their robust BI practice management side.
  • The colors could be customized for specialists
  • Mapping and SQL [could be] a little easier
  • Upgrades to be more streamlined and have less downtime
  • Easy to manage users and troubleshooting the issues can be resolved quickly for end users.The use of the SSO and not having to log on multiple times.
  • Centricity is able to be accessed remotely and 24/7 for the physicians who have weekend hours.The use of clinically speaking for dictation has been great for the specialty providers.
  • As an application support person and analyst, mapping and use of HL7 allows HIE to be used and therefore providers will receive incentive points under MIPS.
  • This system helps providers achieve PQRS/MU with many features built in to take the worries out of the tedious reporting.
Read this authenticated review

athenaIDX (formerly Centricity Practice Solution from GE Healthcare) Scorecard Summary

What is athenaIDX (formerly Centricity Practice Solution from GE Healthcare)?

athenaIDX is an on-premise or cloud-hosted enterprise RCM solution that helps health systems, hospitals, billing services, and large practices optimize financial performance and successfully adapt to healthcare payment reform. It is based on the Centricity medical practice and EMR software that was formerly owned and supported by GE Healthcare acquired by Veritas Capital in 2018, spun off into a new entity (Virence Health), and then rebranded as a product of athenahealth (also a Veritas company) in July 2020. EMR functionality is being dropped in favor of focusing on revenue cycle management, and interoperability with other EMR software.
Categories:  Practice Management

athenaIDX (formerly Centricity Practice Solution from GE Healthcare) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is athenaIDX (formerly Centricity Practice Solution from GE Healthcare)?

athenaIDX is an on-premise or cloud-hosted enterprise RCM solution that helps health systems, hospitals, billing services, and large practices optimize financial performance and successfully adapt to healthcare payment reform. It is based on the Centricity medical practice and EMR software that was formerly owned and supported by GE Healthcare acquired by Veritas Capital in 2018, spun off into a new entity (Virence Health), and then rebranded as a product of athenahealth (also a Veritas company) in July 2020. EMR functionality is being dropped in favor of focusing on revenue cycle management, and interoperability with other EMR software.

Who uses athenaIDX (formerly Centricity Practice Solution from GE Healthcare)?

The most common users of athenaIDX (formerly Centricity Practice Solution from GE Healthcare) are Mid-size Companies from the Hospital & Health Care industry.