Atom Reviews

68 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 15, 2020
Patrick Fong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

4
Atom has an active forum and a Slack group where you can ask technical questions. Occasionally, the authors will pop in to answer a few questions here and there, but most of the time, its other helpful users who will assist you. Though they aren't the most knowledgeable, they are at least timely.
As for plugin support, that differs with each plugin, but as I mentioned before, many plugins are no longer maintained.
Read Patrick Fong's full review
January 30, 2020
Suleman Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
I have not gotten a chance to talk to the support team, so that's why I'm giving a neutral rating.
Read Suleman Ahmad's full review
January 22, 2020
Samuel Hadid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I never got to reach out to the support team for an urgent/critical matter, but simple functionality or features that required understanding, or submitting a feature request found after using the product for specific use (specific javascript coding features that could be done through other products)
Read Samuel Hadid's full review
January 16, 2020
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Atom has fantastic readmes, help function, and tips. Also, this being an Open Source piece of software, you get good community support. The project is on Git so you can identify it there are bugs or other wonkiness. Now, OSS support is not for everyone, but it works for most developers who are worth something.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
January 16, 2020
Walter Aho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I haven't needed to use customer support for Atom. I've found either trial and error or the use of forums to be more than sufficient.
Read Walter Aho's full review
January 09, 2020
Matthew James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
I never used any official support for Atom and always relied on community sourced support. From what I gathered, and looking back on it now, Atom was for the more advanced programmer and not quite for tinkerers and occasional editors such as myself. The community was helpful which is why I didn't rate this lower. I can't comment on support directly from Atom.
Read Matthew James's full review
December 04, 2019
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
It's really easy to use and more important customize to my liking. There are tons of free themes available on a place like GitHub and each one is customizable after download and installation.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
March 23, 2020
Xiaotong Song | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Atom has a lot of nice documentation that provides you all the information that you might need when writing code on code. What is more, if you can any question in the specific code that you are currently using or Atom document is not covered you can always check it online.
Read Xiaotong Song's full review
March 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
It depends on your expectations. As a free product, you would not expect someone to be there 24/7 ready to answer any of your questions in a timely fashion. As a popular tool, you can easily search for the information you need online.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
While I have not interacted with any kind of official support, this tool is so community-driven that it's easy to find help if you need it.
Read this authenticated review
August 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Atom is relatively open-source, as much as it was created by GitHub. They have since been purchased by Microsoft, so there isn't as good of support for this editor that was originally intended to be open-source anyway.
Read this authenticated review

What is Atom?

Atom is a free and open source text editor offering a range of packages and themes.

Atom Video

Installing Atom

Atom Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Atom?

Atom is a free and open source text editor offering a range of packages and themes.

What is Atom's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses Atom?

The most common users of Atom are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.