TrustRadius
Autotask is the eponymous IT service desk (ITSM) solution from the software company in Greenbush, New York.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/BE/LO/DSUBAG088PA6.JPEGAutotask is automation perfected.Autotask has been implemented throughout our entire organization from Procurement to Service desk and through to Admin and HR. Having a single platform to track all tasks throughout our organization has been invaluable in reducing turn-around times for both client communication and on-boarding improving client relations from day one. Autotask has also been implemented for internal use for new employee on-boarding allowing us to make sure that everything is set up for the employee to hit the ground running.,With a recent update, Autotask introduced ticket checklists which greatly reduced errors with support, it has also reduced the number of unnecessary ticket transfers as a ticket cannot be transferred unless all the checklist items have been completed. Autotask has an excellent reporting system built in with automated sending and customisability Autotask allows for automated client communications with a wealth of customizable templates. Autosk has excellent integration options with a number of third-party applications.,Ease of use can be improved as the admin section can be daunting to a first time user. Setting up custom reports or client comms templated can be a time-consuming process. The Autotask Knowledgebase can use some improvement.,8,Improved billing as time is recorded as it happens. Has improved our support by allowing to track and implement resolutions for recurring issues.,IT Glue, Microsoft Office 365, SolarWinds N-centralTheir CRM is a one-stop shop for management of many clients. Their AEM is unmatched as an RMM tool.We use Autotask as our CRM, to track our clients and their support tickets, and to create/monitor contracts that we have. We also use their Endpoint Management software. All of us use Autotask here. The tech team uses it to add their time entries so that proper billing occurs after calls. I use it for the above, as well as for creating contracts and running reports. Finally, the bookkeeper uses it as well to invoice our clients.,Integrates well with RMM tools A wealth of reports are available, or you can create your own You can set up your users with individualized access rights to your company's data The support team is awesome,Custom reports can be a bit confusing to set up Their inside sales team reaches out a bit too often,8,Autotask is a little bit expensive if you are just starting out There are enough features here to take the place of several competing services The cost of Autotask isn't currently recuperated as we do not resell it. But it saves us time on labor that we used to spend before having this solution.,SolarWinds N-central, Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA) and ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech),QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, HostGatorEasy to use, easy to manage, easy to teach!AutoTask is used across the whole organization. It was used to keep track of client contact for sales efforts, also used by our purchasing and billing departments to charge clients for services, as well as a place for customers to submit requests for help, assistance, troubleshooting, etc. I can't think of anyone in the company that does not use AutoTask daily.,Has a great end user portal for clients to log in and submit/view their support tickets for updates and status. Has great integration with third party add ons to provide additional functionality. Is web based and super reliable. No maintenance or teams to manage the product are needed!,It would be great if more options for dashboard widgets existed.,10,AutoTask helped us to streamline our ticket receiving, working, and resolution process along with providing excellent reporting/metrics along the way.Autotask for the win!We used autotask for billing, project management of our web design department and our IT support staff. The nice part is everything is in one platform rather than multiple which makes life much easier. The support staff was always super kind if I needed help with something. The interface was also super easy to learn which made it easy to train new people.,Billing on work completed Organization Business contact management,Number of clicks to do something Invoicing Reporting,9,We have become more organized. Our clients have a better understanding of where we are in the process of their project. We bill more hours.,Zoho CRM, Workamajig, FreshBooks and Freshdesk,HubSpot, Google AnalyticsAutotask at workAutotask is being used across our company. We use it as a way to store all of our files in one place and it allows any team member to access any file. It also allows us to access things remotely, even if we are not at our own computer.,Allows remote access of files. Shows you when things are syncing/have synced. Allows collaboration between members.,Would like to be able to work on files simultaneously. Web interface could be more intuitive. Have to click a lot of buttons to do simple tasks.,7
Unspecified
Autotask
57 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Autotask Reviews

Autotask
57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 57 vetted Autotask reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
August 17, 2018

User Review: "Autotask is automation perfected."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask has been implemented throughout our entire organization from Procurement to Service desk and through to Admin and HR.

Having a single platform to track all tasks throughout our organization has been invaluable in reducing turn-around times for both client communication and on-boarding improving client relations from day one.

Autotask has also been implemented for internal use for new employee on-boarding allowing us to make sure that everything is set up for the employee to hit the ground running.

  • With a recent update, Autotask introduced ticket checklists which greatly reduced errors with support, it has also reduced the number of unnecessary ticket transfers as a ticket cannot be transferred unless all the checklist items have been completed.
  • Autotask has an excellent reporting system built in with automated sending and customisability
  • Autotask allows for automated client communications with a wealth of customizable templates.
  • Autosk has excellent integration options with a number of third-party applications.
  • Ease of use can be improved as the admin section can be daunting to a first time user.
  • Setting up custom reports or client comms templated can be a time-consuming process.
  • The Autotask Knowledgebase can use some improvement.
Autotask is perfectly suited for a remote support based environment where client communications and timely support is paramount.

As Autotask has auto-fire notifications we can notify our support technicians when they are close to breaching SLA or have been idle on a ticket for too long ensuring that clients are always updated.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Gospe profile photo
May 03, 2018

Autotask Review: "Their CRM is a one-stop shop for management of many clients. Their AEM is unmatched as an RMM tool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask as our CRM, to track our clients and their support tickets, and to create/monitor contracts that we have. We also use their Endpoint Management software. All of us use Autotask here. The tech team uses it to add their time entries so that proper billing occurs after calls. I use it for the above, as well as for creating contracts and running reports. Finally, the bookkeeper uses it as well to invoice our clients.
  • Integrates well with RMM tools
  • A wealth of reports are available, or you can create your own
  • You can set up your users with individualized access rights to your company's data
  • The support team is awesome
  • Custom reports can be a bit confusing to set up
  • Their inside sales team reaches out a bit too often
Autotask is much more well suited to a busy company. It's a little bit price-prohibitive if you only have a couple of employees or not many clients. This solution works for us, having 10 employees and about 200 clients. Any less than that, the pricing wouldn't be worthwhile.

Autotask fits very well with us. It's easy to keep on task. Any tickets that are getting old will shoot out alerts and scheduled tasks for our techs to finish up work on it. It's also very easy to run reports for clients on the services that they've used through us. We love Autotask.
Read Dan Gospe's full review
Zach Cooper profile photo
March 03, 2017

Autotask Review: "Easy to use, easy to manage, easy to teach!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask is used across the whole organization. It was used to keep track of client contact for sales efforts, also used by our purchasing and billing departments to charge clients for services, as well as a place for customers to submit requests for help, assistance, troubleshooting, etc. I can't think of anyone in the company that does not use AutoTask daily.
  • Has a great end user portal for clients to log in and submit/view their support tickets for updates and status.
  • Has great integration with third party add ons to provide additional functionality.
  • Is web based and super reliable. No maintenance or teams to manage the product are needed!
  • It would be great if more options for dashboard widgets existed.
Having used AutoTask in primarily a support role it was a really great way to keep track of support cases. They allow you to create multiple queues that can be specific to certain teams or task types. It is highly customizable. It offers a great portal for the end user to login and see the status of the cases. It's very easy to learn and teach other how to use.
Read Zach Cooper's full review
Michaela Good profile photo
March 03, 2017

User Review: "Autotask for the win!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used autotask for billing, project management of our web design department and our IT support staff. The nice part is everything is in one platform rather than multiple which makes life much easier. The support staff was always super kind if I needed help with something. The interface was also super easy to learn which made it easy to train new people.
  • Billing on work completed
  • Organization
  • Business contact management
  • Number of clicks to do something
  • Invoicing
  • Reporting
This is great for project management - sometimes support has issues because it's not designed for that as much. I would recommend this to anyone that has a project manager with multiple employees. For support help desks this becomes confusing when some things are billable and somethings aren't.
Read Michaela Good's full review
Lauren Burnett profile photo
February 27, 2017

User Review: "Autotask at work"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is being used across our company. We use it as a way to store all of our files in one place and it allows any team member to access any file. It also allows us to access things remotely, even if we are not at our own computer.
  • Allows remote access of files.
  • Shows you when things are syncing/have synced.
  • Allows collaboration between members.
  • Would like to be able to work on files simultaneously.
  • Web interface could be more intuitive. Have to click a lot of buttons to do simple tasks.
Great for having a main database of all files. Not appropriate for trying to work on something with someone else in real time. Would prefer a Google Docs like interface for some things.
Read Lauren Burnett's full review
Garry Adams profile photo
February 27, 2017

Review: "Professional services automation with Autotask"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is used by every member of our organization from the service department, to order procurement and inventory, to accounting and administration. It is the most integral piece of software there is for running our business. Autotask allows us to track and bill for technician time, parts, software licensing, and other costs. It tracks our service contracts and shows us profitability.
  • Time tracking
  • Ticket handling
  • Service contracts
  • Inventory
  • PTO accrual and tracking
  • Live reports
We use Autotask for everything. It may not be the ideal tool for some things (like inventory for example) but the fact that it is integrated into one system makes up for any of those shortcomings. Also, Autotask allows us to integrate outside systems to extend its capabilities into areas or products that would otherwise require manual tracking. For example, we have several Viking systems for products at resell that integrate with Autotask so we don't have to manually enter billing for them in our service contracts. The services are updated automatically by the API.
Read Garry Adams's full review
Kimberly West profile photo
February 27, 2017

"Autotask Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is being used organization-wide. We use it for time tracking, ticketing, a knowledge base, some CRM and billing. We do not use it for projects or quoting.
  • Ticketing/time entry is very efficient and easy.
  • Contracts/billing are easy to use as long as you are selling contracts that can conform to the options for contracts within Autotask.
  • Easy to keep up with employee timesheets and PTO.
  • I tried the Projects about 3 years ago, and I didn't like it at all. It was not as efficient as we wanted it to be, and it limited me as to how many lines per project I could import. We decided to use another product.
  • Workflow rules could use some further development with available criteria to edit/change, such as client name.
  • Quoting.
Well suited for a company who needs ability to time track, ticket track and document.
Read Kimberly West's full review
Daniel J. Lewis profile photo
March 22, 2016

Autotask Review: "Tasks Automatized!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company I worked with was an MSP, we used Autotask to assist with managing client requests. Whether it's from a support side, consulting, projects or general information utilizing Autotask is one of the better programs that I've used in the past.

I'm not going to outline other products unless asked, however one key feature which was most beneficial from a management perspective was the real time graphical interface to see who worked on what ticket and the last time it was addressed including how long it was open for. This was extremely helpful for reports come end of the month.
  • The graphical calculations on time spent on requests, how long they were open for, who worked on a ticket last.
  • Grouping by priority so you can determine easier what needs to be addressed sooner rather then later. This also helps if Account Management has conversations a technician is not aware of so they can prioritize efficiently.
  • The email updates that are sent out to the technicians so they are aware of upcoming or stale tickets.
  • The documentation or "Notes" needs work. I have been exporting other options for an internal database of passwords, IP's, etc however this information can be a hassle to obtain with the current layout.
  • Searching is a huge utility in this industry, I'd like to be able to open a company "notes" or page and search for a specific server, account number, IP, etc however this is lacking which in turn takes time to drill down the listed categories.
Autotask is a great program for overall time management for anyone in an organization. It helps to determine where most of your time is spent, also for accounting and account management when reviewing client contracts. It's also extremely beneficial to keep requests/tickets on your radar, it's very easy on a day to day basics to have things fall through the cracks. Once a request is generated it must be followed through and closed with specific details. This ensures who worked on it last, what was completed and client confirmation.
Read Daniel J. Lewis's full review
Isaac Beyda profile photo
March 25, 2016

"AutoTask Review @ Tabush Group"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask is used by almost our entire office. The technicians use it to create support tickets, store information of client networks, and to track the time worked. The executive part of the office uses AutoTask to bill our clients for the time the technician put in for working on the issue at hand.
  • The search feature is very convenient. I like how you can search by client, ticket, asset, contact name, etc.
  • I like the interface of AutoTask. It's clean and easy to navigate through for users to find what they need.
  • These are strengths of AutoTask because when a company looks for a product similar to this they want something that is easy for them to use, and not going to have to call support at any time.
  • When entering time, sometimes you won't be able to enter the time and have to refresh the page, when you do so you lose the time you had running.
  • When creating a ticket it always asks you "do you want to close this window?" Obviously I do if i just created the ticket. Please remove that.
  • Asset's should have more options and even an option to type in the Asset Type by yourself.
Read Isaac Beyda's full review
Mark Hitchcock profile photo
September 15, 2015

User Review: "Autotask is Autotastic!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Autotask for help desk ticket and billing purposes. We are a small managed services company in the Pittsburgh, PA area and needed a solution for our business. Autotask was great for automating our interaction with customers and helping us stay organized with all facets of our communication with them. Autotask may not be as aesthetically pleasing as some of the competition but it comes with some robust features.
  • Manages "support ticket to billing" aspects extremely well.
  • Simple interface that isn't too flashy for its own good.
  • Integrates extremely well with email systems.
  • Extremely robust feature set.
  • Isn't the most updated, design wise.
  • Limited revenue and cost reporting.
  • Limited security options.
Autotask is extremely well suited for a managed services model business. That being said, this software is also well suited for an internal IT department (larger than 15 or more) and other niche business that may benefit. The strongest assets of this software benefit - Project Management, IT Support, IT Billing, Reporting, and Support Organization.
Read Mark Hitchcock's full review
Arthur Warren profile photo
September 15, 2015

Review: "Autotask: The 'Remedy' for Bloated ITSM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I used Autotask, it was being used as the primary Service Desk ticketing system for a number of accounts (i.e. external customers) that my organization provided IT services for. It would track incidents and service requests in a cradle-to-grave manner and was used by both direct Service Desk employees as well as customer IT staff.
  • Low 'Clicks-per-Action'
  • Easy to Understand (without Training)
  • Advanced Search Capabilities
  • Easy Account Management
  • Conducive to Multi-Tasking
  • No Support for Multi-Tenancy (Multiple External Customers)
  • Very Basic User Portal
As a ticketing system for a Service Desk, Autotask does everything it does very well. The only glaring shortcoming is the lack of support for multi-tenancy while still granting those 'tenants' access to their data. For example: Customer 1 and Customer 2 are supported out of the same Autotask instance. If they were granted access to see their own tickets, they would also see each other's tickets. Where Autotask truly excels is the user (meaning Service Desk Agent or other staff) experience.
Read Arthur Warren's full review
No photo available
April 04, 2016

Autotask Review: "Well designed work management system for a variety of users."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask across our entire organization, as well as require our clients to use Autotask to submit their work requests. This work management tool provides us a way to link our active contracts and employee time to the work requests to ensure we get paid for the work we do.
  • Simple web based interface for a variety of users, which makes it easier for our clients to use.
  • Variety of canned reporting.
  • Service Desk users have many options for organizing and documenting their workload.
  • Live reports are difficult to create and use.
  • Creating new projects and adding resources is time consuming, even with templates.
  • Would like to see one URL for time sheets and the client access portal.
Autotask is a great fit for IT and business services industries. Implementation was fairly painless thanks to a good project management assistant at Autotask.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 25, 2016

Autotask Review: "AT use by a everyday Help Desk Engineer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask [AT] is being used by all employees of the company. I personally create the tabs needed for different departments or specific to a position. The flexibility to create widgets needed is great, though I feel more options should be made available. The new AT and dashboards have been great for productivity and to assist me with the QA portion of my responsibilities.
  • Increases productivity and ticket management by help desk engineers
  • It greatly helps with the QA portion of my job due to new dashboards and ability to create widgets
  • Timesheets are better manageable
  • Different layouts for widgets
  • Widget refresh after "max" data has been reached - set as "last 30 days" or more
  • More SLA options
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 22, 2016

Autotask: "Review from an Engineer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a ticketing system and is plugged into alerting systems to resolve issues. We use this to help manage escalation processes between departments as well as to manage projects within the organization. It also works for us to manage time and bill clients based on these tickets and tasks.
  • Easily create workflow
  • Help create tracking for tickets and tasks to monitor performance
  • Allows you to manage your time appropriately
  • Site is inconsistently slow
  • At times cannot place time entries
  • Outage response time when issues arise isn't always the greatest
I think Autotask is very well suited for the IT services industry. It allows you to put all of your resources together in the same place. It makes it simpler if all the departments can communicate over the same platform. It allows for better auditing of the overall service your company can provide.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (14)
9.5
Expert directory (11)
7.4
Service restoration (10)
7.0
Self-service tools (11)
7.5
Subscription-based notifications (10)
9.2
ITSM collaboration and documentation (11)
8.9
ITSM reports and dashboards (12)
9.4
Configuration mangement (10)
8.5
Asset management dashboard (8)
8.1
Policy and contract enforcement (7)
9.8
Change requests repository (11)
9.7
Change calendar (8)
9.3
Service-level management (13)
9.1

About Autotask

Autotask makes the business of delivering IT easier, more efficient and gives you instant access to the analytics you need to take your operation to the next level.

Streamlining service delivery workflows for 9,000+ IT solution providers worldwide.

Autotask Integrations

Autotask Competitors

Autotask Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No