Auvik

Auvik

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.0 out of 100
Top Rated
Auvik

Overview

Recent Reviews

Network Mapping Made Simple

10 out of 10
February 25, 2022
Auvik allows us to monitor all of our client networks from a single platform. Before Auvik we had to log into multiple portals to view …
Continue reading

Good Product

8 out of 10
February 22, 2022
We install it on our MSP clients to monitor and map their network. I work in the team that sets up the devices and Auvik naming networks …
Continue reading

A Must Have for an MSP Toolbelt

9 out of 10
February 21, 2022
Auvik saves time during the initial onboarding of a client by helping to see network issues that would be tedious to find manually. The …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022

Popular Features

View all 10 features

Network monitoring (82)

8.3
83%

Automated network device discovery (82)

8.1
81%

Network mapping (80)

8.0
80%

Alerts (81)

7.9
79%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Auvik, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Auvik?

Auvik's cloud-based network management software gives users insight into the networks they manage, and automates complex and time-consuming network tasks. Real-time network mapping and inventory mean users know what's where, even as users move. Automated config backup and restore on network devices…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

7 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is SolarWinds NPM?

SolarWinds NPM is a monitoring and performance management platform. It provides performance troubleshooting support, auto network discovery, customizable thresholds, and can be rapidly deployed.

N/A
Unavailable

What is LogicMonitor?

LogicMonitor provides an agentless SaaS-based monitoring platform. LogicMonitor provides prebuilt integrations and an open API, and is designed to provide monitoring across networks, servers, applications, websites, and containers, including insights and reporting capabilities.

Features Scorecard

Network Performance Monitoring

7.6
76%

Product Details

What is Auvik?

Auvik's cloud-based network management software gives users insight into the networks they manage, and automates complex and time-consuming network tasks. Real-time network mapping and inventory mean users know what's where, even as users move. Automated config backup and restore on network devices means the user can mitigate network risk with no manual effort. And Auvik TrafficInsights shows who’s on the network, which apps they’re using, and where their traffic is going.

Auvik Features

  • Supported: Network Visibility & IT Asset Management - Automate network visibility and IT asset management
  • Supported: Network Performance Monitoring & Troubleshooting - Simplify network performance monitoring & troubleshooting
  • Supported: Network Configuration Backup Software - Automate configuration backup & recovery
  • Supported: Network Traffic Analysis - Intelligently analyze network traffic (TrafficInsights)
  • Supported: Network Navigation - Navigate the network with ease
  • Supported: Remote Network Management Software - Access the network from anywhere
  • Supported: Distributed Site Management - Efficiently manage distributed sites
  • Supported: Privacy & Security - Put privacy & security first
  • Supported: APIs & Webhooks - Create powerful workflows with Auvik APIs

Auvik Screenshots

Quickly see the big network picture, narrow down possible devices to investigate, and zoom in to get the info you need. Auvik pulls data from sources like CDP, LLDP, and forwarding tables to meticulously model the Layer 1 network diagram. Layers 2 and 3 are built from ARP tables, IP assignments, and VLAN associations to show you exactly what’s on the network, where it is, and how it’s connected.Auvik’s automated inventory uses network protocols to detect and capture full details for every device on the network including make and model, serial number, IP address, and the physical switchport the device is connected to. If you know which device you’re looking for but don’t know where it’s located, you can easily find the device and every other device it’s connected to.Auvik pulls lifecycle data from supported  devices to show you whether they’re on current or expired support contracts, whether there are more up-to-date software versions available, if devices are eligible to receive critical security updates, and if devices are still available for purchase.As soon as it’s deployed, Auvik begins monitoring the network with over 50 pre-configured alerts tuned to industry best practices and ranging from informational to emergency. And don’t worry, you can tweak pre-configured alerts, add your own, and choose how often you receive notifications for each one.Auvik TrafficInsights leverages machine learning and traffic classification to show you which applications—like Dropbox, Netflix, or Slack—or protocols are using up the bulk of the network’s bandwidth so you can confidently make the case for a network upgrade or expansion.Auvik centralizes syslog for all of your network devices. You can view the logs directly from the device dashboard, giving you more context so you can quickly troubleshoot network issues.When a network device dies or fat fingers make a mistake changing a device configuration, you won’t have to figure out what went wrong while your users fume without service. Simply hit Auvik’s configuration restore button to instantly bring things back to the way they were. Alternatively, export the config and apply it to a new device.Take your pick between Auvik’s three remote management features to remotely connect to a device in Auvik’s inventory—no truck rolls required.

Auvik Videos

Find out in 30 seconds how Auvik simplifies network management
Take 7 minutes to see Auvik in action and find out how you can start monitoring your network in under an hour

Auvik Integrations

Auvik Competitors

Auvik Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Auvik's best feature?

Reviewers rate Network monitoring highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses Auvik?

The most common users of Auvik are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 95)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Auvik is used to document and support multiple networks throughout our business. It's still under construction but becoming more valuable by the day. Will be used to diagnose errors while monitoring traffic at the sites. We use a shared collector and in some instances, we've found more information can be gathered by deploying a collector onsite. Multiple collectors monitor traffic and all nodes on multiple networks to increase performance and improve troubleshooting.
  • Visual documentation of network mapping
  • Easy to add new sites/networks
  • Clearly defined network architecture which aids troubleshooting
  • Customizable alerts which can be tailored to our sites for urgency
  • Geolocation map which can easily show us where traffic is accessing our networks
  • Non-standard industrial equipment shows up as generic devices on the network
  • RDP in remote management would be handy
  • Additional notes section for networks would be handy
Daily monitoring of networks is helped greatly by Auvik. Set up the alerts so that they are tailored to exactly what your business-critical devices report. Alerting to monitor traffic for bottlenecks and find the sources to increase efficiency on the networks. Documentation and training via Auvik are exceptional. The shared collector is not the best for our networks where we have locked down firewall rules. In these instances, I've found it easier to deploy a collector to the site and create rules to allow it access.
Timothy Babb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Taking over a new environment, Auvik has helped find/diagnose network layouts and issues. I have also been able to find many issues revolving around some older devices in the network. This provided us a use case for upgrades and a clear picture of what is truly going on in our network.
  • Network Layout
  • SNMP Alerts
  • Traffic Insights
  • Services for Domain Environments
  • AD Integration
  • Mobile App
I have found that using Auvik to get details of what is in the network environment was the best and most useful part of starting the service. It is handy to have alerts for outages and SNMP devices as well.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The business problem that most of our companies face is the lack of visibility on the infrastructure operations. Auvik does the job by providing granular data and generating alerts, whenever there is an issue. The scope of my use case is firewalls, routers, and switches from the top to end-users.
  • Granular alerts on how many packets are processed in a switchport
  • Direct remote access to devices
  • Prompt alerts sent through email
  • Ticketing integration (ConnectWise)
  • An option to use a different account temporarily for remote access to managed devices
  • Redundant/load balancing for Auvik collectors
Auvik is well suited for any type of network monitoring or inventory collection, where it gives you all of the information that you need, and you get alerted on time to further troubleshoot. This is a perfect solution for managed service providers, where you can add more than one company and manage all of your customers in a single pane of glass.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Auvik to monitor internal network devices and to monitor client networks as part of a managed service offering.
  • 3rd party integration.
  • Sets up very quickly.
  • Intuitive interface.
  • Slow to add new device functionality. I have been working for weeks with support to get extreme switches working.
Auvik is quick to set up and easy to operate so fits very well with small teams that need to be efficient.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are an MSP we use Auvik internally as well as deployed to our clients. It is great for centrally managing network equipment. It also has a great notification system for down alerts. We use this product primarily for network monitoring and maintenance. The logical map helps see how everything is connected to the network.
  • Network Discovery
  • Terminal connections
  • configuration backups
  • the Auvik portal running in a large environment is very slow. I would like to see a way to make it load faster
we use Auvik to easily manage network equipment for our client's remote sites across the country. Network monitoring and notifications are very handy for knowing when the client is having problems before they impact the client. Automatic configuration backup for network equipment is also saved for our clients when things go wrong.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Auvik as a single place to monitor network performance and backup network device configurations.
  • Single interface for network monitoring
  • Discovery of devices
  • Ease of use and navigation
  • Having a more clear navigation banner showing where you are
  • Single sign on integration walk through
  • Providing automated suggestions based on what hardware is found
Auvik provides streamlined alerting out of the box that is clear and easy to read without providing too much information that needs to be parsed down. This tool also helps to consolidate all configuration backs up in one place while providing administrators direct access to terminals to make changes on the fly.
Tim Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Auvik to support other ISPs and networks. Auvik really allows us to look at traffic usage and patterns with their traffic insights. We currently have our own internal network on Auvik as well as individual supported networks. Our affiliates really appreciate the ability to "see" the traffic patterns in their networks.
  • traffic insights
  • network discovery
  • network security
  • Install and launch instructions, especially regarding shared collectors can be difficult to follow.
  • The branded colors of gray and black lines can be hard to understand and things with a higher contrast like green for good connections might be beneficial.
  • Persistent filters on the traffic insights dashboard would be useful.
We find Auvik is well suited for smaller networks. Larger networks tend to get cluttered in the dashboard. You can zoom in but the 64,000 foot view can look overwhelming. The ability to filer network segments was eyeopening in the presentation and will be something we will likely start following up on.
David Diaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CHR Creative is an MSP and thus we use Auvik for network discovery and audits on customer networks. Auvik is also used to help assess CIS 18 controls on those customer networks.
  • Automates network device discovery
  • Automates subnet discovery
  • Automated alerting of performance issues and critical alerts for network appliances
  • Integrates well with Datto products (Autotask PSA, Datto Networking)
  • Integrates well with IT Glue
  • Graphical exports of the network map - something for executive review of assets
  • A subset of KB articles or sites dedicated to displaying an updated list of supported network equipment
Auvik is a great network discovery tool (and long-term network management and auditing tool) for MSPs to use with their customer networks. Auvik allows for a fast and accurate assessment of how many devices are on a network and with a little effort a greater understanding of how their network operates.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Auvik allows us to monitor all of our client networks from a single platform. Before Auvik we had to log into multiple portals to view network events and the alerting was all over the place. However, after installing Auvik we have unified alerting to the proper techs and full visibility into network issues.
  • Network Mapping
  • Alerting
  • Insight into Network Hardware
  • Portal interface could use a facelift and more intuitive design.
We have had the best success using Auvik to map out new customer environments. Oftentimes, we are the first true IT company to service our nonprofit clients, so there is no documentation or proper network configurations. Using Auvik collectors has significantly cut down on manual network discovery processes. The collectors discover subnets, devices, and configurations - often times discovering connected devices the customer wasn't even aware of.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an MSP we use this product to monitor our customer's network infrastructure.
  • initial scans
  • inventory details
  • provides flexibility
  • drawing respresentation
  • support more vendors products
  • discover more connection detail and handle over-ruling data sources
Good at integrating with ticketing systems. Good at initial scans and shooting using NETFLOW
February 22, 2022

Good Product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We install it on our MSP clients to monitor and map their network. I work in the team that sets up the devices and Auvik naming networks and setting up SNMP and standardizing logins.
  • Maps the network
  • Identifies subnets
  • Monitors devices
  • Clearer diagram. More like Meraki that seems pretty good.
  • Being able to go back to a list of search once you have clicked on something.
I like that I have access to all of my clients together. I would recommend another MSP. I would not to a small shop with only Meraki.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mostly we use Auvik for monitoring, audit, backup and reporting to our other systems.
We deploy them on client environments to detect issues, bottlenecks and upgrade paths.

- Integrate Auvik reporting to our CRM and service desk to allow near instant acknowledgement from the team when critical equipment have issues.
- Deploy to new environment to understand the scope of the network so we can compare what the client tells us and what we can see.
- Config backups and monitoring
- Bandwidth monitoring
  • Visualization of the network
  • Great selection of config options
  • Flexible implementations
  • Great documentation and support
  • Performance of the visualization is a bit slow to show.
  • Some of the UI can be counter intuitive.
  • No app on IOS or Android (web performance are not great even on the latest ipad).
  • Takes a fair bit of time to set up right.
Great for Monitoring, planning and maintaining an environment. It does take a fair bit of time to set up and can be very daunting for less experienced Engineers to implement or even challenging for a small internal IT to implement. But if you have an experienced L2 this tool can be modified based on what you want to achieve.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Auvik saves time during the initial onboarding of a client by helping to see network issues that would be tedious to find manually. The automatically generated map saves time while troubleshooting while also raising alerts in the PSA and highlighting issues before they are known. After the setup process, the product is mostly set and forgotten and can be left to monitor the network for any issues that arise or change, while also useful to manage switches/routers with config backups and remote management.
  • Automated alerts and monitoring
  • Network Map which makes it easier to display outages/faults
  • Remote management with terminal
  • Backup of switch/router configs
  • Setup process is tedious at times but usually only needs to be done once
  • Setting up correct credentials on devices can be frustrating with the UI and the agent waiting to retry if they were incorrect
Auvik is well suited for larger sites with complicated networks, it makes it easy to see VLANs and separate networks while also highlighting VPNs to other sites and interlinks between networks. It's also useful for SMB networks however on smaller networks (especially with ISP routers) you may not be able to get much or any detail from a network.
The program can be a bit unwieldy at times, however the majority of information is displayed in a readable and friendly way. The maps and popup information box from the bottom can be harder to use on a smaller screen but on a 1080p+ display tends to work fine.
Auvik has worked on sites with 15+ offices connected with VPN's and we have not encountered any issues with the monitoring.

On larger sites the map can be a bit cumbersome to read however it can be cleaned up easily with device filters.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I really like being able to have network maps, making it easier to push out new network changes such as adding new VLANs, diagnosing network issues, etc. It helps me to isolate a problematic device and work out physically where it's connected, what speed it's running at etc.
  • Network maps
  • Device info
  • VLAN info
  • Moving the network map is sluggish
  • Better zoom function
  • More filtering options (i.e filter per VLAN)
Adding new switches into the network, working out the path from the firewall to switch so I know that the uplinks have the correct VLANs throughout the network. It makes it easy to diagnose network faults as I can pinpoint issues on the map.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for an MSP and we rely pretty heavily on Auvik. Once we get a new client, we deploy Auvik and set it up to map out the network and for alert monitoring. This has helped us with certain issues that occurred on VM hosts that we did not know were happening in some instances. Auvik also helps us find devices on the network, builds a great network topology map, and helps us monitor their networks alongside our stack.
  • Network Topology
  • Alerting
  • ease of use
  • can be somewhat a pain to setup
We were notified drives were failing on a host and this let us act quickly before potential catastrophic issues. The noise level from alerts can be a little much, but these can be adjusted to your liking.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Auvik makes our daily networking tasks easier than ever! With features like automatic configuration backup, alert management, asset management and performance monitoring we couldn't be happier.
  • IT Asset Management
  • Performance Monitoring
  • Configuration Backup
  • Alert Management
  • The user interface is sometimes unintuitive
Auvik is a great tool to use when you need to get a fast and accurate picture of how a network is configured.
February 17, 2022

positive

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
we use it to actively monitor all network items, remote into web GUI-enabled devices, and have a literal view of the entire network. the business problem that Auvik addresses are the ability to view the entire network at a glance, having all the items interactive, and being able to show the client all of these items is a big part of having a great, open relationship with our clients.
  • The interactive SNMP map that is automatically made
  • The support through live chat is quick and to the point
  • The fact that you can proxy in to all web GUI's is incredibly handy.
  • I can't think of any areas needing improving.
it is well suited when an environment has both a higher-end firewall as well as an onsite server. all other items like a managed switch, AP's, etc. are just gravy on top when you can automatically backup said devices. it is less appropriate on simple networks that have no SNMP monitoring or just a basic router and only workstations - no added benefits really.
February 17, 2022

Auvik is da best!

Robert Pope | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Auvik to monitor network traffic throughout our district. Before Auvik, we were made aware of outages by users when they had no connectivity. Now with Auvik, we can get in front of issues and give our users a better experience. This has been a game-changer in our eyes!
  • The interface is excellent.
  • Technical support is always helpful.
  • Training portal is a great help.
  • Purchasing the product could be easier.
  • More integration with platforms such as Slack.
  • More exposure at conferences and showcases.
One of the scenarios we find very helpful is downtime monitoring on our network. If we are to have a power outage, Auvik notifies us right away. Without Auvik we would have to wait for users to let us know that they are having issues. This definitely puts us behind the eight ball to fix the issues we are having. Or in this case to monitor equipment coming back online.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Auvik to monitor our client's infrastructure. With its robust notification system, it lets us filter and alert for issues that need to be addressed and issues that can wait. Its configuration backup system is grate takes the worry out of it all. With configuring different as well it makes auditing easy.
  • Notifications.
  • Configuration backup
  • Support Docs.
  • Device management interface.
  • Interface can be clunky sometimes.
  • Addresses for the map sometimes don't geo locate to the right place.
MSP for customer network monitoring large enterprises.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Auvik as our Network monitoring solution. We have it set up to generate Alerts based on what we find important. It addresses items that may have been missed by doing manual monitoring in the past.
  • Alerting
  • Network Mapping
  • Traffic Insights
  • We find Cisco FTD monitoring/Alerting could use some work.
  • Make OID alerting a little smoother to setup.
Auvik has done great as an NMS for our company, it has filled a huge gap in Alerting for our overall network at multiple offices.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Auvik provides a wonderful cloud-based NMS, giving us an always-on, and always accessible portal to keep an eye on our network infrastructure and status. With Auvik's many integrations, we are able to get timely alerts and notifications to our various tools. Auvik has filled a real gap in our network monitoring and management.
  • Network Topology Mapping
  • automatic network scanning
  • device classification
  • from my perspective, nothing.
Auvik does a fantastic job at providing a cloud-based, always-on NMS system. With the ability to break out a variety of sites, the automated network mapping, scanning of subnets, and credential mappings, setup is a breeze and requires very little 'care and feeding'.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Auvik so we get a 3D live view of a client network. It gives us the visibility we need to be able to resolve issues that may occur. It makes our jobs 10x easier with the access and control Auvik provides.
  • Network Access
  • Network Management
  • Detailed view of a system
  • Switch access may sometimes take too long
Network switch issues. We had a switch that went offline and we needed some visibility on the network. Auvik provided this and we were able to resolve the issue at hand in a timely manner.
February 15, 2022

Auvik Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Auvik keeps us abreast of the networks we manage. We get stats on firewalls, wan connections, ESXi hosts, switches, and other connectivity. Notifications on a WAN connection going down lets us investigate with the ISP right away on outages. High utilization of switches and ports lets us know if a workstation or server is going haywire.
  • WAN connection monitoring
  • Mapping networks
  • Switch utilization
  • ESXi host monitoring
  • SNMP connectivity with Fortinet Access Points
  • Showing port connectivity from switch to switch
  • Drawing the map of networks
Auvik is great to pull in additional information to pack into IT Glue. Getting all of that connectivity information with MAC addresses, workstations, IoT devices, and other things that don't always show up in Active Directory is great. Want to see rogue access points? They will show up as well as when first connected.
February 15, 2022

Auvik

Cleatus Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Auvik has really helped us with onboarding new customers, as well as supporting our existing customer base. It has been a big time-saver for us to troubleshoot potential network issues. We have found rogue equipment and equipment that was faulty, both of which cause headaches for managing client's networks.
  • Keep track of devices on the network
  • Troubleshoot poor network performance
  • Find rogue equipment
  • It could do a better job of automatically understanding what type of device it has discovered.
It works very well for managing mid to large networks.
February 15, 2022

Hop on the Auvik Wagon

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Auvik as a logical and visual tool for networks, both familiar and new. It has a granular alerting system that notifies us through integrations with our other tools, giving a detailed perspective from inside the network. It can help discover those devices hidden behind closed doors/walls/ceilings and provides a level of mapping unmatched by other tools.
  • Support response
  • Documentation of product
  • Ease of use
  • Permissions issues within the product and with integrations
  • Map view in browser can be tough to read depending on your monitor/resolution
  • Some terminology, such as in alert configurations, is not 100% clear
MSPs will find value in monitoring and discovering their clients. A single customer would find the same value if they cared to monitor themselves. The product is very scalable based on your level of management. I do imagine a monstrous environment, at some point, would be too gaudy to make sense for this application, but I've not yet reached that limit.