Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
397 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 195)

Jere Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

If your e-commerce is growing, it helps to know what your owing! Avalara does it all.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
We take advantage of letting Avalara file the returns and we use CertCapture to store certificates and provide the accurate exemption to our transactions. Avalara does all of our SST registrations while we do most of the non-SST registrations. All of this helps to ensure we are doing these tasks correctly and it reduces our work load.
Read Jere Allen's full review
Marcus Warolin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Avalara - a top tier sales tax automation software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
We have greatly benefited from Avalara Returns. We have a small office and having to prepare returns for all the states we have nexus in would require a significant amount of time. For CertCapture, we were able to get in compliance with our resale certificate management practices and with the tools to let us know and automate requests to customers, we are able to stay in compliance.
Read Marcus Warolin's full review
Eric Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
Since we couldn't get the software to work, we were never able to file a return and were fined by 4 states for multiple months. Super great!
Read Eric Bernstein's full review
Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • CertCapture
  • Professional Services (nexus studies, registrations, backfiling, etc.)
Using Avalara to warn us about jurisdictions we were about to qualify for has been very helpful. Once we qualify we use their registration partner to get up and running in the state and we use CertCapture to manage certificates. All of these tools have worked out very well for us. No complaints at all and I know from experience the time sink that registering your business can be in just one state let alone the two dozen or so that we have had to register in.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Rebecca Fortman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Tax compliance made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • Professional Services (nexus studies, registrations, backfiling, etc.)
Avalara files all of our state tax returns, this process is simple and CORRECT! We love Avalara Returns since the beginning and are thrilled we made the change.
We also had Avalara do a nexus study for us, and help us file VDA's on a couple states in addition to helping us register in all the rest of the states we had Nexus in.
Read Rebecca Fortman, MBA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
In the beginning of our implementation, we used Avalara Returns and Cert Capture. We had some difficulty using Cert Capture because there was a delay of 1-2 days between when you uploaded the exemption cert to when the customer was marked as exempt. We only had about 30 customers who were exempt, so we decided to manage them manually and keep their certs in our network drive. We used Avalara Returns until our parent company took over our tax returns, and then they handled the filing of the returns, so we no longer used that part of Avalara.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Good product, so-so service

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Professional Services (nexus studies, registrations, backfiling, etc.)
We don't use any additional services. CertCapture was too expensive. I don't trust the expertise at Avalara for Returns and Professional Services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Professional Services (nexus studies, registrations, backfiling, etc.)
We do not use these features.
Read this authenticated review
Kathleen Gage | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

The good, the bad and . . .

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
Yes, helped me reduce my returns filing calculation time and improved accuracy of returns and payments. CertCapture has eased the availability of requesting certificates and finding expired certificates.
Read Kathleen Gage's full review
Kevin Lannan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
  • Professional Services (nexus studies, registrations, backfiling, etc.)
Have used all of the above at points in time. With the current companies, we are in the midst of performing Nexus Studies and Exposure Analyses for both companies. Have also used CertCapture and Returns processing at past companies and will use with the 2 companies I am the CFO for now.
Read Kevin Lannan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Cloud-based tax calculation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

The Returns tool has allowed us to perform a more approximate tax calculation, which allows you to adjust the company's treasury.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

We are currently using return filing with Avalara. The data is pulled after the first of the month and then compiled for filing to the appropriate authorities. Currently we are is almost all states which is labor intensive and not feasible to have staff prepare and file these returns.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (115)
8.3
Cross-border Taxes (24)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.1
Energy and Fuel Taxes (15)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (65)
8.1
3rd-Party Software Integrations (82)
7.5
Tax Data Reporting (95)
7.5
Compliance Administration Management (69)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (78)
7.7
Tax Document Management (74)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.2

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Vertex Cloud, TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web