Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
531 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 250)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 13, 2021
Bruce Griffith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • CertCapture
We do business with churches and other religious entities that, in most states, are tax exempt. In other states some products sold to churches and other religious organizations are tax exempt and others are not. We use CertCapture to help us keep track of these types of transactions. We also use Avalara's managed returns and filing. It makes it so much easier if they file our returns for us. All we need to do is reconcile the total return amounts to our records by the 10th of every month.
Read Bruce Griffith's full review
July 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
The returns module is great and provides us a way to file electronically directly to the state when available. Being able to look back at prior periods to resolve an issue is also a great tool.
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
Having professionals calculate the correct amount of sales tax for each of the 20+ states we pay into is a load off my desk! I couldn't ask for better accuracy than the 99.99% our company has received in the past 10-12 years.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Eric Kimmerling, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
As mentioned before, I would need multiple staff to handle all the return filings that Avalara does on our behalf. I would never consider using AvaTax with out Avalara returns.
Read Eric Kimmerling, CPA's full review
December 12, 2020
Sandi zeko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
We use tax filing service and are very happy with that. Very helpful with all the states we have to file for.
Read Sandi zeko's full review
November 23, 2020
Carol Beaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
By using Avalara Returns, this process has saved a lot of time.
Read Carol Beaver's full review
November 18, 2020
Susan Crone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
Definitely have benefitted from the Returns service. Cert Capture is still a work in progress on our part.
Read Susan Crone's full review
November 17, 2020
Julian Ospina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
  • Professional Services (nexus studies, registrations, backfiling, etc.)
Our company used the other services from Acumatica depending on the situation and the operation of our business. We are been benefited from the Avalara returns since we have to fill returns in more than 10 states. As well, the CertCapture helps us to check the customers, and the professional services help with registrations and nexus studies.
Read Julian Ospina's full review
November 17, 2020
Dianne Spillner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
I was not familiar with doing returns for some of the states we have nexus in. Since signing up with Avalara, I feel more confident about registering in other states since I know Avalara will do the returns for us.
Read Dianne Spillner's full review
November 17, 2020
Jonna Boeckholt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
A benefit of time savings and the need to have a tax expert on staff.
Read Jonna Boeckholt's full review
November 17, 2020
Kaysha Menge, MAFM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
Yes, we have benefited.

Looking into additional services such as Business License registrations and maintenance and VDA process.
Read Kaysha Menge, MAFM's full review
November 17, 2020
Alyssa Zarling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
Returns are very easy and go super quickly when getting them filed and done. Well worth it. CertCapture makes keeping our customers' exemptions organized and filed all in one place easy.
Read Alyssa Zarling's full review
November 17, 2020
Amanda Rompola | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
Our customer base is primarily tax-exempt so these are super important and affect the customer experience if we don't do it right.
Read Amanda Rompola's full review
November 12, 2020
Jennifer Heng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
Definitely benefited from Ava Tax services with all returns taken care of.
Read Jennifer Heng's full review
November 12, 2020
Toni Fuller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • Avalara Returns
  • CertCapture
Saves time and errors sometimes encountered in manual calculations.
Read Toni Fuller's full review
November 12, 2020
Margaret Whitted | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Additional Capabilities

  • CertCapture
We don't use any of those capabilities, therefore we have not benefited from them. We do our own returns and do not upload the exemption certificates. We also do not have any need of their Professional Services at this time.
Read Margaret Whitted's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (185)
9.2
Cross-border Taxes (37)
8.8
VAT / GST Taxes (31)
7.7
Energy and Fuel Taxes (17)
8.1
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (99)
8.8
3rd-Party Software Integrations (136)
8.1
Tax Data Reporting (155)
8.6
Compliance Administration Management (114)
8.5
Tax Exemption Processing (125)
8.5
Tax Document Management (118)
8.8
Complex Tax Scenario Management (80)
8.0

What is Avalara?

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features

Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes

Tax Reporting & Compliance Features

Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Taxes happen -- everywhere and every day. Good thing Avalara technology makes sure you pay the right amount of tax, every time. Isn't it time we did the same for your business?

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

Shift4Shop (formerly 3dcart), BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite ERP, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Avalara Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Avalara?

Avalara AvaTax connects to the software that businesses already have and delivers sales tax decisions based on precise geo-location in more than 12,000 taxing jurisdictions in the U.S.

What is Avalara's best feature?

Reviewers rate Sales and Use Taxes highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses Avalara?

The most common users of Avalara are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.