Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
397 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 223)

Jere Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

If your e-commerce is growing, it helps to know what your owing! Avalara does it all.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We went from assessing and filing in 3 states to over 20 and did not need to hire additional staff.
  • We significantly reduced the amount of work needed by our accounting firm to file monthly returns.
  • Human error has been reduced to less than 5%.
  • Much of the process is automated so it eliminates hours and hours of manual processes and entries.
Read Jere Allen's full review
Eric Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer

Return on Investment

  • We have lost thousands of dollars in the installation of the program.
  • We have been penalized for 4 months of unfiled taxes in 4 states.
  • We have spent hundreds of employee hours working on the problems.
  • We had to spend thousands more to remove the product and install a new one.
Read Eric Bernstein's full review
Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are a sole location manufacturer in WA state that sells to all 50 states and around the world. Prior to the Supreme Court decision allowing South Dakota to force out of state sellers to collect and remit sales tax we had to file in just our home state. Now we file in 24 states and if we did not have AvaTax and Cert Capture we would have had to hire an army to do the work. With AvaTax and Cert Capture, we have not had to add any employees to do the record-keeping and filing. It is all being done by existing personnel. That may change as more and more states get on board but even then we will engage Avalara to do the filings as well and that will take care of that problem.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Chris Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

Avalara! The right system for convenience and to ease the burden of filing your taxes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has freed up time that was spent printing reports from our accounting system and calculating amounts that needed to be combined.
  • With the use of the zip code as the point of benefit, it is more accurate in the calculation of multi state taxes and special jurisdictions.
Read Chris Smith's full review
Brent Yost | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

No more manual databases!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Not having to manually manage a sales tax database has saved a large amount of time and effort. I also have complete confidence that Avatax is calculating the sales tax rates correctly 100% of the time.
Read Brent Yost's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • In avoiding sales tax audits by states, we have saved a huge amount of staff time. Just one state sales tax audit used probably 200 hours of staff time, plus cost us thousands in consulting and legal fees.
  • If we had to manually calculate sales tax on invoices, we would probably have to add an additional staff person in accounting, since we generate over 600 invoices per month.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Good product, so-so service

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive because we don't have to spend a lot of time maintaining tax tables for every tax jurisdiction.
  • Negative because we still rely on outside accounting firm to process returns and for consulting. We don't trust the expertise at Avalara based on interactions in the past.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

AvaTax for Calculating only

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive -- We are collecting accurate tax with reasonable confidence.
  • Reporting is lacking due to our lack of use of Avalara to file returns.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Less time spent figuring taxes
  • More compliant returns
  • Less staff required to keep up with changes
Read this authenticated review
Kathleen Gage | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

The good, the bad and . . .

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I feel that I spend the same amount of time & energy on sales tax, but now my time is more on reconciling than getting data for returns filing.
  • I do believe that with time and learning this will improve, and also when we move forward with returns filing.
Read Kathleen Gage's full review
Marc Petrine | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

I use Avalara and I'm not sure why everyone doesn't!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has been very positive in that it has allowed us to be compliant in cases where we may not have otherwise had the resources.
  • The negative impact has been that some customers will shop elsewhere if other vendors do not charge tax.
  • The value of Avalara is immediate, as we don't have to hire people to do taxes.
Read Marc Petrine's full review
Lisa Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Avalara's pros & cons for storing & collecting tax certs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I have not been involved in a Tax Audit yet since we started using Avalara. It is hard to know the ROI based on that. Nor do I file the Tax Returns.
  • I suppose it is a positive impact on ROI versus not having a software system in place at all to track Tax Certs.
Read Lisa Burns's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (115)
8.3
Cross-border Taxes (24)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.1
Energy and Fuel Taxes (15)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (65)
8.1
3rd-Party Software Integrations (82)
7.5
Tax Data Reporting (95)
7.5
Compliance Administration Management (69)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (78)
7.7
Tax Document Management (74)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.2

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Vertex Cloud, TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web