Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
397 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 227)

Jere Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

If your e-commerce is growing, it helps to know what your owing! Avalara does it all.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize Avalara as a key tool within our online e-commerce platform. As a national distributor of lab products and supplies, we have met the economic Nexus thresholds in a majority of states. AvaTax is a vital part of our assessment and remittance process, starting with the shopping experience of our customer, all the way to managing sales tax exemptions, closing out invoices and filing returns.
Read Jere Allen's full review
Marcus Warolin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Avalara - a top tier sales tax automation software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are an ecommerce company and we have integrated Avalara Avatax into 2 of our websites. We are also an Amazon FBA seller and we load all Amazon sales into Avalara in order make use of the Avalara tax filing service. Being e commerce, we have nexus accross the US and I have no doubt that we would not be able to keep up with sales tax requirements without Avalara.
Read Marcus Warolin's full review
Eric Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We purchased a license to Avalara to handle our sales tax collection and file our returns. We use it for all of our sales. It's suppose to be a seamless integration with Magento 2.
Read Eric Bernstein's full review
Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Avalara AvaTax to calculate and provide reporting for sales tax which is integrated with our ERP system and more recently implemented Cert Capture to maintain certificates for our customers in the states we sell into that have implemented economic nexus rules to force companies to collect and remit sales tax on sales into their states. We used the partner Avalara for getting licensed in all those new states and we have considered having Avalara file the returns also but have been doing them in-house for now.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Kia1204! Treen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

Avalara is easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is used through out our organization via our ERP system. We came to the use of Avalara because the Wayfair vs SD act. Our ERP system was not able to encompass the change in capturing and reporting.
Read Kia1204! Treen's full review
Chris Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

Avalara! The right system for convenience and to ease the burden of filing your taxes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Avalara for calculating sales tax in the states we have Nexus in. We also use the exemption module within the software to store our customers' exemption certificates and keep track of any renewals. Recently we signed up to have Avalara start filing our sales tax and remit payments on our behalf.
Read Chris Smith's full review
Brent Yost | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

No more manual databases!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Avalara Avatax through our customer billing process in Sage 300. Prior to Avatax, we manually managed a sales tax rate database consisting of hundreds of tax rates. This required an enormous amount of effort.
Read Brent Yost's full review
Braxton Todd | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

A Good Product For Certain Industries

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Avalara in respect to our state sales and use tax compliance. We are a multi-state construction company and have different divisions offering a variety of services nationwide. Because we have nexus in a large number of states, researching all of the tax answers ourselves is not be feasible. Plus, tax rates changed dramatically across tax jurisdictions. We used Avalara to help us understand the complexities of sales and use tax.
Read Braxton Todd's full review
Rebecca Fortman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Tax compliance made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

TydenBrooks utilizes Avalara for our tax calculations and tax return preparations. Avalara is linked directly with our Epicor ERP software. AP and AR both utilize the software for managing the taxation of goods sold and paying tax collected into states. Our company has Nexus in all states currently collecting tax from to marketplace, online sales, traveling salesmen, etc. Avalara makes tax apportionment, billing, and filing efficient and streamlined across our company.
Read Rebecca Fortman, MBA's full review
Yolie Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Avalara is worth considering for your business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Avalara is used by the Accounting/Tax Department. We use it to streamline our sales tax filing obligations in 29+ states. We have also integrated Avalara with our ERP system, ePIC through a custom API to make sales tax calculations for our invoices to customers
Read Yolie Nguyen's full review
Judy Vorndran | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Avalara is the Uber of sales tax - it has been transformative in its connector-related focus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We partner with Avalara to help companies collect and remit sales taxes across the US, due to its relatively easy integrations to multiple GL systems, it can be integrated readily, thus, with proper sales tax mapping and nexus set up - create reporting for taxes owed by jurisdiction. It is a bit more like a rate database with product taxability - and is an excellent product for those with a relatively simple invoicing system - i.e., invoice and add taxes.
Read Judy Vorndran's full review
Sol Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Avalara for sales tax. It helps the tax department calculate tax liabilities and file returns. Avalara only helps file sales tax returns from the US.
Read Sol Sanchez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the AvaTax module of Avalara and interface it with Intacct to create sales tax line items on our Intacct invoices and to create Sales Tax by Location reports in Intacct and Avalara. Our corporate parent's Indirect Tax department uses the Avalara sales tax calculations to file sales tax returns in all states that we have nexus in. Given the complicated calculations of some states such as Texas, we could not do any of this without Avalara software. Avalara is very easy to use, and we can easily add states or exempt customers who send us sales tax exemption certificates. Avalara has taken the risk out of sales tax calculation and return filing, which we are forever grateful for. In addition, I use Avalara's knowledge base on sales tax issues to make sure that I stay current on the latest thinking. I have found their articles and videos very easy to understand and informative for a non-tax expert. Thanks Avalara, for making my life easier!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Good product, so-so service

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Avalara to calculate sales tax on invoices and orders. It's mainly used in the accounting department but also for the commercial team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

AvaTax for Calculating only

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Avalara is being used in our company to calculate sales tax on our e-comm website. As a manufacturer focused primarily on wholesale transactions, the shift to B2C is a large undertaking, especially for sales tax compliance. We have nexus in all states, so Avalara has been key to collecting the correct sales tax from our consumers
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our retail operations team utilizes Avalara to calculate sales tax for our retail stores located throughout the country. Our distribution and warehousing department also uses it to calculate tax rates for customers we ship to across the country, which can be a real challenge! Overall, it has served us very well in determining taxation.
Read this authenticated review
Michelle Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

CertCapture

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CertCapture was used by the tax department, and our company just pushed it down to the whole organization this year. It helps to store and track our customer's resale certificate in a central place and provide support for tax audit purpose.
Some Problems:
  • Missing certificates.
  • Improper certificate forms were used by the division.
  • Incomplete certificates were accepted.
  • Misplaced certificates.
  • Out of date certificates.
Read Michelle Chow's full review
Marc Petrine | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

I use Avalara and I'm not sure why everyone doesn't!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Avalara across our sales and accounting departments. Avalara integrates with our e-commerce platform to calculate, charge, and collect sales tax. It's helpful that Avalara knows the correct rates to charge for all products in all jurisdictions for all classes of customers. That information is then transmitted to our accounting staff to reconcile with our internal records. Avalara then files the necessary tax returns.
Read Marc Petrine's full review
Lisa Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Avalara's pros & cons for storing & collecting tax certs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cert Capture to keep Resale & other tax exemption documents/letters on file for all of our dealers. It is only used by the Credit Department, and if we have a tax auditor come through. It keeps certificates on file and allows us to know when they are about to expire, as well as try to assist us in running a campaign to collect any new certs in certain states.
Read Lisa Burns's full review
Heather Ordoyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Avalara is a timesaver!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Avalara for our entire organization. We sell products that are moving to a national level. Avalara provides us with the knowledge of when to add new states due to meeting thresholds. They help us manage our tax-exempt certificates and keep us updated on all changes.
Read Heather Ordoyne's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (115)
8.3
Cross-border Taxes (24)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.1
Energy and Fuel Taxes (15)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (65)
8.1
3rd-Party Software Integrations (82)
7.5
Tax Data Reporting (95)
7.5
Compliance Administration Management (69)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (78)
7.7
Tax Document Management (74)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.2

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Vertex Cloud, TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web