Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
397 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 227)

Jere Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

If your e-commerce is growing, it helps to know what your owing! Avalara does it all.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Assesses up-to-date sales tax at the local jurisdiction.
  • Manages sales tax exemptions through the CertCapture Module
  • Provides ongoing information of changing regulations in individual states.
  • Allows for easy reconciliation of transactions.
  • Provides easy registration for SST states.
  • Reconciling errors in transactions of SST states is often difficult.
  • Sometimes support can be a bit slow or not provide as good of information as might be needed.
  • Scaling up services and what the cost is to do so at renewal can be confusing/fuzzy.
Read Jere Allen's full review
Marcus Warolin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Avalara - a top tier sales tax automation software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We have had great success with the Avalara plug ins to our websites.
  • The tax filing service is easy and convienent
  • We have recently moved to their SST services which will help save cost.
  • The lack of integration with Amazon causes the greatest frustration for us. We end up having to import sales into Avalara on a monthly basis to make sure our tax reporting is complete.
  • Avalara is one of the more expensive solutions, but at this same time, they are the only provider that has had the range of plugins for the applications we use.
Read Marcus Warolin's full review
Eric Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer

Pros and Cons

  • It seems like it will work.
  • They promise you they can make it work.
  • It eventually will partly work, maybe...
  • They didn't build their own software.
  • They don't know how the technology works or how it will integrate into Magento 2.
  • They are rude and resist getting you to their tech department, because they haven't established who is supporting their own product.
  • They just added a department to manage their software, but unfortunately they expect you to wait as a customer until they learn it.
  • I spent 5 months with them and they never got any part of their integration to work smoothly.
  • They billed me for every month and even after we spent thousands of dollars switching to a different tech, they continue to bill us, even after they agreed to refund us our money.
Read Eric Bernstein's full review
Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Avatax stays current with all the changes in rates and does an excellent job of calculating the correct sales tax to charge.
  • The reporting interface for sales tax reports is easy to use and once you set up a report you can save it as a favorite and rerun it any time with one click. Their UI on the reporting is simple and provides a minimum number of clicks to get the data you want and export it to Excel where every number lives whether it belongs there or not!
  • When I file returns myself, I immediately know what the discrepancies are (e.g., discounts for filing, etc.) and can book those adjustments immediately as I record the payments themselves. Avalara necessarily has a gap between when you submit the return to them and when they file it and calculate those differences. It's not a big deal but I don't like having a one month lag in reconciling those differences. I like being able to manage them in real-time. That may just be the price you pay to have them do the filing for you but it is a bit of a deterrent for me at this point.
  • For a while there is seemed like musical chairs for the sales reps assigned to us. The current rep has been with us for a while and that really helps.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Chris Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

Avalara! The right system for convenience and to ease the burden of filing your taxes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of navigation through the software.
  • Convenient to pull sales tax reports for any of the states you file in for a particular period.
  • Maintaining the exemption certificates for customers has become much easier, along with the ability to upload a copy of their exemption certificate for storage.
  • A lot of our business is in the oil field which may be located away from any main city. It would be helpful if LAT Longs could be used as opposed to a zip code.
Read Chris Smith's full review
Brent Yost | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

No more manual databases!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Avatax automatically calculates accurate sales tax rates at the exact address.
  • Sales tax rates are automatically updated when a jurisdiction's rate changes.
  • The reporting available can be customized to get exactly what you need.
  • A more comprehensive review during implementation would be an improvement.
Read Brent Yost's full review
Rebecca Fortman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Tax compliance made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tax calculation
  • Tax filing
  • Historical data retention
  • Tax consult and tax support
  • Conversion to CAD
  • Selecting all states as one option vs. having to list state after state individually for setups, such as for our marketplace
  • Filing refund requests vs. carrying credits
Read Rebecca Fortman, MBA's full review
Yolie Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Avalara is worth considering for your business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Streamlines sales tax process with electronic filing and includes paper filing
  • Makes payments of sales tax simple
  • Stores or tracks unused sales tax credit
  • Provide more specific support for companies that require API to connect their ERP system to Avalara
  • Provide more advance notification and training for changing AvaTax platform
Read Yolie Nguyen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calculating sales tax for invoices; always using the most current rates.
  • Creating helpful knowledge base articles and videos.
  • Assisting with any questions we have on our account or future issues.
  • Exempting customers - some data entry fields are not intuitive.
  • Differences in the monthly reports are not as well-explained as I would like; I had to experiment a bit with different reports.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Good product, so-so service

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Avalara syncs well with our ERP system.
  • Reporting is easy to pull and send to our accountants.
  • Avatax saves a lot of time so we don't have to maintain tax rates internally.
  • The definition of a transaction keeps changing and affects how much our contract covers. It makes it hard to predict the level of service we will need in a year since we don't want to over pay and we don't want to have any overages.
  • Our customer rep changes frequently. We've averaged a new rep every year so it's hard to get anything resolved.
  • When we have questions on the way rates are calculated, we don't get the answers we need.
  • Reporting for tracking usage was removed so there is no way for us to track our own usage. Our rep is supposed to send us a monthly report and with changing reps, we haven't been sent this report for months.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

AvaTax for Calculating only

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calculating sales tax.
  • Innovation in the tax industry.
  • Sales tax exemption certificate management.
  • Reporting when not using the filing service.
Read this authenticated review
Kathleen Gage | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

The good, the bad and . . .

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calculate real-time sales tax for invoices.
  • CertCapture for managing my TEC's.
  • Transaction sales tax detail.
  • Local jurisdiction exemption certificates.
  • Avalara online university classes are not interactive and do not provide for practice applications.
Read Kathleen Gage's full review
Michelle Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

CertCapture

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We were able to track the number of missing customer certificates.
  • We were able to identify the acceptable certificate forms.
  • This product educated our division's credit manager enough to only accept the proper forms.
  • The automated and customized report is needed.
Read Michelle Chow's full review
Marc Petrine | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

I use Avalara and I'm not sure why everyone doesn't!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Determines tax rates for customers depending on that customer's exact ship-to location.
  • Files returns correctly and on time.
  • Tracks and uses customer supplied exemption certificates to determine a customer's taxability.
  • Avalara assumes that companies have IT support. Dumbing down some of their training would be helpful.
Read Marc Petrine's full review
Lisa Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Avalara's pros & cons for storing & collecting tax certs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Storing arena for Resale Tax Exemption Certificates.
  • The need to hit Refresh several times throughout the process to upload a new cert can be tiresome, and on occasion we have to wait a long time for it to show up during one of those refreshes.
  • Campaigns can be clunky; not always notified which dealer accounts didn't get their email delivered, and sometimes dealers find the format to appear to be SPAM and so they do not complete it.
Read Lisa Burns's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (115)
8.3
Cross-border Taxes (24)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.1
Energy and Fuel Taxes (15)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (65)
8.1
3rd-Party Software Integrations (82)
7.5
Tax Data Reporting (95)
7.5
Compliance Administration Management (69)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (78)
7.7
Tax Document Management (74)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.2

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Vertex Cloud, TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web