Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Avanan

Avanan

Overview

What is Avanan?

Avanan, from Check Point since the August 2021 acquisition, connects security technologies to enterprise cloud applications in order to improve protection of sensitive corporate data and IP. According to the vendor, Avanan's one-click deployment allows customers to deploy a new…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Users have found this product to be incredibly versatile and useful in a variety of situations. One common use case is for work …
Continue reading

Great

7 out of 10
February 09, 2023
We use it for our email security and to take control of our spam. We get a lot of cold emails and it would be overwhelming sometimes to go …
Continue reading

Security On Clicks

7 out of 10
November 01, 2022
Since we had a small BU with different domains, those working remotely with Covid in place and teams using various collaboration tools …
Continue reading

Cloud email security solution

8 out of 10
August 25, 2022
This tool protects our mailboxes from phishing email attacks. My most favourite feature is hyperlink check which checks the hyperlinks in …
Continue reading

Avanan - Review - 2022

8 out of 10
July 13, 2022
We used this Avanan checkpoint tool to validate its functionality and email protection and to be able to compare it against other security …
Continue reading

Avanan Review

9 out of 10
April 07, 2022
Avanan has been a very comprehensive email security which allows the organization is safe and free from any phishing attacks. It is also …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features
  • Threat Detection (106)
    9.2
    92%
  • Management Tools (106)
    8.6
    86%
  • Customizability (106)
    8.5
    85%
  • Anti-malware (105)
    8.4
    84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Advanced Anti-Phishing

$4.00

Cloud
per user per month

Complete Malware Protection

$5.00

Cloud
per user per month

Full-Suite Protection

$8.00

Cloud
per user per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://www.avanan.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

A short Avanan introduction demo.

YouTube

Office 365 Malware Demo

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Secure Email Gateway

Secure email gateway software prevents the transmission of emails that contravene company policy or contain malware, phishing attacks, spam or other unwanted emails

8.3
Avg 8.4
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Avanan?

Avanan, from Check Point since the August 2021 acquisition, connects security technologies to enterprise cloud applications in order to improve protection of sensitive corporate data and IP. According to the vendor, Avanan's one-click deployment allows customers to deploy a new security solution in seconds. Because it requires no appliance, agent or gateway proxy, Avanan can begin protecting any cloud application immediately, with no effect on users.

Avanan Features

Secure Email Gateway Features

  • Supported: Anti-malware
  • Supported: Customizability
  • Supported: Data Loss Protection
  • Supported: Threat Detection
  • Supported: Sandboxing
  • Supported: End-to-End Encryption
  • Supported: Management Tools

Additional Features

  • Supported: Anti-Phishing
  • Supported: Malware Protection
  • Supported: Data Leakage Prevention
  • Supported: Shadow IT
  • Supported: Account Takeover Protection
  • Supported: Post Delivery Protection

Avanan Screenshots

Screenshot of Avanan Security DashboardScreenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Avanan Video

Avanan Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Reviewers rate Threat Detection highest, with a score of 9.2.

The most common users of Avanan are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(172)
Loading...

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 112)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan email security is suitable for anyone or any organization (small, medium, and large) that uses an email account to send or receive emails. Consequently, it is important to ensure that emails are safe and secure. Therefore, any spam or malicious emails should be blocked so that unauthorized access to personal or company information is prevented.
Sumesh Gansar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan offers excellent support in blocking out phishing and malicious emails. In fact, one of the best things with Avanan is that it is deployed more like an mobile application. The security dashboards provides an indepth insights into the Malware and Phishing security events. Additionally, Avanan extends its security to other cloud based applications like Slack and Google drive too which helps us keep our data safe and secure
February 09, 2023

Great

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We can trust it to protect our emails because we sometimes send some sensitive information but we don’t want it getting in the wrong hands. Now, we can have some relief knowing that it is all private and there is not too much that will get through and leak out.
November 01, 2022

Security On Clicks

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Best suited for domains or hosts where you would want first-level filtration or prevention from hitting onto the email boxes and domains. All the protection against unknown addresses, phishing activities, and URL filtering is a good use case.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Nowadays, digital transformation is everywhere. Using cloud services is very common. Many organizations use SaaS like Office 365 or G-Suite. Storing data on cloud, sharing the data to outside are very often. With normal users, forget old data or forget shared data after projects, topic disscussion and so on,... are unavoidable. Using Avanan helps to discover and detect which data is sharing and which in them is sensitive need to be stop sharing. If don't have a solution like Avanan, it will be very difficult to control data leakage.
For scenarios where it is less appropriate, I think AI needs to be trained better to minimize false positive.
Pradum Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
What it says, it provides. It has the Data leak prevention that is the major help while we have to deal with lot of clients at a time. It has the Secure Click that checks any embedded hyperlink so that when we work on emails we don't have to worry about the hidden security threats inside a email.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It’s important that all companies should protect their data privacy. Avanan protects companies from data loss and secures data. It blocks all types of internet threats and protects our mailbox from malicious attacks.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It really is a fairly advanced tool against modern threats, ideal for banking companies. Its ease of implementation is perfect for companies with small IT departments that use tools with full security power and little administration. Ideal for companies, the cost can prevent small companies from being able to acquire it.
Ronald Lanton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan is suited for any software-based company which has and handles a lot of data that is either important or sensitive and a leak can cause a major halt or issue for the company. It also helps in preventing mistakes especially made by junior members or interns, it works as a great safety net.
Meenakshi Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan can be used for ensuring top-level security for email communications of enterprises, but it is a bit costly for small businesses. So if your business is of very high value or you have to store sensitive information or protect against malware attacks, the use of Avanan is recommended. Avanan, though a bit costly, is essential software to protect your system from the external world.
Damindu Weerasooriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan is better with almost all the security features available within its suite. They especially take more safety precautions when analysing login events and user activities across all the cloud applications used by the organization to detect any compromised accounts. Most interesting thing is Avanan can detect those accounts even if that breach has happened long time before.
April 07, 2022

Avanan Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan provides anomaly detections which helps to identify any suspicious user activity and events which may lead to any potential email threats. It is also having AI features which able to identify and learn the patterns of the user behavior and determine the differences. Besides, it is not only protecting the on-premise email servers but email solutions which hosted in the cloud.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our company has benefited greatly from spam protection. We work with a lot of third-party vendors, and it's important to know whether an email is spam or not. The banners section, on the other hand, can be improved. The most appealing aspect is that Avanan seamlessly integrates with G Suite, ensuring the safety and security of my coworkers.
Praneeth Narisetty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We mainly communicate with the use of email. Lots of mail from our clients and teammates cross borders for business necessities alike. Avanan has protected us from threats of malware, which we could otherwise find in a legitimate business email, as well as spam. This way, when potentially harmful emails are found they can be quarantined quickly, saving us both time and money!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It offers advanced settings for users who know how to customize their antivirus protection. We can perform custom scans of specific parts of our computer, such as scripts, networks, boot sectors, and even new/changed files. Advanced settings make it one of the most powerful and customizable anti-malware scanning engines on the market. However, it is not just an antimalware scanner, it is one of the most complete security suites on the market, and it offers us the best protection for both our computers and our mobiles.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This has enabled us to help clients protect themselves against malicious external attacks such as protecting their employees from phishing in employee inboxes. It has proved very easy to deploy with minimal disturbance for the workforce, a key point. It has proved to work well with integrations with other applications too.
February 28, 2022

Avanan

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I think this is a great product. But since cybersecurity and phishing attacks are always changing, no solution is perfect. But what I have experienced and the feedback I have gotten from my peers show true value in this product.
Marta Budzan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This software is well-suited for a company that is looking to protect its data from common security breaches. It is very user-friendly and easy to implement, which is why these few things make it easily usable on a daily basis. This software also allows for much faster cloud performance and provides regular reports which provide security analytics.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Avanan is very well suited for use in a large enterprise environment where there are multiple users who receive tons of emails that are phishing or spam. It's less appropriate in financial sectors or businesses that have lots of transaction emails, as Avanan's AI gets confused sometimes when scanning emails and they end up being bypassed.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan is well suited for Office 365 users and works great with Outlook Exchange. It effectively blocks any kind of phishing emails to protect from data leakage. It also offers data loss protection functionalities and works well as intended. However, the UI seems outdated and should be modernized. The UI lags sometimes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Prior to Avanan, we had information leaked through phishing attempts and viruses by some users. Now we have a strong problem against any external threat because emails are one of the main sources of these intruders. We really liked the interface with several options for management, integration, and analysis by reports. The software is stable and competitively priced.
Wendy Durf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Faster cloud performance and the ability to protect client data through the entire cloud services and even Avanan tools are easily customized during the first time to use the product. Avanan offers the best features, [is] easy to manipulate, and the encryption functions are also very helpful. Data analytics are very effective and reports impact [on] the business production is excellent.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan works really well against spam, viruses, etc. We receive over 100 emails every day that is spam/scam but our users are way more protected and feel more confident with Avanan. It has some diffuclties when legitimate emails come from domains that don't send a lot of emails. But it's okay, at least we are protected.
Neeraj Kumar Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Avanan is best suited for end-to-end email protection either spam, spoofing, phishing, breach detection or links detection. the best part is post-delivery action and protection and true AI-based API protection and its easy setup within minutes. it's less appropriate when there is less need for a second layer of security protection over existing protection by email providers. but, it is worth using and can save from any attacks through email.
Return to navigation