TrustRadius
Avaya... 24/7 Success for Companies and the Virtual Worker!Avaya is being used currently across my organization in a multitude of ways. Not only are the hard phones used, but we also use the soft phones daily to address issues with schedule adherence, incoming calls, quality of calls, and other items. It presents an easy way for virtual workers and those who work in a brick and mortar to provide first-class service for our clients.,Strengths of Avaya include the ability to answer incoming calls in a convenient format for employees. The use of Avaya proves the user-friendly design and a way for employees to adjust settings in a clear and concise manner to adjust for his or her preferences. Avaya also allows the employee to transfer and conference calls in an easy drag-and-drop method and is very user-friendly. The functionality of Avaya allows for the virtual employee to log in, choose various auxiliaries chosen by your company to ensure schedule adherence and maintain corroboration with other applications and software programs.,One are for improvement for Avaya is the ability to operate behind the VPN. For the virtual employee, this is an issue as we are unable to use it behind the VPN and it must be launched from the remote desktop. The color scheme could definitely use some updating. The charcoal gray background of Avaya's windows, coupled with the black font is not very contrasting. I have used Avaya for years and would love to see an update as to its color scheme to better fit the virtual employee. Avaya could also improve the way an employee moves within the program by titling the icons seen or expanding the Avaya window to allow for a better understanding of what each con does. For example, the Work History window would go unnoticed, had I not been playing with the software one day. These little items are unknown to many professionals in my industry as they sit in the window with no explanation.,9,Overall from a business objective standpoint, Avaya has to have had a positive impact on our Return on Investment. Its use in day-to-day operations has been beneficial to not only the company, but the business as well. Using the Avaya soft phones supplies a business or company a way to limit expenditures on the hard phones by allowing the use of Avaya soft phones. The equipment is no longer needed, save for headsets to be used with the application itself. Business objectives have to be just that, objectives. Economics begs for ways for a company to limit expenditures that may see little or no return. Avaya has tackled this issue and won!,,VMware User Environment Manager, Skype for Business, NICE Workforce OptimizationJust what we needed!We are using Avaya company-wide to help with communications between departments. Their phone system has made it much easier to get users quickly up and running. For users, the interface is very intuitive so time spent training users is very minimal and can often be accomplished by allowing them to read documentation or with the help of a department power user.,Easy for End Users Simple To Use Lots of Features,Better admin interface Hard initial installation,5,Communication between departments has increased Training of new users is all but eliminated,Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Microsoft BizTalk ServerConnecting to the World with AvayaAt this time, Avaya is being used across the offices in North and South America. It interfaces well with other systems in Asia and Europe. The business problems it addresses, of course, are our corporate telephony needs. The system is complex yet easy to work with. The more powerful features we can offer our associates are easy to operate so the complexity of the system is transparent to the users.,Interfacing with other PABX systems is something that Avaya does particularly well. I believe this is a strength for Avaya because when I am working with other systems getting them to do the same thing is much more difficult and only partly addresses the problem. Avaya provides a complete solution. Handling large numbers of calls and an enormous amount of data is something that Avaya does very well. We have very heavy communications loads at times and having a professionally designed and maintained system like Avaya allows us to manage these loads in an efficient manner. I think this is a strength for Avaya because the breadth of coverage it provides is scalable for extremely large systems that their competitors struggle to achieve. Redundancy in systems is sometimes a bad thing but Avaya's system allows us to build redundancy into the system so that we never lose connections. This is a strength for Avaya because with other systems I have noticed it is necessary to build physical redundancy into the system rather than through software. That is one way that Avaya helps us save money.,Avaya could use some improvement in moving calls off the system when they have arrived at a far destination. This is a technical point and will not be often encountered by users or most technicians and really is no fault of Avaya but crossing over into local telephone systems around the world would be a great advantage. The methods for interacting with some of the menus are rather involved. The system is highly complex but at this time it is mature enough to start bringing all the control features under one roof rather than through three separate interfaces.,10,Positive Return on Investment from Avaya happens every day. Errors are minimal and can be addressed in a simple manner. The system is robust and has not experienced a failure or interruption over the course of many years. The positive ROI, in this case, is that maintenance costs are low, development costs are low and results are at a high level of quality. Avaya provides us with uninterrupted telephony services on a global basis.,Vonage,Microsoft Azure, Polycom RealPresence Group Series, Polycom Trio,5,5,Setting up and maintaining telephony and data contacts at individual offices Setting up and maintaining telephony and data contacts between distant offices Providing international telecommunications services to the company,We have been able to bridge the gap between nations and establish a secure and flexible system.,We are looking forward to moving to the cloud and incorporating the best of all worlds. Avaya will be able to provide us the ability to offer high-quality telecommunications services and videos to remote locations around the world.,10Avaya Unified Communications ReviewThe difference between Avaya Contact Centers and other systems is that Avaya solutions have by far more features than any other has to offer. Avaya is also known for making the most reliable and stable solutions. Customer support is also an area which in my opinion sets the company apart from any other. Avaya has a great database and very detailed documentation that makes it easier for engineers to manage and install the solutions. Avaya communication manager has allowed us to communicate and collaborate with our colleagues working in remote offices. It also allowed us to provide technical support to our clients in a number of channels including, mail, voice, chat, and fax. Positive impact: Avaya's quick and easy IP office solutions has helped reduce our overall project timeline and expenses.,Contact center solutions are very feature rich allowing several channels of communications to customers. Redundancy configurations, high availability, and virtualization make it a very robust and secure voice platform. With centralised licensing, proactive voice quality monitoring, and extended diagnostic features, it’s easy to keep everything running smoothly in your mid-market company. You can [use] the UC system that works for you with up to 50% less memory required to grow your communication network with your business. There are plenty of rich APIs available to integrate with your system too, so you can design the strategy your business needs.,Avaya's license structure can be a challenge to understand. The UC core applications. Avaya needs to have more tools for bulk configurations, ability to export and edit a configuration, not all fields in a site administrator are exportable. The softphone solution on the IP office side interface is very outdated.,10,Built-in voicemail is offered at no extra cost. Also, license-activate functionality provides you with mobility and IM features, meet-me, and video, call recording, UVR and unified messaging without having to pay for extra hardware. The Avaya IP Office telephone system offers more than 20 different desktop phone models, which all cater to particular preferences. That's why it's so easy to select the ideal phone for each user. The solution fully supports SIP, IP, digital and analogue phones, which makes it a sound investment for the future of your business. What's so nice about the Avaya IP Office telephone system is that it recognises that each company has its needs. You can design the IP500 system to use just the number of handsets, feature and lines that you need, which is a solution that is much more efficient than offerings were in the past.,NEC UNIVERGE SV Series and Mitel Applications Suite,NEC UNIVERGE SV Series, Skype for Business, Avaya Aura Workforce Optimization, Avaya Communicator, Avaya Ethernet Switches, Avaya Scopia XT, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Fortinet FortiGate, Ubiquiti Networks UniFiMy opinion on AvayaIt's being used across the organisation to address our communication needs.,Contact Centers work well and are very stable The IPO platform is stable and works well,Support for resellers should improve. Cisco is much better in comparison.,6,Managed to reduce our communication costs by 60% through the adoption of VoIP for interbranch calls at no charge. It's cheaper SIP for long distance calls.,Cisco VoIP PBX,Skype
Unspecified
Avaya
88 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Avaya Reviews

Avaya
88 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 88 vetted Avaya reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-16 of 16)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Shauna Stermer profile photo
August 27, 2018

Review: "Avaya... 24/7 Success for Companies and the Virtual Worker!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avaya is being used currently across my organization in a multitude of ways. Not only are the hard phones used, but we also use the soft phones daily to address issues with schedule adherence, incoming calls, quality of calls, and other items. It presents an easy way for virtual workers and those who work in a brick and mortar to provide first-class service for our clients.
  • Strengths of Avaya include the ability to answer incoming calls in a convenient format for employees.
  • The use of Avaya proves the user-friendly design and a way for employees to adjust settings in a clear and concise manner to adjust for his or her preferences.
  • Avaya also allows the employee to transfer and conference calls in an easy drag-and-drop method and is very user-friendly.
  • The functionality of Avaya allows for the virtual employee to log in, choose various auxiliaries chosen by your company to ensure schedule adherence and maintain corroboration with other applications and software programs.
  • One are for improvement for Avaya is the ability to operate behind the VPN. For the virtual employee, this is an issue as we are unable to use it behind the VPN and it must be launched from the remote desktop.
  • The color scheme could definitely use some updating. The charcoal gray background of Avaya's windows, coupled with the black font is not very contrasting. I have used Avaya for years and would love to see an update as to its color scheme to better fit the virtual employee.
  • Avaya could also improve the way an employee moves within the program by titling the icons seen or expanding the Avaya window to allow for a better understanding of what each con does. For example, the Work History window would go unnoticed, had I not been playing with the software one day. These little items are unknown to many professionals in my industry as they sit in the window with no explanation.
Avaya is well-suited for both the virtual employee using a soft-phone approach, as well as the brick and mortar employee using a hard phone and possibly the soft phone as well. I cannot think of an instance when Avaya would not be needed in these environments, unless incoming calls were not the focus of an organization. Outbound calls through Avaya without an appropriate contact list would probably be the only issue where I could possibly see a problem with using the software.
Read Shauna Stermer's full review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

Avaya Review: "Just what we needed!"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Avaya company-wide to help with communications between departments. Their phone system has made it much easier to get users quickly up and running. For users, the interface is very intuitive so time spent training users is very minimal and can often be accomplished by allowing them to read documentation or with the help of a department power user.
  • Easy for End Users
  • Simple To Use
  • Lots of Features
  • Better admin interface
  • Hard initial installation
Good for the basics. It's great for connecting users and department for quick and easy voice communication. Users have no issues quickly picking up how to use everything as needed. It leaves something to be desired in both the initial setup (took time and was complicated) and some of the admin features available on the back-end.
Read this authenticated review
Alfred Brock profile photo
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Connecting to the World with Avaya"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At this time, Avaya is being used across the offices in North and South America. It interfaces well with other systems in Asia and Europe. The business problems it addresses, of course, are our corporate telephony needs. The system is complex yet easy to work with. The more powerful features we can offer our associates are easy to operate so the complexity of the system is transparent to the users.
  • Interfacing with other PABX systems is something that Avaya does particularly well. I believe this is a strength for Avaya because when I am working with other systems getting them to do the same thing is much more difficult and only partly addresses the problem. Avaya provides a complete solution.
  • Handling large numbers of calls and an enormous amount of data is something that Avaya does very well. We have very heavy communications loads at times and having a professionally designed and maintained system like Avaya allows us to manage these loads in an efficient manner. I think this is a strength for Avaya because the breadth of coverage it provides is scalable for extremely large systems that their competitors struggle to achieve.
  • Redundancy in systems is sometimes a bad thing but Avaya's system allows us to build redundancy into the system so that we never lose connections. This is a strength for Avaya because with other systems I have noticed it is necessary to build physical redundancy into the system rather than through software. That is one way that Avaya helps us save money.
  • Avaya could use some improvement in moving calls off the system when they have arrived at a far destination. This is a technical point and will not be often encountered by users or most technicians and really is no fault of Avaya but crossing over into local telephone systems around the world would be a great advantage.
  • The methods for interacting with some of the menus are rather involved. The system is highly complex but at this time it is mature enough to start bringing all the control features under one roof rather than through three separate interfaces.
I don't know of any in the communications system environments where secure, efficient and robust telecommunications are needed where Avaya would not be well suited. Where Avaya towers above their rivals are in a volume of calls and data processed and interconnectivity between points across the globe. It is very well suited for large educational institutions, hospitals, businesses and international organizations of all types. These systems would also be very useful in government operations.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
Juan Vlieg profile photo
June 11, 2018

"Avaya Unified Communications Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The difference between Avaya Contact Centers and other systems is that Avaya solutions have by far more features than any other has to offer. Avaya is also known for making the most reliable and stable solutions. Customer support is also an area which in my opinion sets the company apart from any other. Avaya has a great database and very detailed documentation that makes it easier for engineers to manage and install the solutions. Avaya communication manager has allowed us to communicate and collaborate with our colleagues working in remote offices. It also allowed us to provide technical support to our clients in a number of channels including, mail, voice, chat, and fax.

Positive impact: Avaya's quick and easy IP office solutions has helped reduce our overall project timeline and expenses.
  • Contact center solutions are very feature rich allowing several channels of communications to customers.
  • Redundancy configurations, high availability, and virtualization make it a very robust and secure voice platform.
  • With centralised licensing, proactive voice quality monitoring, and extended diagnostic features, it’s easy to keep everything running smoothly in your mid-market company.
  • You can [use] the UC system that works for you with up to 50% less memory required to grow your communication network with your business. There are plenty of rich APIs available to integrate with your system too, so you can design the strategy your business needs.
  • Avaya's license structure can be a challenge to understand.
  • The UC core applications.
  • Avaya needs to have more tools for bulk configurations, ability to export and edit a configuration, not all fields in a site administrator are exportable.
  • The softphone solution on the IP office side interface is very outdated.
Avaya has a wide range of solutions that meets any market or segment. From small to medium and enterprise companies. Avaya IP Office is best suited for the small to medium-size businesses. The advantage you have is that it's very easily scalable so it can grow with your business.
When it comes to the engineering, after having worked with numerous other systems in the past that were not-so-friendly, IP Office is very easy to install and also configure. That saves you a lot of time when installing the system, which means you will have more time to spend on training users how to use the new system and making sure that they are completely happy and confident with it.
Read Juan Vlieg's full review
No photo available
September 18, 2017

User Review: "My opinion on Avaya"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It's being used across the organisation to address our communication needs.
  • Contact Centers work well and are very stable
  • The IPO platform is stable and works well
  • Support for resellers should improve. Cisco is much better in comparison.
It's well suited for contact centres
Read this authenticated review
Helen Hironimus profile photo
April 05, 2017

Avaya Review: "Reliability In Older Infrastructure"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avaya PBX Systems to provide telephone services throughout the entire School District. Our District consists of over 189 schools and an additional 20 ancillary sites, with over 20,000 employees. We use Avaya Modular Messaging for voice mail, Avaya Meeting Manager for conference calling and Avaya One X Attendant for our PBX operators. Each school site in the district has its own phone system, either an Avaya S8500 or Avaya S8300 System.
  • Reliability, we are currently on an older Avaya Infrastructure and it is standing the test of time.
  • Support, Avaya support has been very reliable.
  • Avaya could provide an easier to use Support website. It is hard for us to place correct Service Requests for support on the Avaya Website.
Avaya voice systems are well suited for large organizations.
Read Helen Hironimus's full review
Richard Heller profile photo
April 29, 2015

Review: "Avaya IP Office - PBX for today and tomorrow"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Not only do we sell the Avaya IP Office but we use in our own organization. We were recently purchased by Carrier Access, and due to the flexibility of the phone system we will be able to integrate our new parent company onto our PBX once the MPLS between the locations is online. We already had the necessary licensing on our system, so the only additional cost would be those of the new phones that will be installed. Having worked with multiple PBX platforms, I find the AVAYA easy to implement, setup, use, and manage. If a company is going to do their own MAC (moves adds and changes) or would like to this system allows that to be done with out having to deal with a very steep learning curve.
  • Centralization is key. If you want to have all of your facilities on one phone system, to help mitigate telecom costs this is the system for you. You purchase the necessary licensing (one time purchase) and the licenses stay with you as long as you stay on that platform!
  • Flexibility is fantastic. Whether you want to use the IP Office as a key system, or replace your existing partner system, or run as a PBX. This system will do it all, I was very impressed with the compatibility of the IP Office with legacy equipment. Have a Partner system? Not a problem. Have a Definity system? Not a problem!
  • Broad based technology. You can utilize CO trunks (POTS lines), ISDN/PRI, T1, SIP, etc.... What ever your carrier hands off to you the IP Office can integrate with. No need to work with a third party vendor to get your interface up and running. AVAYA is a one stop shop, and if you have an existing warranty, just upgrade your IPOSS information on the system and your new hardware is covered.
  • Rush for updates. At times an updated will fix one problem, and inadvertently create another. However with due diligence from your business partner (Tektivity) patches are tested before being rolled out in production environments.
  • Part itemization. If you purchase a new system, the power cord does not come with the unit, that is a separate part. Very minor in the grand scheme of things but as a reseller and a customer still somewhat annoying.
  • Large convoluted organization. As a user trying to navigate the AVAYA website, and track down information can be daunting. Even calling support can be challenging, you never know if your call will be routed to India, Brazil, or Denver. That is why the relationship with Tektivity is so important. You can leverage your business partner to get the answers you need so you can spend your time tackling issues that need your attention.
The limitations of this unit are 2000 users, across 32 different locations. It is an SME product that is well past the border into enterprise territory with out having the enterprise expense. To top it off you can virtualize the servers! Anything outside of this scope would need to step into an Avaya Aura system. Do not forget to check with your vendor for leasing options if you do not want to have your new phone system fall into the category as a capitol project.
Read Richard Heller's full review
Alessandro Tirone profile photo
June 03, 2015

User Review: "Why you should consider AVAYA"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization we have deployed AVAYA AURA solutions across the board, from our corporate head offices to our rural branch offices and mills. AVAYA Aura solutions has helped our organization stay better connected and has played a crucial role in helping reduce our business expenses by the removal of legacy TDM equipment.
  • Great Project Management skills on major telephony/telecom deployments.
  • AVAYA's professional services. Their on site technicians/engineers are extremely knowledgeable and professional
  • AVAYA's Devconnect programs offers a wide range of on-line course and certification programs
  • AVAYA's turn around time on major and minor deployments. SOW's take way to long.

1. What are your SOW timeline?

2. How easily can your technology integrate with a current UC platform?

3. How are your licenses packaged? And what features do they offer?

4. How can AVAYA help reduce my network expenses? (Better my bandwidth utilization)

Read Alessandro Tirone's full review
Kenneth Katz profile photo
April 29, 2015

"Avaya ERS switch review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ERS switches across all industries as one of our core networking technologies. Avaya carries the full range of switches from soho to large data centers. My greatest experience is in the enterprise environment, implementing core, distribution, and edge switching. The interface is easy to manage. We rarely have issues with defects or breakage due to bad hardware.
  • Their software support is great. Released software has not had any significant issues in my experience.
  • They have a breadth of hardware levels to provide just the right switch for a customer's needs without having the customer be forced to buy more switches than they need.
  • They have great documentation for when you are trying to find an obscure feature and need to see how to implement it.
  • The software update process currently uses two files. It would be great if you could use a single file to update the software.
  • They do not include a console cable with their switches, although one is available for purchase.
The CLI interface is similar to Cisco. Training is always an issue, and getting training on Avaya switches is more difficult than other vendors.
Read Kenneth Katz's full review
Michelle VanderBand profile photo
June 16, 2014

User Review: "Avaya's Aura - Good or Bad"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Although I work for Atos, I support the Avaya infrastructure in place at McGraw-Hill Financial and McGraw-Hll Education. Both companies use Avaya products to support customer call centers and everyday telecommunications needs. Some uses are very simple like providing dial tone at the desktop while other uses are much more complex like providing Best Service Routing for call center support to make sure the calls are answered as quickly as possible. The Avaya solution is being used across all departments at the locations where Avaya phone systems are deployed.

As Avaya adds more features to the phone systems, the problems it is able to address grow. One of the main issues we faced was the ability to allow users to remotely call-forward phones. This feature is now deployed at all locations and the end-users have instructions for using the remote call-forward feature. This has reduced the number of user requests to have the telecom group do the forwarding.
  • It has very good call center software and allows advanced programming for routing calls.
  • Avaya has included many features in the Aura 6.x versions that used to be an addtional cost. This makes it much easier to provide advanced call programming at smaller offices that don't have a need to use all of the call center features.
  • Avaya is very good at staying current with industry trends like supporting IP H.323 and SIP. This helps when a business wants to move to these models and away from the traditional TDM infrastructure. Avaya's IP phones are very easy to register and move and do not require the MAC address for programming changes.
  • Maintenance is my biggest hassle. Now that Avaya has moved to a partner network for installations, it is very difficult to make sure the maintenance records are accurate and up to date. This process can be improved.
  • Avaya has great tools for customer administration but it would be nice if more of the options in phone system were available for exporting using filtered lists. I would love to be able to export a list of all administered extensions versus the stations using the ASA export command.
  • It seems whenever a new voicemail platfrom is introduced, some features are lost. When Avaya went from Intuity Audix to Modular Messaging, users originally lost the ability to have 9 personal greetings. This was added back in an upgrade release. Now Avaya has moved from Modular Messaging to Aura Messaging and they removed the ability to have the timezone as part of the class of service assigned to mailboxes. This means that companies using one Aura Messaging platform to support users in multiple timezones will need to make sure the timezone is correct when adding the mailbox instead of just choosing the class of service with the correct timezone.
I have not worked with the new products Avaya has to support small offices but I feel that it is a very good solution for medium offices and large offices. I also feel that Avaya does call centers better than anyone.
Read Michelle VanderBand's full review
D. SKye Hodges profile photo
September 24, 2014

Review: "Avaya. You could choose someone else, but why would you?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avaya is used in our company in a global aspect, from our Callcenter, to Sales, Marketing, Finance, HR, etc. We use it for all of our telephone needs, we use Avaya Modular Messaging for our Voicemail system as well as a few internal automated attendants. Our IP Connections to our offices globally allow us to make calls to nearly any office over IP Links, thus avoiding toll charges for all in-house phonecalls. We also have users that can run a softphone on their computer to work remotely. We use our Modular Messaging system for voicemail, as well as voicemail alerts, and finding a user when they are away.
  • Telephony Communications (ie, "Dialtone", calling, forwarding, conferencing)
  • VoIP
  • Call Accounting
  • None.
The telephony field is fairly narrow when you are looking at Enterprise class telephony. You basically have Avaya and Cisco as the biggest players, then you have many smaller players from Aspect to Rolm, to Microsoft Lync. The biggest question to ask when selecting a provider is: How big do I need (How many stations or endpoints, what kind of call routing, what kind of integrations: IVR, VoIP, Conferencing, Voicemail, etc). If you need BIG, Avaya is not only one of the biggest, it is also the best.
Read D. SKye Hodges's full review
Michael Goston profile photo
June 06, 2014

"My somewhat biased but honest review of Avaya Solutions."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a reseller of Avaya solutions and platforms but we also use the product internally as our communications solution. Avaya's UC platform is an ideal solution for our organization especially the mobility functions.
  • Ease of administration is one of the biggest strengths of Avaya Solutions. The ability to configure multi-site Enterprise systems from one centralized administration application and make moves, adds, and changes is a key strength of the Avaya Solution.
  • Avaya surviveabilty solutions are robust, multi-layered, and easy to deploy. When added with the ease of administration strength no other communication solution comes close.
  • Avaya's mobility solutions enable communications from virtually anywhere on the planet. With features like EC500 which integrates your cellular phone to the voice network, to One-X Mobile which allows you to load an Avaya application on your smart-device, with Avaya you are always connected.
  • Avaya could definitely improve it's convoluted licensing and registration processes. As a solutions implementer sometimes it can be difficult to navigate the maze of processes and steps required to get systems properly licensed and registered. There also tends to be long waits on registration confirmation. This increases total time to deployment.
  • Some of the advanced applications positioning can be confusing. When you look at the complete solution portfolio of Avaya there are several advance applications that overlap each other in functionality. It can be difficult to suggest the correct solution.
Avaya's centralized administration greatly reduces the number of resources necessary to support a deployed voice solution.
Read Michael Goston's full review
No photo available
September 30, 2015

User Review: "An Education in Avaya Integration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The university uses the product as the main telephony solution. In day to day voice communications internal and external to the campus. The Notification solution system is used for emergency notification in the event of an emergency on campus to notify university personnel to take relevant action. The Contact center solution is used as the automated attendant for the university and to route calls to various departments using voice prompts. The solution is totally integrated and allows the university to contact one vendor for troubleshooting and problem resolution.
  • All of the solutions are tested to integrate fully with each other.
  • Vendor support is excellent
  • Avaya makes it easy to get documentation for their product
  • In some products after the Nortel/Avaya merger we found were not quite ready for general release. It seemed that they were rushed to market. We had updates that were required almost on a monthly basis.
  • I don't know if this has been addressed, but I would like to see the ANS (Avaya Notification Solution) use MS Lync for the desktop notification. At present it uses IBM SameTime for Desktop notification which seems processor intensive (multiple servers required)
I have seen the Avaya product used for small business and it used for very large business both with call centers and without call centers. The product line does not have to include all of the available options, it runs and will work with a basic PBX all the way up to a system with multiple linked call center/PBX and voicemail systems. Many of the systems use the same management interface so the learning curve to understand administration is much easier.

Some of the systems are MS Windows server based, but most are Linux (RedHat or a variant - CentOS) so you will need to have someone knowledgeable in both Windows and Linux servers on staff in order to deep troubleshooting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2014

"Avaya review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avaya is used to keep track of employee phone calls and contact them when needed.
  • It makes it easy to contact someone in the company.
  • Allows user to create a quick contact list for employees.
  • Easy to access voice mail.
  • Adding personal Bluetooth device is not possible or difficult at this point.
  • The interface looks dated.
It is well suited for employees that make a lot of phone calls or receive a lot of phone calls.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 30, 2014

Review: "How Avaya builds a reputation for your company."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avaya PBX and message have been used widely in our company. It addresses the communication between sites and the core office.
  • Sound quality is good
  • Avaya support is pretty good
  • Manage friendly
  • Cost per phone can be reduced
  • Can be more efficient to open a ticket ASAP
  • Can be more system integration to manage whole voice infrastructure
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 09, 2014

Avaya Review: "Okay, not great."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Avaya is currently not being used by any part of our company. We do have a nice display of Avaya products in our demo room. When we were using Avaya, it was very useful in helping us stay connected with our customers.
  • Avaya is very simple to use.
  • I love having an adjustable back-lit display.
  • Great music on hold capability.
  • I feel that Avaya's products are not very durable.
  • I feel that the their products have poor quality of service.
The key thing to ask customers when they are considering getting an Avaya system is whether or not they truly NEED it or not. So many people think they need Avaya when it really isn't needed. Customers think they need it because of the Avaya name brand.
Read this authenticated review

About Avaya

Categories:  Contact Center

Avaya Integrations

Avaya Competitors