AWS CodePipeline Reviews

33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 18, 2021
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS CodePipeline is used to manage CI/CD pipelines for various products we build for customers on AWS. It is being used for such products associated with various projects across our whole organization. It enabled us to build delivery pipelines for applications we are deploying on AWS native stacks.
  • Running and managing deployments for AWS native applcations
  • Seamlessly integrating the suite of build tools AWS has to offer
  • Integration with build and version control services that are not native to AWS
AWS CodePipeline is the best solution to use if your application stack is completely AWS-native. This means you are exclusively using AWS tools to manage your source control, build management, and you are deploying your applications to AWS services such as EC2, Elastic Beanstalk, Lambda, EMR, etc. It integrates very well with AWS CodeCommit, CodeBuild, and Elastic Beanstalk to manage source control, building, and deployment. However, it does not integrate too well with third-party source control and build management tools such as Github, Travis, Jenkins, CodeShip, etc.
We didn't need a lot of support with AWS CodePipeline as it was pretty straightforward to configure and use, but where we ran into problems, the AWS community was able to help. AWS support agents were also helpful in resolving some of the minor issues we encountered, which we could not find a solution elsewhere.
Read Ramindu Deshapriya's full review
June 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodePipeline is used by many development teams across the company. We are a heavy GitHub Enterprise user, but those who are seeking a CI/CD type product that has a slick integration with GitHub AND native AWS support - those users always go to CodePipeline. It can also integrate with S3 which is a huge advantage for those who have code files deployed in AWS already and can blend them with files from their teams enterprise GitHub repos. Some of our users also rely on CodeCommit and have integrated CodePipeline with that service as well. The major problem it solves for us is ease of integration and the ability to fully automate + test a release.
  • ease of use
  • multiple service integrations
  • option for container (ECS) support
  • automatic change detection
  • no local integration
  • interface limitations
  • time to setup
CodePipeline is well suited for an already existing AWS-native deployment. It is very easy to connect to existing repos like GitHub enterprise or cloud repos like CodeCommit. Being able to define the process by code (YAML) is a huge benefit for developers who favor that type of deployment setup. The UI is easy to use yet very powerful and customizable. Being able to leverage CloudTrail or Lambda is quite powerful, especially in larger more complex projects.
It becomes less valuable with smaller projects or locally hosted deployments that don't get the benefits of a managed service in the AWS ecosystem. However, there are agents that can be run on private servers to allow integration. But naturally, smaller one-off projects benefit less from the automation value derived by CodePipeline.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2020
Alec Dibble | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS CodePipeline is one piece of several autoscaling back-end infrastructures I have launched in AWS. CodePipeline, in conjunction with CodeDeploy, allows for automated testing, building & deployment of Github & S3 hosted code. CodePipeline can be thought of the orchestrator of a typical AWS code deployment setup. It allows you to setup the source of the code change (S3/Github/etc) and then define the steps the code takes. For example, you can implement a build step using AWS CodeBuild. You can also implement test & deploy steps. By using CodeDeploy, you can keep a fleet of instances up-to-date with the latest code releases.
  • CodePipeline reacts very quickly to new GitHub commits. It often starts new builds nearly instantly after code is pushed.
  • The CodePipeline console & wizard is very intuitive. It was very easy to setup CodePipeline instances and define exactly required stages & the services to fulfill the stages.
  • CodePipeline allows you to easily restart failed steps, right from the status page. The web console shows the current status of the builds and seems to not lag too far behind the actual status.
  • If you are not using GitHub, the setup for integrating with a repository is complicated. Doesn't appear to offer support for other revision control services or other revision control tools out-of-the-box.
  • CodePipeline is probably too expensive for personal projects, especially if you use the other AWS tools for the pipeline steps like CodeDeploy.
  • Not as flexible or customizable as a self-hosted Jenkins server.
I think AWS CodePipeline is a great tool for anyone wanted automated deployments in a multi-server/container AWS environment. AWS also offers services like Elastic Beanstalk that provide a more managed hosting & deployment experience. CodePipeline is a good middle ground with solid, built-in automation with enough customizability to not lock people into one deployment or architecture philosophy.
Read Alec Dibble's full review
August 12, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS CodePipeline was used as a CI/CD solution within AWS, specifically for instances where specific AWS IAM roles were needed. The DevOps department was the primary user, pushing out to development and other organizations. It was a comprehensive CI/CD solution that provided out-of-the-box performance and features, specifically around AWS deployments.
  • Tight AWS integrations for AWS organization.
  • Similar feature sets to other CI/CD solutions.
  • Infrastructure as code (IAC) integration.
  • Slightly inconsistent performance (has issues downloading public Docker Registry images).
  • Minimal support.
  • Complex initial setup.
AWS CodePipeline is great for organizations that are bought into AWS and infrastructure as code (IaC) practices. Sharing of IaC modules through tools like the Terraform Registry will hopefully bring more open source CI/CD pipelines into the mix and create a strong DevOps community around CodePipeline. Until then, it will probably remain an expert product with minimal support.
AWS CodePipeline support is very hit and miss. Even when paying for more expensive AWS support contracts, problems seem to get very different answers and inconsistent feedback. When asking for a root cause analysis (RCA) for a specific issue that almost leads to an internal outage, there was minimal communication from the AWS team.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS CodePipeline is being used as a continuous integration/continuous deployment tool at my organization. It is used by specific teams that require builds within a CI/CD developer workflow. The business problems it addresses is the need for automated code deployment and testing pipeline that allows for a continuous flow of code from testing to staging to deployment.
  • Continuous integration
  • Continuous delivery
  • Automated release pipeline
  • Amazon exclusivity
  • Cleaner interface
AWS CodePipeline is well suited for a specific software engineering workflow. If there is a need to deploy code within a framework, then this is a great tool to automate the code deployments outward. The scenarios where it is less appropriate is in situations of internal tooling or other code that might not change as often or are tools running locally.
AWS Support is bar none and I have access to dedicated account managers on the business level so they can help me with any questions I have regarding their product. No complaints there at all because they have dedicated support engineers who can help me understand the product well.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2019
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool is used by the entire software development department. It helps us to speed up the software development cycle. It helps us find errors quickly, make tests, deliver updates, and automate the launching process, compilation, integration, etc. It is a very versatile tool that helps improve productivity. It is excellent for agile development since it can be integrated with other tools and automate the entire software delivery process.
  • Automation of continuous software deliveries.
  • Easy integration with other software and tools.
  • Excellent to be implemented with agile development.
  • Workflow modeling.
  • It has a steep learning curve.
AWS CodePipeline is excellent for software companies that need to make constant changes or updates in their projects. It is ideal for those that use agile development. It is also very good for startup companies that need to speed up the whole process of delivering their software. However, for those companies that make weekly, monthly, etc. deliveries, it is not the ideal tool. It is more for companies that make multiple daily deliveries.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
January 17, 2019
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodePipeline is a very flexible continuous integration and continuous delivery tool. Our organization development team uses it to build and deploy our app; it makes deploying within the AWS environment a bit easier.
  • Works well within the AWS ecosystem.
  • Coordinates various continuous delivery steps.
  • Ease of use - things like CircleCI or other tools are a bit easier to learn.
  • Ability to build from more sources.
If you're already on AWS, then using it as your build/test/deploy system makes a lot of sense. However, there are easier tools out there to do it that may not be as flexible, or may work better with your source control system.
Read Richard Rout's full review
June 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business uses AWS CodePipeline to connect our repository to our Snowflake Database. We are currently using it to push changes made in our repo to the Snowflake Database. It is a crucial part of our ingestion process and how we determine changes are made and when they are made. It addresses the need to make scheduled changes to our environment.
  • It is reliable and works without errors
  • It integrates well with our repository and all other AWS functions as well as our end database
  • AWS CodePipeline is a very simple and straight forward tool, it does not add anything complex or make pushing changes easier.
AWS CodePipeline is well suited if your company is already using AWS as the main tool. It also works with ATOM Repository and Snowflake cohesively. There are other options on the marketplace that have the same functionality as AWS CodePipeline. It is only really appropriate if its integrated in the rest of your AWS infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review

What is AWS CodePipeline?

AWS CodePipeline is a fully managed continuous delivery service that helps users automate release pipelines for fast, reliable application and infrastructure updates. CodePipeline automates the build, test, and deploy phases of the release process every time there is a code change, based on the release model a user defines. This is to enable rapid, reliable delivery of features and updates. Users can integrate AWS CodePipeline with third-party services such as GitHub or with a custom plugin. AWS CodePipeline is pay for what you use, with no upfront fees or long-term commitments.
Categories:  Release Management

AWS CodePipeline Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free TierFree
AWS CodePipeline$1per active pipeline/per month

AWS CodePipeline Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is AWS CodePipeline?

AWS CodePipeline is a fully managed continuous delivery service that helps users automate release pipelines for fast, reliable application and infrastructure updates. CodePipeline automates the build, test, and deploy phases of the release process every time there is a code change, based on the release model a user defines. This is to enable rapid, reliable delivery of features and updates. Users can integrate AWS CodePipeline with third-party services such as GitHub or with a custom plugin. AWS CodePipeline is pay for what you use, with no upfront fees or long-term commitments.

What is AWS CodePipeline's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses AWS CodePipeline?

The most common users of AWS CodePipeline are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.