AWS Lambda Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
284 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 25, 2021
Sai Sreenivas Addepalli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • AWS CloudFormation, AWS CodeBuild, AWS CodeCommit, AWS CodeDeploy, AWS CodePipeline, AWS Identity & Access Management, AWS Lambda, AWS Key Management Service, AWS Secrets Manager, AWS Systems Manager, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon EMR (Elastic MapReduce), Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon CloudWatch, Amazon CloudFront, Amazon API Gateway, Amazon ElastiCache, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon Kinesis, Amazon Managed Streaming for Apache Kafka (Amazon MSK), Apache Kafka, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS), Amazon Route 53, Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS), Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) and Amazon Web Services
When we use Lambda, we do not need to worry about the infrastructure and costs. AWS can handle it all on its own. For an optimum use case, one can always use AWS Lambda along with API Gateway and Route 53 for the best use case. Cloudwatch can help you identify any issues and help in monitoring the Lambda's. Lambda is cheap and best and has all you need if you are doing simple processing. If you need to do any heavy data processing, then EMR is preferred.
Read Sai Sreenivas Addepalli's full review
March 26, 2021
Ravi Khunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used Windows built-in task scheduler app to develop tasks which generate xml file and save to file.
For future reference, we need to store those files at some safe locations to find easily in future.
in AWS Lambda, we don't need to worry about files and code, it saves to server safely.
Read Ravi Khunt's full review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS is great product and a close match our expectations. It is close to Azure in function but more feature rich with API and support documents. From my experience, it is cheaper compared with our competitors and provides better interface. Overall our dev engineers prefer AWS Lambda over Azure stack for Web projects.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've worked previously with Azure Functions which seems to be the direct competitor to AWS Lambda and while Azure Functions worked just fine there seemed to be more configuration and "magic" behind the scenes to it compared to AWS Lambda which is very straight forward. I distinctly remember thinking multiple times that I had wished that we had chosen to use AWS Lambda over Azure Functions at that time.
Read this authenticated review
March 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We also use Google Cloud Functions because we use GCP in addition to AWS. AWS Lambda is comparable to Google Cloud Functions in its functionality. The main advantage of going with one or the other has to do with what resources it will interact with--we use AWS Lambda to interact with AWS resources and Google Cloud Functions to interact with GCP resources.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Easy to manage incoming and outgoing requests via API and Web, pay as it goes, better better budget control, fast t b around in migration, and meeting our overall IT needs.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2020
Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Azure Functions and Google Cloud Functions. In comparison, AWS Lambda is a bit more difficult to configure out of the gate. But in most cases once the function is in place and running the operation becomes completely hands-off. While I've used Azure Functions and Google Cloud Functions, my team selected Lambda because the rest of our resources already run in AWS. Keeping the functions in the same account as the other resources (like S3 buckets and API Gateways) simplifies access management and deployments.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
April 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon Route 53 and Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS)
Each service has its purpose. With EC2 you can provision servers for customers and internal projects. With EBs you can optimize what you need in performance with what you can afford. With AWS Lambda you can integrate several of these tools to work together or acomplish personalized goals.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All our stacks are in AWS currently, we are planning to go multi-cloud soon.
Read this authenticated review
November 15, 2019
Barry Burd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Google Cloud Functions to create apps for Google Home devices. My students find this more difficult to use than AWS Lambda, especially when it comes to setting permissions.
Read Barry Burd's full review
August 23, 2019
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We really did not evaluate them against other products except a little Google research, we are a centralized AWS customer so it was a smooth and simple (even if blind) decision for us.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
August 12, 2019
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

But other similar things I've used are Azure Functions and GCP Google Cloud Functions. Like all services like this, the support is pretty much the same. AWS Lambda supports enough popular languages, and behaves pretty much the same as all of these similar services. It does it's job, it's simple and it does it well.
Read Richard Rout's full review
August 12, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS Lambda compares strongly against its primary competitors, Google Cloud Functions and Azure Function Apps. Both of those products have a significantly smaller community support them and not as a strong or complete feature set. Even though, using serverless technologies in the cloud of choice usually makes sense, especially for identity and access management concerns.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
July 07, 2019
quang vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We considered using application deploy in EC2 with Auto Scale but ended up with AWS Lambda as it helps us to simplify our development and deployment process. It allows us to quickly create instances in a short time for processing data when the source application uploads data into S3.
Read quang vu's full review
August 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

These are all AWS sister products, so I wouldn't say they are competitors but tools in the same box. They all work quite well together and I would say combined they are greater than the sum of their parts. Cloudformation (and SAM) templates make tying them together pretty painless and easy to deploy and entire environment. Gone are the days of needing to wire up everything individually.
Read this authenticated review
August 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS Lambda is good for short running functions, and ideally in response to events within AWS. Google App Engine is a more robust environment which can have complex code running for long periods of time, and across more than one instance of hardware. Google App Engine allows for both front-end and back-end infrastructure, while AWS Lambda is only for small back-end functions
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS is a much more mature platform than Microsoft Azure but is a lot more rigid in the portability perspective. If you are in it for the long run then Lambda is great and the best choice.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Since our company heavily relies on AWS already, my team did not consider any other serverless platforms when building our applications. Lambda was chosen by "default", but it's also such a popular platform that we felt we couldn't go wrong.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS Lambda is the comparison tool to App Engine. I selected Lambda because the entire stack is basically on Amazon Web Services.
Read this authenticated review
July 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have not tried any other products comparing with AWS Lambda.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2019
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In terms of Azure functions and Google cloud functions, the advantages of AWS Lambda against these two competitors are several. In terms of price, Lambda has a lower cost per execution of function and time. In addition to that, AWS has a greater number of services available, and the environment is easier to configure and automate. Cloudwatch offers one of the greatest advantages for all the information it offers on each execution of each function.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
January 24, 2019
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure Functions is another product that provides lambda functionality, but the documentation for some of Azure's products is quite hard to read. Additionally, AWS Lambda was one of the first cloud computing products on a large cloud service that implemented lambda functions, so they have had the most time to develop the product, increase the quality of service, and extend functionality to more languages. Amazon, by far, has the best service for Lambda that I know.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
April 19, 2018
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft's Azure functions and Lambda occupy the same functionality conceptually. Both offer serverless functions, and can perform similar operations. Azure functions are better suited for Azure based infrastructure and Lambda is better suited for an AWS based setup. Lambda includes quite a bit of functionality to seamlessly operate with AWS, whereas Azure Functions offer more seamless operability with Azure.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (23)
8.0
Scalability (47)
9.3
Platform management overhead (42)
8.5
Workflow engine capability (39)
8.2
Platform access control (42)
8.4
Services-enabled integration (46)
9.2
Development environment creation (41)
8.3
Development environment replication (39)
8.1
Issue monitoring and notification (43)
8.2
Issue recovery (35)
8.3
Upgrades and platform fixes (36)
8.7

What is AWS Lambda?

AWS Lambda is a serverless computing platform that lets developers run code without provisioning or managing servers. With Lambda, users can run code for virtually any type of app or backend service—all with zero administration. It takes care of requirements to run and scale code with high availability. Users pay only for the compute time they consume—there is no charge when their code is not running.

Developers uploading to Lambda don’t have to deal with their code’s environment. It’s a “serverless” service which lets outside code or events invoke functions. Lambda doesn’t store data, but it allows access to other services which do. Users can set up their code to automatically trigger from other AWS services or call it directly from any web or mobile app.

AWS Lambda Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
128 MB$0.0000000021Per 1 ms
1024 MB$0.0000000167Per 1 ms
10240 MB$0.0000001667Per 1 ms

AWS Lambda Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is AWS Lambda?

AWS Lambda is a serverless computing platform that lets users run code without provisioning or managing servers. With Lambda, users can run code for virtually any type of app or backend service—all with zero administration. It takes of requirements to run and scale code with high availability.

What is AWS Lambda's best feature?

Reviewers rate Scalability highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses AWS Lambda?

The most common users of AWS Lambda are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.