AWS Lambda Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
237 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

AWS Lambda Provides Function-based Compute On Demand

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Azure Functions and Google Cloud Functions. In comparison, AWS Lambda is a bit more difficult to configure out of the gate. But in most cases once the function is in place and running the operation becomes completely hands-off. While I've used Azure Functions and Google Cloud Functions, my team selected Lambda because the rest of our resources already run in AWS. Keeping the functions in the same account as the other resources (like S3 buckets and API Gateways) simplifies access management and deployments.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

AWS Lambda helps you automate and reduce your cloud costs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon Route 53 and Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS)
Each service has its purpose. With EC2 you can provision servers for customers and internal projects. With EBs you can optimize what you need in performance with what you can afford. With AWS Lambda you can integrate several of these tools to work together or acomplish personalized goals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

AWS Lambda rocks

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All our stacks are in AWS currently, we are planning to go multi-cloud soon.
Read this authenticated review
Barry Burd | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

AWS Lambda for Education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Google Cloud Functions to create apps for Google Home devices. My students find this more difficult to use than AWS Lambda, especially when it comes to setting permissions.
Read Barry Burd's full review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

AWS Lambda - Cloud functions with infinite scalability

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

But other similar things I've used are Azure Functions and GCP Google Cloud Functions. Like all services like this, the support is pretty much the same. AWS Lambda supports enough popular languages, and behaves pretty much the same as all of these similar services. It does it's job, it's simple and it does it well.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

AWS Lambda: Best in Class for Serverless

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS Lambda compares strongly against its primary competitors, Google Cloud Functions and Azure Function Apps. Both of those products have a significantly smaller community support them and not as a strong or complete feature set. Even though, using serverless technologies in the cloud of choice usually makes sense, especially for identity and access management concerns.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

AWS Lambda - The Unseen, Low-Cost Workhorse of the Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

These are all AWS sister products, so I wouldn't say they are competitors but tools in the same box. They all work quite well together and I would say combined they are greater than the sum of their parts. Cloudformation (and SAM) templates make tying them together pretty painless and easy to deploy and entire environment. Gone are the days of needing to wire up everything individually.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

AWS Lambda Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS Lambda is good for short running functions, and ideally in response to events within AWS. Google App Engine is a more robust environment which can have complex code running for long periods of time, and across more than one instance of hardware. Google App Engine allows for both front-end and back-end infrastructure, while AWS Lambda is only for small back-end functions
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Most popular for a reason

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Since our company heavily relies on AWS already, my team did not consider any other serverless platforms when building our applications. Lambda was chosen by "default", but it's also such a popular platform that we felt we couldn't go wrong.
Read this authenticated review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

The most efficient way to create Serverless Applications.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In terms of Azure functions and Google cloud functions, the advantages of AWS Lambda against these two competitors are several. In terms of price, Lambda has a lower cost per execution of function and time. In addition to that, AWS has a greater number of services available, and the environment is easier to configure and automate. Cloudwatch offers one of the greatest advantages for all the information it offers on each execution of each function.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Very developed cost-saving product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure Functions is another product that provides lambda functionality, but the documentation for some of Azure's products is quite hard to read. Additionally, AWS Lambda was one of the first cloud computing products on a large cloud service that implemented lambda functions, so they have had the most time to develop the product, increase the quality of service, and extend functionality to more languages. Amazon, by far, has the best service for Lambda that I know.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
quang vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

Excellent Serverless provided by AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We considered using application deploy in EC2 with Auto Scale but ended up with AWS Lambda as it helps us to simplify our development and deployment process. It allows us to quickly create instances in a short time for processing data when the source application uploads data into S3.
Read quang vu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Best Cloud Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

This is one of the best products from AWS right now. It is easy to set up and get started tool. APIs and documentation are well done. Debugging is a lot easier with high scalability for product growth.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2018

An excellent choice for cloud based, serverless functions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft's Azure functions and Lambda occupy the same functionality conceptually. Both offer serverless functions, and can perform similar operations. Azure functions are better suited for Azure based infrastructure and Lambda is better suited for an AWS based setup. Lambda includes quite a bit of functionality to seamlessly operate with AWS, whereas Azure Functions offer more seamless operability with Azure.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2018

AWS Lambda is like no other!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There's really nothing quite like Lambda anywhere else. We've looked at running our own Lambda functions but there's too much overhead in that. Some cloud providers might offer their own alternatives to AWS Lambda but nothing can compare. The breadth of languages supported and the ease of use to get up and running is just so revolutionary.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (17)
8.1
Scalability (37)
9.3
Platform management overhead (34)
8.4
Workflow engine capability (29)
8.2
Platform access control (34)
8.7
Services-enabled integration (36)
8.9
Development environment creation (31)
7.8
Development environment replication (30)
7.5
Issue monitoring and notification (33)
7.9
Issue recovery (28)
8.1
Upgrades and platform fixes (28)
8.2

About AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda is a serverless computing platform that lets developers run code without provisioning or managing servers. With Lambda, users can run code for virtually any type of app or backend service—all with zero administration. It takes care of requirements to run and scale code with high availability. Users pay only for the compute time they consume—there is no charge when their code is not running.

Developers uploading to Lambda don’t have to deal with their code’s environment. It’s a “serverless” service which lets outside code or events invoke functions. Lambda doesn’t store data, but it allows access to other services which do. Users can set up their code to automatically trigger from other AWS services or call it directly from any web or mobile app.

AWS Lambda Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No