TrustRadius
Axcient headquartered in Mountain View, California offers disaster recovery as a service and data recovery.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3B/cu/KEJ9ND61J4VP.pngAxcient Backup is the #1 backup on the market today!I had the pleasure to install the Axcient device for a client of mine to backup their Windows Hyper-V infrastructure.,Unbelievably easy to set up and configure. I was backing up the servers in less then 20 mins. Support is fantastic, I needed them for a very minor issue and they got it resolve very fast. It is just an amazing product, just wish it wasn't so expensive or I would be deploying it to more clients.,10,None, no one thinks about back ups but IT people. So, a solution like this, no matter how good it is, is always viewed as an expense.,,3,10,Implemented in-house,2Axcient ReviewIt was used by the entire organization. It addressed the problem of not having to use tapes and the ability to restore items with that level of granularity and not have to do it manually through Putty was great.,Can restore Outlook emails down to the actual email and not have to restore an entire DB. No reason to take tapes home anymore. It has an easy to follow GUI that will allow you to restore in minutes.,More storage growth options. We ran out of storage very quickly. There were problems with the backups using too much bandwidth and killing the network. There should be a less invasive way to accomplish backups during the day.,7,Increased employee efficiency since we were able to pull items quickly and easily. Good customer service since we had items readily available.,,7,1Axcient use in the SMB client spaceAxcient is a great mid-level backup solution with a great mix of OnPrem appliance and Cloud based backup, coupled with live visualization of a failed host on the appliance. Easily deployed and configured for a wide range of client environments. Axcient has proven to be invaluable in several recent systems failures. With the OnPrem appliance we were able to rapidly spin up virtual instances of the failed systems allowing our clients to return to operations quickly and seamlessly while we affected repairs to the production hardware.,Fully integrated product support that is always ready to assist with even the most basic issues Detailed product status and health dashboard for service providers Robust development cycle always open to making product improvements,Some key issues with the product update process delayed remediation of issues. These included spotty or slow deployment of firmware updates, delays in execution of requests by the support team, and a few instances of having to chase support down to get them to complete work requested. Most issues were addressed a while ago, but these were challenges we faced during ramp up. Firmware updates were difficult to schedule at times. We would learn of a fix being available to address an issue but the support team was not always very attentive on deploying the firmware when asked. Later on, they became pretty efficient on getting them out in a timely fashion. Inconsistent response from support, both in timeliness and in answers to questions. Some of their support staff were very green, and some were less than polite at times. We would submit the same issue and error code for multiple devices, and the answered returned as to the root cause would vary greatly. Logging and self remediation was limited, much of the meat and potatoes error coding was not exposed to the admin site or the vendor portal. We would have to engage support for any complex issues, delaying resolution and putting backups on hold while we wait.,8,Very slow ROI when we first adopted the technology a year ago, but have since improved ROI greatly with consistent product improvements and revisions to the product's firmware and web portal. Very easy to administer and monitor backup success or failure. Even the most novice client admin can understand the product portal.,Backup Exec, Ctera and AppAssure,10The best Image backup solution - no more tape issues!Axcient is being used in our headquarters, and we have not had many issues with the product. At our remote sites it doesn't work as well as we would like, but there are other solutions for those locations. I am certified in the solution which is a benefit to the organization and the 13 devices we currently backup. We have not had to use the option to spin up a virtual machine from an image backup, and hope that we do not have to. In the event, the documentation to do so is pretty helpful. The solution addresses deleted file issues.,Image backups - backup your entire server File backups - if you run virtual machines just backup the important files These are strengths in the even of an outage, or a crash,The RMC The UMC Offsite Backups run for weeks - 3+ TB of data,9,Better customer service when a user deletes a file and needs it restored The return on investment will be seen if a crash/down computer were to come about IT efficiency is the goal, to be covered in the event of a server failure,,9Axcient - a love/hate relationshipI work for a MSP (Managed Service Provider) and we have thousands of clients we support. We are offering the Axcient product as a solution to backup a client's server locally and to the cloud and provide the ability to spin up a virtual machine locally for continuity in case a server is down, restore files, restore entire servers from a crash (bare metal) and also spinning up virtual machines in the cloud for disaster recovery and continuity if users need to work outside of the office. Our company began using Axcient in 2012. I was brought in from the beginning as bugs were worked out and we created our standard on how to implement the solution. A year later myself and the manager of our Backup dept were flown to Axcient Headquarters to meet the Axcient staff that we worked with every day. My impression of Axcient is that their solution is heading in the right direction. In the beginning (firmware 3-4) even the basic offsite process took forever and we had to constantly send out DAS devices (Direct Attached Storage) to copy the data from their onsite Linux appliance that all servers backed up data to. Since version 5.0 we have seen significant improvements on offsite speed and version 6.x has been great on onsite/backup copy speed. More improvements are to come that will make this product even better. They still lack true native VM backup ability like Veeam and therefore every VM acts as it's own server being backed up at the VSS level. Axcient does it's best to keep up with firmware editions but at times they are released prematurely only to find major issues with them. We tend to stay a few versions back. Our company now has a dedicated backup team and Axcient has been our flagship to offer clients.,Local virtual machine can be launched from the image backups stored locally Ability to manage multiple clients/appliances from their RMC (Remote Management Console) is a must for MSPs and Axcient provides this Cloud continuity to load up Virtual Machines offsite in the cloud,Onsite backup speed, it's improving but it is in the works to get better Automated firmware updates that work around backups that run Ability to manage alerts by template if you are setting up local appliance alerts,8,Unable to comment on financials as I only support the technical side,,5
Unspecified
Axcient
14 Ratings
Score 4.8 out of 101
TRScore

Axcient Reviews

Axcient
14 Ratings
Score 4.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 14 vetted Axcient reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Richard Meade Jr. profile photo
October 09, 2015

Review: "Axcient Backup is the #1 backup on the market today!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I had the pleasure to install the Axcient device for a client of mine to backup their Windows Hyper-V infrastructure.
  • Unbelievably easy to set up and configure. I was backing up the servers in less then 20 mins.
  • Support is fantastic, I needed them for a very minor issue and they got it resolve very fast.
  • It is just an amazing product, just wish it wasn't so expensive or I would be deploying it to more clients.
Can your company afford it? I would like to see it replace tape or disk based backups. Can you fit the server in to a physical location in your office?
Read Richard Meade Jr.'s full review
Aileen Serge profile photo
November 18, 2014

"Axcient Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by the entire organization. It addressed the problem of not having to use tapes and the ability to restore items with that level of granularity and not have to do it manually through Putty was great.
  • Can restore Outlook emails down to the actual email and not have to restore an entire DB.
  • No reason to take tapes home anymore.
  • It has an easy to follow GUI that will allow you to restore in minutes.
  • More storage growth options. We ran out of storage very quickly.
  • There were problems with the backups using too much bandwidth and killing the network. There should be a less invasive way to accomplish backups during the day.
Some key questions to ask are: What are the storage and pricing options? Is there a different cost to back up different servers?
Read Aileen Serge's full review
Kettric Midura profile photo
September 24, 2014

User Review: "Axcient use in the SMB client space"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Axcient is a great mid-level backup solution with a great mix of OnPrem appliance and Cloud based backup, coupled with live visualization of a failed host on the appliance. Easily deployed and configured for a wide range of client environments. Axcient has proven to be invaluable in several recent systems failures. With the OnPrem appliance we were able to rapidly spin up virtual instances of the failed systems allowing our clients to return to operations quickly and seamlessly while we affected repairs to the production hardware.
  • Fully integrated product support that is always ready to assist with even the most basic issues
  • Detailed product status and health dashboard for service providers
  • Robust development cycle always open to making product improvements
  • Some key issues with the product update process delayed remediation of issues. These included spotty or slow deployment of firmware updates, delays in execution of requests by the support team, and a few instances of having to chase support down to get them to complete work requested. Most issues were addressed a while ago, but these were challenges we faced during ramp up.
  • Firmware updates were difficult to schedule at times. We would learn of a fix being available to address an issue but the support team was not always very attentive on deploying the firmware when asked. Later on, they became pretty efficient on getting them out in a timely fashion.
  • Inconsistent response from support, both in timeliness and in answers to questions. Some of their support staff were very green, and some were less than polite at times. We would submit the same issue and error code for multiple devices, and the answered returned as to the root cause would vary greatly.
  • Logging and self remediation was limited, much of the meat and potatoes error coding was not exposed to the admin site or the vendor portal. We would have to engage support for any complex issues, delaying resolution and putting backups on hold while we wait.
Axcient is well suited for the mid-range SMB client, but is not ideal for large complex environments with varying backup requirements. I found that whatever you think you need for backup capacity it is safer to double it.
Read Kettric Midura's full review
Anthony Taylor profile photo
July 12, 2014

Axcient Review: "The best Image backup solution - no more tape issues!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axcient is being used in our headquarters, and we have not had many issues with the product. At our remote sites it doesn't work as well as we would like, but there are other solutions for those locations. I am certified in the solution which is a benefit to the organization and the 13 devices we currently backup. We have not had to use the option to spin up a virtual machine from an image backup, and hope that we do not have to. In the event, the documentation to do so is pretty helpful. The solution addresses deleted file issues.
  • Image backups - backup your entire server
  • File backups - if you run virtual machines just backup the important files
  • These are strengths in the even of an outage, or a crash
  • The RMC
  • The UMC
  • Offsite Backups run for weeks - 3+ TB of data
It is an onsite full backup solution but not recommended for remote site backup when the appliance is at the main location/site.
Read Anthony Taylor's full review
Diorge Tavares profile photo
July 10, 2014

User Review: "Axcient - a love/hate relationship"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I work for a MSP (Managed Service Provider) and we have thousands of clients we support. We are offering the Axcient product as a solution to backup a client's server locally and to the cloud and provide the ability to spin up a virtual machine locally for continuity in case a server is down, restore files, restore entire servers from a crash (bare metal) and also spinning up virtual machines in the cloud for disaster recovery and continuity if users need to work outside of the office.

Our company began using Axcient in 2012. I was brought in from the beginning as bugs were worked out and we created our standard on how to implement the solution. A year later myself and the manager of our Backup dept were flown to Axcient Headquarters to meet the Axcient staff that we worked with every day.

My impression of Axcient is that their solution is heading in the right direction. In the beginning (firmware 3-4) even the basic offsite process took forever and we had to constantly send out DAS devices (Direct Attached Storage) to copy the data from their onsite Linux appliance that all servers backed up data to. Since version 5.0 we have seen significant improvements on offsite speed and version 6.x has been great on onsite/backup copy speed. More improvements are to come that will make this product even better.

They still lack true native VM backup ability like Veeam and therefore every VM acts as it's own server being backed up at the VSS level. Axcient does it's best to keep up with firmware editions but at times they are released prematurely only to find major issues with them. We tend to stay a few versions back. Our company now has a dedicated backup team and Axcient has been our flagship to offer clients.
  • Local virtual machine can be launched from the image backups stored locally
  • Ability to manage multiple clients/appliances from their RMC (Remote Management Console) is a must for MSPs and Axcient provides this
  • Cloud continuity to load up Virtual Machines offsite in the cloud
  • Onsite backup speed, it's improving but it is in the works to get better
  • Automated firmware updates that work around backups that run
  • Ability to manage alerts by template if you are setting up local appliance alerts
Does the client have multiple on-premise servers that they cannot afford to be down for more than 1 hour? A virtual machine can be brought online from an image in a few minutes depending on machine size. You can also have the virtual machines run on standby for faster deployment.
Read Diorge Tavares's full review
Chris Kasten profile photo
July 08, 2014

User Review: "Quick Look at Axcient"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
machineLOGIC is a Managed Services Provider (MSP). We are an Axcient partner and use Axcient as the core of the backup solution that we provide to our clients. It gives us the ability to drop in a server and get both on-site and cloud backup in place for the client. It also helps us standardize our backup offering and minimize training to our own staff.
  • Local backups are fast.
  • Cloud backups make everyone happy.
  • Centralized management console helps keep all of our backup management in one place.
  • The sales model has changed several times since we became partners -- it can be confusing to keep current and ensure that our pricing is still accurate and realistic.
  • I, personally, am not loving the new model towards "bring your own server."
Like any cloud backup solution, make sure you understand how much data the client wants to backup and [most importantly] how fast their Internet connection is. Don't waste time selling it into a scenario with 1 TB of data and a T-1 connection... That being said, you do have the option of marking parts of backups as "local only" to minimize how much is transferred.
Read Chris Kasten's full review
Steve DeBellis profile photo
July 08, 2014

Review: "Axcient - The workstation looking thing that backs up our stuff"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed Axcient appliances to many of our clients as a backup solution. Generally, the Axcient appliance is used across the entire organization for our clients that we deploy to. It addresses the need for file retention, the occasional "oops", and allows us to restore from a fairly easy to use web interface.
  • Allows for fairly quick restores
  • Easy to use web interface
  • Painless software upgrades/updates
  • Bare metal restores
  • The web console could use some speed improvements. It often takes 15-20 minutes just to get a restore started. It also does not seem to play nice with more modern browsers
  • The appliances themselves are fairly big and cumbersome. I'd like to see smaller appliances in the future.
Axcient is great for less technical users that want to perform the restores themselves. We often find that internal staff would rather perform the restore themselves as opposed to opening a ticket with us and waiting for the restore to occur.

We often find that Axcient is not as robust as we would like and often takes way longer from start to finish to restore a file/folder as compared to other solutions.
Read Steve DeBellis's full review
Charles Guariglia profile photo
July 18, 2014

"Axcient Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axicent was deployed at a few of our client sites. The design was impressive, the ability to spin up bare-metal VM's on Axcient's hardware was very helpful in disaster recovery situations. The price however, was comparable.
  • The design was impressive, the ability to spin up bare-metal VM's on Axcient's hardware was very helpful in disaster recovery situations.
  • The GUI was easy to use and very nice when looking at all aspects of a site's backups at once
  • The price for the unit and implementation was high. Maybe unnecessary for many smaller organizations.
This product is well suited for a medium sized business who cannot afford downtime.
Read Charles Guariglia's full review
No photo available
November 11, 2015

Axcient Review: "Truth, lies and reverse incremental backups."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a managed services provider, we've deployed Axcient units to dozens of our customers environments to handle backing up their entire server infrastructure.
  • File-level restore speed. Because of the way backup data is stored (most recent backup is stored as a full image, with incrementals available for going back in time), restoring recently lost data is reasonably fast. This is, most often, what we find ourselves needing to do so it's a nice attribute. It's also the inverse of how several competing products store their data.
  • Easy to deploy. Getting the units on-site and on-line is plenty easy enough that it can be delegated to the most Jr. Level field tech and they'd be hard pressed to do it wrong. Once the unit has an internet connection, all provisioning can be done remotely - and even then, there isn't much to it.
  • We have a 100% failure rate for full-system restores. After our 3rd complete failure, Axcient flew an engineer to our location, they brought along their own BDR with a copy of our off-site data and spent two full days attempting to restore both from the BDR they brought and the BDR in the customer environment - they went home a complete failure.
  • Axcient support is singularly focused on supporting their appliance, regardless of consequences to the rest of your environment. They have no problem recommending such things as deleting all shadow copies on a protected system when their software fails to clean up the one that it has created. When investigating issues I have reported to them they have repeatedly kicked off full backups of systems in the middle of the day and let them run until users complain about system performance. They continue to do this despite my increasingly bitter complaints.
  • Linux "support" is a significant overstatement. Linux systems can only be backed up through Samba. You cannot do a "full system restore" of a Linux machine, nor can you run it as a virtual machine on the appliance. Being backed up through Samba means file attributes (ex: immutable, append-only, etc.) are lost and only "regular" files can be backed up (forget about device files, fifos, sockets,etc - all of those would need to be recreated manually in a disaster recovery situation). Axcient has no capacity to run pre/post backup commands on the target system, so you cannot directly trigger `flush` or mysqldump or anything else useful in making sure you're getting anything other than a crash-consistent backup of some selected files. Don't fail to realize that this backup method means you'll have to log into your Linux machine through Samba as a user with read permission on all files you intend to back up; Axcient recommends you use "root" (a cardinal sin).
  • Backup times are mysterious and impossible to predict. Examples from a single customer environment: A server with 620GB of data (and a high change rate) takes ~6 hours to back up and a server with roughly 90GB of data (and a particularly LOW change rate) takes 9.5 hours. The times for these machines are consistent. These are both virtual machines running on top of ESXi 5.1 with with more than enough RAM,CPU and IOPS dedicated to them. Axcient support simply states that this is normal behavior and we are not to be concerned.
  • Everything is slow. 9.5 hours to back up 90GB of data. Offsite transfers consume an inordinate amount of bandwidth compared to competing products we have deployed. My suspicion is that this is at least partially because entire files are being copied instead of changed blocks.
  • "Image level" backups aren't actually image level at all. All backups are done at a file level, the "image" backup job type just means it will automatically select all volumes on the target system and get a system state backup as well.
  • "Agentless" backup system... has an agent. Scripts and a delightful executable by the name of "axexesvc.exe"are pushed to and executed on each protected windows system for every backup. This "agentless agent" can have all of the same problems that any other agent can have (such as hanging, running forever, consuming all available system resources, etc.), but also brings with it a fairly unique added gaping security flaw. axexesvc.exe is effectively a trojan horse from Axcient, allowing Axcient's employees to remotely execute any arbitrary command or code on any system in your network using the privileges of whatever account you run your backups as (commonly and per Axcient recommendations: a domain admin level user). There are no restrictions on what they can do or when they can do it and there is no logging of their activity. We have had multiple occasions where Axcient's support staff have abused this "back door" to the detriment of our customers production servers.
If you have or will have any Linux systems in your target environment, Axcient is not a proper fit. If you have backup window or bandwidth constraints, Axcient is not a good fit. If you have more than about six servers or a total of 1TB worth of data, Axcient is probably not the best fit. If you are subject to any kind of regulation (ex: HIPPA, SOX, CJIS) and don't enjoy the thought of Axcient support exploiting domain admin privileges on your servers to execute arbitrary changes, run screaming in any direction other than Axcient. If you have a small office of around 3 Windows servers with a relatively low rate of change and a modest recovery time objective, with a decent upstream connection that it can use unencumbered through the night and zero interest in the integrity or privacy of your data... Axcient is probably a pretty great fit for its ease of deployment and ease of management. In the actual words of one Axcient VP "It probably makes sense for you to run Unitrends while we are validating things"





Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 11, 2014

Review: "Axcient - Trusted Solution For All Your Backup Needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axcient is being used by our organization to provide a higher level of backups that our clients had not been receiving previously. This allows them to have the piece of mind knowing that their data is backed up and safe from the latest threats that attempt to compromise that data.
  • World Class Business Support - We worked very closely with the Axcient Technical Team to address any issues that arise on the appliance or backup jobs
  • Innovative Products - We have been a part of the beta track with Axcient for the last year and see early access to new features / products that they offer. This has allowed us to stay ahead of the curve in the competitive times we live in today.
  • Solid Products - While dealing with other backup products, we were often left with the sense of 'loneliness' where we had no one to turn to when things went awry. Axcient has always been available when we needed them, even during the middle of the night when a Server went down and a Virtual Machine was required before start of next business day.
  • The Interface used to leave something to be desired, but that has changed over the years we've worked with Axcient and now it is easy to see all backup jobs and any warnings that need to be addressed.
  • Although there are sometime random failures, likely due to network issues, Axcient support is always willing to help assist with anything we encounter.
  • No other issues to note! We love the product and highly recommend it!
The Axcient product is well suited for nearly any scenario - whether you are looking for a one a night backup, an exchange mailbox brick level backup, or a complete virtual machine & BMR appliance. With new additions to the product lineup recently with Direct-to-Cloud backups, we can even start to think about replacing other backup software we utilize while not needing an Onsite appliance.
Read this authenticated review

About Axcient

Axcient headquartered in Mountain View, California offers disaster recovery as a service and data recovery.

Axcient Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No