Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS) Reviews

154 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 07, 2019
Mark Orlando | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It used to be a half-day downtime for our entire team when an application needed to be deployed to a new environment. Now it takes 10 minutes.
  • While its agile project management is mediocre, Azure DevOps makes the tracking and management of customer support tickets a breeze.
  • Azure DevOps is so much more intuitive than Git. It's effortless to move your code from one project to another and track changes made from in-shore and off-shore teams.
Read Mark Orlando's full review
October 04, 2019
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Allows enforcement of code reviews before new code ever becomes merged into a release branch. This has prevented some seriously detrimental code from progressing through the development process.
  • It is integrated into our build server which is also integrated into Octopus deploys. It allows for a much more seamless deployment process.
Read Brendan McKenna's full review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Helped to achieve better code management
  • Helped to get rid of a separate bug management tool
  • Helped to build the devops pipeline within it hence removing need for separate devops tool
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It takes time to administer. My previous employer had a Configuration Manager employed who spent lots of his time working with TFS. Salary costs is a negative impact.
  • Having an integrated solution in this arena helps code get generated faster.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It improves our development cycle.
  • It helps us debug more efficiently.
  • It saves us money in the long run.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The reporting gave valuable actionable insights which definitely improved the ROI in a positive way.
  • The cost compared to its peers is kept low.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Since I am more on the user side, I haven't had the opportunity to gain insights on the negative ROI.
  • Since I am more on the user side, I haven't had the opportunity to gain insights on the negative ROI.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2019
Vaibhav Choksi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive ROI for Microsoft Product Suits since TFS easily integrates with other Microsoft Product lines.
  • ROI is negative where you find it difficult and spent more time to integrate with Non-Microsoft product lines.
  • TFS server could have negative ROI if the number of users is really limited. However, for larger organizations, it is worth investing in TFS.
Read Vaibhav Choksi's full review
December 03, 2018
Michael Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • There has been a positive impact on our overall business objectives. We have saved a huge amount of time consolidating user stories and bugs into one central location.
  • The system has increased visibility into our processes which has additionally had a positive impact on our business objectives. It has increased confidence in the process and allowed us to have more flexibility around the project.
Read Michael Martinez's full review
April 16, 2018
Markus Hopfenspirger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Team Foundation Server saves us a lot of Time working together on the same code and reviewing changes of colleagues. We save a lot of time here.
  • Even with very small projects we use Team Foundation Server. Here it saves the time of backing up the source code without adding any overhead.
  • I use it also for my private and learning projects.
Read Markus Hopfenspirger's full review
July 23, 2018
Lavanya Elluri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Visual Studio with Team foundation server is the best: This is the best combination to use as both are Microsoft products and they are very compatible. The code can be easily checked in or checked out from the Visual Studio and all the TFS Items like Bugs, Tasks, Change requests can be accessed directly from Visual Studio and also from the web browser.
  • Comparision Can be still improved: Comparision of the SQL server integration Services packages from Visual Studio is poor as it does not only compare the code but also compares the resizing and other unnecessary things. This can be improved such that one should be able to exclude the few unwanted things in comparison.
Read Lavanya Elluri's full review
February 02, 2018
Brian Willis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • New developers ramp up really quickly because TFS is so ubiquitous in the industry.
  • Even if a new employee doesn't already know TFS, it's intuitive enough to learn without much ramp up.
  • The integrated CI server functionality makes it so we can consolidate what would normally be multiple, on-prem products into one managed solution.
Read Brian Willis's full review
December 01, 2017
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Difficult to put an ROI for TFS, however it has enabled us to become a more agile development team which in turn allows us to better service our customers
Read Rich Mephan's full review
October 27, 2017
Peter Anderson BEng MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has brought together testing and development under one roof. Previously we managed two seperate products, one for testing and one for development. This means one less license to worry about, and only one product to host and administer.
  • Due to the above, we have found that efficiency of testing has got a lot better as testing has become a lot more integrated into our development process.
Read Peter Anderson BEng MCSA's full review
October 26, 2017
Erik Sheafer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Having it setup with RM makes releases better.
  • It has been proven to be difficult for remote employees if they lose or have a bad connection to it.
Read Erik Sheafer's full review
April 04, 2017
Roxanna Aramjoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Automated testing saved 2 million a year over manual costs.
  • Automated testing ensured quality of code builds if the test did not pass the build did not go forward wasting both development and test time.
  • Burn down provide a visual of sprint status in real time.
Read Roxanna Aramjoo's full review
March 13, 2017
Erin Hinnen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • A positive impact of TFS is that it has helped keep people accountable. There are less mistakes made as they can be audited easily, and people double-check their answers rather than confirming something they don't know the answer to.
  • A negative impact is that we have one person who manages the configurations within TFS. Anytime I need a change to template or default creation settings, I need to email them and get on their schedule. This causes a delay for changes I'd like to see at times.
  • TFS is well used and well respected within the community, and when working with other companies, they tend to like that we are using TFS over other bug defect trackers.
Read Erin Hinnen's full review
June 10, 2016
Tiffany Seeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Time to completion for projects has significantly gone down by 15% and that number changes as more people are trained and are comfortable with TFS.
  • Change Management and Approvals are easier to access.
  • More projects are implementing SCRUM methodologies for applications
Read Tiffany Seeman's full review
December 01, 2015
Bill Starling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Team Foundation Server significantly improved efficiency by allowing everything to be integrated which allows the global teams to work together on items.
  • We can provide better support to our clients because our support teams can use Team Foundation Server to log problems and to check on existing issues.
  • Fixing issues in development is easier to overcome since the history tracking is so thorough and detailed.
Read Bill Starling's full review

What is Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS)?

AzureDevOps Server (formerly Team Foundation Server, or TFS) is a test management and application lifecycle management tool, from Microsoft's Visual Studio offerings. To license Azure DevOps Server an Azure DevOps license and a Windows operating system license (e.g. Windows Server) for each machine running Azure DevOps Server.

Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No