Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS) Reviews

153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 03, 2019
Kellie Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization of tasks per team member
  • Statistics provider for data related to capacity and output
  • Good UX/UI experience for clarity
  • Copy/Paste functionality could be improved
  • Ability to see all team members more clear visually
  • Sort feature on columns could be better
Read Kellie Crawford's full review
October 15, 2019
F A | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SDLC Management (SDLC – Software Development Life Cycle).
  • Software Team Collaboration.
  • Supports Agile, Scrum, CMMI.
  • Bug Tracking.
  • Reporting
  • Code integration
  • Project Management integrations
Read F A's full review
October 07, 2019
Mark Orlando | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Azure DevOps easily handles our source code and works seamlessly with Visual Studio (our main development environment).
  • Our business analysts use its features to document and assign user stories for Agile-based projects.
  • Our deployment team uses Azure DevOps to push code from development to main to user acceptance and finally production.
  • For managing Agile projects, web-based navigation is terrible. There's no easy drop-down menu system you have to hunt and peck around to try and find pages to manage your hours.
  • Our management needs the ability to predict when development may finish a project. Azure DevOps fails here because it doesn't easily provide a feature to let you predict an end date and it doesn't easily provide you with a feature to export the data to Excel so you could plug-in a formula to calculate an end date.
  • The menu options for code management are sparse. It would be great if they had a feature to let you simply drag and drop folder structures.
Read Mark Orlando's full review
October 04, 2019
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Git integration has been fantastic.
  • Provides a convenient UI for managing the SCRUM process.
  • Built-in Code Review feature and completion policies.
  • I wish I could default to a specific dashboard on load.
Read Brendan McKenna's full review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vast range of Template for Automated Build and Release Pipeline with option to have conditional triggers
  • Code repository mechanism is aligned with GIT which is a well known public repository system
  • Bug Management is also an integral feature of this tool
  • Dashboard creation option of Build and Release pipeline is also available
  • Can add more build templates for specific technology requirements
  • Can have more features in dashboards which can help dev teams stream line their tasks and priorities
  • Can have raise alarm feature in case of any sort of failure in devops pipeline execution
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows you to view the history of any piece of code. Shows the differences. If you are a good 'code archaeologist' you can figure out why things were changed and when.
  • It provides a repository of your code so you can reconstruct it in case of a catastrophe. With code history, you can restore the code as it was before some change that didn't work, was made.
  • The tickets it creates can be linked to the changes in the code. This adds an important element showing causation. This code change resolves or is associated with this ticket which includes the purpose of the change.
  • The way it uses workspaces is non-intuitive. I required help from our resident expert to get TFS set up initially.
  • Don't forget to refresh again and again. Yes, of course, you want the latest changes - you shouldn't have to remember to keep hitting that button.
  • Even though it uses a Microsoft SQL Server database to store its data, it uses the database in a non-standard way. Don't try to do the usual MS SQL backups - let TFS handle the backups.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is compatible with so many services. You can deploy to GCP, AWS, and with any kind of developing language.
  • It has a clear developing logic. You build first and then deploy things to the destination you want.
  • When you develop with Microsoft products, you can do a lot more.
  • There is a little window tells you small jokes and information. It just annoys me.
  • The UI might use more careful design. it can be confusing when you want to find the thing you want.
  • There are small things can be added to improve productivity, such as cloning the whole agent job.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Not only does it provide a way to manage your code, but you can also do most of the other activities such as planning for a release, planning test cycles and, in a sense, true product management
  • The reporting is great out of the gate. They will enable you to draw insights into how the teams are managing and pushing the changes to production.
  • It integrates pipeline and DevOps, making it true life cycle management.
  • Most of the companies use AWS, GitHub, etc. and generally the support on the internet is relatively less.
  • Being a Microsoft service, it works very well with Microsoft apps.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Azure DevOps server integrates well with the IDE we currently use -- Visual Studio
  • Azure DevOps server is hosted on-premises.
  • The Azure DevOps server fosters innovation in our company.
  • Since we are new to using Azure DevOps since this year, we are trying to find areas that could be improved.
  • Azure DevOps server would be beneficial if it could be used with all technologies/programming languages.
  • Having a way to use Azure DevOps server with Oracle or Stored Procedure packages would be beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease to manage code.
  • Compatible with several services.
  • Version control.
  • Need more templates.
  • Can be confusing to use at first.
  • Reporting could be better.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2019
Vaibhav Choksi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TFS makes it easier to build technical features and acceptance criteria that different team members of Product Manager, Engineering, Quality Assurance, and Release Management.
  • It enables the product managers to review technical backlog, prioritize features and go to market that helps improve key performance indicators.
  • It provides seamless integration with Microsoft products like SharePoint, IIS, Visual Studio that helps integrate and exchange data.
  • TFS UI could improve like some of its major competitors with fewer options on the same UI page. TFS tries to offer too many options on the same UI.
  • Development in branches is hard to achieve and TFS has a room for improvement.
  • Integration with non-Microsoft is difficult. TFS could provide easier integration with other product lines to improve acceptability.
Read Vaibhav Choksi's full review
December 03, 2018
Michael Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The consolidation of issues is extremely useful for us. Having one place where all bugs are entered has helped our business process immensely.
  • Being able to query data regarding user stories, bugs and code is extremely helpful. As well, using the visual tools built into the system can help with messaging regarding the status of a project.
  • Being able to monitor code deployments is extremely helpful. Since we are managing multiple environments, this tool makes it easy to see what is happening where.
  • Searching through code can be somewhat cumbersome. It would be nice if there was a way to do general searches in certain areas of the system.
  • Without proper training, the system can be confusing to navigate. This issue can be prevented with good training but it is something to be aware of.
  • Navigation can be clunky at times depending on where you are in the system. For power users, this is not a huge deal but it is a tad bit annoying.
Read Michael Martinez's full review
December 17, 2018
Vinicius Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with Microsoft products, like SharePoint, IIS, Visual Studio
  • Users are able to access via desktop client, web browser and through Visual Studio
  • Code version control
  • Bad UX and UI in the web interface
  • Merging code is a very hard task
  • Development in branches is also hard to achieve
  • Not so easy to upgrade server version
Read Vinicius Lima's full review
April 16, 2018
Markus Hopfenspirger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like the Team Foundation Source Control Management much more compared to other Systems like GIT, because:
  • - Perfect Integration into Visual Studio
  • - Easy and direct checkout/check-in
  • - Perfect branching and merging
  • - Workflow Support with autmated Reminders
  • The Build System is just great. Since Version 2017 its very easy to integrate self made tools into the build process.
  • Easy Managament of Users and User Rights.
  • Team Foundation Server could be improved in the Task and Backlog Managment for smaller Teams. E.G.: It's hard to quickly write down Tasks during a meeting because you have to fill in lots of Fields per WorkItem. It is hard to push the Items around.
Read Markus Hopfenspirger's full review
February 05, 2018
Luca Campanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • No data loss
  • Multiple deployments
  • Deployment without problems of versions
  • You must avoid getting stuck with check-in
  • Developers must avoid overwriting
  • The developers must be at minimum coordinated among themselves during the developments
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
February 02, 2018
Brian Willis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Continuous integration when the team is using azure is really easy.
  • It's fairly intuitive to use.
  • Azure or IIS deployment is very easy.
  • The project management/scrum piece is hard to learn.
  • The Wikipedia functionality it provides isn't very useful for lack of features.
  • It takes a REALLY long time to check in a large number of newly added files.
  • If your file paths get too long, TFS gives you errors.
Read Brian Willis's full review
December 01, 2017
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Work Item tracking - The ability to define the flow of your work items to match your development/test process is really valuable
  • Version Control - The ability to easily track changes between every checked in version of source code can be a life saver
  • Project Management - The project management dashboards showing things like burndown enables us to easily track whether we are on target for a release
  • Integration between our help desk system and TFS was possible but not as easy as I would expect considering both are Microsoft products
  • Advanced reporting for dashboards could be made easier
Read Rich Mephan's full review
October 27, 2017
Peter Anderson BEng MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Source code management - Team Foundation Server handles our source code and makes examining check-ins and changes nice and easy.
  • Project Management - Keeping the thousands of feature requests and bug submissions under control and in the right place is simple enough in TFS.
  • Administration - As with most Microsoft products, administration is not a difficult affair. Familiar interfaces and tight integration with other Microsoft products make most tasks intuitive.
  • Web interface - While the web interface is certainly very feature rich, there's just no substitute for a good desktop interface sometimes. The test side has Microsoft Test Manager as a desktop application counterpart, but almost everything else is done via the website. Some project management tasks could be simpler in a desktop environment.
Read Peter Anderson BEng MCSA's full review
October 26, 2017
Erik Sheafer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TFS has an excellent interactive UI for all users to make source control easy to use.
  • TFS has the backing of a major company, Microsoft. Updates and the way it is used gets regular updates.
  • TFS integrates into Visual Studio.
  • TFS has many tools for many different areas in the development life cycle.
  • There is no real ability to work offline. You need to be actively connected to it in order to see history.
  • Having many hands in the same project/file can cause conflicts that can be hard to resolve.
  • having a "master" branch is difficult in TFS, it can be done but it is slow and cumbersome and not an intuitive process.
Read Erik Sheafer's full review
April 04, 2017
Roxanna Aramjoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tractability, Code to defects, Test cases to Requirements
  • Metrics - Reworks on development, test cases to change, Defect by root cause
  • Single source for all to pull data, business and IT
  • Simplify automation testing, too much repetitive code with recording
  • Easier access to Code reviews - our development team struggles with this
  • Shelving and un-shelving details - development struggles in this area
Read Roxanna Aramjoo's full review
March 13, 2017
Erin Hinnen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Field customization is a feature TFS has that I particularly like. We have a very specialized customization of TFS running so that I can query for specific iteration/release paths that are relevant to our metrics. We also utilize a unique workflow structure for bugs and user stories as the process from creation to close is unique within our company.
  • TFS does their web view really well, especially with newer versions of the product. Often times, I feel that very little is lacking when I am logged into the web view of TFS. I am able to bulk edit items in the newer version of TFS, and at my old job we even set up the ability for QA to push checked in code to stage environments through TFS.
  • Finally, I feel TFS does a very good job of keeping historical track of actions performed to tickets. If someone has edited a ticket in any way, I can review and identify who made the change and when. This helps give me context when a developer contacts me to ask me a question related to the wording of a ticket. This also helps hold people accountable if tickets are written incorrectly or incompletely and prevents people from passing blame to others.
  • The older versions of TFS are more lacking in the web version-- if you aren't updated to 2015 or above I believe, a lot of the web features are not available (like bulk update). You really have to keep up to date with TFS for the best features, and it's no simple task to migrate your entire instance of TFS from an older version to a newer version.
  • VSTS is supposed to be a virtual version of TFS that we've been looking into, but it severely limits customization options for ticket templates and workflows. It would be nice for VSTS to eventually carry that customization over so we could feel more comfortable switching to "the cloud" so to speak.
  • Queries are a very powerful tool, but normal business users struggle to understand how they can best utilize this tool to analyze tickets. Because of the permissions structure in all companies I have been a part of, I've never been able to save my custom queries to a public folder in TFS for business/project users. Instead, I have to take time to train these users and give them guidance on how to best create queries for their needs. This is admittedly a business process issue, but it could potentially also be resolved with some good training/guidance around queries provided by TFS themselves.
Read Erin Hinnen's full review
April 04, 2017
Marcus Felling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Work Item management.
  • Build automation - enables Continuous Integration out of the box, cross-platform, easy to use.
  • Code repositories - Hosts Git and TFVC repositories, provides excellent pull request experience for Git users.
  • RESTful API - Provides the ability to script/automate just about anything.
  • Visual Studio Team Services just about solves all of the criticisms I had of TFS.
  • Release Management is overly complicated and changes constantly, hard to keep up. I use Octopus Deploy as an alternative.
Read Marcus Felling's full review
June 10, 2016
Tiffany Seeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Team Foundation Server makes it easy to develop and debug code. While coding, if a variable is missing or comma or something is misspelled team foundation server uses Microsoft visual studio to develop code which helps find where the line of code is with the issue.
  • Test Manager makes it easy to link test cases with pieces of code for developers or test cases for front to end testing for QC analysts. Linking test cases to pieces of code and requirements is super simple.
  • Test Manager makes test automation easy to re-run test cases in the event the same steps will be taken multiple time for a particular test suite. I had one test suite with over 100 test cases and the first 10 test steps were the same for each test case. I set up automation testing using test manager and was able to skip the consistent clicking on the first 10 steps for the 100 test cases.
  • I think if old coding languages were easier to migrate and keep in TFS as a archive and easy to access then that would be a huge improvement.
  • Easier to create dashboards within TFS of the approvals for projects.
Read Tiffany Seeman's full review

What is Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS)?

AzureDevOps Server (formerly Team Foundation Server, or TFS) is a test management and application lifecycle management tool, from Microsoft's Visual Studio offerings. To license Azure DevOps Server an Azure DevOps license and a Windows operating system license (e.g. Windows Server) for each machine running Azure DevOps Server.

Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No