Azure NetApp Files Reviews

14 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 16, 2020
HARDIK CHUDASAMA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted on-premises-like performance for our pharmaceutical drugs software data solutions and also wanted a simple but efficient solution for workloads to be moved and deployed in Microsoft Azure through storage and data management. As of now, Azure NetApp Files is being used by the IT and infrastructure departments, but we are planning to expand it to other areas within the organization.
  • It has
  • It does not support file locking although its available as an add-on
  • Design is far from native and has a learning curve
  • We would like to have backup functionality built in so that we don't run into the issue where the replication process makes a copy of the corrupted data.
For us, with Azure NetApp Files, the ease of use has been big. We have an operations organization where ease of use is key--also it simplifies migration to the cloud. Azure NetApp Files eliminates a common cloud-first barrier by creating the right infrastructure environment for agencies' resources, budgets, and skillsets.

We would like to be able to version the files that are coming in. So, if a file is accidentally deleted, there should have a recycle bin option where we can go back and, at least once, clean it up. They could probably improve the versioning and other advanced features. The replication is not available in all the Azure Availability Zones.

Read HARDIK CHUDASAMA's full review
December 11, 2020
NAKIA EPLEY | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being an outsourced IT company, we have a handful of clients that use Azure NetApp Files. The primary ones are our media clients, architects, and health clinics that need the high-volume cloud capabilities, the overall strong security for file sharing purposes, cross-country file share and storage, and the overall easy setup and use for the end users.
  • Handles high volume very well
  • Cloud service enables for endless growth and scalability
  • Easy to use for both professionals and end users
  • The backup functions could be improved on, maybe integrated somehow
Azure NetApp Files would be less appropriate for a single user, or single very small office setting. With the huge options in scalability to fit specific needs, it can be ideal for those that want full cloud services, no matter how large or small the organization. We particularly like the solid availability to the cloud storage, which supports multiple share types without having to reconfigure everything specially.
Read NAKIA EPLEY's full review
December 09, 2020
Mohammed ALLY | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure NetApp Files has been implemented across the whole organization and it addresses storage space and server maintenance for our company. It is very helpful for our department as we are required to store information for at least seven years. We have been pestered by our IT department many times over the years that I have been with the organization about clearing out our old files and and removing unneeded data; however, we must keep a good portion and Azure NetApp Files has been helpful in storing and maintaining this data.
  • User friendly in my opinion
  • Seemless transition
  • Lots of storage available
  • Helps us meet our audit controls
  • Connection issues at times
  • Recovering of files
  • Support
  • Initial or introductory training
Azure NetApp Files is helpful for us as we need to keep at least seven years of data, which makes it easy for us to maintain and find the data as needed rather than scouring through paper files and emails. As cloud storage, i don't see many areas where it might not be useful, but document recovery can be difficult at times. One other area where it is not as helpful is organizing the data. Maybe Azure NetApp Files can implement an organization function or better tools in marking different folders.
Read Mohammed ALLY's full review
January 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using on-prem Netapp storages for many years now, and from the latest years we have started a movement (as most companies) to migrate workloads to Cloud. We currently have the challenge to growth our filers workloads (CIFS/NFS) on the Cloud and avoid expanding storages on-prem.
We also, as an Engineering company, have some requirements to store huge amounts of analysis data for long periods (15+ years) and Cloud seems to be the most cost-effective solution.
Azure Netapp Files sounded like a reliable/robust solution to run our workloads and to store these huge amounts of data on Azure, reducing the costs (when compared to on-prem workloads) while keeping confident/comfortable with Netapp robustness for production data.
We're currently running a couple of CIFS shares on Azure Netapp Files and evaluating it, planning to expand its usage.
  • Highly scalable, as many 'Cloud ready' solutions
  • Easy to implement, with only a few clicks
  • Performance, we were positivelly surprised by its performance
  • Deep integration with Azure products, like scripting/CLI/Shell
  • High availability, reaching the 'four nines' if correctly implemented
  • Backup/files versioning still needs to be improved
  • Netapp/Storage administrators may need some time to adapt managing it through Azure Portal interface, it can be really confusing sometimes
  • Reporting/data intelligence solutions would be a great addition
In my opinion, I would say it is more suitable to huge workloads, where you really needs the reliability and performance that a Netapp storage provides to you, larger share sizes, etc. Use cases where you really needs to store large amounts of non-structured data.
It is not a cheap solution, I mean, you can find other options to store your data on the Cloud at smaller prices. So, for small companies, or companies that depends mostly on web-applications, or don't have such a specific requirements, I would not go with Azure Netapp Files.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Azure] NetApp helps us migrate from on premises file environments (non-netapp as well) to the Azure from both Windows and Linus (SMB/NFS). NetApp Files has recently been used by our organization. We are currently using it to move data to the cloud when migrating services to Azure. We use this service for migrated services running on Windows and Linux. NetApp Files very well address the problem of high availability for our services.
  • Global coverage.
  • 99,99 SLA
  • Full integration with Azure also for CLI.
  • Database support.
  • At the beginning, the interface is not easy to use.
  • In my opinion, reporting could be improved.
Azure NetApp has tools to help migrate from on premises file environments (non-netapp as well as physical machines) to the Azure.
This solution is very good at dealing with databases and services that are very difficult to migrate to the public cloud. We also use this solution to build clusters for our services and improve the security of our data stored in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization implemented our NetApp infrastructure a few years ago. We just recently started to convert our computing to the Azure environment. We have been pleasantly surprised with the seemless integration and speed boost Azure NetApp Files has provided to our organization. Although storage is cheap nowadays, accessing that storage has become the bottleneck and Azure NetApp Files has mostly solved that problem.
  • We have found that it scales very well. In some cases we had a large existing storage infrastructure and were able to migrate it while other times we started from scratch with low storage demands and Azure NetApp Files fit the bill each time.
  • We have been impressed with the replication capabailities.
  • The read and write speed when interacting with files is a major asset.
  • We haven't done too much yet, but it seems auto-backup needs some improvement. It seems like it is backing up corrupted files, overwriting the previous uncorrupted file.
  • This is somewhat related to the previous con but versioning of files would be helpful If there is a corrupted file or a file that has been deleted by a user, quick retrieval of the individual file would be handy.
Azure NetApp Files is extremely flexible and adapts to the file storage needs of the business. It is well suited to migrate existing file storage structure with hundreds of thousand of files as well as starting from scratch with no files. In either scenario it has performed well and met our business' needs as our sales and service teams need to access files quickly while they are on the phone with prospects and customers. Quickly providing answers to prospects is paramount for our sales team because for every second a prospect waits on the phone, the chance of them leaving the conversation grows exponentially.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure NetApp Files is used for an Azure cloud-based workload that needs high performance and low latency file access. One use case that I was involved in was the COTS-based analytics workload deployed on IaaS and wanted to store terabytes of analytical data on the file system was a good fit for Azure NetApp Files.
  • Provides high performance file storage with low latency.
  • Offers elasticity. It scales on demand.
  • Offers support for multiple versions of multiple protocols like SMB and NFS.
  • Not available in Azure free tier for initial POC.
  • To enable Azure NetApp Files, need to do a separate registration in the NetApp site, and only after approval, the NetApp Files option is enabled in the Azure portal. This stops from doing a quick POC for comparing Azure Files with Azure NetApp Files.
  • Comparatively more costly than the Azure file storage or Azure managed disk storage.
Azure NetApp Files is well suited in scenarios where the use case demands high performance and throughput for accessing a huge volume of data along with low latency. E.g. analytics workload or machine learning workload.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure NetApp service is used to store underlying shared file storage across the enterprise. It's well integrated with backend databases/services ranging from MSSQL, Analytics databases, AI/ML applications, BLOB storage from SharePoint based on policy based riles. Additionally it offers full set of data efficiency features & integration with backup services, remote replication & mission critical application workloads.
  • Offers both NFS, SMB options.
  • Ability to natively mount to Linux machines.
  • SLA based tiering in terms of performance - Standard, Premium, extreme.
  • Data can be replicated across cross region replication.
  • Add capability to display who is connected to a share.
  • ANF does not have any backup options other than volume snapshots and no native replication option.
  • AD LDAPS Support.
Multiple scenarios where it's pretty effective:
  • Performance can be tuned based on selected SLA tier.
  • Snapshots are highly space efficient.
  • Consistent sub-millisecond latency.
  • Automated data privacy controls to comply with different regions (GPDR etc.).
  • Sub quotas can be set which offers granularity.
  • Instant R/w Cloning with zero space occupancy until a unique write is made. Extremely useful in a devops and test dev environments
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Azure NetApp Files has allowed us to target any of our business-critical file workloads with very fast throughput. We use the ability to change the three service levels on-the-fly, to get the performance that’s best suited to the application in dev-test or in production. We find that the flexibility once deployed has greatly increased our ability to quickly react to business needs.
  • Extremely fast file storage
  • Simple to use
  • Great API
  • Price
  • Features
  • Time to Market
This is a premium offering, so it's not a cheap product. It is fully supported, fully managed, easily provisioned, and scalable. If you have the right use case for this product and the money to afford it, it's a great solution. It is a premium storage solution in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review

Azure NetApp Files Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (9)
9.1
Dynamic scaling (9)
8.9
Elastic load balancing (6)
9.0
Pre-configured templates (6)
8.5
Monitoring tools (9)
8.6
Pre-defined machine images (6)
8.5
Operating system support (9)
9.3
Security controls (9)
9.1

What is Azure NetApp Files?

Azure NetApp Files is a Microsoft Azure file storage service built on NetApp technology, giving users the file capabilities in Azure that core business applications require.
Provides enterprise-grade data management and storage to Azure so users can manage workloads and applications, and move file-based applications to the cloud.
Azure NetApp Files solves availability and performance challenges for enterprises that want to move mission-critical applications to the cloud, including workloads like:
- HPC: High-performance computing at higher speeds than on-premises environments
- SAP: Certified for SAP as well as HIPAA
- Linux: NFS and SMB file shares need zero code modifications to move to the cloud
- WVD: Window Virtual Desktop delivers a highly available, seamless user experience across any device
- Oracle and SQL Server workloads: Accessibility without latency

Azure NetApp Files Competitors

Azure NetApp Files Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Azure NetApp Files?

Azure NetApp Files is a Microsoft Azure file storage service built on NetApp technology, giving users the file capabilities in Azure that core business applications require, with pricing plans for different performance tiers.

What is Azure NetApp Files's best feature?

Reviewers rate Operating system support highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Azure NetApp Files?

The most common users of Azure NetApp Files are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.