Bacula Enterprise Reviews

25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The obvious answer to this question is that it has saved our company a substantial amount of money. We do have a support contract with Bacula, and had to go back and forth with them and our legal department to clear up which county's laws would rule in a dispute, but we finally got that hashed out. It isn't free, but it isn't close to what we were spending for support previously with EMC Networker.
  • The downside to the reduced cost of ownership is that it comes with reduced timeliness of support. If something breaks on a Saturday at 2:00 a.m., we aren't going to get support on it until sometime Monday, and even then the problem likely won't be fixed on Monday either.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Daniel Drucker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • What price can you put on recovery? The very first time we had to restore from backup, having Bacula Enterprise support paid for itself.
  • The extremely good visibility into Bacula Enterprise's operations--as opposed to some competitors where you don't really know what it's doing--makes me trust it more.
Read Daniel Drucker's full review
June 03, 2020
Luís Henrique Gonçalves de Aguiar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Bacula Enterprise shows a positive return on investment. When it comes to backup, it is difficult to calculate.
  • The institution I work for is a public university, where information security has incalculable benefits.
Read Luís Henrique Gonçalves de Aguiar's full review
June 02, 2020
Ernesto Veiga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The return on investment has been totally positive--avoiding failures, data loss, and consequently other losses for the municipality.
Read Ernesto Veiga's full review
June 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Extremely positive impact due to our information being important to the institution's activities.
Read this authenticated review
August 06, 2019
Brian O'Connell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our Disaster Recovery policy in regards to backups and archiving is made possible because of our use of Bacula Enterprise.
  • TCO is very low as the yearly subscription is very competitively priced. Management of the software is very low so we don't have to spend hours maintaining our backups.
Read Brian O'Connell's full review
October 17, 2019
Paul D Simpson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reduced backup licensing & support costs by ~60%
  • Enabled us to script criteria to include or exclude systems from backup jobs automatically. Time Saver!
  • Amazing! Absolutely Amazing support experiences!
Read Paul D Simpson's full review
October 08, 2019
Rogerio Goncalves | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The firm was able to consolidate 3 or more backup tools using Bacula Enterprise.
  • The firm achieved a quantity of backup jobs within a backup window that no other tool had achieved before using the same infrastructure.
Read Rogerio Goncalves's full review
September 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Bacula Enterprise is competitively priced which lowers the overall cost compared to the alternatives.
  • Bacula Enterprise enabled us to improve our backup availability by allowing backups to both disk and tape, whilst meeting our policies for having backups securely stored offsite.
Read this authenticated review
October 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Bacula meets our backup needs
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2019
Nick Bebout | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Bacula Enterprise has allowed us to have more reliable backups at a lower cost than some other solutions we had explored.
Read Nick Bebout's full review
June 20, 2019
Amit Sontakey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Very positive impact on our ROI. Very well priced for the functionalities that Bacula provides as a backup and restore utility.
Read Amit Sontakey's full review
August 04, 2017
Rubens Urquisa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Quite transparently for the applications to allow online backup and guaranteed enough confidence due to its efficient algorithms of verification of media and blocks.
  • The cost of purchasing and updating the annual support is very low compared to other "Veeam and Backup Exec" tools that I analyzed in the pre-project phase.
Read Rubens Urquisa's full review
May 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Bacula provides my company with the confidence that no data is ever truly lost - the recovery options available to us are highly reliable and straightforward
  • Simplifying our backup and restore methodology with Bacula has saved our organization a tremendous amount of money over other software stacks and deployment models.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (1)
9.1
Live recovery (6)
8.2
Recovery verification (16)
8.0
Business application protection (2)
3.0
Multiple backup destinations (21)
9.0
Incremental backup identification (21)
8.8
Backup to the cloud (11)
9.7
Deduplication and file compression (16)
8.9
Snapshots (13)
8.6
Flexible deployment (19)
7.4
Management dashboard (19)
7.8
Platform support (21)
8.5
Retention options (21)
8.5
Encryption (12)
9.5

What is Bacula Enterprise?

Bacula Enterprise is a modern backup, restore, and disaster recovery solution for medium and large enterprises that does not penalize you for data volume.

Bacula delivers a complete feature set to meet the needs of the most demanding data centers, MSPs and cloud providers. With a combination of reliability and functionality, it spans virtual, physical and cloud environments, all from one platform. The vendor says their product is designed with flexibility, scalability and high security in mind, and uses an industry standard SQL database, supports relational database catalogs, and has heterogeneous client support including Linux, OS X and Windows, as well as backup to disk, tape, virtual tape, robotic libraries, public and private Cloud.

According to the vendor, Bacula Systems works to deliver extremely high standards of support. Customers receive direct access to senior support engineers.

Bacula Enterprise Features

Data Center Backup Features

Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Bacula Enterprise Integrations

Amazon API Gateway, VMware ESXi, SAP HANA, Google Cloud CDN, Hyper-V, Proxmox VE, Microsoft Azure Active Directory, PostgreSQL, MySQL, DB2, Red Hat Virtualization (RHV) (formerly RHEV), Citrix Hypervisor (formerly XenServer), Docker and persistent data, Kuberbetes Clusters, Oracle Cloud, MSSQL, SAP (Sybase) ASE, KVM, Active Directory / LDAP, Xen, Oracle DB, SWIFT Cloud Storage

Bacula Enterprise Competitors

Bacula Enterprise Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Solaris, FreeBSD, AIX, Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS, Red Hat, Suse, OpenSuse
Mobile Application:Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Bacula Enterprise?

Bacula Enterprise is a data center backup, restore, and recovery solution from Swiss, Dracula-themed software company Bacula Systems.

What is Bacula Enterprise's best feature?

Reviewers rate Backup to the cloud highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Bacula Enterprise?

The most common users of Bacula Enterprise are from Enterprises and the Government Administration industry.