Bacula Enterprise Reviews

25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise is used across our IT organization, but we do have another product being used in the UK. We backup a variety of systems using different backup options. We have Linux servers, Windows servers, and these are a mix of physical and virtual -- both VMware and Hyper-V. The virtual infrastructure is about 95%. We do a BMR backup once each month, full backups daily of VMware virtual servers (both Linux and Windows), a full weekly for any non-virtual server, and incremental daily in-between.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Daniel Drucker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are the McLean Imaging Center--the neuroimaging center at McLean Hospital. McLean maintains the world's largest neuroscientific and psychiatric research program in a private hospital. It is the largest psychiatric facility of Harvard Medical School, an affiliate of Massachusetts General Hospital, and part of Mass General Brigham. The Imaging Center is primarily research, with some clinical duties as well. At the Center we back up ~50 clients and ~1.5 PB to a mix of disk and LTO7 tape. Our primary workload is research neuroimaging data.
Read Daniel Drucker's full review
June 03, 2020
Luís Henrique Gonçalves de Aguiar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise is being used in the university's Rectory, covering all the main systems of the institution.
We perform backups of our systems, stored on tapes and other storage. Backups are performed daily, including full, incremental, and differential backups. Our backups are divided into daily, weekly, and advanced backups, with reduced retention of 7 days for 1 year.
Currently, we use some plugins like MySQL, Postgres, Ldap, Docker, and S3.
Read Luís Henrique Gonçalves de Aguiar's full review
June 02, 2020
Ernesto Veiga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise is a robust backup solution. In addition to allowing complete management of the backup system in a graphic and intuitive way, it has plugins that enhance the backup of specific applications used in our organization. It has greatly optimized our backup work, making the routines more agile and bringing security to the institution's data.
Read Ernesto Veiga's full review
May 18, 2020
John Kenyon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The BGW Group of companies rely on Bacula Enterprise to ensure that all company servers are backed up on a daily basis. Our environment is a mixture of physical and virtual machines, running both Windows and Linux operating systems, and hosted across multiple data centres. Over the years we have found Bacula Enterprise to be a very robust and flexible product, which easily adapts to our ongoing changes and needs.
Read John Kenyon's full review
June 02, 2020
Roni Peterson Alvarenga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise is the main backup tool of the Municipality of Campinas/BR. We use it for several applications and operating systems.
Our goal is to guarantee backup of structured and unstructured data, something that Bacula does with mastery.
Read Roni Peterson Alvarenga's full review
June 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Bacula Enterprise on all company network servers, backing up all information.
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2019
Dan Molloy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At CloudHQ, we depend on Bacula every day to backup our critical systems. We have a mixed Windows/Linux environment and needed a solution that can span multiple platforms without breaking the bank. More importantly, we needed software that reliably did it's one thing of backing up or restoring our critical data and systems. The Bacula support staff are passionate about their product and it shows in customer service and technical abilities.
Read Dan Molloy's full review
August 06, 2019
Brian O'Connell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Bacula Enterprise to backup all our physical server environment as well as archiving for our all our virtual environment. In choosing Bacula Enterprise we required a robust, hassle-free and fully supported backup and archiving software. We had used the community Bacula version for a few years before upgrading to the Enterprise version. Having superb support whenever we needed was one of the main reasons for choosing this product.
Read Brian O'Connell's full review
November 18, 2019
Matthias Merz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently centralizing the existing scattered backup solutions into one solution. Due to the number of heterogeneous systems, we strongly need a centralized solution with dependable monitoring, encryption, secure cloud support for off-site backups and support for different environments and operating systems. Bacula's plug-in system provides support for our needs, may it be Windows, Linux, databases, Exchange, etc.
Read Matthias Merz's full review
October 17, 2019
Paul D Simpson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We deployed Bacula Enterprise to replace our incumbent, commercial, backup vendor after support costs increased significantly and support quality was less than expected. We conducted a PoC first, and were very impressed at the ease of use, scalability, and the effectiveness and responsiveness of the Bacula support team.
Bacula Enterprise is being used in all of our data centers throughout the United States to backup physical servers, VMware, and NAS arrays (NDMP) to deduplicating disk targets and tape.
Read Paul D Simpson's full review
October 08, 2019
Rogerio Goncalves | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise is used as a main backup tool for the firm, is used to backup virtual machines, file servers, database servers and so on. Due to the flexibility and power of the Bacula Enterprise, we were able to achieve impressive numbers when compared to another tool in the market.
Read Rogerio Goncalves's full review
June 20, 2019
Amit Sontakey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Bacula for our backup jobs across our platforms for a big project. It is being solely used by our technical team to manage, administer and check backups.
Read Amit Sontakey's full review
September 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise is being used by one department within the organization. It supports our need to have regular and reliable backups of our data to protect against system failure and user error. We use it to back up data from around 50 systems, both physical and virtual, to disk storage and then to tape for offsite storage.
Read this authenticated review
October 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula is used for backing up all the servers that are relevant for developing our software.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise Edition is used by my organization and our experience with BEE as a solution has been very positive. It has been used to back up about 400TB of data to Onprem Disk/Tape Media and Azure Blob Storage as a target. We use BEE to perform full and incremental backups in our environment.
Read this authenticated review
October 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Bacula to back up the entire information system of our company.
Read this authenticated review
May 07, 2019
Cliff Nieuwenhuis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company uses Bacula Enterprise to ensure that our servers, projects, and files are being backed up reliably. Our strategy includes making virtual machine backups to facilitate restoring complete systems as well as making file level backups to restore files one-by-one. We also use Bacula Enterprise to back up our active directory database and our Microsoft Exchange email. Bacula Enterprise can be customized to the extreme, and we take advantage of this by creating backup jobs that are exactly suited for each situation -- in some cases we need to keep files for years and in other cases we are only concerned about having a reasonably recent backup. Although Bacula Enterprise could be used on individual user's computers, our disaster recovery plan only requires that our servers be backed up. We do not use tape. Our backups are stored locally to disk and then replicated off-site.
Read Cliff Nieuwenhuis's full review
June 06, 2019
Nick Bebout | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Bacula Enterprise is being used by our Information Technology department to manage backups for servers supporting our whole University. We have almost 200 backup jobs configured using the Bacula Enterprise software which is backing up servers supporting both the Academic and Administrative areas of the University. We needed a solution that is economical but reliable, and Bacula Enterprises fills that role for us.
Read Nick Bebout's full review
August 04, 2017
Rubens Urquisa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been using Bacula Enterprise for 3 years throughout an organization. At our headquarters in "Teresina / PI Brasil" I back up ~ 170 daily backup jobs and in the 226 branch offices in more than 7 Brazilian states (4 daily backup jobs per branch).
My main challenges for backup were to have centralized and monitoring management of headquarters and all branch offices to VM-level backups, compatibility with multiple operating system platforms (Linux, Windows, AIX, Unix ...) and databases (PSQL, Mysql, Oracle, SQLServer).
Read Rubens Urquisa's full review
May 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization uses Bacula to perform file-based backups of our production and production support resources. The entire organization is being backed up with varying degrees of granularity - allowing us to tune our backup and restoration schemes without impacting end users negatively. The services are unobtrusive to deploy and run nightly without any interference from a human being.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (1)
9.1
Live recovery (6)
8.2
Recovery verification (16)
8.1
Business application protection (2)
3.0
Multiple backup destinations (21)
9.0
Incremental backup identification (21)
8.8
Backup to the cloud (11)
9.7
Deduplication and file compression (16)
8.9
Snapshots (13)
8.6
Flexible deployment (19)
7.4
Management dashboard (19)
7.8
Platform support (21)
8.5
Retention options (21)
8.5
Encryption (12)
9.5

What is Bacula Enterprise?

Bacula Enterprise is a modern backup, restore, and disaster recovery solution for medium and large enterprises that does not penalize you for data volume.

Bacula delivers a complete feature set to meet the needs of the most demanding data centers, MSPs and cloud providers. With a combination of reliability and functionality, it spans virtual, physical and cloud environments, all from one platform. The vendor says their product is designed with flexibility, scalability and high security in mind, and uses an industry standard SQL database, supports relational database catalogs, and has heterogeneous client support including Linux, OS X and Windows, as well as backup to disk, tape, virtual tape, robotic libraries, public and private Cloud.

According to the vendor, Bacula Systems works to deliver extremely high standards of support. Customers receive direct access to senior support engineers.

Bacula Enterprise Features

Data Center Backup Features

Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Bacula Enterprise Integrations

Amazon API Gateway, VMware ESXi, SAP HANA, Google Cloud CDN, Hyper-V, Proxmox VE, Microsoft Azure Active Directory, PostgreSQL, MySQL, DB2, Red Hat Virtualization (RHV) (formerly RHEV), Citrix Hypervisor (formerly XenServer), Docker and persistent data, Kuberbetes Clusters, Oracle Cloud, MSSQL, SAP (Sybase) ASE, KVM, Active Directory / LDAP, Xen, Oracle DB, SWIFT Cloud Storage

Bacula Enterprise Competitors

Bacula Enterprise Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Solaris, FreeBSD, AIX, Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS, Red Hat, Suse, OpenSuse
Mobile Application:Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Bacula Enterprise?

Bacula Enterprise is a data center backup, restore, and recovery solution from Swiss, Dracula-themed software company Bacula Systems.

What is Bacula Enterprise's best feature?

Reviewers rate Backup to the cloud highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Bacula Enterprise?

The most common users of Bacula Enterprise are from Enterprises and the Government Administration industry.