TrustRadius
BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution. Some key features include: Customizable Dashboards and Reports, Automated Time-Off Management, and Employee Self-Service.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Pi/Dv/63MQQ6ZTRSVG.JPEGOutstanding UI and Flexibility from BambooHR!BambooHR is a flexible HRMS that the business uses to manage employee on-boarding, off-boarding, PTO, etc. Its excellent reporting module and great UI make for a great experience. Having never used BambooHR before and not receiving any official training, I found it very simple to use and navigate.,Intuitive and user friendly UI. They really did a great job with this. Great reporting module. Good set of base reports and ability to easily customize and create your own. Great on-boarding experience. Simplified our workflow and helped automate the process.,I found the playform not so intuitive when it came to customizing user role permissions. Again, I had no formal training, so I suspect this is more user inexperience vs a system issue. Very minor, but to access the main company calendar you have to hover over a particular section of the homepage. Employees would often struggle to find this. I honestly cannot think of anything else. It really is a well thought out and designed platform.,10,Flexibility is key for a small business and the SaaS offering made for a small investment/commitment. This, coupled with the flexibility and great orientation of the platform made for a great return on investment. Efficiency saves time and therefore money. BambooHR’s dynamic workflows and approval routings saved many hours through automating of emails vs manual preparing and sending. It ensured consistency for our on-boarding process and fairness to all candidates for job openings by allowing tailored, yet consistent messaging to successful and unsuccessful candidates. Transparency is important for a smaller business. The flexible role permissions allow the business to grant access to all areas of the system, as needed. It allows employees access to their own information that the company has stored on record and the ability to update, as necessary. This ability, again for a relativey small monthly fee, made for a great ROI for the business.,Paylocity Web Pay,NetSuite, OpenAir PSA, NetSuite CRM+Great central HR system! Recommend for smaller/agile companies that don't have a dedicated HR personWe currently use BambooHR for all HR aspects of the business, including any leave (PTO, sick days etc), as well as the form/signature for all open enrollment/healthcare benefits. There are other aspects that work well for our company, including your favorite bagel!! BambooHR is synced with our calendars so we can see when people are out of office/offline, holidays and birthdays etc.,Communication of time off - BambooHR does a really great job of emailing the project management team as to who will be out a week in advance and then also syncs with our calendars. It enables us to manage resources well in advance and avoid any allocation risks. Central system with all healthcare docs/submitting applications etc - Unlike a lot of systems, BambooHR's setup for open enrollment and finding medical docs is really easy. You can fill out/sign the forms without needing to print anything and easily find all the info you need. This also includes 401k and disability benefits as well. Time-off calculator - The homepage nav features a calculator to see how much and what time off you have to use. It's front and center so a good reminder to use it! You can also see how much remaining PTO you have for the year.,User Experience - the user experience for personal assessments isn't easy to find. It's a little clunky to use, but still better than other companies (For specifics: All of those links should be featured in the top navigation so it's easy to get to. Otherwise I have to go My info -> performance) Announcements - I receive the email, but have a hard time finding old announcements. E.g. company holidays are announced, but after a few weeks it disappears from the homepage. Documents/Files - These are similar, but live in two entirely separate places, this also goes back to the user experience, but it can take a while to find the document I'm looking for.,9,It has enabled my company to accurately track employee time off and maintain a system. We're a small company, so having a central tool has made it less of a burden on our managing partner. Company employees are well informed and the tool provides a much better experience to find out info needed.,Google DriveGood HR toolBambooHR is currently being used across our entire organization to track both contracted hourly staff as well as full-time salaried employees. It allows us to more easily track and implement payroll for all types of staff members.,I think the flexibility of managing all types of staff from contracted to full-time is a great strength of the system. It simplifies the payroll process and makes it easier to track hours and PTO.,The one improvement I would like to see is the option for different employee types, like salaried employees, to pre-populate with standard hours that can be adjusted. It can be tedious to manually enter the hours for each day worked for full-time employees.,8,Overall, BambooHR has improved the efficiency of our payroll processing.,ADP Workforce Now,Evernote, Google Hangouts, Microsoft 365 BusinessThe Unsearchable HR Recruiting SoftwareUsed BambooHR for a HR consulting agency supporting Pharmaceutical Clients who also use BambooHR.,Clean, simple, nice looking, easy-to-use interface. Very intuitive. As a user, it's nice to be able to jump in and use immediately. Requires zero training. Minimal clicks to get where you want to go and what you want. Responsive, friendly, and helpful customer service.,NO SEARCHABLE CANDIDATE DATABASE!!! What kind of ATS system doesn't have ability to search all candidates in a database? No search, no boolean, no semantic capability, no ability to directly import candidates from any external job boards, LinkedIn, Indeed, etc. This should be what all good ATS's do. Good for HR and handling all administrative functions of recruiters, but really poor capability for sourcers and recruiters.,5,The fact that I still had to use MS Excel spreadsheets to track my candidate pipeline says a lot on it's negative impact. I wasn't able to upload candidates into the database, search, find, and create hot lists makes this system pretty much worthless for recruiting for passive candidates.,Greenhouse, Bullhorn Recruitment CRM, SmartSearch,9Great tool for digitizing HR processesBambooHR has been used to automate HR department tasks such as leave approvals, benefits, loans, and tracking of personal goals for our SME. Previously the above tasks were manually administered, but as the team grew, it was no longer feasible for a small HR team to manually manage certain tasks.,Good self-service interface for requesting time off Good centralised employee contact directory and organisational structure management Simple, easy-to-use interface for employees,Better integration with project management and finance tracking tools so that leave days and travel expenses do not need to be entered into the system twice Performance tracking interface seems too simple to be effective, but this could be a customisation issue,8,It has helped our HR team scale better with our company growth It has reduced personnel overhead on HR tasks,HashiCorp Vault, Mesosphere, Sumo Logic
Unspecified
BambooHR
63 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

BambooHR Reviews

BambooHR
63 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 64 vetted BambooHR reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-20 of 20)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sonny Spencer, ACA profile photo
November 21, 2018

Review: "Outstanding UI and Flexibility from BambooHR!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is a flexible HRMS that the business uses to manage employee on-boarding, off-boarding, PTO, etc.

Its excellent reporting module and great UI make for a great experience. Having never used BambooHR before and not receiving any official training, I found it very simple to use and navigate.
  • Intuitive and user friendly UI. They really did a great job with this.
  • Great reporting module. Good set of base reports and ability to easily customize and create your own.
  • Great on-boarding experience. Simplified our workflow and helped automate the process.
  • I found the playform not so intuitive when it came to customizing user role permissions. Again, I had no formal training, so I suspect this is more user inexperience vs a system issue.
  • Very minor, but to access the main company calendar you have to hover over a particular section of the homepage. Employees would often struggle to find this.
  • I honestly cannot think of anything else. It really is a well thought out and designed platform.
I would definitely recommend for smaller companies looking for a SaaS HRMS. It’s cost effective and flexible offering makes it ideal for smaller companies.

I would also recommend for larger companies too - role permissions, workflows, etc. can all be set and managed at a global level. Speaking of which, this system is also suitable for a global company as it allows for differentiation between locations for reporting, work calendars, on-boarding, etc.
Read Sonny Spencer, ACA's full review
No photo available
December 11, 2018

BambooHR Review: "Great central HR system! Recommend for smaller/agile companies that don't have a dedicated HR person"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use BambooHR for all HR aspects of the business, including any leave (PTO, sick days etc), as well as the form/signature for all open enrollment/healthcare benefits. There are other aspects that work well for our company, including your favorite bagel!! BambooHR is synced with our calendars so we can see when people are out of office/offline, holidays and birthdays etc.
  • Communication of time off - BambooHR does a really great job of emailing the project management team as to who will be out a week in advance and then also syncs with our calendars. It enables us to manage resources well in advance and avoid any allocation risks.
  • Central system with all healthcare docs/submitting applications etc - Unlike a lot of systems, BambooHR's setup for open enrollment and finding medical docs is really easy. You can fill out/sign the forms without needing to print anything and easily find all the info you need. This also includes 401k and disability benefits as well.
  • Time-off calculator - The homepage nav features a calculator to see how much and what time off you have to use. It's front and center so a good reminder to use it! You can also see how much remaining PTO you have for the year.
  • User Experience - the user experience for personal assessments isn't easy to find. It's a little clunky to use, but still better than other companies (For specifics: All of those links should be featured in the top navigation so it's easy to get to. Otherwise I have to go My info -> performance)
  • Announcements - I receive the email, but have a hard time finding old announcements. E.g. company holidays are announced, but after a few weeks it disappears from the homepage.
  • Documents/Files - These are similar, but live in two entirely separate places, this also goes back to the user experience, but it can take a while to find the document I'm looking for.
BambooHR is a great tool that I don't think we are using to its full advantage. I love that it's customized specifically for your company and provides a reliable central place for everything HR related. Would recommend for any small company that is looking to streamline their HR system. The platform includes anything from PTO requests to peer feedback and personal assessments. You can find colleague contact info, healthcare/401k docs etc.

The tool does however feel a little clunky and hard to find specific docs or where I need to go. I largely use my email to click out through that rather than go to the homepage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 02, 2018

BambooHR Review: "Good HR tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is currently being used across our entire organization to track both contracted hourly staff as well as full-time salaried employees. It allows us to more easily track and implement payroll for all types of staff members.
  • I think the flexibility of managing all types of staff from contracted to full-time is a great strength of the system.
  • It simplifies the payroll process and makes it easier to track hours and PTO.
  • The one improvement I would like to see is the option for different employee types, like salaried employees, to pre-populate with standard hours that can be adjusted. It can be tedious to manually enter the hours for each day worked for full-time employees.
I think for companies with the need to track specific times for hourly or contracted employees the system is great and can make the payroll process much easier and more efficient. However, I've used other systems in previous positions that I liked much better for companies that have salaried employees only.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 25, 2018

BambooHR Review: "The Unsearchable HR Recruiting Software"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used BambooHR for a HR consulting agency supporting Pharmaceutical Clients who also use BambooHR.
  • Clean, simple, nice looking, easy-to-use interface.
  • Very intuitive. As a user, it's nice to be able to jump in and use immediately. Requires zero training.
  • Minimal clicks to get where you want to go and what you want.
  • Responsive, friendly, and helpful customer service.
  • NO SEARCHABLE CANDIDATE DATABASE!!! What kind of ATS system doesn't have ability to search all candidates in a database? No search, no boolean, no semantic capability, no ability to directly import candidates from any external job boards, LinkedIn, Indeed, etc. This should be what all good ATS's do.
  • Good for HR and handling all administrative functions of recruiters, but really poor capability for sourcers and recruiters.
Appropriate for small HR departments who are looking to automate workflow.

Less appropriate for recruiting firms, staffing agencies, and any HR departments who are serious about having their own in-house talent acquisition or recruiting team.
Read this authenticated review
Mary Racter profile photo
March 01, 2018

BambooHR Review: "Great tool for digitizing HR processes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR has been used to automate HR department tasks such as leave approvals, benefits, loans, and tracking of personal goals for our SME. Previously the above tasks were manually administered, but as the team grew, it was no longer feasible for a small HR team to manually manage certain tasks.
  • Good self-service interface for requesting time off
  • Good centralised employee contact directory and organisational structure management
  • Simple, easy-to-use interface for employees
  • Better integration with project management and finance tracking tools so that leave days and travel expenses do not need to be entered into the system twice
  • Performance tracking interface seems too simple to be effective, but this could be a customisation issue
BambooHR has worked well for our small-to-medium, non-profit organization.
Read Mary Racter's full review
No photo available
May 28, 2018

User Review: "BambooHR is a good HR hub"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this to keep track of employee contact information, to store all HR related documents and links, to help with benefits packages and to manage certain HR workflows. It is used in the entire organization and can be seen as the HR hub. It always shows the org chart and gives great insight into who is doing what.
  • Easy to use
  • Great org chart feature
  • Great iPhone app to find a phone number quick
  • Some links are hard to find
  • iPhone app features are light
  • Cleaner document storage
This software works great to manage HR in a growing organization. The org chart is always nice especially for a quickly growing organization so you can keep up with new people, moves, and changes. At the entry level security access, the application is very limited in functionality and it gets more useful as you gain more responsibility.
Read this authenticated review
Raphaele Pelaez, SHRM-SCP profile photo
December 06, 2017

User Review: "BambooHR is an onboarding dream"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bamboo for on-boarding activities, to streamline paperwork, and to manage tracking vital employee information. We are able to run reports on a daily basis for Vets, EEO, ACA, and other demographic info we need. We also like the feature of being able to send a form out company wide and gather all of the signed forms in one place.
  • The ability to create and send a fillable PDF form is critical to us, we use it daily.
  • We like the ability to be able to add new fields to track info that is important to our company, such as security clearances, or certification an employee holds.
  • This system has made onboarding paperwork a dream.
  • When we use a form that is sent to all employees, we then must print each one individually, there is no ability to select ALL of them and hit print all.
It makes onboarding easy, new hires like the ease and convenience of it, and all your paperwork is stored in one place.
Read Raphaele Pelaez, SHRM-SCP's full review
Andy Lutz profile photo
November 02, 2017

User Review: "Know your people with BambooHR!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used to welcome new employees to Segment, to track vacation days, birthdays, work anniversaries, org charts, directories, company benefit files, tax information, address and personal info, start dates, equity info, etc.
  • Tracks vacation.
  • Provides bios for new employees.
  • Provides access to important docs.
  • The user experience on expanding the org chart.
  • Linking up with Lesson.ly on training.
  • Mobile experience.
BambooHR is a great piece of software, I'd really recommend it after using it for the past two years. It's great for a small-ish company size (we've scaled from 70 to 190 since I joined and it's been ideal).

It's not the best tool for onboarding.
Read Andy Lutz's full review
No photo available
October 20, 2017

User Review: "BambooHR- the best HRIS out there!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo HR is currently being utilized by my entire organization. We use it for all things related to time off, vacation/personal days, overall employee information and company announcements. The business problem that Bamboo HR helps solve is that since it is so easy to use, it cuts down on the amount of time employees have to contact HR for requests.
  • Requesting time off- it is as easy as a click of one button to request time off within the system. It is easy to follow and syncs up with your calendar so not only you, but the rest of the company knows when people are out of the office and for what reason
  • Storing and organizing your personal employment information- It is very simple to find your employee information under the My Info tab. You can see the exact dates of promotions, job title changes, salary changes, etc. Makes it very simple to keep track of your records.
  • Storing important documents- you can easily upload specific company documents in a secure folder, where your employees can access them whenever they need to. It serves as a centralized location to store relevant information as opposed to having the documents stored in a random, unprotected folder. Very easy to navigate and find the relevant information.
  • It is pretty simplistic. I would like to see it have a little more functionality with deeper reporting capabilities. The features are a bit limited.
  • Lack of customization. It doesn't allow for you to move things around to highlight the areas that are most important to your organization. The layout is very straight forward but I would like the ability to change things around and make it more visually appealing to my end users.
Bamboo HR does a really good job at the things that it is supposed to do. As a standard HRIS it is very clean, modern and intuitive. It is great for a small/mid sized company that doesn't need a ton of bells and whistles but just needs a system of record. It may be less appropriate for larger organizations who need very detailed reporting and analytics to pull from.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 12, 2017

Review: "BambooHR - HR software of choice for a growing small businesses."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, BambooHR is used in a variety of different ways. Our HR team uses it for onboarding new employees, in which every new hire creates a profile and the rest of the organization receives a notification about the employee. For the rest of the company, this is our centralized platform where we request time off, pull information about our role, how long we've been at the company, our salary, and electronic signatures we've completed in the past.
  • User-friendly Platform
  • Robust tracking
  • Rich database and records
  • Email notifications are strictly in Bamboo branding
  • Not a great resource for managing training
  • Cannot customize fields
Well suited: A scenario in which Bamboo is well suited is when a growing company recently implements a time-off/vacation policy. In the past, at my company, we were manually tracking this activity through spreadsheets and most of the data would either get muddied or lost. Bamboo allows smaller HR teams to focus on more important items like recruiting rather than worrying about tedious tasks like tracking vacation.

Less suited: An enterprise organization with over 1000 employees may require more robust features, but Bamboo focuses on smaller companies and isn't targeted towards these larger companies anyway.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2017

BambooHR Review: "A very usable HRIS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR as a central repository of our HR information and processes, from compensation reviews, to time off scheduling, to tracking of training, etc. We're not yet using it for tracking of benefits because that's tracked by our payroll system, but it's in our pipeline to at least have it synchronized with BambooHR.
  • Usability is great
  • Customer service is very responsive
  • Has a nice set of features that serve different HR functions
  • The ATS is rather basic, works if you're hiring a couple of positions per month, but if you're hiring intensively, you might want to upgrade it to something else, using one of the plugins.
  • Has some good default reports and allows you to create your own, but there are still things that you can're report on, or you need to export as an XLS and work there, to create more meaningful reports.
  • The OrgChart generator is a nice thought, but it's not suitable for large teams, and if you need to show all your team, all you can do is zoom out until it's unreadable.
Works well for smaller companies with limited needs and less ties to existing applications. Once you pass the barrier of 150 - you probably start to experience some of the limitations. Or if you have to integrate with other tools, it can be done through the API, but requires you to do your own development.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2017

BambooHR Review: "Work with Bambooligans!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially intended to be used to store and manage employee data and documentation. However, we ended up finding that BambooHR was much more effective as an applicant tracking system. We used BambooHR to post jobs, manage incoming applicants and applications, and extend formal offer letters. We also used BambooHR to assist with on-boarding and the completion of new hire employment documentation.
  • Offer Letters - easily "fill in the blanks" to extend a formal offer of employment to applicants that can be signed electronically.
  • Job Postings - allows for very pain-free management of posting new jobs and managing existing postings, including putting positions on hold and closing once filled.
  • E-Document Management - easily attach new hire documents to be filled electronically with the offer letters, such as I9s, W2s, etc.
  • Would like to see the applicant tracking workflow be a little easier to manage, similar to how Workable let's you move and track your pipeline more effectively.
  • Troubleshooting some use of the settings was difficult on occasion, but I think this is mostly a result of the vast amount of features available.
  • Would love to see additional features such as issuing warnings to employees, and even a timeclock feature to make it a more complete HRIS.
Modern HRIS to meet the needs of small to medium sized organizations looking to consolidate applicant tracking, employment documentation, and benefits management. Some areas fall short of software that is less all-encompassing and more specialized - the applicant tracking is not really comparable to something like Workable or Cosmos. However, all things considered, BambooHR offers really strong bang for your buck in terms of features offered and providing users with a clean, user-friendly interface.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 29, 2017

BambooHR Review: "Bamboo HR is perfect for start ups and smaller orgs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo HR is our HRIS system for our global organization. We store personnel records there, use it to track employee onboarding and off-boarding tasks, PTO accrual, requests and approvals and as our organization directory. For US employees we also use it for benefits tracking.
  • Task lists are very helpful to assign responsibilities to a variety of users and track progress on employee onboarding activities.
  • For a small start up like us, the file storage with customizable controlled user access provided us with an easy solution for employee manuals, forms, performance review, etc.
  • Employees can easily request and approve (where applicable) time off from the mobile app.
  • The interface is very user-friendly and we've had virtually no questions, but when we do the customer service is superb.
  • We'd love to see integration with our accounting system for PTO accruals and payroll.
  • We have employees in locations outside the US so some areas of the system (benefits module for example) are too US specific preventing us from utilizing the full functionality globally.
  • Would love to be able to export the org chart!
It's very appropriate for small to middle size companies. It also has served us well with employees in multiple geographies/multiple currencies/multiple PTO accrual policies and holiday schedules. The fact that all employees can access the full organization across geographies has been very helpful. I can imagine that it's not as appropriate for large organizations that need a full-scale PEO and the fact that it doesn't have an API integration with major accounting systems will be challenging as we grow.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2017

"BambooHR -- A review from a non-management employee."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track time off, primarily. We have to submit a time-off request and our managers approve or decline our requests. Other than that, managers use BambooHR to track employee information such as salary, education, department, promotions/demotions, etc. As a non-management employee, I rarely use BambooHR for anything more than requesting time off. There are generic HR documents shared/available to us in BambooHR but I rarely get any value from the more in-depth information as I am not a manager. BambooHR also allows us to look up fellow-employee emails, and see when other coworkers are taking time off or are out of the office.
  • Time-off requests are extremely simple to do
  • The BambooHR iOS app is simple, easy to use, and has a friendly user interface
  • Keeping information private and secure (not allowing non-management users to see my salary and education, having an app passcode feature, etc)
  • Document storage
  • If you're not a manager, there's not much value. A non-management employee is going to use BambooHR to request time off, but there are maybe only 1 or 2 times a year that a non-management employee would use BambooHR for anything else.
  • I wish it had more employee specific benefit documents. Maybe this feature isn't being used to its full potential by my company, but all of the benefit related documents are generic. For example, I can't go into BambooHR and find copies of my *personal* health insurance cards or 401k documents, but rather I can find generic HR documents about our company 401k policies or other generic benefit information.
  • IT would be nice if BambooHR had a "send request to your HR manager". Example: I have a general question about my 401k contributions and need answers from my HR manager. If BambooHR had a feature to submit a form which would contact your HR manager, then as an employee I could track the progress of my request (if the request has been opened, is in-progress, or closed, etc)
I'm not a manager, and I don't know what other products are out on the market at this time, but I would say I'd strongly recommend another company use BambooHR simply because of its time-off request feature. If I were a manager or had more admin functionality, I'd be able to provide more examples of improvements. I think the web-app could use a design refresh/update. The UI design is a bit dated. Also, I'm not sure what the "Raise Recommender" really does.
Read this authenticated review
Angela Heid profile photo
March 29, 2017

User Review: "Love the ease of BambooHR"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR to manage our time off requests, information on employee certifications, distribute changes to company policies and other general employee information. Before we switched to BambooHR, we had an outdated system where the employees couldn't see their request or time off balance without obtaining a report from someone. This was the primary reason we looked for a system like BambooHR that had an employee portal. Since then, we have setup custom tabs and fields to easily track information like what certification tests someone has taken. I have found the Bamboo support staff to be very helpful.
  • Online employee portal is easy to use.
  • Digital signatures from employees.
  • Checklist of on & offboarding.
  • Love the new job posting feature they introduced last year.
  • I wish there was a time clock system that was integrated with it for our hourly employees.
This is great for smaller offices or where not everyone is in the office every day. It is nice that employees can use their phones or any web browser to login.
Read Angela Heid's full review
No photo available
February 17, 2017

BambooHR Review: "Ok to start with"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used BambooHR to track all human resources information. It held all of our employee documents like new hire paperwork, payroll paperwork, reviews, and other employee documentation. It also managed hire, termination, and change data. We used the access to Indeed for searching for new employees as well. BambooHR was used by the entire organization.
  • Simplifies new hire process.
  • We used it as an employee directory.
  • The layout is very intuitive.
  • It was a stand-alone product.
  • It didn't have any payroll processing.
  • There wasn't any place for goals and incentives.
We were looking for software that would be a one-stop shop for all of our human resources needs. BambooHR was the first phase of that search. It started well for getting us organized but didn't have ways for us to easily expand the usage. As we've been shifting to more incentive pay structures we were less able to track goals and such in BambooHR.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 30, 2017

BambooHR Review: "A great all-in-one solution for HR management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is used by our organization as an employee management portal. Basically every employee is able to see how the infrastructure of the company is built, via a tree of managers and those they manage. We are able to look up information pertaining to other employees, such as their email, phone number, their department, position, etc. It's very useful for finding out what a certain person does, and how to best reach them. Secondly, BambooHR acts as a system of record for all sorts of employee documents. It holds things like insurance benefits information, down to instructions on how to do administrative tasks like how to request PTO.
  • Great at organizing employee hierarchy tree, making it easy to find people.
  • Great at allowing HR to share information in the form of documents.
  • I like how it lists so many things in one place, almost a monolithic app.
  • I wish the main index page had less clutter, and was better organized.
  • BambooHR would be so much better if it had payroll integration that could replace ADP. So much better!
  • It should be easier to track previously signed documents.
It's great to have in order to track down other employees at the company, if BambooHR is maintained regularly, like ours is. The directory lets you go from just an employee's email or name, to having their department, and more contact information such as building location, should you want to go find them and speak to them in person, or get in touch with their manager.
It's also good as a directory for important files. I just wish it was easier to search through these files, as well as perhaps some sort of payroll integration would be nice. And a vacation calendar calculator.
Read this authenticated review
Emilee Rank profile photo
August 03, 2016

BambooHR Review: "A happy Bamboo-er!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR as our HRIS to manage all employees, salaries, job changes and update. We also use BambooHR as our platform of all our onboarding needs. BambooHR is the platform we us to manage all aspects of the employee life cycle and track all of our employees' vacation, sick and personal days.
  • Bamboo has excellent reporting. Along with custom reports that I can run, Bamboo provides a list of standard reports that are extremely helpful.
  • Bamboo's interface is so user-friendly. It makes it fun to work within the platform!
  • I like the automated onboarding task list items. They make it easy to notify everyone of new hires.
  • You are unable to view the Get to Know You emails before they are sent out to all employees - to me this is a huge oversight because you definitely need to be able to view and make sure that the answers are appropriate before they send out.
  • Task list items are only for onboarding and offboarding - which limits the usability. I wish I could create tasks for anyone at anytime or have separate lists for things other than onboarding and offboarding.
  • Customer support is nice but they have gotten more lax with answers. Instead of helping with solutions they often just answer with a simple "no, you can't do that" when I would prefer to be given some ideas of a work around or solution to the issue.
Bamboo is an excellent HRIS system. We use it for tracking vacation, sick days, and personal days. Bamboo is also well suited to keep track of all employee personal information, such as phone number, addresses, social security and birth dates. Bamboo has a wonderful org chart that we use to share with our employees so they are able to view the breakdown of departments.
Read Emilee Rank's full review
Alayna Tomasone profile photo
July 12, 2016

User Review: "BambooHR is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR to automate onboarding and termination processes which eliminates the administrative burden and paperwork. It is used to keep track of employee personal information and to keep track of PTO hours. The HR team uses BambooHR the most and some supervisors [use it too]. The supervisors use it if their employees request to use PTO and they have to approve it. It helps a lot with keeping track of employee information, and sending signature requests. It really helps automate a lot of our processes.
  • Onboarding new employees. It makes the new hire process very simple. You just add in their information about their job and contact. It then automatically sends them a link to register on BambooHR and to fill out the needed documents.
  • Requesting signatures. If there is a time when an employee moves to a new state, you need to ask them to fill out a new tax form. To make that process easier, we use BambooHR to request that signature and you receive that document quicker rather than trying to email and call them. It saves a lot of time.
  • It is user friendly. Employees understand how to navigate their account and the electronic signatures are very straightforward.
  • Adding reports. I have been asked a couple times to generate customized reports via BambooHR. It is a little confusing to select what kind of information that I would like to be added to the report. We have standard reports that we can easily access but when it comes to creating a new report, it can be made a little easier.
BambooHR is well suited for new hire and termination processes and keeping track of updated employee information. It is not well suited for keeping track of benefits and payroll.
Read Alayna Tomasone's full review
Jill Suppes Hollabaugh profile photo
January 07, 2016

BambooHR Review: "The HR management system built for fast-paced start ups and growing companies."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is being used to track and manage all employee related information. We also use it for job postings and managing the hiring applicant process.
  • The jobs posting feature works seamlessly and is very easy to manage. Managers can coordinate interviews and maintain notes all within the same page.
  • It is easy to assign management relationships and then visually see the organizational structure.
  • The reporting is a breeze. So much easier than tracking key employee information in spreadsheets. And much more secure. You can filter out confidential information and share only what is important on a customized basis.
  • The biggest need is for a printable organizational chart. Instead of being able to print the org chart within the application, users have to recreate it manually in another software which is a total waste of time.
BambooHR is best suited for a smaller to medium sized company that is growing rapidly and can leverage the hiring process workflow.
Read Jill Suppes Hollabaugh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (16)
8.2
Employment history (16)
8.2
Job profiles and administration (17)
8.7
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (14)
8.5
Organizational charting (16)
7.1
Organization and location management (13)
7.5
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (6)
7.6
Pay calculation (5)
8.1
Support for external payroll vendors (3)
3.0
Benefit plan administration (11)
6.7
Direct deposit files (8)
7.4
Salary revision and increment management (9)
9.1
Reimbursement management (2)
8.7
Approval workflow (16)
9.3
Balance details (14)
9.0
Annual carry-forward and encashment (12)
9.1
View and generate pay and benefit information (8)
7.8
Update personal information (18)
9.1
View company policy documentation (15)
8.9
Employee recognition (9)
9.2
View job history (17)
8.9
Tracking of all physical assets (8)
8.9
Report builder (13)
8.5
Pre-built reports (13)
7.8
Ability to combine HR data with external data (10)
7.9
New hire portal (15)
7.9
Manager tracking tools (14)
7.8
Corporate goal setting (4)
9.0
Individual goal setting (6)
8.5
Line-of sight-visibility (2)
9.1
Performance tracking (3)
7.7
Performance plans (6)
8.0
Performance improvement plans (6)
7.8
Review status tracking (5)
8.7
Review reminders (6)
8.6
Multiple review frequency (3)
9.4
Create succession plans/pools (2)
9.8
Candidate ranking (3)
6.0
Candidate search (4)
7.2
Candidate development (2)
10.0
Job Requisition Management (6)
8.5
Company Website Posting (7)
8.8
Publish to Social Media (5)
9.1
Job Search Site Posting (6)
9.1
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (4)
6.3
Applicant Tracking (9)
6.9
Notifications and Alerts (10)
8.1

About BambooHR

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution. Some key features include: Customizable Dashboards and Reports, Automated Time-Off Management, and Employee Self-Service.
Categories:  HR Management

BambooHR Features

Has featureCustomizable Dashboards and Reports
Has featureAutomated Time-Off Management
Has featureEmployee Self-Service
Has featureOpen API
Has featureGlobal Settings for Multi-National Businesses

BambooHR Screenshots

BambooHR Integrations

CATS Applicant Tracking System, JazzHR, NimbleSchedule, Cornerstone OnDemand, NetSuite, TraxPayroll.com, BeneTrac, see a full list at http://www.bamboohr.com/partners/

BambooHR Competitors

Sage People, FinancialForce HCM, WebHR, HRMSSoft, Sage, iCIMS, Ultimate UltiPro

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

BambooHR Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

BambooHR Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:BambooHR supports any country worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish