BambooHR Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 10, 2021
Javier Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR could be considered one of the most extensive and practical human resource management services when working with employees, whether they are candidates to work within the company or regular time employees who require administrative desert on our part. BambooHR is shown as a simple service when it comes to manage the views of employees or their activity during the hours of service, in order to evaluate them properly and offer a better administrative management of the payments that will be made in exchange for these hours. It integrates very well with employee search boards, allowing us to get the most suitable information for our company based on the parameters we set, and thus the results are prospects to employees who are more likely to meet the profile we want to get for the company. The platform has a very convenient chart creator, which allows to implement all kinds of information of the employees added to the company, such as the number of absences that have been reflected in our employee record detector, which is used for each worker to record their arrival time for the day. The BPM system can not only be used to cover online work operations, but also those that are carried out in person, in a face-to-face manner. This feature is what makes BambooHR such a versatile service for large businesses that require a lot of staff, such as supermarkets or government activities.
  • BambooHR has the ability to connect to cloud services to store working hours information on the web. This information is easily accessible once the platform has been connected to the cloud and the security parameters have been configured so that only a certain group of selected people can review them.
  • BambooHR also integrates with CRM services, so that contact management tools can be used to reach employees more quickly, making it a less time consuming process to interact and communicate with them regarding work and deliverables. in any case, this compatibility can be used to streamline work in general.
  • BambooHR has an excellent application for tracking the activity of our employees, which we use to review their progress and any mistakes they may make, and correct them well in advance. otherwise not doing this would risk the information in the reports not being correct and being sent out, causing problems.
  • Using BambooHR turned out to be much easier than we expected at first, considering that our company is relatively new and we had not used a software specialized in human resources before. We are satisfied with the use of the service and can proceed to recommend it to the entire community of human resources managers.
  • We have liked this support service more than usual, as their representatives are other human resources workers with extensive experience in the area, and they are in charge of offering high-level advice regarding any of the topics we wish to address with the platform and the administrative tools it offers.
  • In case you are working with spreadsheets, BambooHR does not update the information if you have any integration to web services, as in the case of Google spreadsheets, or Microsoft Excel extension, which practically conditions our way of working with these documents.
  • The databases used within the platform are generally SQL, which leaves aside databases from services such as MongoDB, which work with chained data to obtain different characteristics of movement and transfer of information. We believe that the platform is not good for creating a schema based on information from such data lists that we can include in our self-service oriented operations.
  • The sending of e-mails is also quite limited by the platform, as it does not allow us to send e-mails simultaneously to all delegated workers in our staff. Because of this, the process of sending invitations to special work sessions is more difficult.
Since it shows all the results performed during the recruitment processes, it would be quite useful to implement BambooHR in order to get new employees and to be able to gradually create a fully modern network, with a constantly updated staff of employees who can bring in fresh ideas. Is recommended to work extensively with large lists of personnel reports, which could be useful for human resources departments that focus on generating payments to employees based on their work capacity. Basically it is useful for payroll departments (in the area of human resources accounting) of large companies with different branches. Since it unifies the information of all employees of a given branch or franchise, it could be used to access the employee records of the whole company, and check if employees have had the opportunity to work in another branch. This way, if required, the employee could be changed for another one, as a rotation, and a generalist work network could be created, where each branch has the same methodologies.
Read Javier Harris's full review
June 14, 2021
Sergei Tkachenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is being used across the whole company. As a manager of a department with 6 direct reporters and 20 people in general it is an all-in-one place to keep all the information about your team. You can easily look through the Company's org chart, search for people, get some announcements, request a day off, etc. BambooHR helps you with your day-by-day human resources routines.
  • Company's org chart
  • Who's out calendar
  • Keeping your and your team's personal and job information
  • Giving and receiving feedbacks
  • Requesting VL, SL, day off
  • Plain text fields in requests (e.g. compensation request). No lists, bullets, etc.
  • Some custom feedback requests for your team
  • Anonymous custom feedback requests about myself
[BambooHR] is perfect for:
  1. It is perfect for requesting VL, SL, day off, etc.
  2. Looking through the org chart.
  3. Keeping all the personal and job information about your team.
  4. Providing, receiving, requesting feedbacks.
  5. Looking through the company's announcements, reports, events.
  6. Requesting some team changes: position, bonuses, compensation, etc.

I'm not sure if it still so useful for you if not a manager.
For me personally, it lacks some functionality to process some surveys and feedbacks customly, including NPS for example, or other metrics to measure the pulse in dynamics.
Read Sergei Tkachenko's full review
May 17, 2021
Annie Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the name suggests, BambooHR is used by the HR organization to automate repeated tasks and processes and also used by each employee for timesheet tracking and accessing compensation and other benefit details. The biggest advantage is that it is designed for helping smaller HR teams to take mundane work off their shoulders so that they can concentrate on more strategic work.
  • Presence of mobile apps makes life easier in terms of accessing data on the go.
  • Access to employee data can be easily managed and different people can only have access to different levels of employee details.
  • It's more like a self-service portal allowing employees to make changes in their records without reaching out to HR teams.
  • An option to do certain common tasks like raising a leave request or downloading payslip by just sending an email or a message on platforms like Slack.
  • Full functionality available on mobile apps.
  • Not developed keeping in mind temporary and contractual employees.
BambooHR is a great tool for small and medium-sized businesses but might not work well in large multinational organizations. It does a great job at automating employee onboarding and also generating a lot of HR reports saving a lot of time and money. Since they have mobile apps available, it's more suited to teams working remotely and especially in today's post-COVID-19 world.
Read Annie Jain's full review
May 12, 2021
Tyler Bell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is used across our entire organization. We utilize the software to track who is out of the office, anniversaries, and other milestones. It also houses our personal job information (title, level, pay, insurance elections, and emergency contacts).
  • It's great to see a quick calendar of who on your team or in your department is out of the office on a given day.
  • You can easily look up information on your direct reports. If you need to look at their salary as it relates to benchmarking, it's quickly accessible.
  • You can readily find out who on your team is coming up on a work anniversary or birthday soon and make sure to give them recognition.
  • The insurance information it shows is pretty high level and it doesn't easily show you your elections.
  • You're reliant on upline managers or HR to add detailed information, so at times it can be unclear as to why a certain change was made.
Bamboo is at its best when it's being utilized to find high-level information. The drop-off comes with the features that rely on input from upline managers or HR. If you need to recall a direct report's salary, when making raise adjustments relative to a set pool of allocated money, BambooHR is a great tool. If you need to see what your current premiums are for your own insurance, you're better off looking elsewhere.
Read Tyler Bell's full review
May 03, 2021
Candace Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is the end-to-end solution for workforce management in the Human Resources department. It facilitates hiring, onboarding, performance management, compensation and streamlines data collection throughout the employee lifecycle to provide HR professionals with a centralized database that warehouses relevant information. This information is easily accessible to managers and individual employess.
  • Self Onboarding of employees by e-signing and completing documents to free up managers to focus on other important tasks.
  • Automatic reminders to notify employees when they have tasks to complete.
  • Setting user permissions to restrict access to sensitive data.
  • I can't conduct keyword searches on resumes
  • Customization on templates is very minimal.
Recruiters use the Applicant Tracking System feature to post jobs to popular social media platforms and sharing sites, the recruiters are notified as candidates move through the application process and can answer candidates questions directly through the in-app messaging feature. Inside BambooHR managers will find relevant HR functions, tracking capabilities, personnel data modules and advanced reporting capabilities.
Read Candace Mitchell's full review
April 20, 2021
Kendra Zondervan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is used across our organization for onboarding, as well as facilitating employee records, reviews, time-off management, document management, pay stubs, and payroll processing.
  • User friendly
  • Great Mobil App
  • Payroll Processing is an add on, and that has issues.
  • It cannot split multi-department roles for employees who hold dual roles with different department classifications.
  • Bamboo HR is great for mid-sized companies who want to eliminate paper and utilize electronic document management, handbook roll-outs, tax forms, etc. Also great for performance reviews, and peer feedback with customizable questions and data analysis. Onboarding is a great user experience and allows HR administrative staff to complete almost all necessary documentation without requiring direct meetings with the new hire.
  • As the Payroll Processing feature is an add on there are some issues with the intuitiveness of payroll processing; therefore, it still requires a fairly manual overview. Also, there are account reps that have to push the payroll itself through after the company has submitted it. If there are changes in job classification, deductions, etc. what is updated on the bamboo HR side does not always cross over to the Payroll side, which is why a thorough review is required every payroll processing cycle.
  • We had had an overall good experience; however, when there have been a handful of times when errors occurred in reports after payroll processing, and it has sometimes been difficult to get responses from support promptly.
  • We had a significant issue with 1099 processing as there was a printing error on Bamboo's side; however, despite our reaching out to check the status, the rep communicated a timeline that was not met. We were not contacted until the day before the IRS deadline that our 1099's were not printed and would not be processed in time. This specific situation has caused us to prepare our 1099's in the future either internally or through another party.
Read Kendra Zondervan's full review
April 20, 2021
Carlie McLaughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR for all HR related matters across our including performance evaluations, time off, health benefits tracking, company HR resources and job information. It is used by all employees across the organization and keep everything uniform and in one place. This makes it easy for managers and employees to find what they are looking for.
  • Time off requests.
  • Benefit details.
  • Employee information.
  • Better file tracking.
  • Better organization structure mapping.
If you have a small to mid sized company, BambooHR might be really good for you and your company. It is very simple to navigate and easy to learn for all users. It has a good user interface and is appealing to look at. As well as has most functionality needed for HR (time off, benefits, employee information, etc).
Read Carlie McLaughlin's full review
April 22, 2021
David Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is used by the entire organization as the primary HR Management system. The system manages the onboarding, offboarding and job information for all of the company's employees.
  • Good interface
  • Available Mobile App
  • Easy to use
  • Custom checklist functionality could use improvement
  • Pro-Rated vacation hours do not round up. Leaving fractions of an hour which would likely never be used
[BambooHR is a] very effective and simple HR management system. It meets the requirements of the company due to its available features. Some features can do for a little improvement but it's not a deal breaker.
Read David Moore's full review
April 16, 2021
Angela Heid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR to manage our time off requests, information on employee certifications, distribute changes to company policies and other general employee information. Before we switched to BambooHR, we had an outdated system where the employees couldn't see their request or time off balance without obtaining a report from someone. This was the primary reason we looked for a system like BambooHR that had an employee portal. Since then, we have setup custom tabs and fields to easily track information like what certification tests someone has taken. I have found the Bamboo support staff to be very helpful.
  • Online employee portal is easy to use.
  • Digital signatures from employees.
  • Checklist of on & offboarding.
  • Love the new job posting feature they introduced last year.
  • I wish there was a time clock system that was integrated with it for our hourly employees.
This is great for smaller offices or where not everyone is in the office every day. It is nice that employees can use their phones or any web browser to login.
Read Angela Heid's full review
June 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR has a ton of different features to solve common human resources tasks, like performance reviews and employee onboarding/off boarding. The platform is managed by our People Ops department, and they get by great without technical assistance. Every employee uses BambooHR to book their time off, view the org chart, etc.
  • The org chart is excellent, with multiple views and a responsive experience.
  • The ability to create alerts/reminders for employees is very powerful and can be used to automate many workflows.
  • It's a generally enjoyable web app to use with a clean UI and responsive performance.
  • Some edge cases aren't as fleshed out. For example, asset inventory management isn't something BambooHR can really excel at currently.
  • Something akin to Google Forms but with the privacy protections of being already in the HRIS would be great for collecting anonymized responses.
I think BambooHR is an excellent product for companies from small to moderately large. It is easily manageable by a competent human resources department and provides robust functionality in the areas that you care most. Don't ask it to go too far out of it's lane, such as trying to implement your asset inventory via custom fields. Overall, an excellent product.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Thanks to the ergonomics of BambooHR, it is not difficult at all to adapt to the process of creating lists with employee data, to access them easily, thus ensuring fast and more comfortable operations than with average HHRR services. Our management as a human resources department has improved a lot thanks to its implementation. We believe BambooHR has one of the best developed customer support oriented platforms available in general human resources management, with a highly trained team available around the clock to answer our questions about operations using the service. We have found BambooHR to be a very welcoming HR operations-oriented service, with easy-to-define contact integration mechanics to external platforms, and learning to use it does not seem to require any amount of prior experience on our part.
  • BambooHR provides very intuitive self-service tools, allowing our employees and applicants to attach all their contact data, or do their own skills analysis, thus saving enough time in the long run to improve the average interview and hiring speed.
  • BambooHR is well automated, facilitating our operations when working with the process of registering new applicants from search engines, and thanks to its talent measurement tools, it is possible to calculate early which prospects would be the best.
  • BambooHR is an ideal service for the development of reports with group data, since it allows us to include the number of employees added to our staff. Diagrams of different types can be added to these same reports depending on the type of work being carried out.
  • The ease of analytics for hiring planning makes it much less complex and professional than other HHRR services, which is useful when working on employee experience reports during the hiring process to ensure that company protocol parameters are being met.
  • It's nice that BambooHR can be integrated with social media, as employee interaction reports on Facebook or Instagram can be shared through social media. BambooHR lets us know appropriately when a message arrives on these social networks thanks to its message alarm system.
  • In the area of human resources, BambooHR is easily the one with the most options when working with time tracking, where you can make annotations of incidents, and these in turn can be noted in reports that reflect the performance of each worker.
  • BambooHR does not have its own internal chat service, which shows several limitations when you need to work with live comments within the platform. In fact, it is very non-interactive, which limits our direct communication methodology.
  • BambooHR cannot be integrated with office software that specializes in payroll work, which would be excellent when it comes to letting us manage employee payments, and not leaving us with the need to integrate with payroll services.
  • It is a bit difficult to communicate from BambooHR, since the service limits the communication tools of the team by not having chat or instant messaging services without the need to work with an integration that specializes in just that.
BambooHR is recommended because it has many stable cloud integrations, streamlining the storage of employee and applicant information in the cloud of our choice, which makes us not worry about the security of our work content and daily reports. It is excellent for planning the creation of new format schedules for employee documents, depending on whether you are working with integrations to sales services, making sure that the work is varied enough and that you are using your own branding image. It is very productive in cross-referencing employee data within reports. That is, in combining and comparing results to create more complete analyses, creating workgroups depending on the type of project to be used, so that the HHRR department is the decision-maker.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is a great tool with lots of HR information and resources. We like the online webinar where we can sign up for free and we get also access to their powerpoint training which is great. A great tool used by several people in the Human Resources Department. The information on state law is very helpful when we don't have a lawyer on site.
  • Webinar
  • HR state law
  • More in-depths information on certain topics
  • Off boarding
Bamboo is well suited for all minor HR topics for small and medium companies. Once the company gets too big, I think the resource might not be sufficient enough, although it is a great tool. There is definitely more information on people and culture than certain other topics that could be covered but, for us, it works perfectly for now.
  • Online training
This is a great tool and a great source of HR information and training. We use the webinar a lot and we share it with various people in the company or whoever is interested to know about new laws and new HR topics. The website is extremely user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To handle all employees, salaries, work changes, and alerts, we use BambooHR. BambooHR also serves as the hub for all of our onboarding needs. It is the tool we use to monitor all of the employees' holiday, sick, and personal days, as well as control all facets of the employee life cycle. It is a great way to manage all aspects of HR for us as a global, often remote organization.
  • Tracking Vacations/PTO
  • Time-off calculator
  • Easy to use interface
  • Lack of customization
  • Org chart not exportable
Makes it easy for the staff to find more info about every employee. It helps me keep track of any announcements, celebrations/birthdays and I really like the feature to see who's out.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR to manage all employee information and HR records, dates, time off, etc. Our entire company uses it to manage time off and it's so much easier to keep it all organized in one central location. The employees all have access to it and it definitely saves time keeping everything up to date.
  • BambooHR platform is very easy to navigate.
  • I like that you can announce new hires to all employees.
  • I like the company calendar where everyone can see it.
  • being able to see employee time off
  • company directory with phone, email, who they report to
  • The mobile app functionality is low.
  • It still takes a decent amount of time to make sure all the employee data is accurate.
BambooHR is great for managing employee HR information. It's great for managing PTO. It is great to have a central location to manage all of this information.
Great. I haven't had to use it much after we got everything set up.
Read this authenticated review
October 27, 2020
Chris Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is a human resource management platform that we use in expediting the management of our human workforce and execute various roles including payroll management, applicant tracking system, workforce management among others. The platform has helped us automate our HR functions and this has enabled us keep them motivated at all times. It has helped us still capture and store our employees records safely and manage our workflows with ease by helping come up with a balanced duty rooster for our work-shifts. On payroll management, the platform has helped us address the errors associated with manual management such as having double entries or missing some altogether and this has helped improve the trust and confidence of our employees towards our company.
  • It's smooth and its deployment is excellent. This assures user efficiency when using the platform.
  • Fits well in all organizations including even the SMEs. This allows them to manage their employees intuitively.
  • Customer support is available and willing to help all users in using the platform in an adequate manner.
  • Improves the basic HR processes and this keeps our staff motivated at all times due to accurate remuneration.
  • Sometimes its affected by poor internet connections, lowering its usage.
  • If there existed an intuitive mobile version of the platform it would diversify its usage.
  • There were some of our HR staff who took quite some time in understanding the platform in an accurate manner.
Its a great platform created with the idea of helping all organizations including even the small ones and this fits well in a scenario where a company aims to expedite and improve the way they manage their human resources functions. It will bring automation and ensure that all the records and the various processes are smooth and improved all the time.It will also fit well where a company wishes to implement applicant tracking system and this will help in ensuring that your organization is able to hire and retain top and talented staff at all times.
The customer support is responsive and this ensures that all users who require support are availed on time and ensure that they acquire all the benefits of the platform. This was quite helpful especially where some of our staff needed guidance.
Read Chris Edwards's full review
March 31, 2020
Matt LeMaire, B.A., M.A. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used BambooHR as our main HRIS in an attempt to streamline our HR processes. As a relatively smaller company in the insurance industry, we found that some of the HR processes that existed were cumbersome and far too manual. By employing BambooHR, we were able to simplify those processes and documentation, while giving end users the ability to be involved in the administration process (e.g. self-serve, etc.). The self-serve elements were especially helpful as they eliminated some of the more time intensive work of emailing documents back and forth and the scanning of such documents.
  • Self-serve: employees can now be more involved in updating and reviewing their documents and employee file. What was once a passive process has become much more active for them.
  • Onboarding workflows: we have been able to create a simplified and almost automated process to help make the onboarding of a new employee seamless. Instead of a paper checklist and/or printing documents, we have a full package that can be sent and tracked via BambooHR.
  • User friendly: The service is user friendly and easy to pick up and learn for all users, whether admin or regular employee. This makes adoption a lot simpler.
  • The reports functionality is somewhat limited and doesn't always allow for you to get as granular as you'd like. What's there works for the most part, but more detailed analytics would be helpful.
  • Simplicity can be a double-edged sword: while the service is easy to use and simplified, this means that some of the more advanced things you might expect from an HRIS are not present, including more customization options.
  • Mobile app is limited and could be more fully featured as it's a bit disappointing to see that they are not the same.
First of all, BambooHR is not cost-effective if you do not have a lot of processes that you are looking to streamline. In short, you need to examine what you are currently doing and determine whether BambooHR has an equivalent process that can replace it and help make things smoother. Mid-size companies might have better success with BambooHR given the cost, as well, but smaller companies can manage if the budget is there. If you're looking to provide more self-serve options to employees and free up your HR team/individual to do more on the strategy and development side of HR, BambooHR can definitely help with that. Ultimately, you need to consider the ROI on BambooHR and whether its implementation will provide the right amount of benefits to justify the change overall, which may be harder than it sounds in some cases.
Support is effective and responsive. During our time with BambooHR we did not experience many issues, but initial support on setup was helpful and allowed for a quick turnaround on getting started. Since then, few needs have arisen for contacting support, but I would not hesitate to do so and would recommend BambooHR based on the quality of their support team.
Read Matt LeMaire, B.A., M.A.'s full review
February 12, 2020
John Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a decentralized SME spread across several countries in Europe and the US, with many people working from home. We use BambooHR as a platform for corporate communications and general HR support as well as tracking time off, etc. It represents our go-to place for everyone to gain information on what is happening at the company level and for our one HR person to interact with the entire company as well as fill-in data on individuals.
  • It's simple and easy to use, requiring no formal training.
  • It is a resource for the entire company, not just HR.
  • Generally no complaints
  • Layout is a little boring
BambooHR works well for us. It is probably a bit cumbersome for a large organization, but BambooHR works well for SMEs, particularly if the company is not centralized in a single office, which is more and more the case these days. BambooHR provides an opportunity for those of us working from home to check in on what the company is up to and for an HR person sitting in Boston to keep track of personal data from people across Europe.
The support for implementation of the platform was excellent with a very simple and hassle-free rollout. Internally, there has been great support for it from management and to-date most people seem to use it without any notable complaints. Ongoing tech support is fine, but to be honest there is little to go wrong so we have had little need for it.
Read John Watson's full review
January 24, 2020
Jay Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR in a lot of ways. One way is that it is our “feeder” program. Once the staff is loaded into the system, it auto-creates profiles in Humanity for scheduling and payroll functions such as clocking in and out, and it will create a user profile in our LMS. We also request time off through BambooHR and approve time off. We also track performance development through BambooHR. We a visible folder to supervisors that shows PIP’s, Employee Warnings, Reviews, and Termination forms.
  • Inter grating with other software.
  • Organized, You set up lots of folders with different permissions. You can house everything from onboarding forms to bonus reports.
  • Permissions need more levels. Some of them do not allow all the things you need people to see while restricting other items. Example- you can’t see vacation time allowed without seeing Payroll and salary dollars.
  • The app is horrible. Push alerts never work and it kicks you out all the time.
If you are Inter grating with several SalesForce systems, this a great feeder program. We onboard staff from Workable into BambooHR, and it auto creates both Humanity and Lessonly LMS Accounts. When an associate leaves, we deactivate them in BambooHR, and it will deactivate those accounts as well. BambooHR would be better if it had some of the functions of a Humanity and allowed shift planning and time in and out options.
Chat feature is useful
Read Jay Dalton's full review
January 15, 2020
Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR as our human resource information system for the entire company. It serves as a home base for all of our employee information as well as a document repository for HR-related content. We use the Trax payroll integration for payroll administration and the BambooHR API to integrate with our LCMS (Lessonly). We also use the performance review and goals functions.
  • Organization directory / chart
  • Performance reviews
  • The reporting function is cumbersome and doesn't allow for much flexibility in terms of role permissions.
  • The file viewer window is pretty small, much easier to download the file for offline viewing.
  • BambooHR does well in cataloging and managing employee information. From the user side, the UI / UX is polished and user-friendly. The tab structure makes it easy to find the information you're looking for, and the ability to integrate with other HR-related platforms is excellent.
  • From the admin side, my only gripes are the reporting function being a little difficult to get only the information you want, but it is possible with the proper know-how.
The few times I've needed support from BambooHR have been uneventful. Support provided the information I needed, but the experience was nothing to write home about. Their knowledge base and videos make it pretty simple to find the answers you need, and their phone agents are friendly enough.
Read Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer's full review
May 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Bamboo HR to measure the employee turnover rate and then to on-board employees having them complete the applications via e-signature.
  • Employee profile filter.
  • E-signature feature.
  • Customer service.
  • Refund policy.

The number one reason why we signed up for the software was so that we could streamline the on-boarding e-signature process with all employees but it turns out that the e-signature software has bugs that have not been fixed for over 2 months, since we first inquired for this to be fixed. During those 2 months we kept following up with the support team and their answer was "our specialists are still looking into this issue."

Finally, I asked for a refund and Ramona Brown got back to me saying "the account has still been usable." Very disappointed in the software and customer service. I will be leaving negative reviews online.

Terrible. Customer service took 2 months trying to resolve an e-signature issue and finally they were not able to resolve the issue.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was an incredible experience to discover how everything can be so organized, updated and at hand for all employees. They constantly know their status within the organization, free days, vacations, and sick days, and that they can retrieve their documents and update their information. It makes multinational company employees feel closer to each other, know more about them, and communicate better. I love! I had never had a better experience than this.
  • Tell you your days off, sick days, etc.
  • Tell you other’s bdays
  • Keep you up with new employees
  • Could be nice if it has a chat.
  • Easier to find options.
  • Easier to check on others profile.
So that people can be aware of their situation within the company, can request their vacations and know when they are approved, to report sick days and other novelty situations, also to know the entry and exit of other employees, update payroll and your personal information.
Because it works very well for all the internal hr needs.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR for everything HR-related... time off request, sick days, company holiday scheduled, onboarding information, benefit guides, company policies, etc. It also announces company new hires, work anniversaries, birthdays, etc.
  • Time off requests.
  • New hire onboarding information.
  • We have unlimited PTO but it still don't understand why it will say you're OOO over the weekends.
  • Mobile app is decent.
I think it's appropriate for companies that have remote offices and are growing quickly. An easy way for information to be shared across all offices.

Not sure it's necessary for small teams but if it's in the budget, I'd recommend it.
I have only reached out once and I heard back very quickly.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is used across the organization for onboarding, employee reviews and all things HR management like signing important documents, updates/notices, etc.
  • Onboarding checklist - really easy to use
  • Quick links to important documents
  • Honestly nothing - it’s so easy as an end user.
BambooHR has worked particularly well for our small / all-remote company. The onboarding in particular is laid out in a really clear and easy-to-use way. Having used other HR Systems in my past, I greatly prefer BambooHR.
I have never used the support.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR to track vacation days/sick days, all paperwork associated to the job, employee directories, etc. It is convenient because it houses all information in one place.
  • Directory of all employees - I like that you can search by name or view the department hierarchy.
  • Holds important documentation for me in one place.
  • The birthdays/work anniversary feature is fun.
  • It can be a little confusing to find specific pages within my profile.
I have nothing to compare BambooHR to in terms of other HR platforms. It's not flashy, it's just efficient and effective at what it is.
Have not had any issues with Bamboo, it has worked smoothly for me since I started using it.
Read this authenticated review
November 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo HR is used across the whole organization. Bamboo HR is a wonderful product for onboarding, updating information, and requesting PTO.
  • Electronic Signatures for Onboarding.
  • Finding employees across the organization (email and phone number, along with location/title).
  • Sending mass documents or newsletters to employees.
  • Not the best onboarding tool I have ever used because of its glitches/reloading.
  • There are a lot of software updates that need to happen often.
  • Last time I used it, you could only upload one document at a time.
Bamboo HR is excellent for a large company to get new hire paperwork or compliance paperwork signed electronically. Other than that, it is not personalized or a useful HR tool for after the fact (does not have options to see pay stub, W2, etc.)
The customer support is always available (except for when there are updates).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (46)
8.4
Employment history (50)
8.7
Job profiles and administration (50)
8.3
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (42)
8.1
Organizational charting (48)
8.1
Organization and location management (44)
8.3
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (28)
7.8
Pay calculation (27)
8.2
Support for external payroll vendors (22)
8.2
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (8)
8.0
Benefit plan administration (31)
8.7
Direct deposit files (30)
8.6
Salary revision and increment management (30)
8.5
Reimbursement management (17)
7.9
Approval workflow (50)
9.2
Balance details (43)
9.0
Annual carry-forward and encashment (40)
8.8
View and generate pay and benefit information (34)
8.5
Update personal information (53)
8.8
View company policy documentation (45)
8.5
Employee recognition (37)
8.5
View job history (51)
8.9
Tracking of all physical assets (25)
7.2
Report builder (39)
7.8
Pre-built reports (38)
8.0
Ability to combine HR data with external data (32)
8.0
New hire portal (41)
8.4
Manager tracking tools (39)
8.3
Corporate goal setting (25)
7.5
Individual goal setting (28)
7.8
Line-of sight-visibility (22)
7.4
Performance tracking (23)
8.2
Performance plans (29)
8.2
Performance improvement plans (28)
8.1
Review status tracking (28)
8.4
Review reminders (31)
8.3
Multiple review frequency (26)
7.9
Create succession plans/pools (18)
7.8
Candidate ranking (21)
7.7
Candidate search (22)
7.8
Candidate development (19)
7.7
Job Requisition Management (23)
7.9
Company Website Posting (25)
7.7
Publish to Social Media (23)
7.8
Job Search Site Posting (23)
7.7
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (21)
7.8
Applicant Tracking (28)
7.9
Notifications and Alerts (29)
8.4

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution. Some key features include: Customizable Dashboards and Reports, Automated Time-Off Management, and Employee Self-Service.

BambooHR Features

Has featureCustomizable Dashboards and Reports
Has featureAutomated Time-Off Management
Has featureEmployee Self-Service
Has featureOpen API
Has featureGlobal Settings for Multi-National Businesses

BambooHR Screenshots

BambooHR Integrations

CATS Applicant Tracking System, JazzHR, NimbleSchedule Unpublished, Cornerstone OnDemand, NetSuite ERP, TraxPayroll.com, BeneTrac, see a full list at http://www.bamboohr.com/partners/

BambooHR Competitors

Sage People, FinancialForce HCM, WebHR, HRMSSoft, Sage, iCIMS, Ultimate UltiPro

BambooHR Pricing

Starting Price: $59

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

BambooHR Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

BambooHR Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:BambooHR supports any country worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution that provides onboarding, payroll, and benefits management. It also offers automated time-off management and employee self-service.

How much does BambooHR cost?

BambooHR starts at $59.

What is BambooHR's best feature?

Reviewers rate Approval workflow highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses BambooHR?

The most common users of BambooHR are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.