TrustRadius
Australian company Atlassian offers Bamboo, a continuous integration server.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/PO/1w/S1WWFZR3S2J7.JPEGBamboo - Continuous IntegrationBamboo within our organization is used as a continuous integration and delivery tool, with seamless integration with Atlassian products such as BitBucket and JIRA. In my team, we use it to manage and build our automated testing scripts which help monitor our highly transactional web application/e-commerce site around the clock, it is an invaluable tool.,Seemless integration with Atlassian products Easy to set up and use Helpful support from Atlassian,Plugins are expensive Not open-source Community of users is much smaller than competitors such as Jenkins,6,Around the clock application monitoring through scheduled automated testing script runs is invaluable. Hundreds of thousands to millions of dollars in transactions saved. Time saved from diagnosing and investigating software issues with the help of Atlassian support, as compared to time spent investigating and diagnosing issues with open-source alternatives. Time saved from general workflow process, Bamboo makes it very seamless and simple.,Jenkins,Bitbucket, GitHub, GitlabBam!Boo!Bamboo is being used by CDK Global as the primary tool for continuous integration and delivery. We use Bamboo for the build servers at our company, and to deploy to the cloud infrastructure for promotion through various environments like development, development integration, performance, quality assurance, staging, and production. Bamboo is used across the organization for all R&D of new products. CDK is working to transition all products to use Bamboo, but it has a lot of them. Bamboo solves the problem of needing to build a product in a reproducible way that is not dependant on anything that exists on an individual developer's computer. It allows us to deploy a deterministically generated image from a central location. I think that Bamboo is a good product, but CDK could make better use of it if they could start all over, but they are sort of stuck with the current implementation they have because it is hard to change quickly.,Levels of granularity. Organization has many projects that have many build plans that have many jobs that have many tasks, etc. And branch builds allow source control branches to be built separately. Versatility. I can use bamboo to manage my Java, node, or .NET build plans. I can use it to spin up Windows or Linux build agents, or install it on a Mac to build there as well. Bamboo integrates with other Atlassian products like Bitbucket, Stash, JIRA, etc. If a company commits to the entire Atlassian stack then work can be tracked through the whole development lifecycle which is really useful.,Unclear what different levels of granularity should be used for. How is a Job and a Task and a Build and a Project different? It requires a consultant to help not make a mess of this. It takes a while to search all the Projects in CDK, there are way way too many. Not particularly useful compared to free open source solutions, unless you buy into other Atlassian products. I.e. most of the value is in the integration Bamboo is not great at estimating how long a build will take. The progress bar for a build completes long before it it is actually done.,7,Speed of delivery is improved, because we have faith that a build is reproducible Less time troubleshooting and setting up build servers, since Bamboo allows for the abstractions in virtual machine or container format Fewer full time employees needed to manage development resources and deployments, since it is all automated,,HipChat, JIRA Software, JabberBamboo is for enterprise, but not for everyone.As with all Atlassian products, the best part of Bamboo is the integration into their full suite of software. Getting started with Bamboo from a Stash or Bitbucket code repo is as simple as clicking a button, and all downstream changes are immediately tracked and updated. Atlassian has made a huge effort to ensure that the dashboards to monitor build and deployment plans are both useful and informative, and it has paid off in a big way. Users can start, stop, change, monitor, create and delete plans from the push of a single button.,Rapidly setting up build plans Being a central hub into all activity your company is a part of Offering an intuitive UI Allowing power-users to set up powerful CI/CD pipelines Unit testing FTW,Extremely hard barrier to entry for non-backend developers Blackbox makes it hard to customize functionality The inability to add features without breaking core functionality No cloud solution Tasks cannot be put in if/else statements No clear right way to form build plans,4,The ability to deploy code rapidly has improved on our agile velocity. Business concerns are fixed quicker as a result of being able to get code out to stakeholders ASAP.Bamboo ReviewI currently support an instance of Bamboo for about 6 BI SQL developers. Prior to implementing Bamboo and database source control, our BI team used the same SQL Server for development, test/QA and production. Anyone in the development world knows this is a recipe for disaster. As part of implementing a controlled and continuously integrated development environment, I needed a tool to build the production server from source control. The most difficult part of this equation was identifying the tool to use to get our database objects into source control, but that is a topic for another day. Turns out the easiest part of implementing the build process was ramping up a Bamboo server that is fully integrated with Bitbucket source control. The best part of the tool is it provides many "out of the box" options to script out your build plan tasks. My previous experience was with Jenkins and Subversion and I had never used Bamboo. It was a quick learning curve to overcome and a very reliable tool once implemented.,Returns extensive logging from the called application. Easy to use. Many task options,Not much support from the java/jdk side. Had some memory issues where the jvm was pegging the application server. Once identified and resolved, haven't had a single issue.,10,Not sure that you can put a numerical value on "stress", but implementing a continuously integrated environment and removing developer needs to access a production server has reduced to stress level of a number of administrators. A big benefit of using Bamboo is knowing that once objects are committed to source control they are going to make their way to the production server, and if there are issues, Bamboo is going to notify the group. The dashboard makes identifying issues quick and easy and provides links to extensive logging to same time.,jenkins,Task FactoryEasy to Set Up, Great CIBamboo is being used for automating our build process e.g., achieving continuous integration (CI) in a dev and test environment. This is being used by our specific department and will be used by other departments over the time. Bamboo has helped us to streamline continuous integration, branch merging. And with integration with Active Directory and Jira we can get an excellent tracking.,Easy installation Integration with Atlasian products Simple build configuration,More cost efective plugins Slows as user base and builds increases Granular email notification,10,Better CI saved us time Better Code quality Multiple users were abel to work due to CI,,JIRA Software, JIRA Service Desk, Atlassian Confluence, Rackspace
Unspecified
Bamboo
38 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Bamboo Reviews

Bamboo
38 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 38 vetted Bamboo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 05, 2017

User Review: "Bamboo - Continuous Integration"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo within our organization is used as a continuous integration and delivery tool, with seamless integration with Atlassian products such as Bitbucket and JIRA. In my team, we use it to manage and build our automated testing scripts which help monitor our highly transactional web application/e-commerce site around the clock, it is an invaluable tool.
  • Seemless integration with Atlassian products
  • Easy to set up and use
  • Helpful support from Atlassian
  • Plugins are expensive
  • Not open-source
  • Community of users is much smaller than competitors such as Jenkins
Bamboo is best suited for companies and teams that are already ingrained within the Atlassian software eco-system. It integrates with their products such as Bitbucket and JIRA really well, which helps with the general workflow of creating tickets to code development to finally with Bamboo, building and testing the code.
Read this authenticated review
Erik Bean profile photo
January 12, 2017

Bamboo Review: "Bam!Boo!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo is being used by CDK Global as the primary tool for continuous integration and delivery. We use Bamboo for the build servers at our company, and to deploy to the cloud infrastructure for promotion through various environments like development, development integration, performance, quality assurance, staging, and production.
Bamboo is used across the organization for all R&D of new products. CDK is working to transition all products to use Bamboo, but it has a lot of them. Bamboo solves the problem of needing to build a product in a reproducible way that is not dependant on anything that exists on an individual developer's computer. It allows us to deploy a deterministically generated image from a central location. I think that Bamboo is a good product, but CDK could make better use of it if they could start all over, but they are sort of stuck with the current implementation they have because it is hard to change quickly.
  • Levels of granularity. Organization has many projects that have many build plans that have many jobs that have many tasks, etc. And branch builds allow source control branches to be built separately.
  • Versatility. I can use bamboo to manage my Java, node, or .NET build plans. I can use it to spin up Windows or Linux build agents, or install it on a Mac to build there as well.
  • Bamboo integrates with other Atlassian products like Bitbucket, Stash, JIRA, etc. If a company commits to the entire Atlassian stack then work can be tracked through the whole development lifecycle which is really useful.
  • Unclear what different levels of granularity should be used for. How is a Job and a Task and a Build and a Project different? It requires a consultant to help not make a mess of this. It takes a while to search all the Projects in CDK, there are way way too many.
  • Not particularly useful compared to free open source solutions, unless you buy into other Atlassian products. I.e. most of the value is in the integration
  • Bamboo is not great at estimating how long a build will take. The progress bar for a build completes long before it it is actually done.
Large companies will find it particularly useful, but smaller companies and independent developers will not be able to afford the cost, and will not see many advantages compared to using an open source solution. However, having some software to handle continuous integration build servers as well as deployments, and doing this consistently between products, is absolutely essential.
Read Erik Bean's full review
Jonathan Kempf, UXC profile photo
December 15, 2016

Review: "Bamboo is for enterprise, but not for everyone."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As with all Atlassian products, the best part of Bamboo is the integration into their full suite of software. Getting started with Bamboo from a Stash or Bitbucket code repo is as simple as clicking a button, and all downstream changes are immediately tracked and updated. Atlassian has made a huge effort to ensure that the dashboards to monitor build and deployment plans are both useful and informative, and it has paid off in a big way. Users can start, stop, change, monitor, create and delete plans from the push of a single button.
  • Rapidly setting up build plans
  • Being a central hub into all activity your company is a part of
  • Offering an intuitive UI
  • Allowing power-users to set up powerful CI/CD pipelines
  • Unit testing FTW
  • Extremely hard barrier to entry for non-backend developers
  • Blackbox makes it hard to customize functionality
  • The inability to add features without breaking core functionality
  • No cloud solution
  • Tasks cannot be put in if/else statements
  • No clear right way to form build plans
Coming from a non-CD/CI company, Bamboo has completely changed the way that my team works, for the better. We used to rely heavily on stress testing and manual QA which was extremely time consuming and error-prone. Now, we are able to commit code and have automated deployments happen, and be assured that we are not breaking anything due to unit testing build into Bamboo. Our deployments have gone from once a week to several times per hour, letting our company be more agile in meeting our stakeholder demands.

Bamboo really falls apart when working in small cross functional teams. Due to the complexity involved in setting up build agents, this product can only work in certain use cases, and with people of certain (high) skill levels. Also, if you want to add any sort of logic or AI to your build and deployment, Bamboo simply can't do that. Not being able to add logic and machine learning to my deployments is a dealbreaker for me, as I count on multiple business use cases to deploy code.
Read Jonathan Kempf, UXC's full review
Frank Coulter profile photo
March 21, 2017

"Bamboo Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently support an instance of Bamboo for about 6 BI SQL developers. Prior to implementing Bamboo and database source control, our BI team used the same SQL Server for development, test/QA and production. Anyone in the development world knows this is a recipe for disaster. As part of implementing a controlled and continuously integrated development environment, I needed a tool to build the production server from source control. The most difficult part of this equation was identifying the tool to use to get our database objects into source control, but that is a topic for another day. Turns out the easiest part of implementing the build process was ramping up a Bamboo server that is fully integrated with Bitbucket source control. The best part of the tool is it provides many "out of the box" options to script out your build plan tasks. My previous experience was with Jenkins and Subversion and I had never used Bamboo. It was a quick learning curve to overcome and a very reliable tool once implemented.
  • Returns extensive logging from the called application.
  • Easy to use.
  • Many task options
  • Not much support from the java/jdk side. Had some memory issues where the jvm was pegging the application server. Once identified and resolved, haven't had a single issue.
Bamboo has served us well in supporting a continuously integrated BI database environment. The tool is stable, reliable and without question the most flexible continuous delivery application I've used.
Read Frank Coulter's full review
Milan Shah profile photo
February 01, 2017

Bamboo Review: "Easy to Set Up, Great CI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo is being used for automating our build process e.g., achieving continuous integration (CI) in a dev and test environment. This is being used by our specific department and will be used by other departments over the time. Bamboo has helped us to streamline continuous integration, branch merging. And with integration with Active Directory and JIRA we can get an excellent tracking.
  • Easy installation
  • Integration with Atlasian products
  • Simple build configuration
  • More cost efective plugins
  • Slows as user base and builds increases
  • Granular email notification
  • We had multiple teams working on the same code base so we wanted a good CI and well-defined plans and triggers to make sure bad code is not committed,
  • Easy to use UI helped us to get new resources easily onboard
  • Bamboo helped us to execute the build on specific triggers making sure they are compliant
Read Milan Shah's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva profile photo
January 23, 2017

Bamboo Review: "Enterprise-level CI/CD Workflows"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for fast and continuous partitioning of build and deployment tasks. Bamboo is a chiefly a continuous integration tool, but it does great in assisting with deployment issues and segregating build tasks to allow you to debug your code. Automated merging of branches is also a great feature.
  • Build Automation
  • Continuous Integration
  • Configuration Management
  • Continuous Deployment
  • They could improve their pricing model for smaller teams
  • They can focus on mobile applications
  • The build plans seem to fail quite frequently. This occurs for no apparent reason. If it fails once, we will attempt to deploy again. Usually, after 2-3 times it will work.
Bamboo is easily configurable for project granularity. For example, I can define the relevant Git Repository's branch to a build a project/job, provide the necessary build tasks with lots of different executables and scripts, and segregate the build from the release stage with parallel jobs for only specific users or groups. There are lots of popular language integrations with multiple notification methods and great integration with other Atlassian products.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Marc Smith profile photo
January 12, 2017

Review: "Bamboo - when hosting your own CI solution is your preference"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Let me preface this by saying we are "all-in" on the Atlassian suite of products, so integrating Bamboo into our workflow was a no-brainer from the start, since the integration with bitbucket was a snap. It is being used across the entire organization, for both internal and customer-facing apps (mainly due to our tightly integrated tech stack).
The caveat to all of this, is we are currently moving off of Bamboo to TeamCity by Jetbrains, as we were making use of the Bamboo cloud services, and were/are not interested in self-hosting.
  • Integrations with the rest of the Atlassian suite - specifically bitbucket.
  • Fast, automated build workflow...very hands-off for us.
  • The soon-to-be lack of a cloud solution has lost us as a customer. :(
Definitely appropriate if you have the resources to host yourself, and especially if you are in the Atlassian ecosystem.
Read Marc Smith's full review
Tanner Lovelace profile photo
December 05, 2016

Review: "Bamboo manages building our software on all platforms so we don't have to"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bamboo to continuously build our software whenever anything is checked into our source control system. This lets us stay on top of any problems that could potentially arise from a stray check in. Bamboo does builds for all our various branches and even manages branch merging only if compilation succeeds. It is an indispensable part of our workflow.
  • Bamboo builds our release branches and automatically merges them with our master branch if a build succeeds.
  • Bamboo allows our developers to see if a build succeeds in their feature or bug fix branches before they merge it into a release branch.
  • Bamboo builds our software immediately after a checkin and provides immediate feedback as to whether the build succeeds or fails.
  • Bamboo configuration is done through the web interface and as a result cannot be versioned. It would be nice if the build configuration could be versioned.
  • Sometimes it isn't obvious how to pass artifacts between build plans. This can be confusing when trying to put together a build plan that depends on a different build plan.
  • It would be useful to be able to execute some jobs only in certain branches instead of for all branches. For instance, when using plan branches, we'd prefer to only push release branches to artifactory and not plan branches.
Bamboo is very well suited for continuously building whenever code is checked into a source control system. It works very well for that. It lags somewhat, however, when you want to do different actions for certain branches like only pushing release branch artifacts to artifactory instead of pushing artifacts from all branches.
Read Tanner Lovelace's full review
No photo available
April 28, 2017

User Review: "Bamboo? Woohoo!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo was brought in as part of the Atlassian toolset to replace our aging build environment in order to help us achieve a continuous integration / continuous delivery build model. Bamboo has helped us modernize our existing build infrastructure by moving from scheduled builds to on-demand builds with each change checked in to source control. Presently, Bamboo is only being used in one division, but we hope to socialize its success to additional divisions.
  • Continuous Integration - Bamboo kicks off builds with each check in to our source control system, enabling faster consumption of changes, and quicker turnaround times when we encounter a problem.
  • Extensibility - Bamboo is capable of triggering multiple additional processes on completion of a build, including integration tests, deployment tests, and the like. This extensibility took us from a scheduled based system to a trigger based system with little time waste.
  • Suite Integration - Bamboo's easy integration with the rest of the Atlassian suite makes for huge efficiency gains. Being able to see which check in triggered the build, as well as seeing what JIRA issues went into that check-in makes for complete traceability.
  • Cost - Obviously, purchasing licensing for the Atlassian toolset is more expensive than a roll your own approach with other open source packages, but the tight integration amongst the tools makes up for that cost.
  • Plugins - Bamboo does not have quite the rich ecosystem of plugins that other open source tools, like Jenkins does.
  • Agents - We preferred the build agent model offered by Jenkins because of its far cheaper costs. Because of the costs of Atlassian agents, we are limited in the number of agents we deploy.
If you value integration over cost, Bamboo is clearly the way to go. It offers tight integration to the rest of the Atlassian suite, and when you need traceability from issue to build, Atlassian is the right way to go. However, if you find yourself needing to save on costs, you may consider taking an approach of rolling your own build system with open source alternatives, such as Jenkins, if you don't [mind] putting in a little extra elbow grease.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 23, 2017

User Review: "A consultant view on Bamboo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our software development uses Bamboo for its day to day work, for continuous integration, building and deployment of the code. We are also Atlassian partners, so we very often configure Bamboo for our customers, among the other tools of the Atlassian suite.
  • It does perfectly well what is it supposed to do, build code on a centralized server.
  • The super power of Bamboo is being part of the Atlassian suite. With the right integration, pushing code to Bitbucket would trigger a build by Bamboo, send the results in Hipchat and update tickets in JIRA. It is pure magic.
  • You can run automated tests on any new code you build.
  • It can look hard to set up at first, because of the needed integrations with other tools.
  • Not interesting to use without other Atlassian tools.
  • Maybe more options for tests, some could be automated.
Bamboo is the ultimate tool to build your code, and deploy it directly with Docker or AWS. End-to-end workflow of continuous integration, it provides marvellous integration with other Atlassian tools to have full control and visualization on your software development.

It is not suited for small teams that are not using other Atlassian tools, which should look for simpler software.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2016

Bamboo Review: "Great flexibility within Atlasssian product family"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo is an enterprise-friendly continuous deployment and continuous integration tool for hundreds of different application builds to hundreds of different testing environments. We use it within our department of application development. It is used for fast and continuous partitioning of build and deployment tasks. Bamboo is a chiefly a continuous integration tool, but it does great in assisting with deployment issues and segregating build tasks to allow you to debug your code. Automated merging of branches is also a great feature.
  • Build automation - Bamboo gives almost too many ways to automate things via its partitioning of jobs and tasks to give the script builder and dev-ops flexibility.
  • Continuous integration - Because of Atlasssian's well-known integrative software with other interfacing CD and CI tools, automation is as easy as a simple script to hook up the connections and automate things with ease.
  • Continuous deployment - Triggers for sending complete builds to production or other test environments are quite configurable.
  • Free open-source require application to use - Bamboo does offer a free option for open source projects though it requires the user to apply for it in order to use it past the free trial.
  • Too many options - Supposing you are an end-user, the many different options are nauseating and can cause many headaches trying to debug.
  • Pricey for small user base - You can try it for 30 days for $10 with no remote agents but one remote agent costs $800.
End to end visibility when linked to JIRA, Stash and HipChat -
When connecting Bamboo with Stash and JIRA, details like JIRA issues, commits, reviews and approvals follow each release from development to production. If HipChat is part of the integration, team members get notified right away in addition to email notifications.

Deployment Projects -
Bamboo is the only build server to offer first-class support for the "delivery" aspect of continuous delivery. Deployment projects automate the tedium right out of releasing into each environment, while letting you control the flow with per-environment permissions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 27, 2017

"Review for Bamboo"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my department, Bamboo is used for [the] building process and pipeline. Bamboo has simple build configuration, and seamless integration with JIRA. Bamboo supports builds in any programming language using any build tool, including Ant, Maven, and Make. [There are] lots of popular language integrations with multiple notification methods and great integration with other Atlassian products.

  • Integrated with Make and Ant
  • Integrated with other Atlatissan products
  • Not free after 10 jobs. They will charge money when you have more than 10 jobs.
Bamboo supports builds in any programming language using any build tool, including Ant and Maven. Bamboo is not used for frequent jobs (CI).
Read this authenticated review
Ken Yee profile photo
September 29, 2016

User Review: "Bamboo has a clean friendly UI"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the organization for our CI/CD server...this includes native Android and iOS apps, mobile and desktop web sites, and the back end. We use Bamboo instead of Jenkins because it's more tightly integrated with other Atlassian tools like JIRA. The server is hosted in-house (Atlassian is discontinuing Bamboo Cloud which I'm not sure was a good idea for them because that just concedes the market to CircleCI, etc.)
  • Provides a user-friendly UI compared to Jenkins
  • Provides a dashboard where users can download artifacts
  • Provides good status indicators and email notifications of build status/progress
  • Doesn't have Jenkins' scaling abilities with their Swarm agents.
  • Isn't as user-friendly as CircleCI.
  • Is too centrally managed (probably more an indicator of our usage than the product though)...most companies let the developers have admin access to the build server.
  • Doesn't have as many plugins as Jenkins to do various things like upload to servers, etc.
  • Good for in-house build server if you prefer a good UI vs. Jenkins' clunky UI (which is better with their Blue Ocean skin when that is ready).
  • Not as good as TeamCity or Jenkins if you want to set up a bunch of build agents and have it autoscale.
Read Ken Yee's full review

Bamboo Scorecard Summary

About Bamboo

Australian company Atlassian offers Bamboo, a continuous integration server.

Bamboo Integrations

Bamboo Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No