TrustRadius
Barracuda Backup is a data recovery and restore, and data deduplication, option from Barracuda Networks.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/TC/8X/51PEL6S677OH.pngFeel safe and calm with Barracuda BackupBarracuda is used in our technology area, where all the institution's important information is stored. It is replicated in the cloud and in another external Barracuda devices, providing a better model of disaster recovery than what we were using.,The interface is clean and easy to navigate. The restorations are easy and direct Restoring files and versions of previous files is very easy It does not require a dedicated server to run its software It is simple to make backup copies of files for DR,The configurations require much more extensive work. Can not replicate to older models, for example from a 190 to a 390.,10,With the release of new threats, the use of Barracuda gives us the confidence that our data is safe in different places. The fact that you cannot expand the storage of the hardware is a point against.,Acronis Backup and Arcserve Backup,Kaspersky Endpoint Security, Spiceworks, Skype for BusinessBarracuda Backup has made my life easier, and improved our customer service.I'm the project manager for a MSP. Not only do we utilize a Barracuda Backup Appliance in house, we utilize them for a number of our managed customers. The ability to monitor and control the devices through Barracuda's cloud has increased our efficiency dramatically. With all the options Barracuda provides, like replicating data to the cloud, or to another appliance at a remote site has been a huge selling point for our customers. As an example, one of the financial institutions we work with didn't want any of their data being replicated off network, we were able to deploy a second appliance at one of their other locations, having one replicate to the other keeping redundant backups in-house. Barracuda makes the setup process so easy, one of our level one techs can do the install, and at the same time provides our backup admins the ability to fine-tune a number of features. Restoring files is as simple, if not easier than some of the other backup solutions we utilized, and the ability to have the device restore an entire server to a virtualized cluster has been a life saver more times than I can count.,The Barracuda Backup is simple to install, setup, and administer. At the same time gives you plenty of options to customize your setup to fit your needs. The restore process is much more simplified than many of the other backup solutions we've utilized. The alerts, and reporting features and second to none. We'll often time know when a backup has failed, and have the issue corrected long before the customer brings it to our attention. Barracuda's support team is great. Their intelligent, well versed in the product, and incredibly efficient.,In some of the older version of the software, drilling down to restore a single files was quite the process. It's still a little slow to this day, but improvements have been made. It would be nice to have the ability to spin up a virtual machine directly on the backup appliance in the event of a failed server. At current time you need a Hyper-v or VMWare environment to restore a failed machine to. Once you put the device in cloud control mode, some of your options are limited when you log directly into the local appliance. I personally would like to see all the options remain the same so I can administer the device the same remotely and I would sitting in front of it.,10,For a handful of our clients that have had a major outage, the Barracuda Backup has more than paid for itself in the downtime or lack thereof. We went from taking hours or days to bring a failed server back online to just a couple of hours. The centralized management of all of the Barracuda Backups we have deployed for our clients has increased our efficiency dramatically. Before we would have to log into each server, and check backups, now we just log in to the dashboard and view over health instantly. The reporting and notifications features make it worth every penny when I can take those backup reports to a client, and show them in hard numbers of what they're paying for, how it's improved their disaster recovery time, and save them money in service calls.,Datto, CrashPlan and Veritas Backup Exec,CrashPlan, ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect), Autotask,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Analyst Reports,If I had to do it all over again, I don't think I'd change a thing. Everyone I've worked with from Barracuda has been knowledgeable, efficient, professional, and polite. We were able to review products before committing to a purchase, and decide if the solution proposed would be a good fit or not. And when we help clients make these sort of decisions, Barracuda is there to help every step of the way.Catch a Barracuda today!!!Barracuda backup is being used across the whole organization. We are currently using it as our backup platform as well as for all of our archiving. It makes it easy for our company to feel safe knowing that our systems are properly backed up.,Archiving is easy for our end users to search old emails. Backing up systems is easy and comprehensive . It is easy to restore files or systems. Barracuda support is second to none when you need them.,More training material or courses could be included. Notifications could have a bit more configuration. Archive alerts would be nice.,10,Incremental backups allow us to fee safe when restores are needed in a hurry. Backup to cloud offers us the security of knowing our data is safe in multiple locations. Compliance is easy with Barracuda by making multiple backup pathways and restore capabilities.,Nimble,Nimble Storage, Oracle Enterprise Manager, VMware Horizon ViewBarracuda Backup - by far the best backup solution on the marketMy company has a Barracuda Backup appliance in place for our primary solution. The entire company's data is stored in the appliance as well as all server and database configurations. It automatically replicates all data to the Barracuda cloud servers for offsite backups.,Thorough selection list with customized data sets per server. Customizable schedule for all data sources and customizable data retention policies. Restorability based on data age and saves space with deduplication and "smart" backup plans.,Minor selection list issues default to "deselected" meaning unchecking a single tree of folders with new additions below the selected do not automatically get backed up. Funky message-level backups of Exchange require manually adding new users to the scheme or leaving several mailboxes to error out on reports if leaving "All selected". Compliance requirements that limit offsite cloud storage option leave "not-ready-for-prime time" copy to an external hard drive that can be rotated offsite. This software is installed on a server with the external drive connected but does NOT function as well as it should.,10,Positive: an extremely flexible backup appliance that supports nearly every system out. Positive: "hands off" backups that require very minimal administration and management. Positive: cloud management of appliance provides accurate information on backup jobs, restoration, and ability to manage from any computer or share administration efforts. Positive: superior support for any issues that arise, Barracuda techs have never let me down.,Acronis Backup, Symantec Backup Exec and Datto,Symantec Backup Exec, Acronis Backup, DattoAll-in-one for backups and more.It is used internally as well as externally. It allowed us to backup servers and virtual machines through easy installation on the location being backed up and a cloud management console. It allows us to monitor the allocated size of the physical device as well pick and choose what we want to get backed up. We can then move any revisions onto the cloud. It is user friendly and helps us make sure our clients backups are taken care of.,Backups are readily available. Error reports detail what is wrong. Barracuda customer support is very helpful and they're open 24/7. We can manage all our clients under the Barracuda cloud control. Which is easier then switching websites. We are given a detailed list of Office 365 items that are not being backed up. This allows us to make changed to each user and disregard what we don't what to get backed up. Offsite vaulting has allowed us to put revisions to the cloud and their retention policies are easy to understand.,Sometimes I do have to call support and ask a question or have help with an installation. This is not that often. Its because I cannot tell what the error is. We had to lower a retention policy because the device we ordered was filling up way too fast. We were told that this device was good enough for the allocated size of the VM. Adjusting admin settings on cloud control took way more time to figure out. At times it would give us an error or the change in admin status would not accept on the web browser.,9,Great pricing We can roll this out with their ESS and Archiver products. Easy to manage and it saves time when managing everyone's backups.,CloudBerry Backup and Acronis Backup,CloudBerry Backup, Acronis Backup, Zetta DataProtect
Unspecified
Barracuda Backup
41 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Barracuda Backup Reviews

Barracuda Backup
41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 41 vetted Barracuda Backup reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-20 of 20)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Erue Dfut profile photo
August 15, 2018

Review: "Feel safe and calm with Barracuda Backup"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barracuda is used in our technology area, where all the institution's important information is stored. It is replicated in the cloud and in another external Barracuda devices, providing a better model of disaster recovery than what we were using.
  • The interface is clean and easy to navigate. The restorations are easy and direct
  • Restoring files and versions of previous files is very easy
  • It does not require a dedicated server to run its software
  • It is simple to make backup copies of files for DR
  • The configurations require much more extensive work.
  • Can not replicate to older models, for example from a 190 to a 390.
It is a tool that fulfills its goals and make backups and restorations of important information. If you use the replication in the cloud, it gives you the satisfaction that the data is safe. It is excellent for small and medium companies, but for companies with a large amount of terabytes per day, it could be be very slow and expensive.
Read Erue Dfut's full review
Josh McClelland profile photo
February 19, 2018

Review: "Barracuda Backup has made my life easier, and improved our customer service."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I'm the project manager for a MSP. Not only do we utilize a Barracuda Backup Appliance in house, we utilize them for a number of our managed customers. The ability to monitor and control the devices through Barracuda's cloud has increased our efficiency dramatically. With all the options Barracuda provides, like replicating data to the cloud, or to another appliance at a remote site has been a huge selling point for our customers. As an example, one of the financial institutions we work with didn't want any of their data being replicated off network, we were able to deploy a second appliance at one of their other locations, having one replicate to the other keeping redundant backups in-house. Barracuda makes the setup process so easy, one of our level one techs can do the install, and at the same time provides our backup admins the ability to fine-tune a number of features. Restoring files is as simple, if not easier than some of the other backup solutions we utilized, and the ability to have the device restore an entire server to a virtualized cluster has been a life saver more times than I can count.
  • The Barracuda Backup is simple to install, setup, and administer. At the same time gives you plenty of options to customize your setup to fit your needs.
  • The restore process is much more simplified than many of the other backup solutions we've utilized.
  • The alerts, and reporting features and second to none. We'll often time know when a backup has failed, and have the issue corrected long before the customer brings it to our attention.
  • Barracuda's support team is great. Their intelligent, well versed in the product, and incredibly efficient.
  • In some of the older version of the software, drilling down to restore a single files was quite the process. It's still a little slow to this day, but improvements have been made.
  • It would be nice to have the ability to spin up a virtual machine directly on the backup appliance in the event of a failed server. At current time you need a Hyper-v or VMWare environment to restore a failed machine to.
  • Once you put the device in cloud control mode, some of your options are limited when you log directly into the local appliance. I personally would like to see all the options remain the same so I can administer the device the same remotely and I would sitting in front of it.
For larger environments, with virtual infrastructure in place, and the network bandwidth to support it, a Barracuda backup is great. It's easy to back up an entire cluster, or just a single server. When it comes to restoring or spinning up a downed machine, the Barracuda Backup is second to none in these sort of environments.
For the smaller clients, with budget concerns, only a few servers, not having the ability to spin up a failed server on the backup appliance itself is a little painful since we'd have to replace the physical hardware before getting services back online. I think having this ability would make for a great selling point to those smaller to medium size businesses that could benefit from this product.
Read Josh McClelland's full review
Eric Krueger profile photo
March 09, 2018

Barracuda Backup Review: "Catch a Barracuda today!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barracuda backup is being used across the whole organization. We are currently using it as our backup platform as well as for all of our archiving. It makes it easy for our company to feel safe knowing that our systems are properly backed up.
  • Archiving is easy for our end users to search old emails.
  • Backing up systems is easy and comprehensive . It is easy to restore files or systems.
  • Barracuda support is second to none when you need them.
  • More training material or courses could be included.
  • Notifications could have a bit more configuration.
  • Archive alerts would be nice.
Barracuda is a great tool for an email archiving solution. It allows us to keep mailbox quotas low by having easy to access archives. The end user experience is robust and easy to navigate. We have had very positive reviews from management in utilizing this tool.
Read Eric Krueger's full review
Derek Schroeder profile photo
December 22, 2017

Review: "Barracuda Backup - by far the best backup solution on the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company has a Barracuda Backup appliance in place for our primary solution. The entire company's data is stored in the appliance as well as all server and database configurations. It automatically replicates all data to the Barracuda cloud servers for offsite backups.
  • Thorough selection list with customized data sets per server.
  • Customizable schedule for all data sources and customizable data retention policies.
  • Restorability based on data age and saves space with deduplication and "smart" backup plans.
  • Minor selection list issues default to "deselected" meaning unchecking a single tree of folders with new additions below the selected do not automatically get backed up.
  • Funky message-level backups of Exchange require manually adding new users to the scheme or leaving several mailboxes to error out on reports if leaving "All selected".
  • Compliance requirements that limit offsite cloud storage option leave "not-ready-for-prime time" copy to an external hard drive that can be rotated offsite. This software is installed on a server with the external drive connected but does NOT function as well as it should.
The backup appliances are designed around overall storage space, not number of agents or databases. This means that there is a device for any company regardless of their data capacity needs. It is, by far, the best complete backup solution.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
No photo available
May 08, 2018

Barracuda Backup Review: "All-in-one for backups and more."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is used internally as well as externally. It allowed us to backup servers and virtual machines through easy installation on the location being backed up and a cloud management console. It allows us to monitor the allocated size of the physical device as well pick and choose what we want to get backed up. We can then move any revisions onto the cloud. It is user friendly and helps us make sure our clients backups are taken care of.
  • Backups are readily available.
  • Error reports detail what is wrong. Barracuda customer support is very helpful and they're open 24/7.
  • We can manage all our clients under the Barracuda cloud control. Which is easier then switching websites.
  • We are given a detailed list of Office 365 items that are not being backed up. This allows us to make changed to each user and disregard what we don't what to get backed up.
  • Offsite vaulting has allowed us to put revisions to the cloud and their retention policies are easy to understand.
  • Sometimes I do have to call support and ask a question or have help with an installation. This is not that often. Its because I cannot tell what the error is.
  • We had to lower a retention policy because the device we ordered was filling up way too fast. We were told that this device was good enough for the allocated size of the VM.
  • Adjusting admin settings on cloud control took way more time to figure out. At times it would give us an error or the change in admin status would not accept on the web browser.
When looking at error reports. It is easy to open up the report and pin point which server is having issues. Backing up SharePoint was a bit difficult. When an error occurs, the workaround is calling Barracuda and asking for assistance. It sounded confusing at first, but their support allowed me the ability to learn and now I am creating backups without any assistance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 22, 2017

"Barracuda Backup Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a reseller of Barracuda Backups in addition to using it within our own environment. We have over 50 customers using them, which are centrally managed in the Barracuda Cloud console (saving our engineers a lot of time). This product is ideal for backups and disaster recovery. Backup and restorations are very straightforward and fast. Additionally, the appliances have helped our clients to meet all of their compliance and regulatory requirements.
  • Backups
  • Disaster recovery
  • Cloud replication
  • Easy to manage
  • 4 year refresh cycle (with a larger more powerful appliance)
  • The first couple setups that we did were confusing (regarding retention settings), but once you get the hang of it its a snap
  • If you are using large SQL databases or have a big Info Store, you may undersize the appliance needed
The Barracuda Backup appliances are well suited for any company, regardless of size. They provide backups as well as true disaster recovery functionality. Backups are quick/easy as well as are restorations. The GUI is very easy to understand even for less technical people. Support at Barracuda is timely when/if questions arise. Cloud replication is encrypted. The only instances that I see that may not be a great fit, is for a company with a LOT of data and very little bandwidth (upload) available, as the replication will use a decent amount of upload resources (thankfully you can schedule the upload times and limit the amount of usage).
Read this authenticated review
Michael O'Riley profile photo
April 25, 2017

Review: "Barracuda Backup is a complete solution for Backup to Disk and Cloud."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barracuda backup is being used to backup Windows files servers, a Microsoft Exchange server, a Mac file server, and an SQL server. It allowed us to replicate backups offsite without having servers offsite. Prior to Barracuda backup, it was required to carry tapes offsite.
  • Barracuda's deduplication compression is really good to save space.
  • The process to restore files is very flexible and easy.
  • The backup dashboard has useful system information that is provided at glance.
  • The Barracuda portal can be accessed anywhere without configuring firewalls.
  • A better way to access network configurations.
  • A more robust error reporting.
barracuda backup is well suited for bare-metal and file backups. The fact it doesn't interface with the hypervisor for virtual backups [means] it's not a true virtual machine backup appliance.
Read Michael O'Riley's full review
Dustin Williams profile photo
September 26, 2016

Barracuda Backup Review: "Lost files got me down on my knees!! Eeeewwww BARRACUDA"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use two 490 units. We use them company wide to backup our most important data along with utilizing the cloud control functionality that Barracuda offers. We backup approximately 10-12 servers including multiple shares. We run the backups on a two hour schedule to ensure the best retention of data for our users in the case of an issue.
  • The cloud control is great!! I'm able to restore files and folders from basically any machine on the Internet. I can restore either the local machine I'm using at the time, or directly to the server from which it came.
  • The user interface. Very easy to use and understand. Loads of options and configurations you can optimize for your particular needs.
  • Instance replacement. We have had an issue with one unit due to some hardware failure. Barracuda was amazing on getting this replaced quickly and getting us back on track.
  • On the restore functionality, I'd like to be able to see multiple folders revisions. Its hard to explain, but the restore function of drilling down to get certain files instead of having to download an entire folder.
  • To be able to see file / folder sizes before downloading so I could have a better idea of download times and such.
We had a to restore data from a dead server and be able to restore it to an entirely new server (bare metal) and were able to do so without any issues. I can't think of any scenarios where backups are less appropriate.
Read Dustin Williams's full review
Brandon Shandelson profile photo
September 28, 2016

Review: "Barracuda backup: Easiest to use so far"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for file level backup and SQL level database backup.
  • The user interface is very easy to use
  • The cloud storage is seemless
  • The retention policies are simple to understand and use
  • There have been some issues with downloading backed up files directly from the Barracuda cloud lately.
  • The pricing seems too high, but all of the competing backup appliances have that same issue unless you can negotiate a good deal.
It is ideal for a mid sized company with a single site. We have an 8TB unit that works well for us.
Read Brandon Shandelson's full review
Jason Thomas profile photo
April 05, 2016

Review: "Barracuda Backup - Great System and Service, but Stymied by Limited Storage"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Barracuda Backup for our mission-critical data - data we define as needing to be stored on an offsite in an area geographically distant from where our core business is located. For us, that means our patient data. We have two BBS appliances in service, one dedicated to or primary electronic medical record system and one dedicated to everything else critical. These are used and managed primarily by IT. We had a third appliance at one point covering a different electronic medical record system, but the facility that utilized that system was sold off and the EMR and backup went with the sale, so we ended up re-implementing the service for the buyer so they could continue on with it.
  • Barracuda does the local/cloud backup integration very well - basically you pick the data you want to store and then click one button if you want to send it offsite. Their price/gb is very good as well, and if you're storing a lot of data, they have an all-you-can-eat cloud package so you don't have to worry about how much you're sending offsite.
  • The appliances are very stable and almost set-it-and-forget-it. They're managed through a central console, so once the initial config of giving the appliance an IP is done, pretty much everything else is standardized through that one console.
  • The interface is simple and adding data sources is a breeze. In the seven years we've used them, they have considerably expanded the service and its capabilities, and it can handle pretty much any system or OS we've thrown at it.
  • You can't define backup systems to just go to the cloud, it has to be stored locally as well, which eats up the local storage.
  • These appliances are high-priced for a small amount of storage and if you want to upgrade, you buy a new appliance. There's no replacing hard drives, you basically move up $5K for each 2Tb and replace the entire appliance each time. It's not a healthy model for growth.
It's fantastic if you have a little amount of critical data or if you have data that is highly compressible and or can be de-duped. If you're dealing with images or other files that don't compress well or if you have lots of data, there are better options that let you control/expand the storage without a full rip/replace each time. Barracuda Backup does have a program where if you maintain support/hardware replacement coverage for 4 years on the appliance, they'll send you a new appliance every 4 years, however, it's the same model with the same amount of storage.
Read Jason Thomas's full review
Tina Cline profile photo
June 07, 2016

User Review: "Barracuda Backups Trustworthy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Barracuda Backup is an easy backup platform to install and use across your network. The reporting features give you piece of mind that your backups are being taken care of. There is nothing more important than making sure your business is protected from document loss and Barracuda Backup fills that need easily.
  • Easy of use is key. Installing it on the network and applying the needed resources to the servers and workstations is a snap. Understanding retention and replication is given to you at a glance.
  • Support is king. It doesn't matter how great a product is if you don't get the support from the vendor to back you up. I have always had excellent experiences talking with Barracuda support.
  • It's hard to point out any flaws other than perhaps the price point can be a little high for smaller businesses. But you need to weigh that against total data loss.
Great for mid to large size businesses that want hands on control of their backups with the security of offsite storage. Keeps the process pretty hands off once it is in place so you do not need constant overhead over handling your backups.
Read Tina Cline's full review
Gilbert Reyes Jr profile photo
May 20, 2016

Barracuda Backup Review: "Barracuda is all you need!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Barracuda to back up all of our virtual servers across the whole organization. It provides secure backup and redundancy in the event of an emergency.
  • Full backup and incrementals for all our servers.
  • Granular restore at a file level if needed.
  • Cloud storage for archived backups.
  • The UI could be a little more intuitive as sometimes it's confusing to find certain menu options.
Barracuda's solutions work well in the enterprise environment as it provides business continuity and granular restore at the file level.
Read Gilbert Reyes Jr's full review
Jeremy McClellan profile photo
December 16, 2015

Review: "Barracuda Backup – a home run solution or a one-way ticket to a waste of money?"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Barracuda Backup was being used internally within our company to back up our own in-house multiserver platform both physical and virtual. It worked fairly well for our purposes. At the time it made the most sense when taking into consideration the cost of each gigabyte of storage both locally on the appliance and in the Barracuda Cloud. Due to massive amounts of hard drive failure in the field among two dozen of our client sites, we moved away from the platform in search of a solution that all of our unhappy clients could switch to. As you jumped up the model ladder, the cost of owning and renewing the support services annually became incredibly top-heavy. Barracuda support always seemed to downplay the hard drive failures, even from a management standpoint. They always blame the excessive amount of vigorous disk usage. Being in the system integrator market for over 20 years I can confidently say BS. We have been a part of many customer site projects that have data arrays sustaining 50 MB to 250 MB and beyond (per second) running nonstop day and night 365 days a year without a remote resemblance of the hard drive failure rate Barracuda Backup appliances have.
  • Barracuda Support seems to have an above average industry initial response time after you submit a problem to them.
  • Barracuda Support personnel are always friendly and attentive.
  • It is usually possible to reach a live tech support rep within 5 to 10 minutes of your initial phone call.
  • The pricing structure (especially on higher models) gets ridiculous pretty quick.
  • Annual service renewals for Energize updates and Instant Replacement are a bit top-heavy.
  • Support personnel (including management) should not downplay hardware failures especially when laid out by a loyal reseller partner.
Barracuda Backup appliances are well suited in providing an automated managed solution. Using the cloud synchronization option, these appliances remove the human error involved in taking tape media offsite and keeping it secure. However, it certainly seems like once a unit gets more than a year old there seems to be a miraculous hard drive failure here and there requiring Instant Replacement [service] to be current in order to switch out the unit. Based off our own experience managing a couple of dozen units at client sites, something certainly smells fishy.
Read Jeremy McClellan's full review
Darrell (DJ) Clubb, profile photo
December 04, 2015

Review: "Barracuda Backup, big fish for the data pond."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Barracuda Backup to address user data and the automation of their backups. Home directories proved to be a pain point for some staff and the need to backup changed files throughout the day steered us to the Barracuda system. Without the use of home directories or automated backups, the help desk staff had to spend many hours manually backing up user data. Additionally, we have suffered data loss due to disgruntled staff and by having Barracuda Backup running automatically we were able to pick point in time data restoration.
  • Automated backups.
  • Easily navigate files to be restored.
  • Having the ability to redirect the restored data to another location.
  • Having the data both on site and replicated to Barracuda cloud allows for both faster data restoration as I am not dependent on a shared internet connection to pull data from the cloud, but having the cloud to replicate also adds an additional layer to disaster recovery.
  • Scheduling, particularly in a large organization could become a challenge.
  • Reporting could use a bit of work as well.
Having an appliance on site capable for backing up valuable data and then choosing what data to replicate to the cloud allows for a more granular method of data storage. I recently lost a share with 2-terabyte worth of data, but luckily, the Barracuda unit backs up this share. Having that data on site allowed for a quick restoration of the share, I did not need to utilize a slower shared internet connection as one might if they opted for a pure cloud backup solution.
Read Darrell (DJ) Clubb,'s full review
Jhonna Flores profile photo
December 04, 2015

Barracuda Backup Review: "Years of experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Barracuda Backup to back up our critical server to replicate to the cloud; just one word "SIMPLE".
  • VMware backup is easy.
  • Backup replications.
  • Easy to restore from backup.
  • OS X backup needs to be more user friendly.
  • Option to use external storage to increase backup storage.
  • OS X backup agent needs to be developed.
Barracuda Backup is well suited for backup replication or backup to cloud for data recovery.
Read Jhonna Flores's full review
Anthony Shane profile photo
November 23, 2015

Review: "Barracuda backup from a consultant's perspective."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I implemented the Barracuda Backup appliance to backup 1 hyper-v host with 3 guest operating systems. The device integrated local and online backups for disaster recovery.
  • The BDU provides centralized management of backup jobs.
  • I've used the backup device to restore to dissimilar hardware. Restore time was more than adequate.
  • Replication is fast and smooth with deduplication which many vendors weren't offering at the time that I was vetting solutions.
  • Pricing!!!!
Barracuda Backup really excels when backing up multiple nodes as licensing is done for storage and not per device.
Read Anthony Shane's full review
dan berezowski profile photo
November 17, 2015

Barracuda Backup Review: "Barracuda is a winner"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company currently uses the Barracuda Backup appliance as well as their Yosemite backup software for our Linux servers. After many years of using the Yosemite software and having flawless backups and restores from those backups we looked to increase our usage of Barracuda products and selected to go with the Backup appliance to backup several servers, some virtual and some physical. We also utilize the ability to backup some workstations that are used to run specific jobs on. The Backup appliance is very quick and efficient at both backing up and restoring data when the need arrives. Going with the Barracude support plan we have unlimited cloud storage to store our backups in the cloud as well as having the local copy on the device itself which provides a great value. Compared to others that we investigated a few years back it seemed that the provided value of Barracuda's device was well worth the money as well as the many successful years of using their Yosemite application.
  • Quick efficient backups.
  • Quick restores of backed up data.
  • Ability to manage users and devices through their web interface.
  • Web front-end could be quicker to load.
The Backup device is well suited for environments that have multiple machines that need a backup solution. It also goes very well in an environment with VM machines.
Read dan berezowski's full review
No photo available
December 04, 2015

Barracuda Backup Review: "A Very Sturdy Backup Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Barracuda Backup for all server system backups. This includes system backups for Windows files systems, Linux, and VMware. We also utilize the offsite backup as a data recovery measure. This addresses backup issues.
  • Barracuda backup removes the need for tapes. I hated changing out tapes and storing them. I don't have to do that anymore.
  • We were planning a migration from an old file server running windows server 2003. Two weeks prior to the migration this file server failed. I was able to restore the entire physical system as a virtual server using BBS and VMware. I had a catastrophic failure and was back up and running within 1 hour, and fully restored all files within 8 hours.
  • I'm a big fan of the bare metal backups. I can restore a VMware guest image with very little effort.
  • Sometimes the site is sluggish when exploring backup source folders for file backups.
  • I don't like that the system throws an error if a file is removed from the file server. The only way to rid this error is to remove this file or folder as a backup source, which causes the system to remove all versions of this file after 30 days. I would like it to just keep the file in storage based on my backup profile.
  • This one really burned me. When I originally bought my BBS, I was told that after 3 years with Instant Replacement I would automatically get an equipment refresh. They changed their policy to 4 years right before my 3 year renewal, which I had planned for and was counting on.
Barracuda Backup is well suited for a server environment backup. I wouldn't consider it for backing up individual desktops unless the office is very small, or the company has money to burn like a hedge fund.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 04, 2015

Review: "Barracuda Backup - A solid (lowcost) solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barracuda Backup is our standard backup solution for any companies that we support. It addresses the business problem of finding a cost effective backup solution that is both local and offsite.
  • Cost Effective. It is hard to find a more complete backup product at this price point.
  • Simple Management. The website used to manage the boxes is easy to use and pretty intuitive.
  • Support. Support is, for the most part, a good experience. There are some tier 1 techs who don't know what they are doing, but most of the support staff is very good.
  • Support. Some of the tier 1 techs are not very good, especially if the problem is a complicated one. You also always have to go into a call queue, so you don't have any control over what support tech you get.
  • Restore issues. Currently and in the past, there have been issues with being able to restore large (5+GB) files from the cloud.
If you are looking for a low cost solution that can do both onsite and offsite backups as well as manage retention, then this product is for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 04, 2015

Barracuda Backup Review: "Great Backup, Ehhh on the restore"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Overall Barracuda Backup is a decent product. The web interface is generally easy to use and it backs up as it should. However, we've had issues with restoring files, which can be a HUGE problem. Support seems to be hit or miss at times and not always the most timely in responses.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Good information.
  • Restoring large files doesn't work often.
  • Support for urgent issues has lacked at times.
The unit and service is at a decent price point which makes it an attractive option. However, again, if you have restore issues the backup unit isn't of much use for you when truly needed.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (17)
9.7
Live recovery (17)
9.2
Recovery verification (18)
9.7
Business application protection (14)
9.6
Multiple backup destinations (19)
9.3
Incremental backup identification (20)
9.6
Backup to the cloud (20)
9.8
Deduplication and file compression (20)
9.6
Snapshots (16)
9.0
Flexible deployment (5)
9.6
Management dashboard (6)
10.0
Platform support (6)
9.8
Retention options (6)
10.0
Encryption (5)
9.6

About Barracuda Backup

Barracuda Backup is a data recovery and restore, and data deduplication, option from Barracuda Networks.

Barracuda Backup Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No