Barracuda Email Security Gateway Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Timothy Good | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Bang for your buck

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We migrated from this to the big box Proofpoint. We were sold on all the bells and whistles. And I can honestly say this did a better job for our organizational size.
Read Timothy Good's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

The best solution to protect company resources.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Through this application, I can keep my computer and system safe during its time of use and it is very helpful when detecting any threat as it has done in my system since its installation, I no longer have any problem due to the damage to my software since Barracuda protects my computer without any problem. In addition to everything with its functionalities, our company has been able to benefit successfully since our teams are in their most optimal operation, giving them better benefit and long duration and not worrying about any type of hacking, thanks to Barracuda we can be calm whenever we navigate in the network without being infected by malware.
Read this authenticated review
Bear Golightly | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

Barracuda Email Security Service - No-frills email security and attachment sandboxing!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Barracuda Email Security Service (ESS) is the anti-spam, anti-phishing, and general anti-bad stuff product in use by the entire organization since early 2017. The heuristics, content/sender policies and sandboxing help us solve the complex problem of "how do you stop the entire Internet from trying to kill you and/or rob you via email?"
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Jackie Ramos | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Barracuda never lets the phishing take you down.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using it for the whole organization. We recently upgraded and added more services like Barracuda Sentinel. We addressed the phishing issues that our exec teams were experiencing. We are now backing up everything. Including MS OneDrive. Searching in the Cloud is so much quicker now.
Read Jackie Ramos's full review
Rick Sherman | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Barracuda Email Security Service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Barracuda Email Security Service is utilized across the enterprise. All email coming in or out go through Barracuda to be scanned for viruses, DLP, spam, phishing campaigns, and malware. The best part is Barracuda manages the service so any updates are done by them. We set the aggression level and let it do its job. We are pleased with the product and service which is why we are a multi year user.
Read Rick Sherman's full review
Dustin Brilliant | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2019

Highly recommend this product!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use this product and absolutely love it. It's saved us a lot of time and saved a lot of space on the Exchange server/email server. If someone needs an old email that Outlook can't find, Barracuda will find that email from way back.
Read Dustin Brilliant's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

A great email security solution with simple implementation and very cost effective.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire organization consisting of Police, Fire, Public Works, IT, Community Development, Park, etc., are affected by the use of our Barracuda Email Gateway. We have been using our appliance and recently cloud service for around 10 years. The gateway helps remove nearly all malicious messages including phishing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Barracuda Email Security Service is Great for MSP!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Barracuda Email Security Service is being used by our organization as an Email spam filter, as well as handling everything related to regional policies, sender policies, inbound and outbound settings. It is also being used to scan attachments using the ATP scanning capability. We also are implementing the content policies as well.
Read this authenticated review
Alex Leung | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Barracuda Spam Firewall Fits Our Needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Barracuda is currently used to filter our emails, both inbound and outbound. It helps us eliminate the hundreds of thousands of spam, scams, and malware coming in to our email users. Without it our users email inboxes would be so full of junk that we could not carry on business in an very efficient way at all.
Read Alex Leung's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Peace Of Mind For Email Security

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Barracuda to screen our email before it reaches the employees inboxes. It is being used organisation wide to offer full protection. We use it to protect us against phishing scams, viruses and ransom wear. It also helps to clear up unwanted emails that make it through the Office 365 spam filters.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2018

Barracuda - An excellent layer to your security

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Barracuda Email Security Gateway. We use both cloud and a local virtual appliance. This is being used by our entire company. All of our inbound and outbound filters go through the gateways. Inbound goes through both and outbound only goes out the local virtual appliance. This reduces spam that our users receive.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Jeff Daniels | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2018

Barracuda ESS - A good low cost alternative for email filtering

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

When we decided to switch to Office 365 we decided we wanted to add an additional service for email security. All of our incoming mail goes to the Barrcauda ESS first, before going to out Office 365 tenant for delivery. The email for all our users goes through the service.
Read Jeff Daniels's full review
Robert Cabrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

Another win for Barracuda with its ESS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize the Barracuda ESS across our whole organization to minimize not only SPAM, viruses threats, email spoofing, phishing but as well as an additional layer of protection with its spooling feature. The portal allows for a great ability in troubleshooting NDR's and the like. This allows us to minimize any business disruptions from undeliverable false positives and any important deferred messages.
Read Robert Cabrera's full review
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2017

Barracuda Email Security - On-premises Appliance or Online Essentials

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Barracuda Email Security Services are in use by my company with the online Essentials flavor. It has been implemented by a number of my clients with the Essentials or the on-premises options. Both options include inbound and outbound spam filtering as well as options for content filtering and outbound encryption services. The entire organization's email goes through this system and several departments utilize the outbound encryption for secure transmission.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2018

Email Filtering Made Easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Barracuda ESS is used throughout our entire organization as the main protection again malware and spam. Prior to this we utilized Trendmicro, which we found did not grab as many messages as expected, leaving a lot of spam and malicious emails to come through our network and to our users.
Read this authenticated review

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-malware (9)
8.1
Cusomizability (7)
7.0
Data Loss Protection (7)
7.8
Threat Detection (9)
8.6
Sandboxing (7)
8.5
End-to-End Encryption (8)
8.8
Management Tools (9)
8.1

About Barracuda Email Security Gateway

The Barracuda Email Security Gateway is an email security gateway that manages and filters all inbound and outbound email traffic to protect organizations from email-borne threats and data leaks. As a complete email management solution, the Barracuda Email Security Gateway lets organizations encrypt messages and leverage the cloud to spool email if mail servers become unavailable. The Barracuda Email Security Gateway is offered without per-user or per-feature fees, and is also available as a virtual appliance or in a public cloud environment (Amazon Web Services (AWS), or Microsoft Azure).
Categories:  Secure Email Gateway

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Features

Secure Email Gateway Features

Has featureAnti-malware
Has featureCusomizability
Has featureData Loss Protection
Has featureThreat Detection
Has featureSandboxing
Has featureEnd-to-End Encryption
Has featureManagement Tools

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Competitors

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No