Basecamp Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1040 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 101)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 19, 2021
Robert Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

[Basecamp is] simpler to use less ramp-up. It's cheaper per user and allows for a better mobile experience.
Read Robert Ross's full review
May 17, 2021
Blake Baron | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Pretty good, but [Basecamp] has its drawbacks. Honestly I find the interface non-intuitive and sometimes have trouble figuring out how to change the status of a task. Perhaps it has something to do with the way it was originally set up by the admin, but I'm not sure. I liked Jira's drag and drop obvious functionality, but the project management side of the software was lacking. Smartsheet has excellent project management functionality, but the task management isn't as good.
Read Blake Baron's full review
April 14, 2021
Heather Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp built from its foundation as a project management tool. It has all the tools needed to make sure your projects are created, shared, and completed in the most streamlined process. It definitely knows what teams need to have effortless project sharing, and delivers exactly that. I can't think of how we would get our jobs done without Basecamp along the way.
Read Heather Miller's full review
April 08, 2021
Nicholas Kouvatsos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I thought Microsoft Teams may be a good alternative to Basecamp, and it was already included in our suite of Microsoft products we subscribe to, but it seems to be more of a collaboration tool than a project management tool. After review, Microsoft Teams is not suited to manage projects.
Read Nicholas Kouvatsos's full review
June 11, 2021
Tapesh bhargava | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tried other software while selecting paid plans of Basecamp; its customer service is fast and very prompt in comparison to others. Interface and UI & UX is also very good, which is very good for team members. The team loves this product and they are very happy with it. We are now a permanent customer of Basecamp.
Read Tapesh bhargava's full review
May 18, 2021
Tsvetan Iliev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Unlike others, Basecamp has been easy for us to store information and move our projects forward efficiently.
Read Tsvetan Iliev's full review
May 14, 2021
Toby Bottin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Unlike most of the project management platforms, Basecamp is hosted in the cloud and since it is provided as a service we are not responsible for maintenance and updates because all IT expertise-related matters are covered for us. It also performs well as documents and files manager where we store and share our corporate information.
Read Toby Bottin's full review
May 13, 2021
Vicki Floyd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have not used any other project management software. We started with Basecamp and we've never felt the need to use another program.
Read Vicki Floyd's full review
May 13, 2021
Jason Vance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There is a simplicity that basecamp offers where most other project management systems seem to miss. They've worked hard at keeping the right things in place and not adding so many of the extra features that just get in the way of getting work done. The thing I liked most about Basecamp was its ability to get out of the way so we could get our work done. So many other tools require a lot of time just to use.
Read Jason Vance's full review
April 13, 2021
Tanya Sloan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Basecamp for the low cost of entry for the org and the number of users who had previous experience on Basecamp. We ultimately will be transitioning to another project management tool that includes relational decision capability and Gantt chart capacity.
Read Tanya Sloan's full review
April 07, 2021
Lee L Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Asana has a free tier that has fewer features than Basecamp, so we opted for Basecamp for the additional ways we could use it. The Kanban board style in Asana is nice, but the document repository, chat features, recurring templates, etc. were selling points for Basecamp. It also has an integration with Harvest, which we use for time tracking.
Read Lee L Kennedy's full review
March 04, 2021
Michelle Hidalgo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp is better than alternatives like TeamWork and Asana. There are many software that are similar however the interface for me is better in Basecamp. It's user-friendly and it's a clean and simple way to communicate with groups and manage projects. It's cheaper than other alternatives as well.
Read Michelle Hidalgo's full review
May 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp if far simpler than ClickUp. We use ClickUp to manage our internal task management, as it provides more customization, additional views and more room for extreme detail in tasks. We used Basecamp for clients because of its simplicity and ease-of-use. Basecamp requires third-party integrations to add additional functionality (like time tracking and gantt charts) whereas for ClickUp, much of that functionality is built-in.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Jira in past roles with different organizations, and I find Basecamp to be much more user-friendly and better at the more complex conversations that need to be had around product features. Basecamp knows what it does well, and sticks to that, instead of trying to be a more all-around product development tool like Jira. In my experience, Jira's interface was much more confusing, and contained a lot of functionality that my team didn't use.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Comparatively, Basecamp has been found to be the easiest to use and onboard new users. Additionally the cost model for our organisation is much lower on Basecamp compared to the competition.

Other products are more aligned with Agile practices but for most of our operational needs, this was not deemed to be a necessity.

It's also a very attractive offering when you consider that adding more users doesn't increase your cost footprint.

Finally, the breadth of options available for integration to third party services is great and further reinforces why this is the platform of choice for us.
Read this authenticated review
June 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Asana has an expanded list of capabilities over Basecamp. If you're looking for a simple tool, Basecamp is your go-to. If you need something that makes it easy to schedule recurring tasks, dependencies, mass updates, seeing a project map, and capacity of your team, Asana is the way to go.
Read this authenticated review
May 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Trello, Gantify. We selected Basecamp because we liked the card system, even though it was lacking some of the other features we liked from other platforms.
Read this authenticated review
May 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We moved from Basecamp to monday.com. Monday is much better suited to an environment where most projects are similar to other projects you are currently working on or have already completed. Monday isn't as "social" or as "community building" as Basecamp, but we've always used Slack as our communication tool, so that hasn't been a problem.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp is excellent in project-based group communication and collaboration. It offers multiple options for teams, including comments, group chat, message boards, and pings. It also offers very easy and customisable client access to project progress and activity. These are the areas in which we felt it shines. It is not the most advanced project management software, but it is great for group-based collaboration around to-do lists and tasks.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp is simple to understand, easy to use, and does not come with the bloat and complications of a solution like Teams. It is certainly more organized and easy to follow than simply having a group chat on Slack and Viber. If you need to easily find information, it can be done on Basecamp.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In my opinion, Basecamp has a better interface than Asana and Jira. I remember it took me sometime to get used to Asana and even longer to get used to Jira, but adoption for Basecamp was instant. Things are so clearly labeled and displayed that I was able to get comfortable with using the product right away.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp seemed to be more user-friendly compared to the others I've previously used. It is really easy to use and doesn't require intensive training for its users.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2019
Anthony Burke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I'm not sure I've used a clear alternative to Basecamp. Perhaps Google Drive and its associated programs (Docs, Sheets, etc.). I don't have a basis for comparison, but Basecamp is great for what it is. That said, it's possible that there are other programs that integrated absolutely everything you use at your company that could be more comprehensive. We used Basecamp plus Tick Spot, which was a time tracking software, and that was a handy pairing even though it's possible to imagine one program handling both tasks.
Read Anthony Burke's full review
December 09, 2019
Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Managing communications via the Basecamp user group is very similar to Linkedin or Facebook. It is easy to create events, control access rights, create posts or discussions that are viewable only by a limited audience.
I joined a group that was already existing, hence I was not involved in the purchase or selection process in evaluating other products.
Read Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR®'s full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (108)
8.1
Resource Management (90)
7.8
Gantt Charts (37)
7.2
Scheduling (87)
7.8
Workflow Automation (64)
7.0
Team Collaboration (108)
8.6
Support for Agile Methodology (42)
7.4
Support for Waterfall Methodology (40)
7.7
Document Management (102)
7.9
Email integration (89)
7.8
Mobile Access (88)
8.4
Timesheet Tracking (42)
7.1
Change request and Case Management (49)
7.7
Budget and Expense Management (37)
7.9
Quotes/estimates (28)
7.7
Invoicing (24)
6.9
Project & financial reporting (31)
8.2
Integration with accounting software (25)
7.5

What is Basecamp?

Basecamp is a web-based project-management tool developed by 37signals in Chicago and launched in 2004. The Ruby on Rails framework was extracted from the Basecamp project.

Basecamp offers features standard to project management platforms, including to-do lists, wiki-style web-based text documents, milestone management, file sharing, time tracking and a calendar, and a messaging system. Mobile accessibility is supported. Notably, it supports unlimited users. It also offers integration with 37signals' own Campfire product, which expands the group messaging functionality of the core platform. Customization, accessibility, and functionality are extended further by the broad range of apps available for free from 3rd parties. A 2-month free trial is available. Pricing is dependent upon space requirements and the number of concurrent projects, not the number of users.

Basecamp Integrations

Basecamp Competitors

Basecamp Pricing

Starting Price: $99

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basecamp PersonalFreeLimited Capabilities
Basecamp Business$99Per Month [Unlimited Users]

Basecamp Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Basecamp?

Basecamp is a web-based project-management tool. Basecamp offers features standard to project management platforms, as well as mobile accessibility, unlimited users, and 3rd party integrations. Basecamp is priced by space requirements and concurrent projects.

How much does Basecamp cost?

Basecamp starts at $99.

What is Basecamp's best feature?

Reviewers rate Team Collaboration highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Basecamp?

The most common users of Basecamp are from Small Businesses and the Marketing & Advertising industry.