Basecamp Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1049 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 136)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 17, 2021
Blake Baron | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We were able to provide the executive leadership team with visibility into our team's work
  • The team is able to collectively discuss issues and where they currently stand from a progress standpoint
  • While it's a little tough to use, we're able to better keep track of project issues and not let them fall through the cracks
Read Blake Baron's full review
May 12, 2021
Elizabeth Hyman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has saved me time when having to get the same message out to multiple restaurants
  • It has helped us make smarter operational decisions because we can all collaborate on an answer in a shorter amount of time (instead of calling a meeting!!!)
  • The calendar function allows us to plot out our marketing agenda for the month and add/change it together as needed. The chef will post his recipe, the managers will cost it out, the social media manager will post pictures on it, and ultimately we will get that information out on an info sheet to the staff by printing the page.
Read Elizabeth Hyman's full review
May 01, 2021
Hope Cutchins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Basecamp has helped our teams become more streamlined and effective
  • Basecamp has saved us time in meetings by fostering more substantive virtual communication and collaboration
Read Hope Cutchins's full review
April 14, 2021
Heather Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • More efficient. Since we're able to rely on Basecamp for all of our comps and client feedback, its allowed us to streamline our process and focus more on our actual work.
  • Time management. With the use of milestones, our department can easily see what tasks we need to complete and when, so that the project is completed on time.
  • Better communication. There are a lot of tools within Basecamp to encourage communication with our projects. We've been fully remote since March 2020 and basecamp has been our main source of communication on projects, with nothing falling through the cracks.
Read Heather Miller's full review
April 08, 2021
Nicholas Kouvatsos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • There's no direct ROI from Basecamp, but certainly using Basecamp or any other project management software will result in less time being wasted and tasks not falling through the cracks which, could result in unnecessary expenses or in lost revenue from tasks not being completed.
Read Nicholas Kouvatsos's full review
May 13, 2021
Vicki Floyd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Keeping track of tasks which, if not completed, could potentially affect our billing schedule.
  • All team members can see at a glance what tasks have been completed and what tasks are still outstanding.
Read Vicki Floyd's full review
May 13, 2021
Jason Vance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It saved us a lot of money over other project management tools.
  • Overall management of files and our SOP's became a lot easier having everything in one place.
  • The daily reminders and questions had a surprisingly positive affect on our remote team keeping them engaged and interacting with each other.
Read Jason Vance's full review
April 07, 2021
Lee L Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Being able to manage our projects keeps us focused and on task, helping move projects to completion so we can deliver for--and keep--clients
  • Basecamp likely takes the place of multiple tools if we were to buy them separately, so it saves money there too
  • Basecamp is a great tool for hiring/training as well, as we can be very organized as we level up our employees
Read Lee L Kennedy's full review
March 04, 2021
Michelle Hidalgo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It's a cost effective solution to connect with users and create an engaged environment about our meetings, events, and donor engagements.
  • It has had a positive effect on our ability to communicate with others in a timely fashion while allowing us to easily view our different meeting groups and conversations.
  • We are able to fully market our upcoming events and provide updates easily.
Read Michelle Hidalgo's full review
May 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Basecamp provides a simple and centralized solution for communication with our clients.
  • We were able to create a makeshift ticket system in Basecamp for clients to make new requests and it has been very successful.
  • The added level of organization that we provide to our clients through Basecamp has had a great impact on clients continuing on with our services.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has allowed us to be more efficient and communicative in our product development processes.
  • It helps our main story tracking tool to be cleaner, and contain more final versions of features and the user stories needed to build them.
  • It is the main way we communicate with our offshore development vendor, and it facilitates those conversations very well which makes our teams closer and more productive.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Basecamp Personal offering includes 20 users which allows you to run the platform free of charge on an unlimited basis for a small to medium size team
  • Paid-for version allows unlimited users at a very cost-effective price and offers substantial value for money versus the market competition
  • Being able to consolidate all of our project collaboration activity into a single platform means the overall cost of ownership has dropped significantly since adopting Basecamp
  • The ease and speed in which users can be onboarded has meant the ramp-up time for new users has been minimal
  • The ability to add external stakeholders easily has allowed us to remove previously existing performance bottlenecks when engaging with our vendors and external clients
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have been able to coordinate our marketing campaigns much easier with an external agency.
  • Our team has been much more responsive that just using email communication.
Read this authenticated review
June 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has allowed us to reduce costs on a full time project management role
  • It has allowed us to keep up to date with client work
  • It has increased efficiency while our team became fully remote
Read this authenticated review
June 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We had several issues with finding comments and files. Seemed like we ended up scheduling more meetings to address issues where maybe they could have been resolved in Basecamp somehow.
  • I feel the software probably got in the way more than it helped. Could be how the vendor implemented it but it was not intuitive for our team.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Very efficient way to share and manage to-do lists and tasks, with automated check-ins and customised notifications.
  • Excellent project-based group collaboration and communication features.
  • Easy ability to give access to clients of project info, in a customised way.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It is certainly much better than having just a group chat
  • Works particularly well with lower-level, less tech savvy users
  • Makes collaboration more organized
  • Can be expensive for very small teams
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (110)
8.0
Resource Management (92)
7.7
Gantt Charts (38)
7.3
Scheduling (88)
7.8
Workflow Automation (65)
7.0
Team Collaboration (110)
8.5
Support for Agile Methodology (42)
7.4
Support for Waterfall Methodology (40)
7.7
Document Management (104)
7.7
Email integration (91)
7.9
Mobile Access (90)
8.2
Timesheet Tracking (42)
7.1
Change request and Case Management (50)
7.4
Budget and Expense Management (37)
7.9
Quotes/estimates (28)
7.7
Invoicing (24)
6.9
Project & financial reporting (32)
7.6
Integration with accounting software (25)
7.5

What is Basecamp?

Basecamp is a web-based project-management tool developed by 37signals in Chicago and launched in 2004. The Ruby on Rails framework was extracted from the Basecamp project.

Basecamp offers features standard to project management platforms, including to-do lists, wiki-style web-based text documents, milestone management, file sharing, time tracking and a calendar, and a messaging system. Mobile accessibility is supported. Notably, it supports unlimited users. It also offers integration with 37signals' own Campfire product, which expands the group messaging functionality of the core platform. Customization, accessibility, and functionality are extended further by the broad range of apps available for free from 3rd parties. A 2-month free trial is available. Pricing is dependent upon space requirements and the number of concurrent projects, not the number of users.

Basecamp Integrations

Basecamp Competitors

Basecamp Pricing

Starting Price: $99

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basecamp PersonalFreeLimited Capabilities
Basecamp Business$99Per Month [Unlimited Users]

Basecamp Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Basecamp?

Basecamp is a web-based project-management tool. Basecamp offers features standard to project management platforms, as well as mobile accessibility, unlimited users, and 3rd party integrations. Basecamp is priced by space requirements and concurrent projects.

How much does Basecamp cost?

Basecamp starts at $99.

What is Basecamp's best feature?

Reviewers rate Team Collaboration highest, with a score of 8.5.

Who uses Basecamp?

The most common users of Basecamp are from Small Businesses and the Marketing & Advertising industry.