BigCommerce

BigCommerce

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Top Rated
BigCommerce

Overview

Recent Reviews

BigCommerce Review

10
April 26, 2022
Used to run our ecommerce business and have been using the service for over three years.

BC allows us business to consumer and business to …

Affordable and very usable

8
March 26, 2022
We use BigCommerce to promote our products and services, generate leads, and facilitate product purchases. The products we sell are …

Bigcommerce - A Good Choice

10
December 20, 2021
Very easy to use systems. Lots of functionality is in-built without the need for external apps. Used it in the retail industry with 1000s …
Read full review

Big Big BigCommerce

8
December 12, 2021
All in one solution for setting up an online store. We are getting problems with our web servers and payment options, but after a thorough …

Loving BigCommerce!

10
December 03, 2021
I use BigCommerce as my eCommerce platform. I really enjoy how easy the product is to use, and the customer service has always been …

Our take

10
December 03, 2021
It is the [backbone] of our website. We needed a new one back in 2014 and a local company helped set up the site. It works well with Webgil…

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Popular Features

View all 20 features

Product management (393)

8.2
82%

Product catalog & listings (396)

8.2
82%

Visual customization (387)

7.3
73%

Mobile storefront (384)

7.3
73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BigCommerce, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Standard

$29.95

Cloud
per month

Plus

$79.95

Cloud
per month*

Pro

$299.95

Cloud
per month*

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.bigcommerce.com/essentials/…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $29.95 per month

Features Scorecard

Online Storefront

7.5
75%

Online Shopping Cart

7.5
75%

Online Payment System

8.1
81%

eCommerce Marketing

7.0
70%

eCommerce Business Management

7.0
70%

Product Details

What is BigCommerce?

According to the vendor, BigCommerce is one of the leading cloud ecommerce platforms for established and rapidly-growing businesses. Combining enterprise functionality, an open architecture and app ecosystem, and market-leading performance, BigCommerce aims to help businesses to grow online sales with less cost, time, and complexity than on-premise software. BigCommerce powers B2B and B2C ecommerce for more than 60,000 brands, 2,000+ mid-market businesses, 30 Fortune 1000 companies, and industry-leading brands, including Assurant, Ben & Jerry’s, Paul Mitchell, Skullcandy, Sony, and Toyota.

The vendor says that the product provides the following benefits to customers:

Customize and innovate at a lower total cost of ownership
Build in HTML, CSS, and Javascript
96% of brands relaunch in 2-4 months
Test and push changes without downtime in a local environment

Focus on generating sales, less on monitoring security & performance
PCI DSS 3.2 certified at Level 1
99.99% median uptime
Multiple layers of security through the Google Cloud Platform

Leverage your existing tech stack with flexible APIs
90% of platform data is exposed to APIs
400+ API calls per second
Headless commerce out-of-the-box, across any front-end

Solve your toughest challenges with SaaS
B2B, Wholesale
Headless Commerce, Wordpress
Multi-channel
International

BigCommerce Features

Online Storefront Features

  • Supported: Product catalog & listings
  • Supported: Product management
  • Supported: Bulk product upload
  • Supported: Branding
  • Supported: Search & filter
  • Supported: Mobile storefront
  • Supported: Product variations
  • Supported: Subscriptions & downloads
  • Supported: Website integration
  • Supported: Visual customization
  • Supported: CMS
  • Supported: Customer service tools

Online Shopping Cart Features

  • Supported: Abandoned cart recovery
  • Supported: Tax calculator
  • Supported: Shipping calculator
  • Supported: Integration with Amazon
  • Supported: Integration with eBay
  • Supported: Checkout user experience

Online Payment System Features

  • Supported: PayPal integration
  • Supported: Returns & refunds
  • Supported: Single-click checkout
  • Supported: eCommerce security
  • Supported: B2B features

eCommerce Marketing Features

  • Supported: Promotions & discounts
  • Supported: Personalized recommendations
  • Supported: SEO
  • Supported: Product reviews
  • Supported: Social commerce integration
  • Supported: Customer registration

eCommerce Business Management Features

  • Supported: Multi-site management
  • Supported: Order processing
  • Supported: Inventory management
  • Supported: Accounting
  • Supported: Shipping
  • Supported: Custom functionality

Additional Features

  • Supported: High Availability (HA) infrastructure that allows us to deliver 99.99% uptime
  • Supported: Open Platform: 90% of the BigCommerce platform data is exposed to the API
  • Supported: Server-to-server API functions enable a headless commerce on WordPress and more
  • Supported: Develop, test and push changes without downtime in a local environment using the Stencil CLI tool.
  • Supported: Omnichannel management (Amazon, Ebay, Facebook, Instagram, POS)
  • Supported: Global CDN, localized payments and multi-language support

BigCommerce Screenshots

Enterprise ecommerce for high-volume brands like Skullcandy.Our industry-leading integration will let you list your products on Amazon directly from the BigCommerce control panel, with centralized inventory and order processing and fulfillment.Easily customize the look and feel of your storefront.

BigCommerce Videos

Create differentiated commerce experiences on the industry’s most versatile enterprise solution.
BigCommerce Company Values
Scale your business with WordPress on the front-end and free up server resources from things like catalog management, processing payments, and managing fulfillment logistics, with BigCommerce on the back end.
After growing her company to $500K in sales through this Google document, Revelry founder Michelle DeLoach realized she needed a scalable ecommerce platform to take her business to the next level.

BigCommerce Downloadables

BigCommerce Integrations

BigCommerce Competitors

BigCommerce Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)60%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)30%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)10%

BigCommerce Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BigCommerce?

BigCommerce is a SaaS platform that allows SMBs to develop eCommerce sites. Features include the capabilities to design the storefront, configure products, manage payments, generate traffic, and optimize conversion.

How much does BigCommerce cost?

BigCommerce starts at $29.95.

What is BigCommerce's best feature?

Reviewers rate Product catalog & listings and Product management highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses BigCommerce?

The most common users of BigCommerce are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Retail industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 60)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Scott Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
Currently, we are using the BigCommerce platform as a catalog site for the retailers. We are attempting to push the site as a resource for our retailer network to compare products and find information that assists in the sale of the products. Eventually, we hope to utilize the site as a members-only e-commerce platform, with either an invoice/purchase order payment system or a typical card payment. The BigCommerce site serves as a product catalog, content management system, and digital asset manager. Additionally, we utilize the site for many more specific uses, such as a tool to assist in the onboarding of new retailer-partners and additional branding space for our brands.
February 15, 2019

Great eCommerce Platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
BigCommerce works flawlessly with our clients' prioritized integrations like Shipstation, Klaviyo, Avalara, and others. Other integrations can be custom built as needed, but there is a good chance that whatever a business needs already exists within the BigCommerce app store. It's worthwhile to pay attention to the integration or app's reviews to ensure the quality of what you're installing, but most have been well-vetted by the BigCommerce community.
February 15, 2019

Easy as 1, 2, 3!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
We use mailchimp for our e-marketing activities. Each time a customer opens an account with us, they have the option of joining our subscribers' list. This gives us an opportunity to include them in our mailchimp marketing.
Blake Baron | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
We are the largest seller of tungsten on Amazon but found that the BigCommerce integration with Amazon, eBay, etc. isn't that great. The marketplaces are too complex to not manage from within their own user interfaces. We do integrate BigCommerce with MailChimp and that integration allows for detailed personalization of email blasts and newsletters. We do heavily lean on Amazon's OmniChannel fulfillment, and Bigcommerce provides a litany of order data which helps us create OMS logic for shipping methods.
Jen Garfinkel-Canseco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
Integration with MailChimp was fairly easy to setup, no real problems and it collects email address for newsletters as expected. Integration with Paypal was seamless as well. I have not set it up with any other integration tools at this time, but knowing that customer service is always helpful I have no concerns that if there is an issue it will be easily resolved.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Brick & Mortar Store
We do not use BigCommerce to integrate with social media or marketing automation. We do utilize BigCommerce to solicit reviews and to support our "Find a Dealer" functionality so users can search for our nearest dealer to their area.
Bryan Bielefeldt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Brick & Mortar Store
  • Online Marketplaces (e.g. Amazon, eBay)
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
The ability for BigCommerce to integrate with services like Google shopping network and Amazon, Facebook etc... is a huge plus and lowers technical lift for multichannel marketing.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
  • MailChimp is used to capture email addresses for marketing and for customers to subscribe to.
  • Yotpo - Used to get reviews to boost ratings, increase marketing and get more traffic.
  • Olark - Easy way for the customer to contact us.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Brick & Mortar Store
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
I have set up companion social media platforms like Pinterest/Twitter/Facebook/YouTube. I have mainly used Facebook and found that the BigCommerce 'Facebook' store is also pretty cool! It makes it super easy to see your stuff directly from a Facebook page. Given that Facebook has an EXCELLENT advertising service I highly recommend utilizing this function. For literally ten bucks you can select where you want, say, 10,000 people to see your product on Facebook! When they click to buy it goes directly through the BigCommerce portal - so pro! :)
Jason Lowrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
At the moment we do not have much of an omnichannel strategy. We use Facebook to promote our shows, share our blog posts, and display limited edition pieces we've made, but we have not yet reached the point where we are expanding our online sales. Physical shows in our surrounding area have gifted us with great success in the past year and we are looking to pursue that first. Expanding online sales is still on the horizon.
Richard Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Online Marketplaces (e.g. Amazon, eBay)
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
We use Linnworks in order to manage all our sales and stock on multiple worldwide marketplaces, and it integrates with BigCommerce perfectly. We have it linked to Mailchimp, and also more recently with LeadDyno for affiliate marketing.
We don't use BigCommerce for omnichannel management, as Linnworks will do all of that for us, however I believe it would function satisfactorily for smaller merchants.
Machele Shifley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
Because our main business is a resort, and this is a very small on-line gift shop, we simply do not use or have a need to use this additional functionality. I can certainly see where it would be beneficial to on-line stores which are entirely on line or larger shops selling more products on line.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
We use MailChimp and Justuno to assist in marketing our products and help build sales, but also make use of several built-in, integrated tools available via the Dashboard to implement our eComm strategies- most of value to us have been such resources as Abandoned Cart Notifications and Google Ad Words which we have seen have a direct impact on improving sales.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
We are a one channel business. We only sell our products through the BigCommerce platform. We manage a couple of apps that are available for BigCommerce customers like MailChimp, Xero, Socialphotos, Yotpo and Refersion to name a few. The integrations of these apps are seamless and work really well.
Suzanne Greene | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Brick & Mortar Store
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
If I didn't have to wear all the hats of my business, I would have the time to create online marketplaces with Amazon, FaceBook, etc.
Stephanie Gale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online Store
  • Social Media (e.g. Facebook, Pinterest)
E-mail management is the most important for us (currently changing the iContact one I've used). Have also tried some social media, but currently disconnected due to the constant changes in those platforms not fitting for my customer base. We are reassessing for 2017.