BigCommerce Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
520 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 358)

Elexis Craig | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2020

Love BigCommerce

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

BigCommerce is great for online stores, even with the select themes there are so many ways to customize them to give them your own look, plus you can upload your own for your unique store. I highly recommend BigCommerce for online stores. I really don't know of a way it would be inappropriate as I only use it for an online store. It's just a steep learning curve transitioning from a lot of the simpler web developers.
Read Elexis Craig's full review
Drew Supernor | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

Highly recommend BigCommerce to anyone looking to sell online!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would highly recommend using BigCommerce. For our professional sports team that sells team merchandise, BigCommerce has worked extremely well and is very reasonably priced when starting out. I've actually recommended BigCommerce to a couple of other teams that have reached out about our online store and who we use. For anyone selling any kind of product, I believe BigCommerce would work very well. It has also allowed us to take preorders for products with high demand so that we have a better idea of how much to order or so you can start getting cash for the products before they arrive.
Read Drew Supernor's full review
Andy Pollard | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

A happy non-techy user's honest review of BigCommerce, being used with great confidence

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It seems very suitable for most applications with few products or designer items. The banners and themes give great views to visitors to your site. If you have lots of products like Wardsflex, using the pods seems to be the best way to present them to give purchasers quick access to a particular area of the shop.
I am unable to advise where it would not be appropriate, as I have not found this scenario.
Read Andy Pollard's full review
Katie Rose Alford | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2020

BigCommerce gave us Big Online Sales! Best E Commerce Platform!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for any company that needs an online store to sell products with a checkout page. I would not recommend for a store simply with just a contact page. If you need to be able to allow your product to be customized and/or purchased online this is the right platform for you!
Read Katie Rose Alford's full review
Jeanna Haag | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Awesome E-Commerce Building Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think BigCommerce can easily work for any company wanting to sell products. Not only are there several options built into it, but you can also get apps for anything not already available. There are also partners who can do custom coding for you for an additional fee and the boards are a great place to get answers.
Read Jeanna Haag's full review
Ioritz Blanco | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

BigCommerce gets your needs covered.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For new businesses that just want to have a website running and start selling, I would totally recommend BigCommerce. However, once your company grows bigger, the system is sort of rigid where you don't have a way to change lots of functionality aspects. You need to either learn how to program or hire a programmer.
Read Ioritz Blanco's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2020

Incredible customer service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

They were amazing when I was setting up my account, always available to answer the phone and answer any questions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Good product overall

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

BigCommerce has great customer support. We always get assistance on time. I need to create web pages but they are very simple because I don't have a developer's knowledge. Templates would certainly help. Marketing promotions like shopping cart discount make it easy for customer to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Great web-business starter

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

BigCommerce is great for small businesses and startups. However, it is hard to choose the correct theme and level. I wish there was more help with that. The staff is not always aware of specific issues.
Read this authenticated review
Peggy Steffens | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

A new view. New to eCommerce platforms.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I do not know how to code, so the info available here has been very useful and helpful and easy to learn and use given my lack of knowledge. If you were well-versed in coding and could write your own web page I imagine you wouldn't need it. That is not the case here. I still feel that it would make adding data so much easier even if you could do it all yourself. The reports and data compiled also seem easy to access without having to set up spreadsheets and compile data.
Read Peggy Steffens's full review
Darcy Knapp, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

BigCommerce is the best eCommerce solution for real e-stores if you want to succeed

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for start up or established ecommerce business. For the same price as basic Shopify store you get a full featured store with BigCommerce. We also build a lot of WordPress stores for startups, most migrate to BigCommerce as their revenues grow. For small stores 1-4 products, a Wordpress starting point is more affordable (free ecomm plugins) but when you are ready to make your store a business, you need a full functioning store with the capabilities to integrate with 3rd party shipping and selling platforms.
Read Darcy Knapp, MBA's full review
brenda wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Little company wins big with BigCommerce

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We find BigCommerce to be the ideal e-commerce platform for our business. When we were researching suitable solutions, BigCommerce ticked all our boxes. We haven't had a single problem that couldn't be addressed by their amazing internal support team. We are a small business but BigCommerce can very easily grow with us. The platform is amazing in how easy it is to learn. And, if you can't figure it out, just chat with their team online and they will show you exactly how to do something.
Read brenda wilson's full review
Matthew Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Inexperienced Online Seller Learns BigCommerce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For the well-seasoned online seller, BigCommerce offers the tools and apps necessary to be successful. Payment gateway integration is easy and BigCommerce doesn't charge additional fees like other platforms. They have a number of free apps that can take care of sales tax for you as well as discounted merchant rates. For the experienced seller looking to for a platform that doesn't nickel and dime everything you do, it's the perfect platform. For the inexperienced "hobby" seller, it will be a bit of a challenge learning the ins and outs of BigCommerce.
Read Matthew Walker's full review
Asher Hoffman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

BigCommerce is the perfect solution for a small to medium-sized online retailers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For small to medium-sized businesses, BigCommerce is a great solution to so many problems. It allows for scalable growth and features incredible customizability. It was exactly what our company needed when we outgrew our previous method for managing wholesale clients. I would highly recommend it to my colleagues.
Read Asher Hoffman's full review
Mark Linkhorst | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Follow Up BigCommerce Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are looking for a one-stop-shop for an e-commerce website, then look to BigCommerce for a solution which you can build yourself without knowing how to code. You may need to copy and paste some scripts to get bells and whistles incorporated into your website and if you can't figure it out yourself, the BigCommerce support team is right there to help you via chat whenever you need them. If you have a super small shop with only a few items, BigCommerce may be overkill but if you plan to grow your product offerings, then it may be worth considering.
Read Mark Linkhorst's full review
Stephen Oostdyk | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Big Difference and Big Improvements through BigCommerce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think BigCommerce is well suited for a small business selling products on their web page. It's well suited for individuals like me who have little web development ability. It doesn't give complete flexibility and options, but it's definitely a good start to help you accomplish the most important basic goals.
Read Stephen Oostdyk's full review
Jennifer Mileli | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Great for simple storefronts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is easy to use, and I haven't had any problems with inventory, customers, shipping, etc. Coupons and running sales are easy to do as well. The customer support chat is always available and helpful. I have used other sales platforms, and they were not as user-friendly as BigCommerce.
Read Jennifer Mileli's full review
Carlos Chanlatte | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Great eCommerce solution with very little issues.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

BigCommerce should truly fit almost all businesses that are looking to implement an eCommerce solution. I would highly recommend it for anyone that is looking for an alternative to WordPress/Woocommerce, since that solutions always seems to fall far behind in regards to site speed when compared to BigCommerce. BigCommerce is also a great solution for anyone looking to manage their eCommerce solution with a very user-friendly interface.

There are some instances in which solutions such as Shopify may be better when factoring in the cost of the solution. BigCommerce does offer some great plans; however, there are instances in which you have to upgrade to a higher plan if you just want one small feature that the other plan offers since there is no option to add individual features a la carte.
Read Carlos Chanlatte's full review
David Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

BigCommerce: a strong-hosted eCommerce platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great if you're looking for an out of the box system for a decent-sized catalog that does not require much custom functionality.
If you have a tiny catalog and a lot of non-ecommerce aspects of your site, Wordpress might be better. If you need a ton of customization, you might need to run your own platform or use an open source platform you can customize.
Read David Mason's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (335)
8.7
Product management (332)
8.8
Bulk product upload (247)
8.5
Branding (292)
8.2
Mobile storefront (325)
8.7
Product variations (317)
8.6
Website integration (275)
8.8
Visual customization (328)
8.3
CMS (237)
7.6
Abandoned cart recovery (301)
8.7
Checkout user experience (324)
8.8
eCommerce security (324)
9.3
Promotions & discounts (308)
8.5
Personalized recommendations (253)
8.2
SEO (304)
8.1
Multi-site management (142)
8.1
Order processing (316)
9.1
Inventory management (277)
8.5
Shipping (281)
8.3
Custom functionality (280)
7.8

About BigCommerce

According to the vendor, BigCommerce is one of the leading cloud ecommerce platforms for established and rapidly-growing businesses. Combining enterprise functionality, an open architecture and app ecosystem, and market-leading performance, BigCommerce aims to help businesses to grow online sales with less cost, time, and complexity than on-premise software. BigCommerce powers B2B and B2C ecommerce for more than 60,000 brands, 2,000+ mid-market businesses, 30 Fortune 1000 companies, and industry-leading brands, including Assurant, Ben & Jerry’s, Paul Mitchell, Skullcandy, Sony, and Toyota.

The vendor says that the product provides the following benefits to customers:

Customize and innovate at a lower total cost of ownership
Build in HTML, CSS, and Javascript
96% of brands relaunch in 2-4 months
Test and push changes without downtime in a local environment

Focus on generating sales, less on monitoring security & performance
PCI DSS 3.2 certified at Level 1
99.99% median uptime
Multiple layers of security through the Google Cloud Platform

Leverage your existing tech stack with flexible APIs
90% of platform data is exposed to APIs
400+ API calls per second
Headless commerce out-of-the-box, across any front-end

Solve your toughest challenges with SaaS
B2B, Wholesale
Headless Commerce, Wordpress
Multi-channel
International
Categories:  eCommerce

BigCommerce Features

Online Storefront Features
Has featureProduct catalog & listings
Has featureProduct management
Has featureBulk product upload
Has featureBranding
Has featureSearch & filter
Has featureMobile storefront
Has featureProduct variations
Has featureSubscriptions & downloads
Has featureWebsite integration
Has featureVisual customization
Has featureCMS
Has featureCustomer service tools
Online Shopping Cart Features
Has featureAbandoned cart recovery
Has featureTax calculator
Has featureShipping calculator
Has featureIntegration with Amazon
Has featureIntegration with eBay
Has featureCheckout user experience
Online Payment System Features
Has featurePayPal integration
Has featureReturns & refunds
Has featureSingle-click checkout
Has featureeCommerce security
Does not have featureCredit card transaction fee
Has featureB2B features
eCommerce Marketing Features
Has featurePromotions & discounts
Has featurePersonalized recommendations
Has featureSEO
Has featureProduct reviews
Has featureSocial commerce integration
Has featureCustomer registration
eCommerce Business Management Features
Has featureMulti-site management
Has featureOrder processing
Has featureInventory management
Has featureAccounting
Has featureShipping
Has featureCustom functionality
Additional Features
Has featureHigh Availability (HA) infrastructure that allows us to deliver 99.99% uptime
Has featureOpen Platform: 90% of the BigCommerce platform data is exposed to the API
Has featureServer-to-server API functions enable a headless commerce on WordPress and more
Has featureDevelop, test and push changes without downtime in a local environment using the Stencil CLI tool.
Has featureOmnichannel management (Amazon, Ebay, Facebook, Instagram, POS)
Has featureGlobal CDN, localized payments and multi-language support

BigCommerce Screenshots

BigCommerce Integrations

BigCommerce Competitors

Shopify, Shopify Plus, Salesforce Commerce Cloud, WooCommerce, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Standard29.95per month
Plus79.95per month
EnterpriseCustomper month
Pro249.95per month

BigCommerce Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
60%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

BigCommerce Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Professional Services

BigCommerce Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web