BigCommerce

BigCommerce

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Top Rated
BigCommerce

Overview

Recent Reviews

BigCommerce Review

10 out of 10
April 26, 2022
Used to run our ecommerce business and have been using the service for over three years.

BC allows us business to consumer and business to …
Continue reading

Bigcommerce - A Good Choice

10 out of 10
December 20, 2021
Very easy to use systems. Lots of functionality is in-built without the need for external apps. Used it in the retail industry with 1000s …
Continue reading

Our take

10 out of 10
December 03, 2021
It is the [backbone] of our website. We needed a new one back in 2014 and a local company helped set up the site. It works well with Webgil…
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Popular Features

View all 20 features

Product management (393)

8.2
82%

Product catalog & listings (396)

8.2
82%

Visual customization (387)

7.3
73%

Mobile storefront (384)

7.3
73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BigCommerce, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Standard

$29.95

Cloud
per month

Plus

$79.95

Cloud
per month*

Pro

$299.95

Cloud
per month*

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.bigcommerce.com/essentials/…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $29.95 per month

Features Scorecard

Online Storefront

7.5
75%

Online Shopping Cart

7.5
75%

Online Payment System

8.1
81%

eCommerce Marketing

7.0
70%

eCommerce Business Management

7.0
70%

Product Details

What is BigCommerce?

According to the vendor, BigCommerce is one of the leading cloud ecommerce platforms for established and rapidly-growing businesses. Combining enterprise functionality, an open architecture and app ecosystem, and market-leading performance, BigCommerce aims to help businesses to grow online sales with less cost, time, and complexity than on-premise software. BigCommerce powers B2B and B2C ecommerce for more than 60,000 brands, 2,000+ mid-market businesses, 30 Fortune 1000 companies, and industry-leading brands, including Assurant, Ben & Jerry’s, Paul Mitchell, Skullcandy, Sony, and Toyota.

The vendor says that the product provides the following benefits to customers:

Customize and innovate at a lower total cost of ownership
Build in HTML, CSS, and Javascript
96% of brands relaunch in 2-4 months
Test and push changes without downtime in a local environment

Focus on generating sales, less on monitoring security & performance
PCI DSS 3.2 certified at Level 1
99.99% median uptime
Multiple layers of security through the Google Cloud Platform

Leverage your existing tech stack with flexible APIs
90% of platform data is exposed to APIs
400+ API calls per second
Headless commerce out-of-the-box, across any front-end

Solve your toughest challenges with SaaS
B2B, Wholesale
Headless Commerce, Wordpress
Multi-channel
International

BigCommerce Features

Online Storefront Features

  • Supported: Product catalog & listings
  • Supported: Product management
  • Supported: Bulk product upload
  • Supported: Branding
  • Supported: Search & filter
  • Supported: Mobile storefront
  • Supported: Product variations
  • Supported: Subscriptions & downloads
  • Supported: Website integration
  • Supported: Visual customization
  • Supported: CMS
  • Supported: Customer service tools

Online Shopping Cart Features

  • Supported: Abandoned cart recovery
  • Supported: Tax calculator
  • Supported: Shipping calculator
  • Supported: Integration with Amazon
  • Supported: Integration with eBay
  • Supported: Checkout user experience

Online Payment System Features

  • Supported: PayPal integration
  • Supported: Returns & refunds
  • Supported: Single-click checkout
  • Supported: eCommerce security
  • Supported: B2B features

eCommerce Marketing Features

  • Supported: Promotions & discounts
  • Supported: Personalized recommendations
  • Supported: SEO
  • Supported: Product reviews
  • Supported: Social commerce integration
  • Supported: Customer registration

eCommerce Business Management Features

  • Supported: Multi-site management
  • Supported: Order processing
  • Supported: Inventory management
  • Supported: Accounting
  • Supported: Shipping
  • Supported: Custom functionality

Additional Features

  • Supported: High Availability (HA) infrastructure that allows us to deliver 99.99% uptime
  • Supported: Open Platform: 90% of the BigCommerce platform data is exposed to the API
  • Supported: Server-to-server API functions enable a headless commerce on WordPress and more
  • Supported: Develop, test and push changes without downtime in a local environment using the Stencil CLI tool.
  • Supported: Omnichannel management (Amazon, Ebay, Facebook, Instagram, POS)
  • Supported: Global CDN, localized payments and multi-language support

BigCommerce Screenshots

Enterprise ecommerce for high-volume brands like Skullcandy.Our industry-leading integration will let you list your products on Amazon directly from the BigCommerce control panel, with centralized inventory and order processing and fulfillment.Easily customize the look and feel of your storefront.

BigCommerce Videos

Create differentiated commerce experiences on the industry’s most versatile enterprise solution.
BigCommerce Company Values
Scale your business with WordPress on the front-end and free up server resources from things like catalog management, processing payments, and managing fulfillment logistics, with BigCommerce on the back end.
After growing her company to $500K in sales through this Google document, Revelry founder Michelle DeLoach realized she needed a scalable ecommerce platform to take her business to the next level.

BigCommerce Downloadables

BigCommerce Integrations

BigCommerce Competitors

BigCommerce Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)60%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)30%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)10%

BigCommerce Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BigCommerce?

BigCommerce is a SaaS platform that allows SMBs to develop eCommerce sites. Features include the capabilities to design the storefront, configure products, manage payments, generate traffic, and optimize conversion.

How much does BigCommerce cost?

BigCommerce starts at $29.95.

What is BigCommerce's best feature?

Reviewers rate Product catalog & listings and Product management highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses BigCommerce?

The most common users of BigCommerce are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Retail industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 419)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
April 26, 2022

BigCommerce Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to run our ecommerce business and have been using the service for over three years.

BC allows us business to consumer and business to business sales across the globe. Standard out of the box ecommerce setup includes multiple selling channels such as Facebook, Instagram, Amazon and other channels.

The service is continuously being improved.
Keith Whitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The BigCommerce website platform hosts all of our products and processes all sales. Prior to changing to BC, I maintained my own website code and was responsible for all web-hosting. The old site/code was hacked more than once and managing security was becoming a liability. Furthermore, the old site was not responsive and became outdated for smartphones. BigCommerce fixed all of that, and I was up and running much quicker than expected. The templates are highly professional and feature-rich.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BigCommerce to promote our products and services, generate leads, and facilitate product purchases. The products we sell are complicated in that they can be packaged and sold by a number of different units of measure (e.g., milligrams, micrograms, milliliters, etc.). The software is flexible enough to allow us to create customized units of measure for every product, and a single product can be offered in multiple pack sizes with different units of measure.
Jim Lopardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a 46-year old brick and mortar company in a niche industry whose primary customer base is large, multistate, and multilocation food, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, and retail distribution companies with in-house maintenance departments. We had to integrate our product catalog with the purchasing and EAM systems of our large customers. That was our primary goal. We accomplished that, with the byproduct being an impressive online store that has brought in dozens of new customers. The BigCommerce platform is remarkably intuitive, and when support is needed (which is very infrequently), their response is exemplary.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BigCommerce acts as our online shopping cart. It replaced a previous product that had developed glaring security issues. BigCommerce provides a reliable, flexible solution for us. It allows us to manage a large variety of SKUs in our online marketplace. It has greatly streamlined online/mobile ordering for our customers. It has also greatly improved our annual pricing update process with its product import template.
JoAnna Cohen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Management of the entire multichain online commerce for retail/wholesale business. Use it to manage eBay, Amazon, and private site product listings, prices, updates, sales, and manage inventory as well. One change gets sent to all of the appropriate places without having to mess around with separate information silos. Wholistic picture of sales and revenue and dead inventory as well. We get to see product engagement and capture abandoned carts effectively. Great API tie-ins to other software like shipping management and advertising campaign management. At this point, I wouldn't use any other e-commerce platform or recommend anything else. Has a scalable robust feature set that allows for personalization within any business model.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Very easy to use systems. Lots of functionality is in-built without the need for external apps. Used it in the retail industry with 1000s of products. Easy to customize the functionality. Default UI is decent to begin with and we tailored it to our needs as time passed. Availability of sandbox is a good bonus.
December 12, 2021

Big Big BigCommerce

Muhammad Adil Mujeeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All in one solution for setting up an online store. We are getting problems with our web servers and payment options, but after a thorough search, we have found BigCommerce as a complete solution. Now we don't have to worry about server uptime. We have got an extra feature of drop shipping as well which we are planning for our future venture.
Ghanshyam Thumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Depending] on client budget and product we are helping client to choose Ecommerce platform and [especially] for BigCommerce we made a checklist for our customer why BigCommerce is really good for selling online any products in the world.
Tony Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allowed us to operate on multi-channels. We were small. Here is what BigCommerce was to us: It gave us access to Facebook marketplace, business marketplace, and all social media platforms. For a while, this was special/privileged access BigCommerce negotiated for us. While I do know the total outcome I know we were to have an easy opportunity to apply for Facebook's Business Marketplace. Unlike other competitors, BigCommerce really did offer apps for any circumstance you could think of. The majority of people we dealt with who made their apps were industry leaders. Last I looked BigCommerce was smaller than Shopify and some others. However, this did not limit our options or opportunity. It did allow for some of the best customer service we've had in a long time. We felt like we were much more than just another number. The biggest complaint I remember. Before COVID and some issues, we were looking at working with a personal Magento consultant and interested in creating our own multivendor "mall" (shopping arena) from the ground up. We were interested in a fairly specific niche. Magento really rolled out the welcome mat with their Enterprise solutions. The price tag was well over $30,000 though. I recall when asking questions about enterprise solutions the public-facing associates did not know much about it. BigCommerce is not a consulting firm - noted. But their tech was techy and world-class. But at times felt to me as if reps lacked personal involvement. With other applications or companies when I call, they understand my goals, ask how I am doing, tell me things to buy and what not to purchase. I don't want my BigCommerce rep in a non-enterprise situation too involved. However, they did fell further removed. BC has everything you need and the support to back it up. You can go thin with a few bells and whistles and save money or run through a forest of needed and wanted options for that edge. The worst?... Have you looked at the tutorials? When I looked many were not there or have not been updated for months or longer. So, when you make the right choice and sign up for BigCommerce.
December 03, 2021

Loving BigCommerce!

Diana Ferrato | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use BigCommerce as my eCommerce platform. I really enjoy how easy the product is to use, and the customer service has always been amazing. I am in no way a web designer or developer or very technical, so when I need help, I know that I can contact them on the live chat and get help every time. I would also like to mention that the cost is very reasonable. I am using the standard version as I am a small business. This version still allows me to publish my products with all the options I need. I literally have zero complaints about BigCommerce, and I do plan to use them for another online store I am working on.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BigCommerce for some of our client's e-commerce web solutions. We chose BigCommerce for its ease of use for the editors adding content and also the feature which allows you to add your own search keywords to products. This was the main reason we chose it over Shopify. Very easy to update and so far our customers love it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a wine retailer and use BigCommerce for our online sales. We use the BigCommerce API to tightly integrate the BigCommerce platform with our Retail Management System which runs our brick-and-mortar operations. We moved to BigCommerce nearly two years ago to address several needs including a robust API, optimized one-page checkout, site speed, access to integrated apps, an enterprise-level hosted environment, SaaS solution, headless commerce, highly flexible framework that is easy to modify, offloading of PCI compliance, 24/7/365 phone support in addition to email and ticket systems, professional services, solutions architects and a dedicated account manager. After years of owning source code and hosting our own site on our own servers, we were ready to accept the fact that we simply didn't have the internal resources to keep up with the evolving e-commerce landscape. We knew we needed to move to a hosted solution but still needed the flexibility of being able to develop and deploy customized solutions within our site. We looked at everything from Shopify+ to Magento to Oracle Commerce Cloud to BigCommerce. BigCommerce was the runaway winner as it addressed all of our requirements with ease.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BigCommerce as a way to reach customers across the USA. We are using it to offer all our brands to customers. We have other brand-specific websites, but we use BigCommerce to offer our whole [catalog] of products for purchase online. Most of our customers are based out of state so BigCommerce was an easy solution to bridge the gap between our company and our customers.
Thomas Pittman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BigCommerce to power our online store presence and it's custom integrated with WordPress. It powers all online purchasing, pricing, and backend order fulfillment. We are able to lead our space with the customization options that BigCommerce offers, and its ease of use allows our small marketing team to offer a robust and quality online presence. It’s easy to upload products, maintain and fulfill them properly in addition to doing proper automatic email correspondence such as automated order confirmation emails and more. It's also easy to train the rest of the staff on how to use it and when needed, we have it support to make backend coding changes cost-effectively.
October 18, 2021

A Review of BigCommerce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use BigCommerce for my e-commerce business. I sell women's apparel, accessories, and home decor items. I like BigCommerce because it is highly customizable right out of the box without the need to install additional apps. I really like the ability to edit and customize every aspect of my website with only a few clicks.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We came from Shopify, hoping to get a little bit more baked in from the start. [I believe] this was a big mistake. Analytics, shipping policies, and theme editing are all handled by third-party integrations, with two of those being an additional cost per month. [In my experience] some of the free templates seem a little nicer and more professional than Shopify, however, they are mostly not customizable without additional software, which means another monthly charge or going into the code. We also liked the way MSRP and Sale prices work. Additionally, importing/exporting is handled much easier and I like the Products editing screen, although some settings are hidden. Templates allow some minor edits and appearance choices but are mostly non-editable. The Menu Bar is completely non-editable. The footer is just a mirror of the main menu bar, which again is very limited. It is also basically non-editable as well, without going into the code or paying additional monthly fees for additional software for the rest of time, as any edits made by the software erases if you stop paying. BigCommerce is touting a new template drop and drag feature they are rolling out and [I feel] it is very bad. Also, support told me there was no way to move sections around after you create them, therefore the only way was to delete and start from scratch. [I believe] this is not true. The first thing you'll see when you sign into the admin is the dashboard, which [I feel] is basically non-existent. It has some minor specks of info and that's it. We also came to find out that BigCommerce does not consider an order placed until payment is made, so if you authorize only and then charge at shipping, your sales figures for the day are basically useless. [In my experience] you have to use Google Analytics for the simplest snippet of useful metrics. [I believe] the orders screen is a mess of accordion-style views. It doesn't show any fraud details or acquisition info. Also, [in my experience] checkout registration kicks the user back to the homepage and even the checkout fields are in a strange sequence. There was a hard pitch to get on the $1,500 enterprise plan and pay $3,000 to migrate data that we did ourselves in minutes. [I believe] sales is sales, it's understandable, but I'm reading that other users fall for this and [BigCommerce] charges cancellation fees. [I feel] the worst thing of all about BigCommerce is the 24/7 phone and chat support. It is 24/7, which is nice to have, but [in my experience] no one knows anything except for one person, who we have started asking for. Otherwise, [in my experience] every answer is "I think", "I think", and usually wrong, or just plain wrong right away. [I believe] you can hear the reps clicking through the admin trying to find an answer that ends up being incorrect, as you find the solution, or menu, or feature on your own a day or two later. [I feel] you should not expect any guidance at all with anything theme-related. [I feel] BigCommerce kind of laughs at Shopify for being basic and needing add-ons for simple things, but those things are typically minor tweaks for a few dollars. With BigCommerce, you cannot even work well without several integrations.