Bing Ads Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
104 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

Garegin Baghdasaryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Bing Ads

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Bing Ads across the whole organization. It helps us drive in leads with low cost per clicks and high conversion rates, helps us with our branding campaigns to get our name out there for users to see.
  • Shows our Ads on a lot of syndicated partner sites that otherwise would be very difficult to show ads for.
  • We can target on a broad scale or for a small audience. Managing everything is very easy.
  • Downloading reports and making necessary changes is very easy and quick.
  • Gets our ads to show to interested users at a cheaper CPC.
  • Helps us get leads at a higher conversion rate.
  • Would love to be able to run "call only" campaigns. Would help us get more calls from the ads.
Bing ads is very useful if you are trying to sell items or trying to get leads. It is less appropriate if your main goal is to get phone calls.
Support has always been very quick especially with our account managers. They have never left us waiting for more than a day for an issue. Everything is usually fixed or touched on within a couple of hours.
Read Garegin Baghdasaryan's full review
Brian Mescher | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Doubled Our Search Lead Volume with Bing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is used in our Lead Generation department to generate Insurance Leads. We currently have 3 employees using it on a daily basis, managing around 20 accounts in total. We are driving users to landing pages that then direct them to a questionnaire where they submit their contact information.
  • Bing Ads has higher-quality traffic for a lower cost than Google.
  • Bing Ads has a strong UI and desktop client for making bulk changes.
  • Bing Ads has a wide range of placement opportunities and flexible ad formats.
  • Bing in general, is more transparent with rules, guidelines, and changes to the platform (than Google).
  • Bing Ads customer support is 100x better than Google.
  • Bing makes it easy to import and update campaigns from Google.
  • Bing Ads has much lower traffic volume, especially on mobile devices (compared to Google).
  • Bing Syndicated network traffic is generally much lower quality and much more prone to unexpectedly wasting a ton of money, compared to Google's equivalent.
  • Bing doesn't support Call Only ads.
  • Bing's Exact match type is not as good as Google's.
  • Bing does not allow you to bid on copyrighted keywords (so no bidding on competitors).
Bing Ads is great for lead generation or any marketing category where the advertiser is looking for users that are less tech-savvy. This also means that Bing users are typically older and have higher incomes. I don't think I'd recommend Bing for e-commerce unless the product was targeted at older users.
Our Bing Ads reps are very good and attentive. They've offered good recommendations and are quick to resolve unexpected issues and problems. Occasionally they have roped in technical support folks that have been friendly and helpful too. The general helpline for Bing Ads is also very good, especially when compared to Google's customer support.
Read Brian Mescher's full review
Bill Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Bing Ads - if you're not using it you're missing out

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is the 2nd most popular search engine that we sell ads on in the paid search area. It provides a slightly different audience and searches are a little bit better in some cases than with Google. We use it primarily for promoting our clients as a complete solution.
  • Lower CPC (not always but usually).
  • Better CTR (again not always but normally).
  • Reach, especially in display.
Bing works very well when targeting people that have a college degree. It works well in higher education, "green technologies" and automotive.
Bing has not worked well for us in real estate or in house flipping. Bing tracking is a little less "plug and play" in Google Tag Manager but you can make it work.
The Support staff at Bing Ads is genuinely trying to help you. This is unlike at Google where they are just trying to get you to spend more money by turning on automation that doesn't do the client any good but does spend money. Their support over the years has been excellent for the most part and very helpful. I have played "stump the support guy" many times with Google and Bing Ads.
Read Bill Martin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Bing Ads Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Bing Ads in our search advertising department. We use it to drive traffic to our sites for lead generation. It solves the problem of getting consumers actively searching for what we offer.
  • Customer service with reps
  • Easy to use UI and editor
  • Easy import tool
  • Click to call campaigns
  • UI is a little dull currently
  • Bid modifiers for day-parting and location in separate tab than general settings
Bing Ads is well suited if you need to drive qualified traffic to a site. I don't think it's too great for a start-up or low-budget company that depends on foot traffic, but if you are in online sales or call-dependent, then perfect.
We have had issues throughout our use of Bing and our reps give us quick responses and solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Vincent Misiewicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Shady, Second-class Platform

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Bing Ads for a few clients at our agency, most of which have additional budget to spend. It is currently only being used by the paid media team, and for only select industries/business goals. There is almost always some type of additional opportunity for scale on the Bing Network, but must be approached differently than a Google Search campaign. We've seen varying degrees of success with Bing Ads, and can help improve the overall digital efforts in certain cases.
  • Familiar interface, offers editor for bulk changes, adding negative keywords is much easier than in Google Ads
  • Nice reporting tools within the interface, detailed reports can be made fairly easily
  • Had very nice tools to help import/export ads directly from Google Ads, which saves a ton of time
  • Quality of traffic is comparatively lower compared to Google Ads, very important to confirm at what networks ads are being served on
  • Average CPC can sometimes be higher than on similar ad networks
  • Less overall volume and avg lower quality can make it difficult to justify investment
If there is a situation where you've reached diminishing returns on Google Ads and/or Facebook, Bing would be a decent place to supplement some budget. Also, if you're in an industry that has an older customer base, you're likely to find that a larger percent of users using Bing/Yahoo as their primary search engine, presenting a larger potential opportunity. Due to the average quality and limited volume, I would not recommend Bing as primary platform for Paid Search.
Support is very poor (not that Google's is any better), but it's bad. Can never hear what the reps are saying, bad connection, takes forever to get answers on what should be simple answers. Not the biggest deal as most analysts with 2+ years experience know more than the supervisors. They also do sometimes randomly call you to tell you about useless products/features. They're obviously just given a script and list of numbers and told to go at it.
Read Vincent Misiewicz's full review
Austin Voigt | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Bing Ads (Microsoft Ads) is Small but Mighty

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a digital advertising agency, and our entire paid media team uses Bing Ads (Microsoft Ads, now) for at least one client, but often many clients. We try to prioritize Google Ads due to its much larger audience sizes; however, Bing provides additional inventory outside of Google - and usually at a much more affordable price. Bing also has some features we really love and can't get in Google Ads, like image ad extensions, and LinkedIn targeting capabilities.
  • More cost-effective inventory than Google Ads.
  • Image ad extensions (not available in Google Ads, but very cool & effective feature for our more visually-branded clients).
  • LinkedIn audience targeting integrations.
  • Bing's ad platform could definitely use some improvements - it hasn't been updated in a long time, and it feels very outdated.
  • We feel that the optimization algorithms don't always perform as well for Bing Ads as they do in Google Ads (optimize for conversions, etc.).
  • It would be great to have even more integrations with LinkedIn audience targeting offered - right now, you can just make some bid optimizations in a couple of areas; we'd really like to get more robust options there, and maybe even things like cross-platform tracking.
Bing is fantastic to pick up additional inventory outside of Google Ads. It's also much more cost-effective. Its audience demographics tend to skew slightly older, slightly more blue-collar, and slightly more traditional/conservative. This is great if your target audiences match this demographic, or use Microsoft products that align with Bing usage. Bing is also great for B2B audiences with its LinkedIn audience targeting integrations.
Bing support is always fantastic, and they really outrank Google there.
Read Austin Voigt's full review
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

Ding Ding - Bing's Not As Good As Google

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is not being used any longer inside my organization or any clients that I'm working with, but Bing Ads is another search network ads platform where my business or clients can target individuals searching for their exact needs or solution. These ads then show up on top of the search depending on when what the search query is.
  • Google Ads integration.
  • Free $100 credit to get started.
  • Much lower search volume.
  • less friendly UI/UX than Google Ads.
  • Older, less tech-savvy demographic searching (at least a con for my business).
Bing Ads is suitable for every business as you can just target off of people searching for your business, solution, or the need you're trying to solve. And the beauty is you don't pay unless someone clicks. But through Bing Ads, the sad part is that most people don't and there are very little individuals actually using it, especially with purchase intent. I would use Bing Ads only for the $100 free credit for some free traffic.
Read Evan Laird's full review
Robbie Hodge | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Great advertising platform for a smaller audience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for PPC advertising. Ads are created to attract targeted consumers with good commercial intent. Allows us to find good clients. It can be cheaper than other PPC platforms. It also has a unique demographic. Certain ads that do not work on more popular PPC platforms actually work on Bing. Their demographic seems to be on the older-side.
  • Imports From Google Ads
  • Easy to use
  • Good desktop app
  • Automation/rules
  • Exporting
  • Speed
Suited for targeting commercial intent users. No media/display options. Since the demographic skews to being older, it might not be the best for a younger target audience. Landing pages should also be simpler to help work with the older type of audience. Overall, it can convert with the right and targeted ads.
Good live chat support.
Read Robbie Hodge's full review
Jerry Janes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

SEM? Don't ignore all the Bing traffic!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
You can't ignore Bing, period. When it comes to SEM, you need Bing in addition to Google Ads, or you risk missing 10-25% of all search users. As Google continues to lose it's search majority, other engines like Bing only become more important and necessary in your overall marketing plan.
  • User friendly
  • Cheaper than Google
  • You can import/update from Google Ads = less work and time!
  • I've yet to find an issue, period.
Bing Ads are ideal for short or long term campaigns. I cannot imagine a scenario where it wouldn't be helpful or applicable.
Unlike Google Ads support, they are trying to actually help, not just upsell you.
Read Jerry Janes's full review
Attila-Csaba Szabo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Unacceptable experience, a waste of time and money

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads was supposed to be a supplementary ad network, besides the obvious Google Ads and facebook ads. It turned out to be a total failure and an absolutely unacceptable experience.
  • There are no points that Bing does well.
  • Ads have not been approved for WEEKS.
  • There's no real possibility of fixing things.
  • The support personnel keep apologizing, but offer no real support.
I give a rating of 4 stars, merely because of the effort of the support personnel, who've done a great job in trying to help me, but they obviously have no power to do so. The entire account is in a funny state. Initially, ads have been disapproved, then they are eligible but not running at all; the entire Bing Ads system offered an absolutely unacceptable experience.
What is wrong with these people? Seriously? It takes 2 weeks to approve some ads?
At the same time, I've spent roughly the same amount on FB ads and Google Ads, and generated 300% ROI almost, on both.

Support does what they can do, but it's useless if they don't have the power to change anything.
Read Attila-Csaba Szabo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Worth Considering for Paid Search

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bing Ads for paid search results via the Bing Search Engine. Similar to paid ads on Google Ads, we use Bing Ads to make sure our content is top of mind for those searching for keywords that relate to the products and services we offer.
  • Easy to set up ad campaigns - overall it is easy to create campaigns on the Bing Ads platform.
  • Analytics - Bing Ads sends proactive reports that make it easy to identify opportunities to improve.
  • Excellent value - Bing Ads search offers a lower price-point on specific keywords compared to other search platforms.
  • Low volume - for our industry, Bing Ads has a lower monthly search volume compared to other search engines.
  • Not as flexible - in certain instances, the tool is not as flexible, such as with ad extensions.
I think Bing Ads are well-suited if you find that you have organic traffic coming from Bing search. This may mean that it is particularly prudent to also put paid ads on the platform as well. If you don't have much traffic from Bing, you should look at the search engines that are driving traffic and focus on ads there instead.
Bing Ads support is beneficial. You can search easily for tips, or if you need additional support, they are easy to get in touch with someone.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Bing Ads is a must have for SEM (Don't Neglect It)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is currently being used by our digital marketing team at our organization. We use it as a complimentary piece of our search engine marketing strategy. The business problem it addresses is that it provides visibility on a different search engine. We have found it to provide valuable traffic and conversion to our clients.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Customer support chat feature is very helpful
  • The reporting is could use improvement in a sense of retrieving the information
  • Recommendations could use some fine tuning because it doesn't give that many recommendations to begin with
Bing Ads is a complimentary to Google Ads and will only work for certain brands/products. We have over 13 business units and we only have a partnership with Bing ads for 5 of those business units. We see that particular brands have a higher CTR than other dominant brands on Google Ads.
We give it a 9/10 because of its similarity to Google, its user interface, and the customer support. It is recommended for certain clientele and would require a testing period to determine its effectiveness. Its user interface is very user friendly and simple to navigate. The chat support is one of my favorite features that includes prompt and courteous service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2019

Google Ads Import is Da Real MVP in Bing Ads

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Bing Ads as paid media acquisition channels for our clients. It's mainly used only by our paid media team. Bing Ads specifically helps our clients capture intent from users that use Bing Ads as their search engine. We use this to sell products and services for a variety of businesses.
  • Single handedly the best thing about Bing Ads is being able to import your Google Ads account directly into the platform. Without this and Bing Ads highlighting this, they wouldn't have many advertisers.
  • Another nice perk of Bing Ads is their free credit when you sign up. Getting a $100 is nice and you don't have to spend $100 to get the $100, they just give it to you right away.
  • Very similar to Google Ads, making the learning curve extremely small.
  • The UI/UX could use a lot of work. It looks worse than the old Google Ads UI/UX and is a lot slower loading.
  • One of the other draw backs of Bing Ads is their limited search inventory, which drives up CPCs, CPAs, etc.
  • Most Bing users are an older generation because they use PCs or it's their work computer and these individuals aren't as comfortable / likely to checkout online. As a result, it's hard to drive a lot of conversions because of this adoption curve.
Bing Ads is a solid paid media channel if your target audience is older individuals. Also, if you have maxed out a lot of other paid media channels or if you have highly successful Google Ads campaigns than it would be ideal to import into Bing Ads and test as a potential acquisition channel.
Read this authenticated review
.Kim Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2019

Bing Ads Make Advertising Cost-Effective And Easy To Manage

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web design firm ix using Bing Ads to market our client's websites in the search results. The advertising platform is very cost-effective and targets specific online searchers in precise ways that maximize our clients ROI. Bing has evolved this platform very well over the years to make things more efficient and easier to use. Managing our client's advertising couldn't be easier, we love Bing Ads.
  • Bing Ads are very cost-effective for small and medium sized businesses.
  • Bing Ads are able to target very specific demographics of internet users, including age, state, zip code, and device.
  • Bing Ads is a very effective advertising platform in which the leads generated for many businesses create a strong ROI in the long-term.
  • Bing Ads' advertising interface is very technical and confusing if your not familiar with PPC advertising.
  • Bing Ads' video advertising capabilities are not very flexible for certain advertising campaigns.
  • Bing Ads' network of third party websites to advertise on is not as diverse and robust as we hoped.
Bing is great for small and medium businesses who want low-cost advertising and can conceptualize a few specific online search phrases that would procure the perfect customer. Bing is also great if you have specific customer demographics in mind in your advertising, for example, a certain age group, or residents of a certain state or zip code. Bing is not well suited if you would like to widen your advertising results to a more broad spectrum of possibilities.
Read .Kim Murphy's full review
Joseph Lesho | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

Great Secondary Platform for Search Marketers

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is being used for search ads for both our clients and our own marketing. Because the demographics of Bing users differs from that of Google Ads, the platform allows us to expand our audience reach.
  • For the most part the UI mimics Google Ads, so there's not much of a learning curve
  • With the right campaign structure and targeting, we can see great ROI, sometimes even exceeding that of Google Ads
  • Direct and automated imports from Google Ads makes it easy to get a campaign up and running
  • Search volume is much lower than what you see on Google
  • Though the UET tracking codes are supposed to make tracking implementation simpler, I find it a bit more confusing than Google's implementation
  • They tend to focus more on feature parity with Google, rather than creating compelling differentiators
Bing Ads is a great way to supplement Google Ads if your client has the budget for it. Smaller budget clients should probably just stick to Google, as that will typically be the most lucrative platform, but good return can also be had on Bing.
Read Joseph Lesho's full review
Brittany Goodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

A Decent Way To Fill The SEM Gap

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bing Ads as a complementary SEM Solution alongside Google Ads. We run ongoing text ads and put a moderate budget towards it. Bing Ads is currently only being used by the marketing department in our company but helps us reach the few customers who do not rely on Google when searching for relevant terms.
  • Easy to set up ads. The process of creating text ads is very similar to Google and can be done in just a few minutes without a lot of prior SEM knowledge.
  • Easy to understand analytics suite. All the data we need for deciding if a campaign is successful is easily accessible.
  • Bing is always giving suggestions on how to improve your ads, which are actually rather helpful rather than gimmicky or just trying to increase your budget. The Keyword suggestions are particularly helpful.
  • Tracking is not supported on a lot of backend platforms. We have had quite a few issues getting the tracking set up because there's no simple way of adding the code to Shopify and Recurly (our two purchasing platforms).
  • Support is mostly just sales in disguise. We've never had much luck getting hold of a support tech who can help us with issues, instead the conversations I've had always ended with "spend more money with us."
  • The analytics suite is not quite as appealing or user-friendly as Google's. It takes a bit more searching to find all the custom analytics you may need.
  • Unfortunately Bing is just not as popular a platform, so campaign traffic and ROI tends to be lower than when we use other SEM and paid marketing solutions (Google, Facebook, Reddit, etc...).
[Well suited for] when you want to fill in the gaps in your Google Search traffic. Bing is typically the second biggest search platform and has loyal users who should always be considered when creating a marketing campaign. I would not use Bing as my sole SEM marketing strategy though, as bypassing Google in favor of Bing would be foolish.
Read Brittany Goodman's full review
Ellen Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Bing Ads Makes a Lot of Sense For Our Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a company that has infomercials and a direct b2c website as well as the major b2b clients in the home improvement industry. We use Bing Ads as part of our overarching PPC strategy. This targets people on the Bing, Yahoo, and AOL networks that may not use Google. We see very good results on Bing Ads. We are a traditional Ecomm strategy based on MER.
  • Higher ROAS for my company.
  • Reaches people not on the Google Network.
  • Is large enough to still be run by our Agency, but friendly enough that internal reporting is not difficult.
  • Support is stellar (I use chat support).
  • Linking and unlinking agencies is difficult.
  • Admin settings are easy to change and there are no checks and balances to recover ownership.
  • No easy integration with Google Analytics (have to use Doubleclick, Kenshoo, etc.).
It's great to capture traffic for anyone not on Google. For us, a lot of our demographic uses these search engines still. We see a higher ROAS from these ads because it's more suited for our company. If you have to budget and can spread your spend, I definitely recommend Bing Ads.
They were able to screen share and resolve my issue. On a later issue, they were able to solve my access problem. I have never left a chat support session without resolving my issue. They have always been nice, knowledgable, and courteous. We do not have a dedicated support team like we have Google reps.
Read Ellen Evans's full review
Brandon Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2019

High ROI with growing potential

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is one of many marketing channels our agency uses to generate revenue on behalf of our clients. We optimize our paid search around Google and Bing specifically in the paid search realm.
  • Seamless importing from Google.
  • Much easier account setup compared to Google.
  • Recent integration with AOL and Yahoo gives the platform more reach.
  • Much less traffic volume compared to Google.
  • Not much to differentiate the platform from Google.
  • Audiences (the search partner network) is very easy to miss for the average user, which can lead to spammy placements and overspending.
Bing Ads is suited to anyone that may be looking to generate more ROI to compliment their other paid search efforts. Bing generates more ROI than Google in our experience, however, it spends significantly less due to lower demand.
Read Brandon Mitchell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Bing Ads - An efficient use of your PPC dollars

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads provides a real efficient spend of PPC dollars, usually coming in cheaper with better results than Google Ads. The reason for a not perfect score in the "Would you recommend to friends" then, comes from two factors that keep it from being a complete peer to Google Ads: Scale and ease.

Bing Ads simply does NOT have the scale that Google Ads has, with many less searches coming in daily. As for ease of use, Bing has some slight quirks that make it just a little harder to work with than Google. Nothing that should keep you from using it, but it's usually a supplement to Google than a replacement, or sole avenue for PPC spend.
  • Cheaper
  • More Efficient
  • Easy sync with Google Ads to find a new audience for PPC
  • Quicker interface
  • Easier addition of negative keywords
  • Find scale where possible
Bing Ads is well suited as a supplement to Google Ads. With an excellent synchronization feature, it works great when you use it in addition to Google Ads, as opposed to your sole avenue to PPC or a replacement for the behemoth of Google. It's also great if you don't have scale. With a small budget, Bing might be preferred, as you have no need to scale up, but just need the most efficient spend you can get.
Read this authenticated review
Leah Jakaitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

Bing Ads offers robust reporting capabilities and easy campaign building

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is used as one of the marketing platforms at the company, along with Google and Yahoo Gemini. Bing is one of the main search engines used, and Bing Ads is used - as marketers - to capture audiences that may be interested in a client's business. Bing Ads is used to create and launch advertising campaigns on the search platform, to bid on keywords, and to pull various analytics reports on advertisement performance. I specifically use it for gathering information on ad performance in order to optimize future advertising / keyword buying in the platform.
  • Analytics/reporting capabilities (getting metrics on ad campaigns)
  • Ad research for creating a tailored campaign to a particular need or segment
  • Keyword optimization and adjustments
  • Bulk editing campaigns can be time-consuming and frustrating
  • Data download/gathering speeds (ie, waiting a long time for a report to load)
  • Comparative performance - month over month, year over year - built into the platform as a rudimentary analytics capability
Bing Ads, along with Google and - to a lesser extent - Yahoo Gemini are really the core three search platforms for advertisers. It is well-suited for creating and launching ad campaigns in the platform, and for tailoring those campaigns for a specific audience or demographic. Additionally, it provides solid reporting capabilities to get data on campaign performance for optimization and strategy creation.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
Ade Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2018

Bing Ads - Small Volumes, Big Results

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is being used as a way to complement our ads on Google and mainly used to reach a wider audience when we have saturated the Google market. Bing Ads also helps reach those who are not on Google and overall, drives a higher conversion rate in spite of its lower search volumes.
  • Bing tends to have a higher conversion rate than Google, mainly because of the nature of the users on Bing tend to be a bit older
  • Bing's universal event tracking, essentially a code that is placed on every page of your site, now allows you to utilise re-marketing lists to its fullest, as well as tracking and displaying your conversion points in the engine
  • Bing tends to lag a bit behind Google in terms of rolling out new features
  • Search volumes tend to be much smaller than Google's, around 1 /10th of Google's
  • Pulling reports for a long time scale, segmented by day is not fully supported, you have to pull the data multiple times with shorter time periods
As I have mentioned before, Bing Ads is very good when you have saturated the Google market. In my case, we have done just that and used Bing to expand our reach without compromising our targeting. This worked out very well, as we have driven a few more conversions with a small amount of extra spend. There is also less competition through Bing, so your CPCs tend to be cheaper.
Read Ade Fowler's full review
Benjamin Hale | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2018

BingAds is no AdWords, but better than you think.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BingAds to supplement our paid search efforts in a number of schools across the country. This allows us to ensure we are able to reach the entire search market at reasonable prices. Depending on the market, we find that BingAds can be a very successful place to get paid search leads. Additionally, due to the perception that it is not used often, we are often confronted with fewer competitors and a lower cost per click and per lead.
  • BingAds does a good job of matching similar structures and features of the more popular and familiar Google AdWords.
  • Bing Ads does a great job of providing integrations with our bid management systems.
  • The ability to clone or copy campaigns from AdWords saves time and effort in creating campaigns on the BingAds platform.
  • We have had lackluster support from our representatives in the past.
  • The lack of volume in the channel can make it difficult to get significantly significant results.
  • We have run into issues on bid management by device settings.
While we are quick to cut BingAds budgets when we have budget cuts in our school campaigns, we find that having a presence in the Bing search world will benefit our paid search efforts overall. This is because there are times where users will search both channels, and having a presence on one and not the other can limit your chances at getting the visitor. Additionally, there are times when, due to lower competition, we are able to get much lower cost per lead rates when compared with Google's AdWords.

I recommend having a presence in BingAds, when it is possible. But not to rely on it for heavy volume.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
Jeff Moriarty | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2018

Bing Ads is Good, But Still Can't Compete with Google Adwords

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bing Ads is only used by the marketing department. While we take into consideration ideas from the entire company, the marketing department has the final word on what we advertise on, the messaging we use, the maximum cost per click we are willing to spend and the overall budget of the campaigns.
  • Ease of use. Bing Adcenter is very easy to use. It is not as complicated as Google Adwords is for new users.
  • Cheap. I should say cheap-er. Due to Bing not being as popular of search engine, compared to Google Adwords the cost is normally 25-50% less per click.
  • Effective. While you won't get as many clicks or impressions as Adwords, we find that the conversion rate is higher and cost of sale is lower for our ads.
  • Newer features. Bing doesn't seem to come out with new features as soon as Google Adwords. They are always one step behind.
  • Better support. The Google Adwords team is always contacting us to help improve our campaigns. I never hear from Bing Ads support.
  • Bigger audience. While not specifically the fault of Bing Ads, Bing needs to increase market share. That is the only way they will compete with Google.
Bing Ads seems to do well with e-commerce buyers over B2B. I have worked with different clients and e-commerce always does better than my B2B clients. Another reason to try Bing Ads is if you are on a tight budget. Due to the lower market share, there will be less competition within Bing Ads, which means cost per clicks will be lower.
Read Jeff Moriarty's full review
Adam Lumley | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2017

Bing Ads vs AdWords - Do they play nice with each other?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bing Ads in the same manner that we use AdWords. It is used primarily for lead generation for our sales team.
  • On average we see a lower cost per conversion vs AdWords.
  • They offer an easy-to-use tool to import already proven campaigns from AdWords to Bing Ads.
  • The ability to integrate data directly into Excel is convenient.
  • The import tool from AdWords allows for errors within campaign settings.
  • Users should be advised to carefully review settings before going live as some campaigns may be optimized for clicks when they were optimized for conversions in AdWords.
  • Calculated cost per conversion does not have the same visibility as AdWords and requires more careful analysis.
  • Significantly lower volume of traffic can be expected compared to similar campaigns in AdWords.
Bing Ads is definitely worth testing and scaling up if you find success with the platform. Traffic volume is lower than AdWords for nearly identical campaigns, bids, etc. Conversion to sale as a result of having less lead volume has often taken longer compared to AdWords. Organizations with smaller monthly budgets may find more success testing with less spend in Bing Ads vs AdWords.
Read Adam Lumley's full review
Jeffrey Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2018

Bing Ads is Great for Seniors, Not so Great Otherwise.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bing Ads for a small slice of our digital advertising strategy, our clients skew older so Bing makes a lot of sense when targeting them. Our realistic spend on Bing is roughly 10% of our spend on AdWords, primarily because of how clunky and poorly implemented it is.
  • Bing targets the 65+ age bracket better than any other standard search engine.
  • Invoicing is simple and to the point.
  • Bing is relatively cheap when compared to AdWords, so a smaller budget goes a long way.
  • The UI is clunky and unintuitive, like most digital ad buy platforms.
  • The Google import is terrible but prominently displayed as a good way to get started in a hurry.
  • The ad manager is poorly designed, you are better off designing ads outside of the platform.
To specify why I gave it an 8/10 instead of a lower rating, this questions specifically mentions colleagues. My industry as a whole is 80% driven by older clients (75+ years old). Bing is one of the best sources for senior clients since it is often the default search engine they have when they buy a computer from most big box stores.
Read Jeffrey Smith's full review

About Bing Ads

Bing Ads is Microsoft's search engine marketing and advertising campaign management alternative to the popular Adwords, that, similar to its competitor, provides analytics and a management dashboard for running a pay per click (PPC) paid listing campaign, though across the Yahoo! Bing Network. Bing Ads features the ability to delimit advertising to particular responsive demographics and to intermittent times and days of the week. It also supports offline updates that sync later (via Bing Ads Editor).

Bing Ads Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No