BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT) Reviews

39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 15, 2020
Rod Payton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If I had to recommend an endpoint AV solution, [BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT)] would be on the list...in fact at the top of the current list. It is a cost effective solution. When we did the bakeoff in our selection we built 3 generic W10 PCs. We located a Malware repository on the internet and downloaded a package of 100. The first solution stopped 80% from installing, the second stopped 100%, [BlackBerry (CylancePROTECT)] would not let the package download! Winner winner chicken dinner :)
Read Rod Payton's full review
January 25, 2020
John Keenan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For behavior-based endpoint protection, Cylance and its choices for automatically putting new machines into the highest protection zone, make installation and customization deferment reasonably uncomplicated. If you want distribution of upgrading so agents are on a disciplined cycle, then Cylance needs some specific work and extra tools to accomplish this.
Read John Keenan's full review
November 19, 2019
Brandon Engel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are in the medical industry and this program is well suited for it. The client is not resource intensive and has not caused issues with a majority of our users. It has kept the company rather safe from ransomware attacks. We had one or two in the past but since the deployment of CylancePROTECT we haven't had any. We use it on all computers and works great for remote employees as well.
Read Brandon Engel's full review
August 30, 2019
Shaun van Niekerk, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's an awesome product which has now evolved into a full-blown EDR or MDR Solution if you choose CylanceGUARD. We have a simple checkbox ticked that alerts us if the local endpoint's windows hosts file is modified. This is pretty cool!
Read Shaun van Niekerk, CISSP's full review
April 17, 2019
Eric Rise | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We're using it in an almost exclusively Windows environment and it's been flawless. Haven't deployed or spent much time on it within the Linux side. Have been waiting for a mobile client version of this for years. I hope with Blackberry acquiring them this will become a reality.
Read Eric Rise's full review
May 31, 2018
Daniel Halter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CylancePROTECT is well suited to an environment where clients are mobile and used by C-Suite that often travels and will not always be connected to the corporate network when a window of opportunity could expose these clients to zero-day attacks using a more traditional AV vendor that required the latest definition files to be downloaded to ensure protection.
Read Daniel Halter's full review
February 01, 2018
Andrew Vawdrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cylance would be good for any computer environment as the internet is a scary place with constant threats that can infect your computer. Cylance can be used on about any computer to protect it from any known or unknown threat.

Because Cylance is based on an algorithm it can protect from zero-day unknown attacks like ransomware. Any business should be taking precautions never run into a situation where they may be able to get hacked by ransomware.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
January 18, 2018
Joe Bayramyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for small to medium sized businesses.

Large businesses it takes a bit more time to prepare the rules and policies
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
September 07, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CylancePROTECT is very well suited for companies ready to make the next step away from signature-based antivirus to algorithm/machine-learning solutions. We did many demos of Cylance prior to purchase (along with an in-house stress test) of subjecting virtual machines to zero-day attacks with our current antivirus solutions against Cylance, and we were able to see the results of Cylance blocking all known threats, whereas our current antivirus failed spectacularly.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Today, security should be at the top level of importance in any organization. The damage that a company can receive from a data leak, breach, etc. can be very costly and perhaps so devastating that they may have to shut down. With products like CylancePROTECT in place, companies will be able to sleep better at night knowing that their endpoints are secure and will not be subject to the Ransomware kidnappings!
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cylance is great for anyone needing protection on their device. They can protect your company from future threats that have not even happened yet! Even if you neglect updating your security software, you can still be protected from all attacks.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CylancePROTECT is effective on all Windows based systems at protecting against malicious software. I can't think of a circumstance where it would be a bad decision to use the product.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cylance is great for small or large companies that want to protect their computers.
Read this authenticated review
April 04, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The technology is incredible and even more than that, its very scalable. There appears to be no fundamental difference between deploying this solution to a large enterprise or a small doctor's office. For the benefit of consumers everywhere, this solution should be made even more available to the private market.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (5)
8.2
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (5)
8.5
Centralized Management (5)
8.2
Hybrid Deployment Support (3)
6.7
Infection Remediation (4)
8.9
Vulnerability Management (3)
8.7
Malware Detection (5)
9.1

What is BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT)?

Cylance, a Blackberry company since the early 2019 acquisition, developed their flagship business antivirus and endpoint protection software in CylancePROTECT, featured in business and home editions boasting artificial intelligence guided protection. BlackBerry Protect is a post-acquisition evolution of CylanceProtect.
Categories:  Antivirus,  Endpoint Security

BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No