BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT) Reviews

39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 15, 2020
Rod Payton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT)] is used by one of our 3 Business Units and any new endpoints deployed by us to two other Business Units. Basically it is our AV and Endpoint protection for about 250 PCs. We also used it on servers which totals about 25 units in 2 datacenters. I love [BlackBerry Protect], it is like a good Mobster...shoot first, ask questions later. I would rather have a false positive than a false negative.
Read Rod Payton's full review
January 25, 2020
John Keenan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Endpoint protection for windows-based computers. Feeds to SIEM for correlation of events to other security intelligence and threat detection.
Read John Keenan's full review
November 19, 2019
Brandon Engel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using CylancePROTECT for 3 years now and it has met all of our expectations. The client is light-weight and doesn't use a lot of system resources in order to keep the computer safe. We have it deployed across the whole organization and it has been great. We haven't had one instance of ransomware since installing it on our system where we had one or two isolated events in the past.
Read Brandon Engel's full review
August 30, 2019
Shaun van Niekerk, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CylancePROTECT on 2,500 endpoints as a replacement for traditional anti-virus. This product proficiently addresses the limitations of traditional signature-based AV. We implemented this before WannaCry hit and proud to say it has been doing a sterling job for over 2 years now.
Read Shaun van Niekerk, CISSP's full review
April 17, 2019
Eric Rise | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Is being used across our entire organization in place of traditional AV solutions. Powered by an internal AI, no cloud connection is required for it to defeat known and even unknown variants of bugs, viruses, and malware running in the wild today.
Read Eric Rise's full review
May 31, 2018
Daniel Halter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CylancePROTECT is being used by the whole organization across both Windows & Mac operating systems for client and server infrastructure. The solution allows us to maintain our security posture without the need to run background scans or update definition files whilst benefiting from Cylance's predictive algorithm detecting as yet unseen threats.
Read Daniel Halter's full review
February 01, 2018
Andrew Vawdrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cylance is being used across our whole organization. It is an anti-virus program to protect our computers. I really like how lightweight it runs on the computers and is basically maintenance free as it doesn't have to constantly update to new certificates and doesn't always need to do full system scans. Cylance is next gen as it runs everything through its algorithm to tell if it is malicious or not. It first runs a scan on the whole device and then from then it scans every file it comes in contact with, therefore it never needs time to run a whole scan like other antivirus programs do.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
January 18, 2018
Joe Bayramyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cylance is being used across all our Windows servers and desktops and also Mac OS. I deployed Cylance in my previous 2 companies. It was a great solution and has the same capabilities as on-prem virus scanners without the definition downloads. After the initial scan and policy configuration, the day to day management was minimal.
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
September 07, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CylancePROTECT was brought in after our struggles with the resource-intensive Symantec offerings, and needing something more robust than the Microsoft Defender solution in Windows 10 for our machines. After demoing multiple vendors, we chose CylancePROTECT and have it rolled out to the entire organization of over 150 machines.

CylancePROTECT impressed us both in its small footprint, very low resource utilization, and the fact that it is a machine-learning solution, not reliant upon frequent signature updates as other solutions are. We handle a routine update of the version of software roughly every quarter, and the rollout upgrade is handled directly and easily through the CylancePROTECT management portal.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Since the Ransomeware scares back in 2016, many companies have been on the edge in trying to figure out what the best solution is to mitigate and prevent any future attacks regarding Ransomware. Signature-based solutions are a thing of the past, and now companies are turning towards AI and math models to prevent 0-Day attacks. Cylance has you covered in all of these areas! Ever since we purchased the product over three years ago, we have yet to have one computer infected with any type of virus, Ransomware, Malware, etc. That point alone is all I need!
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cylance is on my work computer for protection. We've used it for about 6 months now and it seems to work flawlessly. We haven't experienced any malware, popups, spam, etc. I feel very safe using my work computer knowing we have such great protection as Cylance.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CylancePROTECT is used across all Windows servers and devices. We have it protecting our entire platform against the execution of malicious payloads that have circumvented our other layers of protection.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cylance is being used as our host-based protection. In case our firewalls let malware slip by, we always have Cylance as our last method of protection. Cylance is currently being used throughout our whole company.
Read this authenticated review
April 04, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cylance bridges the gap between traditional anti-virus solutions that often fall short when faced with our hyper-changing threat landscape. Leveraging machine learning and artificial intelligence, Cylance appears to be able to make decisions on the fly regarding the trustworthiness of a running application. While old staples like McAfee and Symantec will always remain, newcomers like Cylance continue to force businesses into rethinking strategy which ultimately leads to growth.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (5)
8.2
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (5)
8.5
Centralized Management (5)
8.2
Hybrid Deployment Support (3)
6.7
Infection Remediation (4)
8.9
Vulnerability Management (3)
8.7
Malware Detection (5)
9.1

What is BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT)?

Cylance, a Blackberry company since the early 2019 acquisition, developed their flagship business antivirus and endpoint protection software in CylancePROTECT, featured in business and home editions boasting artificial intelligence guided protection. BlackBerry Protect is a post-acquisition evolution of CylanceProtect.
Categories:  Antivirus,  Endpoint Security

BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT)?

Cylance, a Blackberry company since the early 2019 acquisition, developed their flagship business antivirus and endpoint protection software in CylancePROTECT, featured in business and home editions boasting artificial intelligence guided protection. BlackBerry Protect is a post-acquisition evolution of CylanceProtect.

What is BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Malware Detection highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT)?

The most common users of BlackBerry Protect (CylancePROTECT) are Mid-size Companies from the Higher Education industry.