Blackboard Learn Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
169 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Quincy Tamaribuchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Blackboard Learn Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard is used as a platform for students to send and receive school work. This program is operated by teachers as a web-based user software device to connect them to their students. It is incredibly important now due to the current world events regarding distancing.
  • It does what it is intended to do such as connecting students and teachers alike.
  • It allows teachers to upload assignments online to eliminate the use of paper.
  • Good platform to take tests and quizzes.
  • Sign-on errors are common and it may inhibit the students' ability to submit and receive assignments as directed.
  • It is hard to navigate at times if you are unfamiliar.
  • Not exactly user friendly.
  • Sometimes locations of assignments are not clear, very obscure.
  • Not a very appealing layout.
It is definitely something to use during a time of separation and "social distancing" but mainly because there are not that many options to begin with.
Read Quincy Tamaribuchi's full review
Becca Guler | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Blackboard Learn- When you Need the Basics in Content Delivery and Instructional Management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is used primarily as an online classroom. Blackboard Collaborate can be utilized to facilitate and record real-time lectures and discussions, but the main function of Blackboard is to provide a secure online space for professors to load course guidelines, content and student grades, as well as host non-synchronous discussion boards. It is also used by academic support programs such as mentoring and tutoring to post content and planning support for student access.
  • Accepts wide variety of file types.
  • Choice of layout options to fit different styles of courses.
  • Interface isn't very modern.
  • Low use of icons and heavy text make it tricky to navigate.
It works well for situations where lots of content needs to be posted and made available to students. The ability to make subfolders means that with just a little work, you can really make a LOT of resources readily available. It is not well-suited to resource CREATION, only posting/uploads, as it lacks capabilities to design and manipulate information in anything other than basic text forms and hyperlinks.
Read Becca Guler's full review
Brandon Cluff | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Blackboard is solid from a student's perspective!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is being used by my organization primarily for e-learning for a variety of courses. It is used for reading, submitting, and tracking assignments as well as real-time feedback during assignments. Blackboard Learn "solves the problem" of holding classrooms electronically while giving students the flexibility to engage with the class on their own time with their varying schedules.
  • Asynchronous classrooms.
  • Clear communication of assignments.
  • Semi-clunky UX.
  • Slow page load times (depending on content).
Blackboard Learn is great for universities with courses that are offered online. Reading, submitting, and tracking assignments is straightforward in functionality and provides the ability to synchronously teach classrooms with a variety of types of content. I wouldn't recommend Blackboard Learn for anything outside of university education -- even private courses would be more appropriate for Udemy or similar sites.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
Renee DiBiasio | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

An excellent product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is one of the tools used by my school district for sending out various types of communications to our families. We have two different communication platforms that we are able to choose from when sending out information and Blackboard is always the one that I prefer to use.
  • It is really easy to create and save lists.
  • Multiple types of communications can be sent at one time.
  • It is not the easiest tool for people not as technology savvy to navigate.
  • Training is needed to master all the features.
I like Blackboard Learn best for sending out quick communications to a previously prepared list. Importing and creating custom lists can take a little more time. It is a good tool for people who like using technology. The availability of pre-loaded lists is a great time saver that helps streamline communications.
Read Renee DiBiasio's full review
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2020

User-friendly LMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackboard Learn as our main learning management system to offer online and hybrid courses. Blackboard Learn is used across the whole organization. Blackboard makes learning online simpler for students.
  • Creating effective assessments such as quizzes and assignments.
  • Make collaboration easier through group work and discuss board posts.
  • Online grading may need improvement through adding new features.
  • In the grade center instructors need to go into manage organization in order to arrange and reorder columns. It would be nice to be able to move columns around as in an Excel sheet.
Blackboard Learn is well suited for an online course with several modules. Each module contains learning objectives, readings, assignments, a discussion board, and assessments.
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
Amy Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2019

Connecting to my students and colleges in online coursework

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackboard Learn to create and manage online classrooms and course content. It's been really helpful to stay connected to students, use Google to create assignments, and coordinate with other teachers and easily communicate with students.
  • Course content management.
  • Communication with students.
  • Scheduling assignments and class discussions.
  • More third party features, beyond Google Suite.
  • Connecting to our SIS can be tricky at times.
  • The mobile app could use some smoothing out.
Blackboard is well suited for creating simple, easy-to-structure course content.
Read Amy Westby's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

They should re-do their software or hire more creative people

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is used across the entire organization. It is used by professors for classes and by the administration to provide information for new employees on how to use certain solutions or procedures that are currently in place for various software solutions.
  • Easy maintenance
  • Good support
  • Friendly people
  • Bad UI (unless you migrate to BB Ultra)
  • Does not integrate well with other software solutions
  • It is not very user-friendly
  • It could be pricey
It is hard to say what scenarios are good to use Blackboard Learn because UI is not very flexible or mobile-friendly, and if you are looking to integrate with other solutions, that would be hard. They have companies that create "building blocks" to integrate with Blackboard, but that would require other companies to develop specifically for Blackboard Learn platform, which in higher education is hard. They should focus on delivering solutions that can easily integrate Blackboard Learn, and they should work on UI. It is a terrible user experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Blackboard Learn offers easy to use content management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is a learning management system which allows instructors the ability to host course content, discussion boards, quizzes, and assignments in an easy-to-use interactive online system. Students access Blackboard Learn to review course materials that have been organized into sections and folders in a logical organizational structure. Each section inside a Blackboard Learn course can contain readings, assignments, discussions, and anything needed by students for that particular course module.
  • Easy to use course navigation.
  • Icons make it easy to distinguish content types.
  • System announcements remain for months or years.
  • Confusion can exist between the top-level navigation and course navigation.
Blackboard Learn is excellent for faculty who want an easy way to post course materials. It takes a bit more work for faculty who wish to use it for grading, hosting online discussions, or to use other advanced tools. While it isn't complicated to figure out on your own, it does require a bit of assistance and basic training to use effectively.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Blackboard Learn keeps the learning transparency

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is used by our students and faculty to submit assignments, keep reading articles, and to get grades.
  • Keep classes organized
  • Keep grades and assignments in one place
  • I think it does everything it should.
  • Not missing any functionalities
  • Perfect for universities or places that have multiple classes that students have to track.
  • Perfect especially for universities that have colleges and departments that are very decentralized
Read this authenticated review
Anissa Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Blackboard Learn: Student Engagement & Collaboration at its Finest

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is used as a classroom portal for the courses that I teach. It is how I share information, course content, messages, announcements, and threaded discussions with my students. It additionally includes a submission/extraction component for submitting assignments and a direct way to privately or group email any enrollee in the course.
  • Provides HTML quality course content that is easily retrievable and viewable.
  • Provides multiple methods of communication: email, threaded discussions, real-time "live" online discussions, as well as grade portal.
  • Allows facilitators multiple methods of grading or providing feedback: threaded discussions, rubric scoring, personal comments, inline viewer, or download/upload attachments.
  • Mobile access to Blackboard Learn is rudimentary and inconsistent. I can open the website in any browser but I cannot always click on the right control column--it sometimes moves around or buttons jump so that I cannot actually complete basic functions like posting a DQ. With asynchronous teaching, it is imperative that I have function-able mobile access to Blackboard in order to be successful.
  • The existing Blackboard Learn app for instructors is completely BASIC and needs much improvement. There is no ability to enhance text or use bold or italics. I can provide inline grading comments but cannot use a bank of grading comments--no copy/paste works in the inline grading of the app. I cannot grade discussion questions AT ALL in the app--only papers.
  • The Blackboard Learn instructor app needs to be compatible with voice commands so that I can use voice-to-text rather than typing everything on a mobile device. There is a lot of room for improvement but the app is crucial to my ability to teach effectively with Blackboard.
Blackboard Learn does a great job of integrating collaborative technology for teaching or community discussion. It encourages me to use other tools to innovate my instruction and to engage students differently--aspects that always improve learning as well as satisfaction with the learning and achieving process.

The most negative or inappropriate experience I have with Blackboard is when I use mobile access--using my iPad or iPhone or other device is a sketchy way to access Blackboard. I can easily get on it with my computer/laptop, but using mobile devices is quite frustrating b/c the typing blocks and buttons bounce around and do not properly populate on the device. In HTML language, the iFrames are not set up to function well on mobile devices.
Read Anissa Harris's full review
Rick Lupton | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Don't keep knowledge locked in the classroom, take your Blackboard to the Cloud.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is our primary Learning Management System and is used both by our distance education program and for supplemental materials to in class instruction. It is used by faculty across campus in various colleges and departments as well as for staff training. The software has a portal which allows students to access their classes, each with its own web page, to view lessons, download files, access external links, take tests, and submit assignments.
  • Lesson Managment
  • Discussion Board
  • Quizes
  • File Submission
  • Class interaction
  • Comments on assignments
  • Grade-book automation
Blackboard does a great job allowing an instructor to submit lessons, assignment, videos, links, and other materials. It also allows students to complete quizzes and exams all in the same web portal. Assignments can be submitted for grading by the professor and with add-in modules can also be automatically graded. The biggest fault with the application is the need for online access; if your connection is not stable, you cannot complete a test.
Read Rick Lupton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Feature rich, but not aesthetic.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard is being incorporated as the entire industry, that is the college. Professors are in charge in terms of how often it gets used. It solves many problems including being able to easily manage and view class grades as well as assignments and/or tasks.
  • Blackboard does a great job at displaying grades. I have the app and it is so simply to view one's class grades.
  • Blackboard also does a good job at providing a place where students and professors are able to easily upload work documents.
  • Another place where Blackboard thrives in is being accessible. That is, being able to access it anywhere an internet connection is available. No need to download an application and once you're logged in, you're good to go.
  • .
  • .
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Blackboard is the Modern Blackboard for Learning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The University is using blackboard Learn I study to facilitate my doctoral coursework. The Blackboard Learn system allows the professor to share documents with students. Through Blackboard Learn, there are also forums and VoiceThread options to facilitate student learning if there are online modules. Additionally, work is uploaded to Blackboard Learn for the professor to grade so the student can receive useful and meaningful feedback.
  • Document retrieval.
  • Uploading work.
  • Forums with other students.
  • VoiceThread is cumbersome.
  • I would appreciate the ability to access suggested resources beyond those provided by the professor.
  • It would be good if we could see our classmates' submissions to learn from them.
Blackboard Learn is a high Learning Management System because it is easy to navigate and replete with many features. Blackboard Learn is excellent for University learning, but I don't think it's appropriate for secondary education because it might be too difficult for younger people to navigate and self manage their knowledge.
Read this authenticated review
Lori Riegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

Blackboard Learn, Taking Learning to the Future!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is used by multiple users, to access information, share information and access features across multiple devices and platforms. Users can access modules and other necessary information sources from any device, from anywhere, at their own convenience. It is perfect for organizations that have users who are global or not necessarily meeting at the same time in the same place, and need access to massive amounts of information that is stored in an organized format. It is quite useful for academic settings, but I can also see applicable uses for nonprofit or other environments.
  • Organized modules
  • Easy to use on various devices
  • Easy to customize
  • Chat feature could be improved
  • Doesn't load quite as well on a mobile (phone) device consistently
  • Better integration to a mobile app
Blackboard Learn is an excellent application for academic (college or university) settings. It would also work well in large school districts. I have used it in a university setting, and like that I can access current and past course materials. I did not receive an orientation to use it, or other sort of training, but it was intuitive and easy to jump right in and start using it.
Read Lori Riegel's full review
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2019

BlackBoard learn - a solid course management system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard is the course management system used by both recent employers. I have used it for several years as a student too. The system is very reliable, easy to navigate and customize. It includes several modules, one of which is blackboard collaborate which enable live remote sessions.

Having online students is so common these days and having all course collaboration and live sessions in one secure centralized location is a necessity for both students and universities.
  • Instructors can easily customize the course page.
  • It has the capability to do online exams, class discussions, automatic grading, and live sessions.
  • Integrates with local LDAP and single sign-on services.
  • Although the current graphic user interface is easy to use, it can be improved with larger fonts, dynamic menus, and attractive graphics.
  • The system does not include a module to pay the school fee.
  • The roster tab lacks detailed information about students.
Blackboard learn is suitable to universities with 1K+ students enrolled. The system is very reliable and facilitates distance learning and remote classrooms. Although the subscription cost per student might be high compared to other course management system, Blackboard offers a wide range of features and customization capabilities that students and professors use nowadays.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
Katherine Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Works to keep students engaged outside of class

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of Stony Brook University uses Blackboard Learn to maintain communication between students and educators in and out of the classroom. Assignments are posted and submitted, announcements are made to students, and discussion threads are used. Using Blackboard eliminates communication issues and encourages students to be involved outside of the classroom.
  • Easy to use tabs to get to different sections of the courses
  • Easy to communicate directly with the educator and other students through messaging.
  • Easy to submit assignments directly by uploading.
  • The mobile Blackboard app is not easy to use on my Android phone as the sizing is off and some functions do not work.
  • The discussion threads are a little more difficult to navigate, between replying to the current thread or needing to start a new one.
  • The grades section is not always correctly updated on my end even though the educator has posted them.
It is very well suited for a school setting and is appropriate for my graduate level classes where there are constant discussions outside of class. I'm not sure how it would work for an employment setting.
Read Katherine Moore's full review
Matthew Deakyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2019

Blackboard, providing new add ons at the expense of the core experience.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is the supported Learning Management system at the University of Kansas. It is used across the organization, with a focus on academic courses. All courses in our PeopleSoft Student Information System automatically receive a corresponding Blackboard class. It allows students and instructors to coordinate assignments and grades for academic classes, and is sometimes used as a communication tool for non-academic use.
  • Number of Integrations. Up until fairly recently, Blackboard Learn was the only option that scaled well for an institution of our size. They purchased competitors, and dominated marketshare. Due to this, most integrations from publishers or other educational technologies had to create a Blackboard integration.
  • Adapting to Web Standards. Blackboard is currently releasing REST APIs and LTI integrations, and encouraging these as the standards moving forward. This is an excellent direction, and will allow Blackboard to be more competitive in the future.
  • Customization. Each Blackboard course can be fully customized by the Instructor, using as much or as little as each individual instructor would like. For those that enjoy complete control - this is really useful.
  • Self-Hosted Option. I anticipate this to eventually be depreciated, but currently we can host our Blackboard instance - which grants full flexibility and data analysis capabilities that are not available in the managed or cloud hosted options.
  • Lack of APIs. Blackboard is catching up, but other competitors are much further along since those competitors started as a web-based company. The other factor holding these back is the different hosting options. All APIs are available for cloud-hosted, but not for managed-hosted or self-hosted.
  • Lack of defaults. While highly configurable, Blackboard is really intimidating for instructors used to default course structures. You can lock this down, but our users enjoy the customizability - which causes issues providing for both values. Instructors have multiple ways to do tasks - and often there isn't a clear pathway.
  • Lack of focus on core. Blackboard keeps releasing new products : Analytics (usage), Transact (purchase / card system), Ally (accessibility), Predict (early warning)... while the core experience lags behind. Blackboard is trying to sell the idea that their stuff works well with their stuff... while competitors keep improving the core system and make integrations easier. Personally, I believe Blackboard needs to refocus on the core competencies.
  • Lack of communication / proactivity. Blackboard relied on an integration with Crocodoc for assignment markup. Crocodoc was purchased and shuttered by Box, who had a general press release a year out. Blackboard worked with Box to replace this functionality - but DID NOT DO A GOOD JOB. Communication on progress was non-existant, it required an unplanned restart, and there was a massive feature loss. We still experience some performance issues, and it's been over a year since the switch.
  • Lack of migration pathway. There are distinct differences between self-hosted and cloud-hosted. The migration path from self hosted to cloud hosted is just as complex as migrating to another LMS. Blackboard has been really pushing cloud-hosted as a better experience, but many institutions of our size have had extreme difficulty migrating and some have ultimately switched to a competitor and had an easier time migrating. If you are considering going to the cloud, Blackboard SaaS will probably be as big of a change as a competitor.
  • Poor Branding. Ultra is a ubiquitous term that Blackboard has settled on, but there are too many Ultras. Ultra was originally the branding for SaaS, a technology that was Vaporware for two years and then ultimately came out half-completed. Then they started offering Collaborate Ultra, Ultra Course View and Ultra Experience. I think there is even now an Ultra theme that is available for Learn Original. They need to find another word, because it's extremely confusing for administrators - let alone instructors.
Blackboard Learn does the basics really well - but it's not pretty. It has a lot of options, and may be customized to meet specific needs better than the default options available with competing software. It's getting better, slowly, and adapting to a web-first / mobile-first strategy. It's a great option if you are already investing in the Blackboard ecosystem and have been impressed by any of Blackboard other products.
Read Matthew Deakyne's full review
Mounika Chirasani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

Great Tool for Learning

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Blackboard both as a teaching assistant and a student.
  • As a student, I get mobile access and notifications about grades, announcements, and course changes that help me manage my learning.
  • As an instructor, Blackboard lets me integrate a lot of different types of media, structure time released content, vary assessments, and deliver individualized learning opportunities.
  • I also like the Best Practice parts of the help site -- it helps you to get ideas of how you can use the tools.
  • In terms of support from Blackboard.
  • I find it difficult to transfer information from one semester to another.
  • Slow (even when on the same network node or high-speed cable connection) -- needs a code rewrite/optimization.
Blackboard is one of the pinnacle learning suites out there. I've had the privilege of being a student and a teacher with BlackBoard and have to say that I have never been let down by the number of plugins that teachers can use and the ease of navigation for students. This tool really does check all of the boxes and makes remote learning a little bit easier.
Read Mounika Chirasani's full review
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

It can be configured to do anything you want. It is Blackboard's blessing and curse.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is used for the majority of courses at our university. Each class uses it differently from just posting a syllabus to a grade book, to robust use of Collaborate, discussion boards, and content submission. It is up to each professor how deep they choose to use the tool in aiding instruction.
  • It can be configured to do anything you want.
  • It makes it easier for the students have a common destination for information.
  • I like that I can do all of my assessments and grading in one place.
  • It can be configured to do anything you want. Be careful.
  • Its architecture feels old, but because they support so many schools that are change adverse, it is hard to update.
I really think that Blackboard gets a bad rap. It is a solid tool with years of experience behind it. It can do all that you need it to do and you can configure it to look the way you want it to be - if your global administers allow it. An institution needs to decide how much and what type of flexibility it is going to allow. But the tool can do it.
Read Mark Fitzgerald's full review
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

Blackboard Learn: Using as a Student

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was a user of Blackboard as a student, I took a certification to further my career and it was built in Blackboard Learn. I would suggest using it in my institution, as I feel it is very user-friendly, easy to follow, and has through instructions on how to use.
  • The organization of files
  • You can have different tabs to separate items to make it easier for student use
  • Submission of testing and assignments was clear, and easy to use.
  • I did not find anything the software itself could do better, just the way the administrator had the information set up in the courses.
It is well suited for any and all learning options, be it degree-seeking, certification, taking a class here or there, professional development, etc. I feel this is one of the easier online modalities currently offered in the field. I enjoy working with blackboard over Canvas and some others. I think they are more suitable for student needs.
Read Erica Terry's full review
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Making the most of a Blackboard Learning Management System

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard is one of the leading Learning Management Systems (LMS) is the education industry. The platform is fairly flexible and integrates well with most Student Information Systems (SIS) allowing a school or higher education university to automate the creation of a 'website' for each section it may be running from semester to semester as well as supporting the manual creation of 1-off 'Organization' sites as needed.

Using the Blackboard LMS allows faculty who may be technical novices to easily share files, store and grade assignments and scan written submissions for originality. While the initial course shell or template is fairly basic, a user with basic HTML/CSS knowledge can unlock a lot of the system's potential. There are also ways to add javascript enhanced elements and SCORM modules from programs such as Articulate or Captivate, but that is most likely more suited for advanced technical users such as Instructional Technologist or Designers.
  • The assignment tool is very helpful, it allows for individual and group assignment submission and can scan all work for originality via the integration of SafeAssign. This feature also acts as a repository for resolving student grade challenges and in collecting data for accreditation efforts.
  • The open HTML features allow for incorporation of video very easily through embed codes or mashup tools
  • Communication - the announcement, emails, discussion boards, and group tools allow enhance the classroom and allow students to stay engaged without the need to know 50 different email addresses.
  • Blackboard ingrates very well with hundred of 3rd party tools either through a building block installion on LTI link. Very help for incorporating publishing content from a textbook for example.
  • The Mobile features off the site and lagging behind, especially if you try to access the site through phone on safari or chrome vs the BB Mobile app.
  • While Blackboard allows for HTML and CSS it has a bad habit of throwing extra tags and other forms 'of junk' HTML after saving that slow down the system and hurt accessibility for screen readers.
  • The UI of BB Learn overall is dated and in major need of modern re-design
  • BB Learn lack a common search feature, mean students have no choice but the hunt and peck around course looking a specfic peice of content.
  • While this may be a result of my version of the system being self-hosted I have found Blackboard to overall be a slower platform than other LMS systems such as Canvas or Coursera
If I were talking to somebody who has yet to adopt an LMS I would tell them to skip Blackboard and directly to Canvas.
That said Blackboard is best suited for higher education where some sort of verification or course registration is required.

It doesn't do self-registration and lack a shopping cart/pay feature making it hard for 1 - off learning and career development.

Blackboard is not well suited for Corporate Training.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
Brittney Vigna MPH, CHES, CPH | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Blackboard is great for student grading management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is used by almost everyone at the University of Alabama. I use it to manage student organizations and for classes I teach. For large student organizations, Blackboard is essential for keeping everyone on the same page. We use it to share documents and important information because we can ensure it will be sent to all of the necessary recipients.
  • Blackboard is pretty intuitive to learn. It's not very hard to figure out what you need to do.
  • The assessments are easy to create and easy for students to take. The deadlines are helpful as well.
  • It's nice that there isn't a limit for the content that you are able to put on Blackboard.
  • On Mac specifically, when you pull up the full grade center, for some reason it won't let you scroll over.
  • Deleting everything is SO time consuming. There isn't a way to bulk delete columns for grading.
Blackboard is definitely good for higher education or anything where you would need to have a grading/testing system in place. I don't think that it would necessarily be best for companies that aren't doing this. If you were trying to edit something or create a project as a group, I don't think Blackboard would be the best option.
Read Brittney Vigna MPH, CHES, CPH's full review
Pearce Muncy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2019

Blackboard Learn - great for classrooms

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used across the university as a class hub.
  • Great file repository.
  • Good for in-depth documentation layouts.
  • Good for record keeping.
  • Better mobile integration.
  • More online training.
  • More walkthrough samples.
Great for class tracking or online documentation.
Read Pearce Muncy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

Blackboard Learn Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackboard Learn is our online and course management software that we've been using for several years now at our university. It is used across campus for both traditional classroom planning and for online courses and students. We use it from first-year freshmen undergrad students all the way through graduate and adult/online learners. It helps us manage our online and some traditional components for faculty and students.
  • Great for online course management.
  • Ease of use for the Registrars, office, and staff.
  • Online learning courses go very, very well for students and faculty.
  • The interface is a little hard to navigate at first.
  • Some of the components for course management are a little clunky compared to competitors.
  • Can be capped out on some course offerings.
Blackboard Learn is a very good solution if you are familiar and using other Blackboard products and modules. We looked at a number of other course management options and Blackboard was decided on because we use other Blackboard products. It wasn't necessarily the best out there but we found it worked best for our faculty/staff/students because they were more familiar with the overall brand.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Performs as expected

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Blackboard to manage my courses, access documents, take quizzes, view grades, and communicate with peers and faculty. It is used across the entire institution, excluding one school.
  • Clear, consistent organization/menus.
  • Communication tools within Blackboard and email.
  • The tools section is overwhelming and a lot of them don't seem useful.
  • Limited functionality of the mobile app.
Works well for medium-large classes for communication and the posting of readings/slides/assignments.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (18)
8.2
Course catalog or library (18)
7.2
Player/Portal (15)
7.0
Learning content (22)
8.1
Mobile friendly (24)
6.1
Progress tracking & certifications (18)
7.6
Assignments (24)
8.5
Compliance management (13)
6.3
Learning administration (19)
8.3
Learning reporting & analytics (20)
6.6
Social learning (17)
6.6

About Blackboard Learn

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and government organizations. As of December 2010, Blackboard software and services are used by over 9,300 institutions in more than 60 countries. Blackboard Learn is the company's flagship LMS, supporting course management, test & assessment design and administration, and is extensible via Blackboard's suite of addable modules.

Blackboard Learn Competitors

Blackboard Learn Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No