Blackboard Learn Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
169 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Becca Guler | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Blackboard Learn- When you Need the Basics in Content Delivery and Instructional Management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works well for situations where lots of content needs to be posted and made available to students. The ability to make subfolders means that with just a little work, you can really make a LOT of resources readily available. It is not well-suited to resource CREATION, only posting/uploads, as it lacks capabilities to design and manipulate information in anything other than basic text forms and hyperlinks.
Read Becca Guler's full review
Brandon Cluff | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Blackboard is solid from a student's perspective!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn is great for universities with courses that are offered online. Reading, submitting, and tracking assignments is straightforward in functionality and provides the ability to synchronously teach classrooms with a variety of types of content. I wouldn't recommend Blackboard Learn for anything outside of university education -- even private courses would be more appropriate for Udemy or similar sites.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
Renee DiBiasio | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

An excellent product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I like Blackboard Learn best for sending out quick communications to a previously prepared list. Importing and creating custom lists can take a little more time. It is a good tool for people who like using technology. The availability of pre-loaded lists is a great time saver that helps streamline communications.
Read Renee DiBiasio's full review
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2020

User-friendly LMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn is well suited for an online course with several modules. Each module contains learning objectives, readings, assignments, a discussion board, and assessments.
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

They should re-do their software or hire more creative people

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is hard to say what scenarios are good to use Blackboard Learn because UI is not very flexible or mobile-friendly, and if you are looking to integrate with other solutions, that would be hard. They have companies that create "building blocks" to integrate with Blackboard, but that would require other companies to develop specifically for Blackboard Learn platform, which in higher education is hard. They should focus on delivering solutions that can easily integrate Blackboard Learn, and they should work on UI. It is a terrible user experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Blackboard Learn offers easy to use content management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn is excellent for faculty who want an easy way to post course materials. It takes a bit more work for faculty who wish to use it for grading, hosting online discussions, or to use other advanced tools. While it isn't complicated to figure out on your own, it does require a bit of assistance and basic training to use effectively.
Read this authenticated review
Anissa Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Blackboard Learn: Student Engagement & Collaboration at its Finest

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn does a great job of integrating collaborative technology for teaching or community discussion. It encourages me to use other tools to innovate my instruction and to engage students differently--aspects that always improve learning as well as satisfaction with the learning and achieving process.

The most negative or inappropriate experience I have with Blackboard is when I use mobile access--using my iPad or iPhone or other device is a sketchy way to access Blackboard. I can easily get on it with my computer/laptop, but using mobile devices is quite frustrating b/c the typing blocks and buttons bounce around and do not properly populate on the device. In HTML language, the iFrames are not set up to function well on mobile devices.
Read Anissa Harris's full review
Rick Lupton | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Don't keep knowledge locked in the classroom, take your Blackboard to the Cloud.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard does a great job allowing an instructor to submit lessons, assignment, videos, links, and other materials. It also allows students to complete quizzes and exams all in the same web portal. Assignments can be submitted for grading by the professor and with add-in modules can also be automatically graded. The biggest fault with the application is the need for online access; if your connection is not stable, you cannot complete a test.
Read Rick Lupton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Blackboard is the Modern Blackboard for Learning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn is a high Learning Management System because it is easy to navigate and replete with many features. Blackboard Learn is excellent for University learning, but I don't think it's appropriate for secondary education because it might be too difficult for younger people to navigate and self manage their knowledge.
Read this authenticated review
Lori Riegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

Blackboard Learn, Taking Learning to the Future!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn is an excellent application for academic (college or university) settings. It would also work well in large school districts. I have used it in a university setting, and like that I can access current and past course materials. I did not receive an orientation to use it, or other sort of training, but it was intuitive and easy to jump right in and start using it.
Read Lori Riegel's full review
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2019

BlackBoard learn - a solid course management system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard learn is suitable to universities with 1K+ students enrolled. The system is very reliable and facilitates distance learning and remote classrooms. Although the subscription cost per student might be high compared to other course management system, Blackboard offers a wide range of features and customization capabilities that students and professors use nowadays.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
Matthew Deakyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2019

Blackboard, providing new add ons at the expense of the core experience.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn does the basics really well - but it's not pretty. It has a lot of options, and may be customized to meet specific needs better than the default options available with competing software. It's getting better, slowly, and adapting to a web-first / mobile-first strategy. It's a great option if you are already investing in the Blackboard ecosystem and have been impressed by any of Blackboard other products.
Read Matthew Deakyne's full review
Mounika Chirasani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

Great Tool for Learning

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard is one of the pinnacle learning suites out there. I've had the privilege of being a student and a teacher with BlackBoard and have to say that I have never been let down by the number of plugins that teachers can use and the ease of navigation for students. This tool really does check all of the boxes and makes remote learning a little bit easier.
Read Mounika Chirasani's full review
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

It can be configured to do anything you want. It is Blackboard's blessing and curse.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I really think that Blackboard gets a bad rap. It is a solid tool with years of experience behind it. It can do all that you need it to do and you can configure it to look the way you want it to be - if your global administers allow it. An institution needs to decide how much and what type of flexibility it is going to allow. But the tool can do it.
Read Mark Fitzgerald's full review
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

Blackboard Learn: Using as a Student

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for any and all learning options, be it degree-seeking, certification, taking a class here or there, professional development, etc. I feel this is one of the easier online modalities currently offered in the field. I enjoy working with blackboard over Canvas and some others. I think they are more suitable for student needs.
Read Erica Terry's full review
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Making the most of a Blackboard Learning Management System

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If I were talking to somebody who has yet to adopt an LMS I would tell them to skip Blackboard and directly to Canvas.
That said Blackboard is best suited for higher education where some sort of verification or course registration is required.

It doesn't do self-registration and lack a shopping cart/pay feature making it hard for 1 - off learning and career development.

Blackboard is not well suited for Corporate Training.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
Brittney Vigna MPH, CHES, CPH | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Blackboard is great for student grading management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard is definitely good for higher education or anything where you would need to have a grading/testing system in place. I don't think that it would necessarily be best for companies that aren't doing this. If you were trying to edit something or create a project as a group, I don't think Blackboard would be the best option.
Read Brittney Vigna MPH, CHES, CPH's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

Blackboard Learn Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Blackboard Learn is a very good solution if you are familiar and using other Blackboard products and modules. We looked at a number of other course management options and Blackboard was decided on because we use other Blackboard products. It wasn't necessarily the best out there but we found it worked best for our faculty/staff/students because they were more familiar with the overall brand.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Performs as expected

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Works well for medium-large classes for communication and the posting of readings/slides/assignments.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (18)
8.2
Course catalog or library (18)
7.2
Player/Portal (15)
7.0
Learning content (22)
8.1
Mobile friendly (24)
6.1
Progress tracking & certifications (18)
7.6
Assignments (24)
8.5
Compliance management (13)
6.3
Learning administration (19)
8.3
Learning reporting & analytics (20)
6.6
Social learning (17)
6.6

About Blackboard Learn

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and government organizations. As of December 2010, Blackboard software and services are used by over 9,300 institutions in more than 60 countries. Blackboard Learn is the company's flagship LMS, supporting course management, test & assessment design and administration, and is extensible via Blackboard's suite of addable modules.

Blackboard Learn Competitors

Blackboard Learn Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No