Blackboard Learn Reviews

172 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 31, 2020
Becca Guler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Simple distribution and repository of information, so helps efficiency and equal access: +
  • Students and staff aren't fans of the low navigability (grumbling): -
Read Becca Guler's full review
September 25, 2019
Anissa Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Blackboard Learn successfully houses all the student resources and interactions successfully.
  • Blackboard's reporting analytics are sophisticated but SUPER COMPLICATED to run/decipher. As a faculty member, I have no ability to run reports or more effectively analyze interactions in the classroom. I know Bb has the capacity to help me use these data but the complicated learning-curve makes it prohibitive to me.
  • It supports our collaborative nature by providing a platform for and the ability to connect many people from different venues.
Read Anissa Harris's full review
January 12, 2020
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Facilities online learning - Having a learning management system helps to increase student enrollment.
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
November 30, 2019
Amy Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • This has been a great tool to dive into for setting up course work quickly and simply.
  • Other than slow server speeds, we haven't had a negative impact on our work.
Read Amy Westby's full review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For now, Blackboard Learn has only had positive impacts on the college. Professors are able to do more and more work online without the need for physical copies. There have been no alternatives and we continue to use this product.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Blackboard Learn has allowed me to succeed in my course because the professor provides meaningful comments in the text.
  • Blackboard Learn allows me to complete coursework anywhere.
  • Blackboard Learn allows me to collaborate with classmates.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2019
Rick Lupton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Standardizing on one LMS platform has allowed students to be able to take multiple distance ed courses without having to learn each teacher's method.
  • The Blackboard grading system allows student progress to be easily tracked throughout the semester.
  • The online exam system allows for randomizing of questions from a bank to ensure academic integrity.
Read Rick Lupton's full review
February 07, 2019
Lori Riegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Made it possible for users to collaborate.
  • Made it possible for course administrator to see progress of students.
  • Made it possible for course administrator to quickly share content.
Read Lori Riegel's full review
February 06, 2019
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Blackboard Learn attracts students interested in online classes. Thus it increases enrollment.
  • It improves collaboration between students which leads to a better learning experience.
  • It eases lecturer's tasks in organizing the course content and facilitates his overall role.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
February 11, 2019
Matthew Deakyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Blackboard Learn allows students and instructors to better communicate assignments and grades, and connecting this system directly to our SIS has been hugely successful to increase adoption.
  • Blackboard Learn takes a lot of resources to help train and troubleshoot. Instructors starting off have a very difficult time exploring the options, especially when there are different versions and features across various institutions. Having a more streamlined offering would allow for better self-help options.
  • Blackboard Learn has enabled newer technologies that allow us to customize in a web-first manor. This is crucial to moving forward with the platform.
Read Matthew Deakyne's full review
February 09, 2019
Mounika Chirasani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It's full of examples I can show others on how not to do UI and UIX.
  • Easy to navigate.
  • Announcements, quizzes, compatible with TurnItIn assignments, makes grading simple. Easy to communicate with students and provide information regarding assignments. Posting media is also simple.
Read Mounika Chirasani's full review
February 09, 2019
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are using analytics to help students succeed.
  • Students push instructors to use it.
  • It helps us have some level of consistency across our courses.
Read Mark Fitzgerald's full review
January 28, 2019
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Having an LMS such as Blackboard allows for the school to expand its online offerings in a scalable way and increase the student body beyond the limitations of a physical campus.
  • Blackboard requires a lot of support. Depending on the size of your institution you will need multiple IT professionals to troubleshoot and train your staff on how to properly use it. For an online program, a 24 help desk is a must, Blackboard's support services to students are minimal
  • Using an LMS and getting people off the 'paper and pencil' model has lots of positive effects on the environment and gives your organization access to a detailed level of data you would otherwise never be able to achieve.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
February 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The overall cost for Blackboard Learn was not that much when compared to other software.
  • We've been able to save money by having faculty and staff that were already familiar with other Blackboard products so the learning curve wasn't as severe.
  • The interface made it better for students.
Read this authenticated review
February 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Helps to only have one system for course faculty to have to learn how to use; less training required.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2018
Brittney Vigna MPH, CHES, CPH | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has really helped reduce time for trying to track progress for student organizations. At first, we were using a spreadsheet, but when we switched to BB, it made life so much easier and freed up a lot of time.
  • Students are able to consistently see their grades, so tracking course progress is possible and easy.
Read Brittney Vigna MPH, CHES, CPH's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (18)
8.2
Course catalog or library (18)
7.1
Player/Portal (15)
7.1
Learning content (22)
8.0
Mobile friendly (24)
6.3
Progress tracking & certifications (18)
7.9
Assignments (24)
8.6
Compliance management (13)
6.3
Learning administration (19)
8.4
Learning reporting & analytics (20)
6.7
Social learning (17)
7.0

What is Blackboard Learn?

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and government organizations. As of December 2010, Blackboard software and services are used by over 9,300 institutions in more than 60 countries. Blackboard Learn is the company's flagship LMS, supporting course management, test & assessment design and administration, and is extensible via Blackboard's suite of addable modules.

Blackboard Learn Competitors

Blackboard Learn Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No