Blackboard Learn

Blackboard Learn

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 6.7 out of 100
Blackboard Learn

Overview

Recent Reviews

Learning Made easy

9 out of 10
April 20, 2021
Blackboard Learn is currently being used as the learning management software to host courses that a student enrolls for a certain …
Continue reading

User-friendly LMS

9 out of 10
January 12, 2020
We use Blackboard Learn as our main learning management system to offer online and hybrid courses. Blackboard Learn is used across the …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Assignments (29)
    8.3
    83%
  • Learning content (27)
    7.3
    73%
  • Learning reporting & analytics (25)
    6.8
    68%
  • Mobile friendly (29)
    4.5
    45%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Blackboard Learn, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Blackboard Learn?

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

23 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

Sorry, this product's description is unavailable

What is Moodle?

Moodle is an open source Learning Management System used by educational institutions. The product is administered by the Moodle Project which is led by Moodle HQ in Australia.

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Blackboard - The New Learning Experience
02:34
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Learning Management

6.9
69%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Blackboard Learn?

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and government organizations. As of December 2010, Blackboard software and services are used by over 9,300 institutions in more than 60 countries. Blackboard Learn is the company's flagship LMS, supporting course management, test & assessment design and administration, and is extensible via Blackboard's suite of addable modules.

Blackboard Learn Video

Blackboard - The New Learning Experience

Blackboard Learn Competitors

Blackboard Learn Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and government organizations. As of December 2010, Blackboard software and services are used by over 9,300 institutions in more than 60 countries. Blackboard Learn is the company's flagship LMS, supporting course management, test & assessment design and administration, and is extensible via Blackboard's suite of addable modules.

Canvas, Infor Learning Management, and Brightspace are common alternatives for Blackboard Learn.

Reviewers rate Assignments highest, with a score of 8.3.

The most common users of Blackboard Learn are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Higher Education industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (204)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 57)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The import tool is fairly robust
  • Online tasks/quizzes are straightforward to administer and grade
  • If consistently applied across the organization, navigation can be streamlined and students know what to expect where
  • The mobile app/platform is seriously lacking in stability and feature set
  • Interoperability with other systems, such as school information systems, is limited (data are relatively easy to import but virtually impossible to export from Blackboard Learn)
  • [In my opinion] the arrogance and intransigence of the sales force are quite disconcerting. They are no longer the only game in town and don't yet realize it.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Blackboard Learn makes submitting assignments electronically simple and provides a variety of built-in Web-based tools like e-portfolios, wikis, and blogs that our students use to create their own content.
  • Blackboard Learn is intuitive and easy to navigate from a students perspective
  • Blackboard Learn has many integrations available for connecting this LMS to other tools we use at our institution.
  • Blackboard Learn requires cloud-based SaaS configuration which we were not set up for initially. This was an additional step for us before deployment
  • Some new release courses lack features available in legacy courses, this tends to be a problem when we roll out upgrades, as we need to extend our testing phase to ensure all courses are functional
  • Blackboard Learn is expensive. In comparison to its competition, there really isn't a reason (other than name recognition) that the software should be as much higher priced from it's competition as it is.
April 20, 2021

Learning Made easy

Meena B | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Hosting of courses associated with a particular semester
  • Integration with zoom and Panopto
  • Grading of the respecitive courses and also hosts the submission of student work related to the particular home work assignments, quizzes etc.,
  • Blackboard Learn has some limitations when it comes to submissions
  • It is not that user friendly, I had to spend some time to get a hang of it in the beginning
  • I have been struggling a bit with deletion of manually added courses
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It does what it is intended to do such as connecting students and teachers alike.
  • It allows teachers to upload assignments online to eliminate the use of paper.
  • Good platform to take tests and quizzes.
  • Sign-on errors are common and it may inhibit the students' ability to submit and receive assignments as directed.
  • It is hard to navigate at times if you are unfamiliar.
  • Not exactly user friendly.
  • Sometimes locations of assignments are not clear, very obscure.
  • Not a very appealing layout.
Becca Guler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Accepts wide variety of file types.
  • Choice of layout options to fit different styles of courses.
  • Interface isn't very modern.
  • Low use of icons and heavy text make it tricky to navigate.
January 21, 2020

An excellent product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is really easy to create and save lists.
  • Multiple types of communications can be sent at one time.
  • It is not the easiest tool for people not as technology savvy to navigate.
  • Training is needed to master all the features.
January 12, 2020

User-friendly LMS

Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Creating effective assessments such as quizzes and assignments.
  • Make collaboration easier through group work and discuss board posts.
  • Online grading may need improvement through adding new features.
  • In the grade center instructors need to go into manage organization in order to arrange and reorder columns. It would be nice to be able to move columns around as in an Excel sheet.
Amy Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Course content management.
  • Communication with students.
  • Scheduling assignments and class discussions.
  • More third party features, beyond Google Suite.
  • Connecting to our SIS can be tricky at times.
  • The mobile app could use some smoothing out.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Blackboard does a great job at displaying grades. I have the app and it is so simply to view one's class grades.
  • Blackboard also does a good job at providing a place where students and professors are able to easily upload work documents.
  • Another place where Blackboard thrives in is being accessible. That is, being able to access it anywhere an internet connection is available. No need to download an application and once you're logged in, you're good to go.
  • .
  • .
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Document retrieval.
  • Uploading work.
  • Forums with other students.
  • VoiceThread is cumbersome.
  • I would appreciate the ability to access suggested resources beyond those provided by the professor.
  • It would be good if we could see our classmates' submissions to learn from them.
Anissa Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provides HTML quality course content that is easily retrievable and viewable.
  • Provides multiple methods of communication: email, threaded discussions, real-time "live" online discussions, as well as grade portal.
  • Allows facilitators multiple methods of grading or providing feedback: threaded discussions, rubric scoring, personal comments, inline viewer, or download/upload attachments.
  • Mobile access to Blackboard Learn is rudimentary and inconsistent. I can open the website in any browser but I cannot always click on the right control column--it sometimes moves around or buttons jump so that I cannot actually complete basic functions like posting a DQ. With asynchronous teaching, it is imperative that I have function-able mobile access to Blackboard in order to be successful.
  • The existing Blackboard Learn app for instructors is completely BASIC and needs much improvement. There is no ability to enhance text or use bold or italics. I can provide inline grading comments but cannot use a bank of grading comments--no copy/paste works in the inline grading of the app. I cannot grade discussion questions AT ALL in the app--only papers.
  • The Blackboard Learn instructor app needs to be compatible with voice commands so that I can use voice-to-text rather than typing everything on a mobile device. There is a lot of room for improvement but the app is crucial to my ability to teach effectively with Blackboard.
Katherine Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use tabs to get to different sections of the courses
  • Easy to communicate directly with the educator and other students through messaging.
  • Easy to submit assignments directly by uploading.
  • The mobile Blackboard app is not easy to use on my Android phone as the sizing is off and some functions do not work.
  • The discussion threads are a little more difficult to navigate, between replying to the current thread or needing to start a new one.
  • The grades section is not always correctly updated on my end even though the educator has posted them.
February 23, 2019

Performs as expected

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Clear, consistent organization/menus.
  • Communication tools within Blackboard and email.
  • The tools section is overwhelming and a lot of them don't seem useful.
  • Limited functionality of the mobile app.
Matthew Deakyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Number of Integrations. Up until fairly recently, Blackboard Learn was the only option that scaled well for an institution of our size. They purchased competitors, and dominated marketshare. Due to this, most integrations from publishers or other educational technologies had to create a Blackboard integration.
  • Adapting to Web Standards. Blackboard is currently releasing REST APIs and LTI integrations, and encouraging these as the standards moving forward. This is an excellent direction, and will allow Blackboard to be more competitive in the future.
  • Customization. Each Blackboard course can be fully customized by the Instructor, using as much or as little as each individual instructor would like. For those that enjoy complete control - this is really useful.
  • Self-Hosted Option. I anticipate this to eventually be depreciated, but currently we can host our Blackboard instance - which grants full flexibility and data analysis capabilities that are not available in the managed or cloud hosted options.
  • Lack of APIs. Blackboard is catching up, but other competitors are much further along since those competitors started as a web-based company. The other factor holding these back is the different hosting options. All APIs are available for cloud-hosted, but not for managed-hosted or self-hosted.
  • Lack of defaults. While highly configurable, Blackboard is really intimidating for instructors used to default course structures. You can lock this down, but our users enjoy the customizability - which causes issues providing for both values. Instructors have multiple ways to do tasks - and often there isn't a clear pathway.
  • Lack of focus on core. Blackboard keeps releasing new products : Analytics (usage), Transact (purchase / card system), Ally (accessibility), Predict (early warning)... while the core experience lags behind. Blackboard is trying to sell the idea that their stuff works well with their stuff... while competitors keep improving the core system and make integrations easier. Personally, I believe Blackboard needs to refocus on the core competencies.
  • Lack of communication / proactivity. Blackboard relied on an integration with Crocodoc for assignment markup. Crocodoc was purchased and shuttered by Box, who had a general press release a year out. Blackboard worked with Box to replace this functionality - but DID NOT DO A GOOD JOB. Communication on progress was non-existant, it required an unplanned restart, and there was a massive feature loss. We still experience some performance issues, and it's been over a year since the switch.
  • Lack of migration pathway. There are distinct differences between self-hosted and cloud-hosted. The migration path from self hosted to cloud hosted is just as complex as migrating to another LMS. Blackboard has been really pushing cloud-hosted as a better experience, but many institutions of our size have had extreme difficulty migrating and some have ultimately switched to a competitor and had an easier time migrating. If you are considering going to the cloud, Blackboard SaaS will probably be as big of a change as a competitor.
  • Poor Branding. Ultra is a ubiquitous term that Blackboard has settled on, but there are too many Ultras. Ultra was originally the branding for SaaS, a technology that was Vaporware for two years and then ultimately came out half-completed. Then they started offering Collaborate Ultra, Ultra Course View and Ultra Experience. I think there is even now an Ultra theme that is available for Learn Original. They need to find another word, because it's extremely confusing for administrators - let alone instructors.
February 10, 2019

Great Tool for Learning

Mounika Chirasani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • As a student, I get mobile access and notifications about grades, announcements, and course changes that help me manage my learning.
  • As an instructor, Blackboard lets me integrate a lot of different types of media, structure time released content, vary assessments, and deliver individualized learning opportunities.
  • I also like the Best Practice parts of the help site -- it helps you to get ideas of how you can use the tools.
  • In terms of support from Blackboard.
  • I find it difficult to transfer information from one semester to another.
  • Slow (even when on the same network node or high-speed cable connection) -- needs a code rewrite/optimization.
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It can be configured to do anything you want.
  • It makes it easier for the students have a common destination for information.
  • I like that I can do all of my assessments and grading in one place.
  • It can be configured to do anything you want. Be careful.
  • Its architecture feels old, but because they support so many schools that are change adverse, it is hard to update.
February 07, 2019

Blackboard Learn Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Great for online course management.
  • Ease of use for the Registrars, office, and staff.
  • Online learning courses go very, very well for students and faculty.
  • The interface is a little hard to navigate at first.
  • Some of the components for course management are a little clunky compared to competitors.
  • Can be capped out on some course offerings.
Return to navigation