Blackboard Learn Reviews

173 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 13, 2020
Quincy Tamaribuchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It does what it is intended to do such as connecting students and teachers alike.
  • It allows teachers to upload assignments online to eliminate the use of paper.
  • Good platform to take tests and quizzes.
  • Sign-on errors are common and it may inhibit the students' ability to submit and receive assignments as directed.
  • It is hard to navigate at times if you are unfamiliar.
  • Not exactly user friendly.
  • Sometimes locations of assignments are not clear, very obscure.
  • Not a very appealing layout.
Read Quincy Tamaribuchi's full review
January 31, 2020
Becca Guler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Accepts wide variety of file types.
  • Choice of layout options to fit different styles of courses.
  • Interface isn't very modern.
  • Low use of icons and heavy text make it tricky to navigate.
Read Becca Guler's full review
January 21, 2020
Renee DiBiasio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is really easy to create and save lists.
  • Multiple types of communications can be sent at one time.
  • It is not the easiest tool for people not as technology savvy to navigate.
  • Training is needed to master all the features.
Read Renee DiBiasio's full review
February 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy maintenance
  • Good support
  • Friendly people
  • Bad UI (unless you migrate to BB Ultra)
  • Does not integrate well with other software solutions
  • It is not very user-friendly
  • It could be pricey
Read this authenticated review
January 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use course navigation.
  • Icons make it easy to distinguish content types.
  • System announcements remain for months or years.
  • Confusion can exist between the top-level navigation and course navigation.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2019
Anissa Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides HTML quality course content that is easily retrievable and viewable.
  • Provides multiple methods of communication: email, threaded discussions, real-time "live" online discussions, as well as grade portal.
  • Allows facilitators multiple methods of grading or providing feedback: threaded discussions, rubric scoring, personal comments, inline viewer, or download/upload attachments.
  • Mobile access to Blackboard Learn is rudimentary and inconsistent. I can open the website in any browser but I cannot always click on the right control column--it sometimes moves around or buttons jump so that I cannot actually complete basic functions like posting a DQ. With asynchronous teaching, it is imperative that I have function-able mobile access to Blackboard in order to be successful.
  • The existing Blackboard Learn app for instructors is completely BASIC and needs much improvement. There is no ability to enhance text or use bold or italics. I can provide inline grading comments but cannot use a bank of grading comments--no copy/paste works in the inline grading of the app. I cannot grade discussion questions AT ALL in the app--only papers.
  • The Blackboard Learn instructor app needs to be compatible with voice commands so that I can use voice-to-text rather than typing everything on a mobile device. There is a lot of room for improvement but the app is crucial to my ability to teach effectively with Blackboard.
Read Anissa Harris's full review
January 12, 2020
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating effective assessments such as quizzes and assignments.
  • Make collaboration easier through group work and discuss board posts.
  • Online grading may need improvement through adding new features.
  • In the grade center instructors need to go into manage organization in order to arrange and reorder columns. It would be nice to be able to move columns around as in an Excel sheet.
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
November 30, 2019
Amy Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Course content management.
  • Communication with students.
  • Scheduling assignments and class discussions.
  • More third party features, beyond Google Suite.
  • Connecting to our SIS can be tricky at times.
  • The mobile app could use some smoothing out.
Read Amy Westby's full review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Blackboard does a great job at displaying grades. I have the app and it is so simply to view one's class grades.
  • Blackboard also does a good job at providing a place where students and professors are able to easily upload work documents.
  • Another place where Blackboard thrives in is being accessible. That is, being able to access it anywhere an internet connection is available. No need to download an application and once you're logged in, you're good to go.
  • .
  • .
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document retrieval.
  • Uploading work.
  • Forums with other students.
  • VoiceThread is cumbersome.
  • I would appreciate the ability to access suggested resources beyond those provided by the professor.
  • It would be good if we could see our classmates' submissions to learn from them.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2019
Lori Riegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organized modules
  • Easy to use on various devices
  • Easy to customize
  • Chat feature could be improved
  • Doesn't load quite as well on a mobile (phone) device consistently
  • Better integration to a mobile app
Read Lori Riegel's full review
February 06, 2019
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Instructors can easily customize the course page.
  • It has the capability to do online exams, class discussions, automatic grading, and live sessions.
  • Integrates with local LDAP and single sign-on services.
  • Although the current graphic user interface is easy to use, it can be improved with larger fonts, dynamic menus, and attractive graphics.
  • The system does not include a module to pay the school fee.
  • The roster tab lacks detailed information about students.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
March 07, 2019
Katherine Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use tabs to get to different sections of the courses
  • Easy to communicate directly with the educator and other students through messaging.
  • Easy to submit assignments directly by uploading.
  • The mobile Blackboard app is not easy to use on my Android phone as the sizing is off and some functions do not work.
  • The discussion threads are a little more difficult to navigate, between replying to the current thread or needing to start a new one.
  • The grades section is not always correctly updated on my end even though the educator has posted them.
Read Katherine Moore's full review
February 11, 2019
Matthew Deakyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Number of Integrations. Up until fairly recently, Blackboard Learn was the only option that scaled well for an institution of our size. They purchased competitors, and dominated marketshare. Due to this, most integrations from publishers or other educational technologies had to create a Blackboard integration.
  • Adapting to Web Standards. Blackboard is currently releasing REST APIs and LTI integrations, and encouraging these as the standards moving forward. This is an excellent direction, and will allow Blackboard to be more competitive in the future.
  • Customization. Each Blackboard course can be fully customized by the Instructor, using as much or as little as each individual instructor would like. For those that enjoy complete control - this is really useful.
  • Self-Hosted Option. I anticipate this to eventually be depreciated, but currently we can host our Blackboard instance - which grants full flexibility and data analysis capabilities that are not available in the managed or cloud hosted options.
  • Lack of APIs. Blackboard is catching up, but other competitors are much further along since those competitors started as a web-based company. The other factor holding these back is the different hosting options. All APIs are available for cloud-hosted, but not for managed-hosted or self-hosted.
  • Lack of defaults. While highly configurable, Blackboard is really intimidating for instructors used to default course structures. You can lock this down, but our users enjoy the customizability - which causes issues providing for both values. Instructors have multiple ways to do tasks - and often there isn't a clear pathway.
  • Lack of focus on core. Blackboard keeps releasing new products : Analytics (usage), Transact (purchase / card system), Ally (accessibility), Predict (early warning)... while the core experience lags behind. Blackboard is trying to sell the idea that their stuff works well with their stuff... while competitors keep improving the core system and make integrations easier. Personally, I believe Blackboard needs to refocus on the core competencies.
  • Lack of communication / proactivity. Blackboard relied on an integration with Crocodoc for assignment markup. Crocodoc was purchased and shuttered by Box, who had a general press release a year out. Blackboard worked with Box to replace this functionality - but DID NOT DO A GOOD JOB. Communication on progress was non-existant, it required an unplanned restart, and there was a massive feature loss. We still experience some performance issues, and it's been over a year since the switch.
  • Lack of migration pathway. There are distinct differences between self-hosted and cloud-hosted. The migration path from self hosted to cloud hosted is just as complex as migrating to another LMS. Blackboard has been really pushing cloud-hosted as a better experience, but many institutions of our size have had extreme difficulty migrating and some have ultimately switched to a competitor and had an easier time migrating. If you are considering going to the cloud, Blackboard SaaS will probably be as big of a change as a competitor.
  • Poor Branding. Ultra is a ubiquitous term that Blackboard has settled on, but there are too many Ultras. Ultra was originally the branding for SaaS, a technology that was Vaporware for two years and then ultimately came out half-completed. Then they started offering Collaborate Ultra, Ultra Course View and Ultra Experience. I think there is even now an Ultra theme that is available for Learn Original. They need to find another word, because it's extremely confusing for administrators - let alone instructors.
Read Matthew Deakyne's full review
February 09, 2019
Mounika Chirasani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As a student, I get mobile access and notifications about grades, announcements, and course changes that help me manage my learning.
  • As an instructor, Blackboard lets me integrate a lot of different types of media, structure time released content, vary assessments, and deliver individualized learning opportunities.
  • I also like the Best Practice parts of the help site -- it helps you to get ideas of how you can use the tools.
  • In terms of support from Blackboard.
  • I find it difficult to transfer information from one semester to another.
  • Slow (even when on the same network node or high-speed cable connection) -- needs a code rewrite/optimization.
Read Mounika Chirasani's full review
February 09, 2019
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It can be configured to do anything you want.
  • It makes it easier for the students have a common destination for information.
  • I like that I can do all of my assessments and grading in one place.
  • It can be configured to do anything you want. Be careful.
  • Its architecture feels old, but because they support so many schools that are change adverse, it is hard to update.
Read Mark Fitzgerald's full review
January 30, 2019
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The organization of files
  • You can have different tabs to separate items to make it easier for student use
  • Submission of testing and assignments was clear, and easy to use.
  • I did not find anything the software itself could do better, just the way the administrator had the information set up in the courses.
Read Erica Terry's full review
January 28, 2019
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The assignment tool is very helpful, it allows for individual and group assignment submission and can scan all work for originality via the integration of SafeAssign. This feature also acts as a repository for resolving student grade challenges and in collecting data for accreditation efforts.
  • The open HTML features allow for incorporation of video very easily through embed codes or mashup tools
  • Communication - the announcement, emails, discussion boards, and group tools allow enhance the classroom and allow students to stay engaged without the need to know 50 different email addresses.
  • Blackboard ingrates very well with hundred of 3rd party tools either through a building block installion on LTI link. Very help for incorporating publishing content from a textbook for example.
  • The Mobile features off the site and lagging behind, especially if you try to access the site through phone on safari or chrome vs the BB Mobile app.
  • While Blackboard allows for HTML and CSS it has a bad habit of throwing extra tags and other forms 'of junk' HTML after saving that slow down the system and hurt accessibility for screen readers.
  • The UI of BB Learn overall is dated and in major need of modern re-design
  • BB Learn lack a common search feature, mean students have no choice but the hunt and peck around course looking a specfic peice of content.
  • While this may be a result of my version of the system being self-hosted I have found Blackboard to overall be a slower platform than other LMS systems such as Canvas or Coursera
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
February 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great for online course management.
  • Ease of use for the Registrars, office, and staff.
  • Online learning courses go very, very well for students and faculty.
  • The interface is a little hard to navigate at first.
  • Some of the components for course management are a little clunky compared to competitors.
  • Can be capped out on some course offerings.
Read this authenticated review
February 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Clear, consistent organization/menus.
  • Communication tools within Blackboard and email.
  • The tools section is overwhelming and a lot of them don't seem useful.
  • Limited functionality of the mobile app.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (19)
7.3
Course catalog or library (19)
6.8
Player/Portal (16)
7.1
Learning content (23)
7.9
Mobile friendly (25)
6.1
Progress tracking & certifications (19)
7.6
Assignments (25)
8.3
Compliance management (14)
6.2
Learning administration (20)
8.1
Learning reporting & analytics (21)
6.9
Social learning (18)
6.6

What is Blackboard Learn?

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and government organizations. As of December 2010, Blackboard software and services are used by over 9,300 institutions in more than 60 countries. Blackboard Learn is the company's flagship LMS, supporting course management, test & assessment design and administration, and is extensible via Blackboard's suite of addable modules.

Blackboard Learn Competitors

Blackboard Learn Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No